10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,857 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #62

May 152013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
While driving at a different speeds, the starts to jerk, hesitate, slow down. At times I feel it's about to suddenly stall or turn off.

- Aurora, CA, USA

problem #61

Jun 012013

Escape

  • 59,000 miles
I was traveling on highway at approximately 65 mph and accelerator stopped. The engine was still running but wouldn't accelerate. Pulled off to the side of the highway turned off the vehicle restarted and it ran fine for a few miles then repeated twice more. I took the vehicle to the local dealership they told me it was the throttle body that was bad.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #60

May 312013

Escape 4-cyl

  • miles
While driving to a meeting 05/31/13 in wetumpka al. My 09 Escape stall when exiting off the freeway. I place it in park and restarted it and it cut off again. So I restarted for the 3rd time and held my foot on the gas and brake at the same time, trying to put it in drive and pressing the gas fast. This is very unsafe after the meeting was over I made it to the Ford dealership. The said I had to leave because it was busy they will check on it Monday but they did call me sat. 06 01 13 and said it is the throttle body and don't know when the new part will be released. Iam very up set this part must be on recall list. Tell me something asap. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #59

May 302013

Escape

  • 74,000 miles
We had seen some issues with power when accelerating, but was minor until May 30th, 2013. We were driving in stop and go traffic and when I accelerated the engine "bogged down" and didn't accelerate. The car wouldn't move forward. We had just filled up and originally believed it was bad gas. It happened about 4 more times as we got home (engine light was on and little wrench icon shows up on bottom left of dash when the problem occurs). It did this about 5 more times on our drive home. I took it to the local Ford dealer which informed me that the throttle body was bad and needed replaced. I then googled: Throttle 2009. The first thing that appeared was the Ford Escape and the articles described what I was dealing with too. From what I can tell today, Ford is releasing a (new engineered designed) throttle body that should be available June 6th and I have to wait for so that I don't get another bad part. I find it ridiculous that they are basically admitting to producing a defective part, but I have to pay $400 to fix my car...while waiting a week for the new part to come in.

- Gladstone, MO, USA

problem #58

May 242013

Escape

  • 107,000 miles
While driving the vehicle, cruise control set at approximately 53 mph, the vehicle suddenly lost power. I coasted to the side of the road, waited about 5 minutes and restarted. At the time it lost power, a warning light appeared, which indicated a problem with the throttle control/power train. I had to drive the vehicle approximately 70 miles between the time of the first incident and when I could get it to a mechanic. The vehicle did the same action 4 additional times in that span. After the third incident, the service engine soon light appeared and remains continuously lit while the engine is on. The mechanic identified the problem as a defective throttle body, which is only available through Ford. There is currently a national back order for the part with no anticipated release date. The power loss occurs at random times, and on one occasion happened while I was crossing a busy intersection. The vehicle is completely unsafe to drive, and with no anticipated release date for the part, completely unusable. Ford clearly knows that this is a problem and their inability to deal with it is going to lead to someone being seriously injured or worse.

- Snow Hill, MD, USA

problem #57

Apr 282013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 127,000 miles
I was driving along when my vehicle began to sputter and stop. I was able to crank the vehicle up and drive a few feet before it started back up again, this time with the check engine light on. I was able to make it to an advanced auto parts store where they pulled the check engine error code and it indicated that it was an issue with the throttle body. I am able to drive it currently, but I am concerned that the throttle will stick just as I'm attempting to cross a busy intersection.

- Fairhope, AL, USA

problem #56

May 262013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles
I drive a 2009 Ford Escape automatic with a V6 engine. On Sunday, May 26, 2013 at approximately 1:00 am, I was driving at 70 mph on interstate 10 West. Suddenly, I heard a single click sound. The wrench was illuminated on my dash board and the accelerator pedal stopped working. No matter what I did, nothing happened. I was terrified that I would be rear ended by the cars behind me for slowing down suddenly, so I put on my hazard lights and moved to the interstate median. I turned my truck off for a few minutes and then restarted it. I was able to proceed home with no further issue. This whole incident came with absolutely no warning. If a light indicating that service was needed, I could have avoided this nightmare. I am now learning that there is a defect with this vehicle.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #55

May 222013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
I feel like I should document the same issue that happened to many other of these vehicles. I pulled out of the driveway, put it in drive. The engine reved up and down from about 1300 to 2000. There was no power at all. This is so dangerous, everything feels fine, you go to give your car power, and it stutters and doesn't respond. There are no warning signs until it happens. I'm glad it happened to me on my residential street. If this happened when I was trying to make a left turn across lanes, god help me. I'd rather the vehicle not start or stall when I put it in drive than what it did. I plan on taking the car in tomorrow and for them to tell me it needs a new throttle body.

- Lorain, OH, USA

problem #54

May 122013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 55,063 miles
Truck failed to accelerate from a red light, with pedal completely engaged. Had continued loss power/thrust when I push the gas. This happens so often now, I am not comfortable driving in heavy traffic as I never know if I'll be able to accelerate. Sunday after finally getting home, I was unable to get it to stay cranked when I depress the gas pedal to reverse. This loss of power was exuberated by having the A/C running. First the timing cover leaks at 22, 761, then a pulley falls off the engine at 40,149 spraying oil all over my interior via the A/C. after the pulley was replaced the car would idle high and then started jerking as if it wanted to stall, took to Ford dealership and was told there were no codes, finally had the tech drive with me and he felt the jerking. After three visits for this, in November 2012 at 50,000 I was am told the coil pack needs to be replaced, now at 55, 063 miles I am told it is the throttle body that needs to be replaced" I think I was sold a lemon and in the state of Florida that's illegal. What if I am rear ended due to the horrible craftsmanship of your product"

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #53

May 152013

Escape

  • 40,484 miles
I was driving down the road when the car suddenly stopped accelerating despite the fact my foot was on the accelerator. The wrench light lit up indicating a problem with the throttle/powertrain. I coasted to a stoplight, shut the engine off and restarted the car. The car restarted and resumed normal acceleration.

- Arlington, VA, USA

problem #52

May 042013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 45,307 miles
While driving the car started to sputter and would not accelerate and then would suddenly accelerate without touching the accelerator. Eventually the engine just shut off all together. Has happened several times since then. Found out it was because of the throttle body, which seems to be a recurrence on Ford Escapes.

- Sebring, FL, USA

problem #51

Apr 252013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
Driving on freeway at approximately 65 mph. Car suddenly seemed to lose power, but retained power steering function. Would not accelerate but might have had minimal power. Coasted across three lanes of traffic and used brakes to stop. Wrench shaped light on dash lighted. Turned off engine and restarted after about 15 seconds. Vehicle ran fine for next 90 miles and the next day. Dealer evaluated the problem and says the throttle body needs replacement. There are other reports of similar problems on your website. Also reports of possible recall for this problem by nhtsb and automotive press. It is a serious failure at speed on a busy highway and needs your attention. Will the dealer cover the cost of the repair if there is a subsequent recall for this defect?

- Sebastopol, CA, USA

problem #50

Apr 202013

Escape

  • 72,000 miles
I was driving on a 2 lane road at 35 mph with my young daughter and friend in the car when the car rapidly decelerated unexpectedly to around 5 mph. It sputtered and the "throttle control/power train" light lit on the dash. Fortunately, the traffic was moving slow enough that I did not cause an accident. I turned on my hazard lights and crawled to the intersection where I turned onto a service road and parked. I waited 5 minutes and restarted the car and made it home safely 3 miles away. I will see what Ford dealer has to say about this on the next business day. I have this car now for less than four years and have one incident after another. I have purposely purchased american made cars over the last 7 years, but don't seem to have luck. I may have to go back to foreign brands.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #49

Mar 122013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles
The affected part is the throttle body. This issue had happened about 10 times since March 12th 2013. I was driving in rush hour traffic and going about 65 when it happened and it just stalled. There was a wrench light that came on. I had to somehow merge over two lanes while not being able to accelerate (very scary)! again this has happened about 10 times finally today while on a busy highway, where there was barely any room to pull over, it happened again. I was able to start it back up merge back into traffic, somehow, and about a mile down the freeway it happened again. I was able to find somewhere to pull over and this time the engine light came on. I took it somewhere and was able to get a fault code (P2111). There needs to be a recall on this! it was not only scary but very dangerous. I hope that if there is anyone else out there with this problem they make a complaint.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #48

Oct 242009

Escape

  • 6,053 miles
On October 24, 2009, the RPM needle would stick at the 2000 level. Hesitation occurred when accelerating March 2, 2010, the throttle binded on acceleration. On july19, 2011, powertrain control module had to be reprogrammed due to recall.on February 12, 2011, engine died while driving, restarted engine, and would drive, and problem would repeat. Throttle body assembly replaced.on December 3,2012, engine light would appear and dtc codes were cleared, wiggle test and wiring diagnosis performed. On March 16th,2013, car powered down to slow crawl and engine light appeared. Transmission axle leak repaired. On April 5th, throttle /powertrain light appeared and car slowed down to a slow crawl. Restarted and drove home. I am concerned for my safety and have no confidence in driving this car.

- Mcallen, TX, USA

problem #47

Nov 152008

Escape 4-cyl

  • 200 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, the vehicle was hesitant to accelerate. Additionally, while parked and shifting into park or reverse the vehicle jerked. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 200.

- Dublin, OH, USA

problem #46

Mar 212013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
Was driving at a consistent speed down a fairly busy road. Vehicle suddenly lunged forward and accelerated without any pressure on gas pedal and I almost hit car in front of me and braking had no effect. After a few seconds of acceleration the car seemed to lose power to the drivetrain and was unresponsive to me pressing the gas pedal, and the wrench warning light game on. I could only coast over to the side of the road, but the shoulder was not wide enough so part of my car was still in the lane and the car behind me had to swerve out of my way. The car was stuttering and did nothing when I pressed the gas pedal, clutch, or changed gears. Turned off and restarted and the car was working fine as it had been before the incident. The wrench light had disappeared so my mechanic could not pull any codes, but believes it is a defective sensor in the throttle body. For the car to suddenly lunge forward uncontrollably without any warning is extremely dangerous, no matter how short of time. I won't drive until the new part arrives, which could be a week as I live in Hawaii. Also, Ford is refusing to pay for it as the warranty has expired. Upon investigating this weekend I have found that this is a common problem with the Escapes, but as an owner I was never once warned of it. Had I been I would have it checked out much earlier and replaced if necessary.

- Kailua Kona, HI, USA

problem #45

Feb 272012

Escape 6-cyl

  • 71,552 miles
I started having problems with my car shutting down in Feb 2012. After 2 throttle body's and still problems the dealer put a flight recorder on my car. This recorded 5 episodes of engine failure. They found that a sensor to the main computer was bad and replaced it. They left the recorder on and today 3/12/13 the car stopped twice and I pressed the recorder button. The car seizes, the engine revs when standing still and hesitates upon pick up. This has gone on long enough. Ford doesn't know what to do about this problem and it is hazardous to my health. One day my luck may not be good as to who is behind me when it stalls. Recall! recall! recall! someone needs to do something about this!

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #44

Mar 172010

Escape 6-cyl

  • 4,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape. The contact stated that while driving approximately 15 mph, the vehicle failed to accelerate and the rpms increased excessively. The vehicle also jerked forward without warning. The contact stated that the failure recurred intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be replicated. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 4,000 and the current mileage was 65,000.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #43

Feb 092013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 49,200 miles
While driving approximately 55 on an interstate in middle of heavy traffic, my 2009 Ford Escape XLT 3.0L suddenly decelerated and went into limp mode. I carefully made it to the shoulder as speed dropped to about 5 miles an hour. While parked on the shoulder I noticed the warning light for the electronic throttle was lit. I shut off the engine and waited about 5 minutes. I restarted without incident. This is the 2nd time this has happened and it has been running rough as well.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »