10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
68,142 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #143

Aug 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 42,925 miles
I was accelerating & at approx 50 mph the car jerked, a wrench symbol came on & I started loosing speed. I coasted to the shoulder of the road & cut the car off. I let it sit a few minutes & restarted it. The car drove fine to my destination but when I left to return home, it did the same thing again. The next day my mechanic ran the scanner but no codes showed up. About 3 days later I experienced another incident & not only did the wrench symbol come on but an engine symbol also. My owners manual said this meant "service engine soon". I had just had the oil changed and everything checked a few days before all this started! this happens at different speeds and on flat land or inclines. This is scary because you never know when or where your car is going to lose power & cut off. I took my car back to my mechanic & he cleaned the throttle body. He said it was extremely "gunked up" for a vehicle that only had 43,000 miles on it. $186.85 later I prayed this would fix the problem. On my way home I lost power twice. Once was on a very busy highway. I was in the right lane & traffic was speeding towards my right side coming from an exit ramp. I had to Dodge the traffic with my power failing & "limp" to the shoulder of the road. I'm still not sure how I made it to the side of the highway without getting hit! my mechanic was upset as well because the problem was not obvious and he felt responsible for putting me in danger. After more investigation we stumbled upon the fact that I am not alone! several people have had this problem! so much so that the throttle body is a very hard part to locate. After much searching, I was informed that a throttle body had been found and my car could be repaired for $588.26. I hope this recall will soon be approved because this is a very dangerous problem and I would hate for people to be killed before the severity is recognized.

- New Bern, NC, USA

problem #142

Sep 012013

Escape

  • 55,000 miles
My 2009 Ford Escape with 55,000mi started stalling at lower speeds along with a jerky idle. Just recently the car began stalling at freeway speeds, twice in one day. Well after researching my problem and reading countless complaints that were in the exact nature as mine came to believe it was the throttle body. I called my dealership and asked if they've replaced a lot of these parts and the response was "ohh yea". you can't buy this part anywhere but at the dealership which is about $300. If you want it installed I saw an avg. Between $500-$600. If your in my position and need your car to run safely, buy the part and install it yourself. It literally took my 15min to install very simple, look on youtube or whatever and at least save yourself $200-$300. I got the throttle body for $250 shopping around. And to rub salt in my wound the guy who sells me the part was like" if you would've bought this part 2mos ago it was $100-$150 cheaper"!" great...after removing the part the new one is different, slightly, so they tried to fix the problem. My real concern is a serious accident can happen when your car totally dies on the freeway, frequently! and after all the complaints I've read about this matter that no recall was ordered. Also ppl keep your receipt if there is a recall we want our money.

- Euclid, OH, USA

problem #141

Aug 312013

Escape

  • 37,000 miles
As I was driving down the highway, my car surges and then starts to slow down. I push the gas but nothing happens. The wrench sign pops up and I immediately exit and try to make it to the side of the road. Putting the car in neutral and pushing the gas pedal does nothing now either. Shut the car off and continue driving. Drive for not even a mile and it happens again. Shut it off and drove home without an issue. Searched the web and I can see this happens a lot. Just bought the car certified pre owned the day of the incident. Hoping its covered under powertrain warranty, if not I don't know what ill do. This is a dangerous issue and needs to be fixed. Its happening to so many people. Very very upset dealership would sell me a car knowing that this issue existed.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #140

Aug 302013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 108,000 miles
I will suddenly lose all throttle power while driving down the road. It doesn't matter what my speed is when this happens, and it happens every time I drive my vehicle but at random times. My power steering and power brakes will be fine, but I will have no throttle at all. I can push the gas pedal all the way to the floor and I feel no response and get no response from the vehicle. After a computer check, the displayed code showed that there was a problem with the throttle body. I have had the throttle body cleaned but the problem persists. It appears to be the same problem that many other owners have had and the same problem covered by recalls, just not on my model year.

- Somerset, KY, USA

problem #139

Aug 302013

Escape

  • 46,500 miles
Two times today, while I was driving, my 2009 Ford Escape stalled while I was driving. The first time I was in the middle of an intersection around noon on a six lane road, and the second time luckily I was in my neighborhood. This is ridiculously unsafe, and Ford has taken no responsibility.

- Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA

problem #138

Aug 262013

Escape

  • 58,500 miles
I was driving approx 60 mph when my car jumped down to approx 25 mph and wrench light came on. I had to coast to side of road to get off highway. When I shut the car off and restarted it I was able to drive to saftey but then it happened again and car had to be towed to the Ford dealer for them to charge me $585 and replace the throttle body. I have read this has happened to many people and this really should be a recall.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #137

Aug 272013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 72,888 miles
On 8-27-13, I was driving on the interstate to work, traveling 65mph, when my vehicle made a sudden surge and then lost speed. The RPM gauge went completely down and my vehicle would not accelerate. I was almost rear ended due to the sudden decrease in speed and not being able to do anything but swerve into the median. I turned the vehicle off and let it set for a second or two and when I cranked it up, it was fine. I am now terrified to drive this vehicle. This was probably the single scariest thing I have ever been thru.

- Chatham, LA, USA

problem #136

Aug 232013

Escape

  • 95,000 miles
I was driving about 45 miles per hour, felt a jolt in the vehicle and acceleration began to decrease rapidly, no matter how hard I pressed on the gas. I luckily was at a low-traffic spot with a veer-off area nearby that I was able to coast over to with my four-ways on. I was able to avoid traffic. The throttle/powertrain light came on as the vehicle came to a stop. I was able to turn the vehicle off as it was lightly shaking, turn it back on with no issue, and slowly drive the vehicle about 3 miles to the nearest Ford dealership. They were able to (next day) verify my fears that it was the pending recall issue, the throttle body had gone bad. They replaced it for $620 (including labor) within 2 hours and told me to hold onto my receipt because there would most likely be a recall. They told me that they've replaced many of these lately. I'm very lucky that I wasn't on the highway with many vehicles moving at a high speed around me, or else I could have been injured if I couldn't find a place to pull off.

- Allentown, NJ, USA

problem #135

Aug 142013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
On Aug 14, 2013, I was headed home from work driving approximately 40 mph on flat land, when I lost acceleration power, I pulled over into a parking lot placed it in park where it ran very rough, the wrench indicator appeared, then I turned the car off, waited a few seconds and cranked the car and everything was fine again. Approximately 4 miles later in my trip the same situation happened, I was traveling about 50 mph and a slight incline. Approximately 7 miles later in my trip, while at a slight decline, traveling approximately 45 mph the same thing happened again. I then took my Escape to the shop. They had it for two days driving it about 25 miles and they could not get it to duplicate the problem. I picked up my Escape Friday August 16, 2013, night (after the shop closed) didn't make it 3 miles from the shop, while traveling at about 60 mph, I lost acceleration power, the wrench light came on, I pulled over put it in park and again very rough idle, turned it off waited a few seconds, cranked it back up and it drove fine with no issue until this morning August 23, 2013, while traveling at approximately 40 mph on a slight incline in traffic, I lost acceleration power, the wrench indicator light appeared, I pulled into the center gore put it in park - while in park it runs extremely rough, sputtering and spitting, turned it off, waited a few seconds and cranked it up and came on into work with no issues.

- Mcdonough, GA, USA

problem #134

Aug 222013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 67,153 miles
[xxx] I was driving 25-30 mph when motor went to idle, gas pedal didn't work and no power to transmission. This caused me to almost wreck. My fast thinking saved my life. I was able to steer the vehicle to a safe place in a major intersection. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Ebensburg, PA, USA

problem #133

Aug 142013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
My wife owns a 2009 Ford Escape purchased new from a dealer and there have been so many issues with the vehicle I question if there wasn?T some type of flaw in the manufacturing process or at the very least, some type failure in the quality control process. Within weeks of purchasing this Ford Escape we had to take the vehicle back to the dealer for an oil leak and transmission problems. After 2 or 3 trips to the dealer, the oil leak was fixed but the transmission issues (2 overhauls and then replacement) continued for years. Thankfully, Ford covered and the dealer covered 2/3 of the cost of the second transmission overhaul and almost all of the cost for the transmission replacement. All of this work was completed at the Ford dealer ship in meter Georgia. Nice folks, we have no issue with the dealership. Approximately 6 months ago, due to low engine power and using oil, we had the vehicle worked on at a local shop. That total cost for repair was 1600 dollars. Last week due to a massive oil leak we had to have the vehicle towed in a local shop. The Ford Escape appears to have a cracked timing belt cover. Having never heard of a vehicle having a cracked timing belt cover, I decided to do some research; a cursory internet search reveals many, many complaints of 2009 Ford Escapes with cracked timing belt covers. For our vehicle this will make five major repairs and numerous minor issues in a vehicle not 4 years old!! there has to be some manufacturing process with these vehicles. VIN [xxx] 2009 Ford Escape XLS information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lyons, GA, USA

problem #132

Aug 212013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
While driving on the expressway at 70 mph the RPM dropped to approx. 900rpm. Pushing on the accelerator pedal didn't do anything. A indicator light on the dash came on it is the shape of a wrench. I had to pull the vehicle off the road. After I parked on the side of the road I shut off the engine and waited about 30 seconds then restarted the engine and everything was working fine. I went back onto the road and drove approx. 12 miles and it happened again. I repeated what I had done earlier and the vehicle was ok again. I got back on the road and I made it around 8 miles and I had another occurrence, again I repeated the shut off the engine on the side of the road and it again started and ran ok. Then I made it home!

- Mount Morris, MI, USA

problem #131

Aug 162013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Driving on the highway at aprox 60mph, the Escape lost speed and slowed down to 10pmh.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #130

Aug 182013

Escape

  • 74,323 miles
Sunday August 18, 2013 9:30 pm driving back from store on highway 17 wrench showed up on dash and car slowed down and came to a complete stop. I pushed the gas but nothing happened. Traffic was behind me a I feared getting hit. I was able to get to the side of the road to avoid an accident. Turned car off and waited for a few seconds. Turned key in ignition and car started and ran just fine. 8/19/13, driving daughter to school on highway 80 vehicle did the same thing but sputtered twice. Needless to say sheer pandemonium! daughter screaming and crying because highway 80 is very congested and the speed is 55 to 60 mph. Managed to get to side of highway, repeated what I did the night before and car started just fine, was able to get daughter to school and myself to work. 8/20/13, it happened again. On highway 80, got to side of road and started car up again. Got daughter to school and on the way to work car stopped again. Started car again and got to work -- called Ford and took car to shop. Had to start car gain as it slowed down and would only go no more than 5 mph. Car is at shop right now. Waiting for Ford to call me. Car is under warranty as I purchased the extended warranty package.

- Savannah, GA, USA

problem #129

Aug 092013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 52,756 miles
Driving on interstate, when car suddenly stopped. Could not accelerate. Coasted to shoulder of highway. Attempted to drive again and a few minutes later, the car stalled again. Called tow truck and had vehicle towed to nearest Ford dealer. Problem identified as failure of throttle body. Had to have replaced.

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #128

Aug 172013

Escape

  • 74,698 miles
I was driving home and as I coasted to stop at a red light my truck started bouncing. The RPM dropped below 500 and the vehicle shut off. I put it in park and restarted and gave it some gas and it was fine until I made a right turn down a residential street and again killed itself. I had to repeat this till I got home.

- Carrollton, TX, USA

problem #127

Aug 132013

Escape 4-cyl

  • 58,207 miles
I was on my way to work and was luckily on a frontage road when suddenly my 2009 Escape wouldn't accelerate. I pushed on the gas pedal, but nothing happened. Luckily I was able to coast down the hill and turn off onto a side road. The wrench symbol lit up and my car sputtered and shook. I said a prayer, waited a few minutes, started the car again, and was able to drive. I drove it about a mile down side streets to try and get it to my mechanic, but it did the same thing again and the check engine light came on. I said another prayer, started the car, turned off the A/C and was able to make it to my mechanic w/out further incident. They said that it could possibly be a few different things and since the parts are expensive, they didn't want to replace the part and not have that fix the issue, so I had to call a tow truck ($75) and have it towed to the closest Ford dealership. I didn't dare try to drive it to the dealership for fear that it would die on the way there and since the dealership is located off of highway 75 in mckinney, I couldn't risk it dying on such a busy highway w/ my daughter in the car with me. The dealership called and said it's an issue w/ the electronic throttle body. My car only has a little over 58,000 miles on it. As a single divorced mom who is struggling to make ends meet, it makes me very upset that I have to spend my hard earned money ($674) on fixing something that is obviously an ongoing issue w/ this make and model. This is completely unacceptable to not have a reliable vehicle when this is a known problem. I am not a happy customer. I shouldn't have to rely on luck and have to worry and stress every time I drive my car that it will die on me. Ford needs to step up and do the right thing and get this issue fixed as part of a recall B/C it is obviously unsafe and lots of Ford Escape owners are experiencing the same thing.

- Allen, TX, USA

problem #126

Aug 132013

Escape 6-cyl

  • 71,570 miles
I was merging off of an exit ramp. I slowed down so I can enter traffic, and then when I accelerated, the car hesitated/lagged before surging me forward. This problem occurs often and has almost caused an accident. Sometimes it will happen when I'm completely stopped and then accelerate, or going up a hill.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #125

Aug 082012

Escape

  • 97,000 miles
I was driving on the NJ parkway when all of a sudden I had no gas peddle. I was doing 75 at time and truck started bucking was able to pull to side of road.. restarted it and went on my way. Since then I have stalled everyday to many to count.

- Point Pleasant, NJ, USA

problem #124

Jun 232013

Escape

  • 65,000 miles
While driving at a set speed of 55 mile per hour I experienced a jerk in the power train. The engine caution light illuminated with a notable complete loss of the ability to maintain speed. The cruise control disengaged the accelerator pedal failed to provide any input. I had to immediately move the far right out of traffic. There was no shoulder to slow down on. I had to place the car in neutral in the rough and slowly apply break until I stopped the vehicle. I left the car running and applied axel keratin pedal. No response. I then placed the transmission park. Shut off the engine. On the first attempt the car started but the engine cranked for about 5 seconds before stating. I placed the transmission in drive and when it was safe to renter traffic heading toward my destination. A few miles later the same thing occurred this time the car had another light illuminate along with the engine light. An open ended wrench.

- Wadesville, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »