10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
44,474 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Ford Escape:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Nov 292017

Escape

  • 9,700 miles
I was waiting for the red light in the road. After the light turned green, I stepped on the gas pedal, however, the car didn't move at all. It stopped there. I had to restart the car to make it move again. It happened on 2017 Sep, 11/29/2017 and 11/30/2017. Three times already.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 162017

Escape

  • 14,000 miles
Safety hazard and serious life threatening situation exists when this problem occurs on the highway and especially in front of a semi tractor trailer truck doing the speed limit. Numerous times, (12 times between 14,000 and 15,363 miles) the 2016 Ford Escape has had complete power loss during acceleration causing vehicle to abruptly begin shaking, lose power, lose steering, lose braking and immediately shudder to a stop. Service engine light comes on, message reads: Engine fault service now. (see attached photo) engine remains running. If one tries to continue driving the vehicle stumble and won't shift from low gear without a very hard torquing sound. This Ford Escape broke down in front of a Ford dealer and the code read by this dealers computer is P0322-PCM. According to an internet search the P0322 code definition: If the PCM (powertrain control module) detects an erratic, interrupted, or otherwise unexpected input signal from the distributor or the crankshaft position sensor, it will store the P0322 code, and the check engine light will be turned on. On this vehicle the code is only active when the fault occurs, and the engine is running. The codes do not store in memory. Ignition can be shut off, the warning message disappears and many times the car is able to be driven again for miles before reoccurring. The leasing dealer states they have a process to follow in order to fix the problem. They have to replicate the problem or they do nothing. Using my printout from another dealer with the code is meaningless to them, even though they know the source of the problem and that the condition is life threatening. They say that if I feel the condition is life threatening then do not drive the car. A formal case has been opened with Ford customer assistance, however they only notify the service manager that there is a problem, which he already knows.

- Clawson, MI, USA

problem #14

Mar 152017

Escape

  • 500 miles
When shifting from either reverse to drive backing onto a busy state road just over a hill, or drive to reverse the car shutters and struggles to power forward or backwards. As well as the radio buttons do not work 80 percent of the time, you have to use the steering wheel controls to operate the radio. Horrible we bought the Escape new with 127 miles on it and still to this day haven't gotten a recall about any issues other than the airbag issue. Our 36 thousand mile warranty is almost up and don't want to get slammed with a bill for transmission 200 miles after the warranty is up.

- Macks Creek, MO, USA

problem #13

Apr 012017

Escape

  • 8,500 miles
3 days in a row, 4/1 - 4/3, I would engage the gear shift and the wheels would not move. Would not move in reverse or drive. After a few minutes, the transmission would wake up and drive normally.

- Fairplay, CO, USA

problem #12

Feb 242017

Escape

  • 31,500 miles
Sometimes when the vehicle is shifting it hesitates and other times it shifts hard like it feels like it's gonna break I guess you can say it clunks or jerk's you in your seat a bit I just bought this vehicle on 2/20/17 today is 2/26/17 my wife was driving when the vehicle kinda threw her back when the vehicle was shifting threw the gears this vehicle is a certified pre owned this happens in town or on the interstate I will be contacting my dealership on 2/27/17 to let them no what is going

- Pine Grove, PA, USA

problem #11

Jan 132017

Escape

  • 10,000 miles
While driving around 40mph, vehicle cut off and displayed a message: Transmission not in park. After pulling over and restarting vehicle, the volume on radio moved up and down on its own while transmission in the parked position. Later that day vehicle cut off within 30 seconds of using remote starter. Dealer unable to duplicate problem or find any diagnostic codes.

- Sterling Heights, MI, USA

problem #10

Oct 312016

Escape 4-cyl

  • 8,000 miles
While driving the Ford Escape on a main road today the vehicle suddenly started to idle very rough, the orange wrench light came on and I could not accelerate. The car decelerated rapidly as I was going up a slight hill. I was able to coast into a parking lot, where I shut the car off for several minutes, then turned it back on and proceeded home. I have called the Ford dealership to bring the car in for service.

- Mineola, NY, USA

problem #9

Mar 102015

Escape

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford Escape. The contact stated that there was a strong vibration when driving the vehicle. The contact noticed that an interim solution was to drive in the S gear and, within a few miles, change the gear to drive to prevent the vibration. The dealer and manufacturer were notified of the failure and indicated that there was no repair solution. The approximate failure mileage was 0.

- Port St Lucie, FL, USA

problem #8

Jul 232016

Escape

  • 3,000 miles
We went on vacation in our new Escape and the transmission started to slip surge and other things that came close to causing 2 accidents. Something should be done about Ford being allowed to put out faulty transmissions for years. My transmission had to be rebuild with only being a few months old. Something should be done about this.

- Amelia, OH, USA

problem #7

Jun 222016

Escape 4WD 4-cyl

  • miles
On May 6, 2016 we purchased a 2016 Ford Escape titanium 2.0 AWD. On 6/22/16 I brought the vehicle in for service due to a shuddering when the car is shifted from reverse to drive and gas is applied. The service department of seymour Ford of jackson, mi, who have been very helpful, performed a reprogram of the PCM. On 8/15/16 I brought the vehicle in with the same shuddering complaint. Seymour phoned the Ford hot line to ascertain if there were any additional recalls. Seymour was advised by Ford to compare like vehicles on their lot. They tested a 2015 and 2017 Escape "both had same issue". I was informed by the service department to be sure to keep my foot on the brake when shifting from reverse to drive and wait for the gear to engage than accelerate. I found under complaints.com other owners throughout the us who have made the same complaint. One has even had Ford acknowledge there is a problem and they are working on it. I informed the service department that I understand they did not build the car; however, if this continues to occur I would be back. They informed me they were there for me. That said it appears either Ford is not telling their dealers there is a problem and or they are telling their dealers to stonewall. Either way Ford should at least make it known to the dealers and the owners of the vehicles that there is a problem and they are working on a solution. We paid good money for the car and we are retired on a fixed income, although we are under warranty, I do not want to be constantly going to the service department to have the car looked at with the same results. Thank you for your consideration in this matter.

- Jackson, MI, USA

problem #6

Aug 012016

Escape

  • 9,400 miles
Was driving vehicle at 35 mph then engine died, service engine now light came on, message center said contact dealer. Restarted after put in park. Checked for codes with generic scan tool, obd2 code P2112 in memory. Contacted dealer purchased from for service. Was told no codes, but battery had been disconnected, clock was reset and all radio presets erased and bluetooth erased.

- New Franklin, OH, USA

problem #5

Apr 302016

Escape

  • miles
We have a new 2016 Ford Escape. After about 1,000 miles noticed a shuddering of the transmission when shifting. It happens when we shift from park to drive, park to reverse, or reverse to drive. Took to Ford service station at about 3500 miles as it became a real concern. Tech could not find problem. Checked social media to see if others were having same problem with transmission. There are numerous complaints regarding this transmission issue. We will continue to take the Escape back to Ford as it appears to be a complaint of many 2016 Ford Escape drivers with these vehicles. The transmission could fail at any time while driving this vehicle. Ford needs to be made accountable as they continue to sell these vehicles knowing this problem exists.

- Girard, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 192016

Escape

  • 12,220 miles
Transmission started acting funny around 5 months after getting my Escape. I would put it in reverse and it would jerk or not go into gear a few seconds. Then it started shuddering when I would drive it. At first maybe a few times a day. Yesterday it started shuddering and jerking all day. At one point I thought something had hit me or I had hit something as my car literally went forward and a loud clunk was heard from behind. Scared both me and my passenger as it felt like I had hit something. I am really scared to drive this thing because I never know when it will start jerking, shudder, etc. I had an SE 2013 and had no trouble with the trans but it was not a titanium model, which I believe is the problem. I am afraid to pull out of our drive today when I leave for work as it is very busy and I don't know if it is going to stall, shudder, jerk, whatever. Ford needs to do a recall on their Escapes at least the titanium models. They have all the computer stuff on those and although mine is not a top of the line titanium, it is still a titanium. I can't get this car in until next Monday a full week away. The dealership (taylor Ford) said his service department is full of transmission problems. Doesn't that tell you something??

- Taylor, MI, USA

problem #3

Jun 172016

Escape

  • 20,000 miles
While driving at highway speed, the car shuttered and flashed warning lights, the power was decreased, then shuttered again after I pulled over and turned it off

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #2

Jan 012016

Escape

  • miles
Vehicle will chatter and vibrate when going from reverse to drive mode to go forward, even when totally stopped to go forward. Bangs in when applying gas light or hard trying to get out of way of on approaching traffic in street and parking spots. Bought it brand new in January 2016 started from day 1 with problem, have not token to Ford dealer yet but I did call them they know of problem, says cannot fix it because they say Ford has their hands tied up and will not authorize to have it fixed they are aware of problem

- Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #1

Jul 212015

Escape

  • miles
Vehicle will chatter and vibrate when going from reverse to drive mode to go forward, even when totally stopped to go forward. Bangs in when applying gas light or hard trying to get out of way of on approaching traffic in street and parking spots. Bought it brand new in July 2015 started from day 1with problem, taken it to Ford dealer 3 times they know of problem, says cannot fix it because they say Ford has their hands tied up and will not authorize to have it fixed yet. That they are aware of problem.

- Moreno Valley, CA, USA