10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
95,934 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Escape Hybrid:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Mar 032017

Escape Hybrid

  • 90,000 miles
Power steering went out in 2017 (recall 14S05 was appled in 2014)

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #32

Apr 042017

Escape Hybrid

  • 55,155 miles
Was getting in vehicle to go work. Started engine and put into reverse to pull out of driveway and noticed how hard it was to turn steering wheel. Couldn't turn steering wheel hardly at all. Pulled back up on driveway and turned vehicle off. Started vehicle again and tried again. Was able to drive vehicle but the power steering was not working. It was like diving a old manual steering vehicle; very stiff and took all my might to make turns. During the day; Wednesday called Ford dealership and talked with a service mgr. Who looked up information on our service records. He told me we had brought the 2009 Escape hybrid for the 2014 recall back in Sept. 2014 and had it serviced. They had reset the computer and said it was fixed. It is now April 2017 and have had power steering failure and Ford service mgr. Told me to bring in vehicle the would hook up and run diagnostic on vehicle which will cost me $127 plus the cost of whatever is wrong. Ford will not cover any costs that may be incurred. My vehicle did not give any warning of power steering failure while I drove it or did it ever have any sensor lights come on. As this is a problem that was recognized by ntsb and Ford to cause recall in past and Ford didn't fix problem so wouldn't happen they should be responsible to cover any repairs and costs so I do not have any accidents with the vehicle now or in the future. I should not have to worry every time I get into drive that I could have power steering failure.

- Cedar Park, TX, USA

problem #31

Mar 172017

Escape Hybrid

  • 112,000 miles
I am asking that the investigation into Ford recall 14S05 be reopened as the repair options were not sufficient to ensure the vehicle be correctly repaired as well as insure the safety of vehicles operation. Vehicle steering wheel jittering, bumping and vibrating while vehicle is stopped and experiencing intermittent loss of power steering. Ford recall 14S05 performed on vehicle 12/17/2014. At the time Ford chose not to replace electric steering column and elected to complete recall with alternate software update. On 3/17/2017 the same Ford dealership that performed recall on vehicle has determined that the electronic steering column must now be replaced due to part failures stated in recall. Both the dealership warranty administrator and Ford customer service state that recall has been closed on vehicle due to December 2014 maintenance therefore the repair costs of the recalled parts will not be covered.

- Monmouth Jct, NJ, USA

problem #30

Oct 232016

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 114,000 miles
When driving in the mountains the power steering assist fault indicator came up and vehicle lost power steering completely.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #29

Oct 132016

Escape Hybrid

  • 95,000 miles
Power steering failed while operating vehicle on public roads. I believe the falure was caused by a faulty steering torque sensor htat was the subject of Ford recall notice 14S05. The vehicle was serviced by dealer to address this recall and the dealer performed a "software update" to correct the issue. "the update allegedly would make sure the SUVS wouldn't lose power steering while driving and would provide audio and visual warnings if problems occurred. If a driver received warnings, they were told to return the vehicle to the dealer." The audio and visual alerts did not occur and the power steering system failed leaving only manual unassisted steering, making operation of the vehicle unsafe.

- Paradise, CA, USA

problem #28

Jun 012016

Escape Hybrid

  • 110,000 miles
I was driving low speeds in a parking lot and crashed due to a power steering failure. I was trying to turn 90 degrees but it was extremely difficult to turn the steering wheel even with both arms. I had a low-speed crash that wrecked my front end. I checked with Ford dealer but they stated the power steering recall did not apply to my Ford Escape hybrid. I'm disappointed that the same faulty steering system in my hybrid is not covered.

- Minneapolis, MN, USA

problem #27

Apr 282016

Escape Hybrid

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape hybrid. While driving approximately 35 mph, the steering failed without warning. The vehicle was coasted to the side of the road and the steering power resumed. The failure recurred a couple of times. The failure was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that there was no recall. The failure mileage was 110,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Melrose, MA, USA

problem #26

Apr 152016

Escape Hybrid

  • 105,000 miles
When driving at all speeds, but more so at slower "city" speeds, the power steering has failed and control can only be maintained via manual steering which is difficult to control and maneuver. This vehicle had been "reprogrammed" without any reported symptoms in 2014 and has now experienced these issues approximately 10K miles later. This reprogramming was done through a previous recall program that did not have an adequate repair to solve the problem.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #25

Nov 272015

Escape Hybrid

  • miles
The loss of power steering first occurred in November 2015. I got an appointment with my local Ford dealer in December 2015. They reset the power steering module. After driving without any issues for two weeks, the power steering is gone again. Before the reset, switching off the engine would remedy the issue, now I have to drive the vehicle without power steering and my local Ford dealer is saying the part is not covered in the recall and its costing $1,600 for the part and labor.

- Ap59223 Slot0609, FL, USA

problem #24

Dec 142015

Escape Hybrid

  • 62,500 miles
Two months ago, we took our vehicle into the local Ford dealership for a firmware upgrade that was part of a wider Ford recall for some power-steering issue. We had not experienced any steering issues at all with our vehicle, but we went ahead with the firmware upgrade to be on the safe side. Well, two days ago, we started our vehicle, and steering was uncommonly difficult. We then turned off the ignition, and re-started the vehicle; after the re-start, steering was back to normal. Then yesterday, we started the vehicle, and steering again was uncommonly difficult. After two re-starts, the difficult steering persisted. When I say "difficult" here, I really mean hard -- only a physically strong and fit person could manage to turn the steering wheel. The maneuvering felt so unsafe, that I felt compelled after a single drive to take our vehicle into the local Ford dealership this morning.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #23

Nov 242015

Escape Hybrid 4WD 4-cyl

  • 62,599 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Escape hybrid. The contact stated that the steering ability was lost completely and the service warning indicator illuminated. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 62,599. Updated 03/11/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 04/07/16.

- Dedham, MA, USA

problem #22

Nov 212015

Escape Hybrid

  • 97,650 miles
My vehicle had a recall 14S05 involving power steering done 7/23/14 yesterday while at the post office, when I started the car and went to back up the steering wheel was difficult to turn and handle. Able to get home without power assist, but now after researching this problem, I understand that since the recall done was just a computer upgrade and nothing physical done, I have no recourse except to have the power steering column replace at my expense. This is a deception on Ford's part, as most people would take the car in for recall without questioning the procedure to be done. Ford should be paying for every faulty steering problem as a matter of safety and avoiding any loss of lives

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #21

Nov 042015

Escape Hybrid

  • 169,680 miles
While backing out of my driveway, my power steering suddenly and completely went out. A dashboard light came on which read "power steering assist fault." I drove to my Ford dealership and was told that my VIN was not on the recall list and the list was "VIN specific." I was told by the dealership the part that needed replacement is the torque sensor which is one of the parts specifically mentioned in the recall for the 2009 escape. The NHTSA website called the recall 14S05. I have been told it will cost approx. $900 to repair my vehicle.

- West Hills, CA, USA

problem #20

Oct 022015

Escape Hybrid

  • 64,000 miles
I intermittently & briefly loose power steering while driving. Ford has issued a recall for 2008 thru 2012 but the dealer said my vehicle is not covered by the recall problem has occurred three time in the last two months.

- Crete, IL, USA

problem #19

Apr 152015

Escape Hybrid 4WD 4-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
Vehicle power steering failed while turning left. In 2014 my vehicle was serviced for a power steering recall. I did not have a power steering failure until after the software update.

- Ellettsville, IN, USA

problem #18

Feb 212015

Escape Hybrid

  • 128,000 miles
Our 17 year old son was making a turn in heavy traffic when the power steering went out. He nearly crashed into a truck due to the fact that the car became nearly impossible to turn and he was taken by surprise. He able to barely muscle the car away from the other vehicle and pulled over and called me (his father). It turns out my wife had taken the car into Ford just last fall to have recall work done on it, and only now, am I finding out that the faulty part involved in the recall work was not replaced by Ford. In fact, nobody's vehicles had the faulty part replaced. They just "adjusted" it. How the NHTSA could allow this is beyond me. Because of the near collision that occurred in this, I will most likely file a suit against Ford for giving us the impression that a faulty part was replaced when in fact it was not. I own 3 Ford and am taking this very seriously.

- Spring Lake Park, MN, USA

problem #17

Jan 052015

Escape Hybrid 4-cyl

  • 84,500 miles
I own a 2009 Ford escape limited hybrid. The pscm failed. I paid $1,322.41 to get it fixed. I read in motor trend that there is a recall - 104765, Ford recall 14S05 -for this exact, specific problem with 2009 Ford escapes. I called "Ford customer service", opened case [xxx], and was told that the recall applies to every car but mine because my VIN wasn't included! however, my problem is not with my VIN, but with the exact, specific part that was referenced in the recall. Ford admitted that it manufactured and installed a defective pscm, but is hiding behind a lame excuse that it doesn't apply to my defective pscm because it (Ford) neglected to list my VIN in the recall. Ford customer service assured me that they would contact NHTSA but I do not believe them, so I am. I think they say this to blow-off owners with complaints so NHTSA doesn't find out about them. They lost my trust with their lame excuse - "it's your VIN that's the problem, not our defective part." Feel free to contact Ford and reference my complaint. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #16

Oct 152014

Escape Hybrid

  • 45,000 miles
Brakes have given out, while coming to a red stop light luck that no one was around when I ran the light sent to dealer they could not duplicate issue but they did a update on steering and know when backing up steering gets stiff, causing turn radius to become extreme, but only does it sometimes.went back to dealer no problem found and could not duplicate problem.hoping someone find problem before a person or persons gets killed!!!

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #15

Nov 032014

Escape Hybrid 4WD 4-cyl

  • 96,700 miles
Total power steering failure on start up when backing out of driveway. The power steering has been intermittent since then. Seems most likely to fail when cold. So far it has started working once warmed up and restarted. The vehicle is very hard to control when the power steering is not working. I'm concerned it will fail while driving and cause an accident. I plan on taking it to the dealership today.

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #14

Feb 012014

Escape Hybrid

  • 70,000 miles
On three occasions, the power steering was not activated when the vehicle was started. Restarting the vehicle corrected the issue. Luckily, no sudden loss of power steering occurred while driving, only immediately after starting vehicle.

- Brighton, CO, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »