8.7

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
No data
Average Mileage:
9,850 miles
Total Complaints:
27 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (13 reports)
  2. replace throttle body (11 reports)
  3. replaced electronic throttle body (3 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Ford dealer.

problem #27

Sep 052017

Explorer XLT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,200 miles

My wife's throttle body was replaced in her Explorer on 9/1/17. Today she was on her way home from work on the busiest highway in Texas, I-35, when her car died again. She was near an exit ramp so she put on her hazards and exited the ramp and pulled into a parking lot where she successfully restarted the car.

She called me to tell me what had happened so I instructed her to take it back to the dealership again. This is becoming terribly inconvenient and is extremely dangerous. I have lost all confidence in this vehicle as this is the third time it has left her stranded.

- Jeremiah G., Buda, US

problem #26

Aug 292017

Explorer XLT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 36,000 miles

My wife was traveling home from work and was stopped at a stop light. The car stalled and would not start again. She was able to get two gentlemen to assist her with getting the car off of the roadway and called roadside assistance. After waiting for some time, she attempted to start the vehicle again and called me to ask what to do.

I told her to call back roadside assistance and tell them that you are going to limp the vehicle to the nearest dealership which happens to be where we bought the vehicle and do all of the service. She was able to get the vehicle to the dealer and after three days it was diagnosed with a faulty throttle body and was replaced.

- Jeremiah G., Buda, US

problem #25

Jul 062017

Explorer XLT 3.5L V6 4wd

  • Automatic transmission
  • 27,000 miles

I bought this vehicle as a Ford Certified vehicle. I took it to Florida recently and it had about 25K miles on it. It stalled and died a few times in Florida the day before I was planning on driving back to Oklahoma. I had the car towed to a dealership that couldn't find the problem. They did inform me that my Explorer had already had the Throttle Body replaced back in Feb 2016. Then last month my car stalled but this time I received "System Off to Save Battery". I took the car in, and come to find out my battery was about dead. The dealership replaced the battery and check the alternator. I'm hopeful this has fixed the problem. Yesterday (7/6/17) my car, stalls again, and I receive the "System Off to Save Battery" message. II got the car started and since I was by an Autozone, I pulled in there and had them check the battery. I suspected maybe the alternator, and my new battery was already drained. This was NOT the case. The battery and alternator check out good. So I take my car to the dealership, and they put me in a rental. Time will tell. Hopefully they find the problem but because it isn't storing a code, the dealership is having trouble believing it is the Throttle Body since it was just replaced 5 months ago. I'll keep you posted. I really want this to be fixed because I really love my Explorer. I just need it to not die in the middle of the road. I've been lucky, but I can image if it happened merging into traffic.

Update from Jul 18, 2017: One week ago Ford called and said my car is fixed, and we have replaced the Throttle Body. (Note: This is the second Throttle Body to be replaced.) I was very happy and optimistic. I pick the car up, begin to drive it home, and within 10 miles of the shop, it died again. Seriously! So it goes back to the shop. They test and drive it for another few days and send me home saying they can't recreate the problem. Now in my mind, I'm thinking maybe they just don't believe me that it is dying. So I take it home and the next day it dies twice, and the day after that it dies twice. I was able to film with my iPhone those stalls 3 of the 4 times. Now I have proof that I'm going to be able to take back to the dealership. Yesterday I met with the dealership service and showed the videos and they said they always believed me, but they just couldn't replicate the issue and it wasn't saving any codes. They promised they would find it, and believed it was electrical in Nature. RESULT --> I received a call stating they fixed my car and that it was a pin failure in the fuse box. Fuse #33 for PTC and they were 100% certain because every time you even touched the fuse, the engine would stall. Moral of the story, wiggle your fuses first to see if it might be something simple. Only time will tell, as I'm going to pick up my Explorer after work today.

- Bryan H., Mustang, OK, US

problem #24

Jun 162017

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,400 miles

The engine died while driving on the highway trying to get home. Lost all acceleration. Wrench + "Check Manual" light came on. Tried shutting off and restarting the engine but it did not work. We ended up coasting home. Will be taking it to a mechanic tomorrow.

- Angela P., Devils Lake, US

problem #23

Jun 152017

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,800 miles

While running errands yesterday, I turned onto the highway when my engine immediately died, a wrench light and airbag light came on and said "check manual". I pulled over, turned off the car then turned it back on and made it back to work. I forgot to mention it to my husband later that night and the next day it happened again while he was driving. It's terrifying. Does someone have to die before Ford owns up this is a known issue? I did try to check the manual, funny enough, and there is nothing about sudden engine failure with confusing commands listed.

- Angela P., Devils Lake, US

problem #22

Jul 202016

Explorer Limited 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,700 miles

Issue is still being reviewed; but, based on reports from others experiencing same issue the problem is throttle body. Will have to see what Ford will do for the issue since this is being reported by a number of individuals. Concerning due to dealing with engine.

- khaselow, Franklin, WI, USA

problem #21

Dec 172016

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,586 miles

Second time my 2016 Explorer with 8800 miles has stalled on the road. First time I was almost hit making a left hand turn when my car stalled in the center of the road. Today it stalled on I-44 while driving 65 MPH. Car following me was barely able to stop in time to keep from rear-ending me. I have received the recall notice16B32 to replace the e throttle body. I had already had my selling dealer order the replacement and am scheduled to have it replaced in 2 days. I don't think Ford realizes how dangerous this situation is and it will be a miracle if someone is not seriously injured on killed when their car stalls. Previously my family have owned three different Escapes, all three of them having to have their throttle bodies replaced. Evidently Ford has not discovered how to successfully manufacture a throttle body! I wonder if this replacement throttle body is identical to the one they are removing, or is it an improved version. I will never trust this Explorer again and mywife is refusing to drive it to work, choosing to drive her smaller Chevrolet instead.

- Janet H., Springfield, MO, US

problem #20

Jun 062016

Explorer 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,000 miles

Brand new, stalled on Rt 1 mid morning. The engine stalled and would not accelerate. Engine light turned on. Had to coast to parking lot and cut traffic to get there. Have children that are little, so very scary. Dealership knew right away what it might be and replaced the throttle body. On to Complaint #2 on same problem.

- dont_buy_ford, Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #19

Jul 082016

Explorer 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,400 miles

Call stalled out at light while trying to turn a legal left at a green for all light, no arrow. Car sputtered and then would not accelerate through the light. Vehicle was a sitting duck and could have been hit while not moving in the intersection. Floored the accelerator pedal continuously and it would not budge. After the 5th attempt, just let it sit for a 2-3 second window and tried again. Finally moved~! NO engine light came on like the last time it happened. Brought the explorer to the dealership and they did not help because of the fact the warning system did not catch the stall out, which I think is BS! No resolution has been found with this problem and I think even though this happened to me the first time and the warning light came on, they changed the throttle body- I think there is something a miss with the system. If you have children, do not buy and risk it.

- dont_buy_ford, Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #18

Jul 132016

Explorer XLT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,000 miles

engine light on and the explorer stalled.New ford 2016 should not stall on highway!

Update from Nov 13, 2016: This is the our third Ford Explorer we bought new from Ford. I hope this problem of engine shutting off is fixed now.

- Richard B., Greenwich, USA

problem #17

Sep 172016

Explorer LS V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 9,000 miles

Car broke down while driving 20mph and Ford first insisted on "reprogramming" the throttle body first. As I was driving home from the dealer, the car stalled again at 65mph. Extremely dangerous situation. Then Ford instructed the dealer to replace the throttle body. That was 2 weeks ago and I have driven 500 miles since then and the car just stalled again with the same problem. I will be investigating NY lemon laws.

- C B., Rye, NY, USA

problem #16

Sep 242016

Explorer Limtied 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

Driving in Orange county at normal freeway speed in the left (fast) lane, lost power - no throttle response.

Orange message on cluster panel "See Manual". Coasted to fast lane shoulder (so fun!) put it in park. Restarted on off we went without any other problems,or warnings or messages. No disaster, but could have been a sh*tty headline on the news about that one family that died! Recall needs to be issued regarding this if in fact a faulty electronic throttle body / sensor. Keeping quiet about a problem like this is not the helping anybody...c'mon Ford, cowboy up!

- smranger21, San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 202016

Explorer XLT 3.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,400 miles

After driving from North Carolina to Maryland, I was driving down a city street and suddenly my Explorer stopped moving. I had to coast into a parking lot. Luckily I was not on interstate 95 or 495. I hate to think what would have happened. I just bought my Explorer in May, 2016. I am now reading that this problem (throttle body) from other owners of the Explorer. I am really surprised that Ford has not proactively fixed the issue. I hate to say that something really bad will have to happen for Ford to move on this issue. I do not feel good about this vehicle.

- Reginald C., Durham, NC, US

problem #14

Aug 212016

Explorer XLT 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,598 miles

Driving out of my neighborhood and the engine stalled. The car did not turn off it just topped moving forward as if the throttle didn't working anymore. I was able to drive in reverse of the ideal of the vehicle down my neighborhood back to my house. I call ford an set up a tow for the next day. I was able to start the car again and when I put it in drive I was able to give it gas once more, but this time I did not leave my driveway as I don't want to be stranded on the side of the road.

- sr. barton, Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #13

Aug 052016

Explorer XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,861 miles

Last Friday, my wife was driving in town and the car conked out while making a turn (this is the second time this has happened) blocking traffic at a major intersection. The instant loss of power while driving is a real safety hazard. I asked about Lemon Law and was told that the same problem must occur 3 times before the factory would even consider it. The dealer said this was not a common occurance which, based on this forum is not true.

- Michael S., West Palm Beach, FL, US

problem #12

Jul 292016

Explorer V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,000 miles

We had a 2004 Ford Explorer with the V8 and it ran until almost 250,000 with only oil changes. This 2016 with a V6 made it to a little over 8,000 and dropped dead while my wife was merging onto a highway with 2 friends. No warning, it just lost all power. The wrench symbol, and engine, light came on. A semi just missed killing them all.

The Explorer just drifted off the highway onto the shoulder with no control.

One of her friends called her husband who knew immediately what was the problem. He told my wife to let it sit a few minutes and try to start it. It did start and she drove it home about a mile. Once home I did a quick Internet search and found the problem was a throttle body. Ford has known about this problem all along and has done nothing to correct it I saw in repeated complaints.

Tonight around 11 PM we are going to attempt to drive the thing to the dealership where we purchased it. I am leaving a message that I expect a loaner car since they almost killed my wife and her friends. Tomorrow I plan to go there and hope I don't get hassle.

- Joe M., Allentown, NJ, USA

problem #11

Jul 022016

Explorer XLT 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,700 miles

While on vacation driving through a national preserve in northern Alabama, lost power and gas pedal became unresponsive. Engine light, wrench light and air bag lights came on. Had to have it towed to dealer.

- Geoff S., Snellville, GA, USA

problem #10

Jun 122016

Explorer Limited 3.5L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,343 miles

Our 2016 Ford Explorer lost power in the middle of a crowded highway. We were lucky to be able to move carefully to the side of the road, although it wasn't without several idiots road raging us in the process. We were basically stranded on the roadside 300 miles from home on a Sunday afternoon when all Ford dealerships in the area were closed. Roadside Assistance would ONLY get us a tow truck and nothing else.

We were left on the roadside with our luggage while we waited for a cab to take us to the nearest car rental place; all, which we had to arrange ourselves WITH NO HELP FROM FORD. It took 3 days to get the car fixed. Our total out of pocket cost for rental car and cab fare (so we could continue our trip) was over $300. Our ESP reimbursed us for $136 of it.

Seems like with Ford knowing this was a MAJOR PROBLEM in its vehicles, it would accommodate requests for reasonable reimbursement. I've exhausted all appeals with Ford Roadside Assistance and Ford Warranty for full reimbursement. I'm very disappointed to say the least. I also have a 2015 Ford F-150 Lariat that I'm told will also have the same throttle body problem eventually, but Ford will not do anything about it until I break down, like we did in my wife's 2016 Explorer.

I've spent nearly $100,000 on 2 Ford vehicles in the past year. I'm just disappointed, that's all I can say. I'm hoping the dealership will do its best to help me. For everyone's safety, Ford should issue the recall for this.

- Frank B., Canton, MS, USA

problem #9

Jun 242016

Explorer

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,750 miles

I was driving home at 10:00 a.m. after visiting a doctor's office on a busy highway at 57 mph when all of a sudden the car gas peddle is not working. The car is in complete shut down mode. I rolled through an intersection to get to safety. The car dash board had a wrench picture and engine light on and the message was 'SEE MANUAL". I was not able to go nowhere. I called Ford at 10:06 for a tow and was told it would take an hour to get to me. I called again at 11L30 due to still waiting for the tow truck and was told there was no record of me calling. Customer service had to start from scratch to get a tow truck out to me. Finally at about 12:30 a tow truck arrived and towed me to Sam Gallaway Ford Dealership in Ft. Myers FL.

It has been a nightmare since. I was told the part is the throttle body and it would take some time to get the part and that Sam Gallaway would pay 9 days of my rental and then my insurance would have to cover the rest.

I do not want this vehicle anymore. I am terrified from what happened and what could happen in the future. This car needs to be on the RECALL list.

- eveswin, Cape Coral, FL, USA

problem #8

Jun 192016

Explorer XLT V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,661 miles

Just hit 6660 miles when my Explore lost power.... maybe that's my sign. Anyways at 6660 mile driving on the 210 FWY, my new Explorer lost power, it coasted to the to the nearest exit. It eventually turned back on, got back on the road and drove home. The next day I took the truck to Ford, they first told me it would take a day to diagnose the problem and since it was not in for a recall they could not provide me a loaner. So, I was forced to rent a car. I got a call from the dealership before end the day to tell me the throttle assembly need to be replace and was under warranty and as a courtesy they would cover my rental... oh how nice. Today they call me told me that the unit is on back order by 10days. Really holy !@$ I took me months to convince my wife to by a Ford and not a Toyota. I don't think that Explore will make it back to my driveway after this. Just saying my Highlander would hit 200000 by now with no issues. Which sucks FORD just lost any chances of my wife buying another car from them. FYI this issue has been happening since 2013 with the Escape NHTSA let Ford call it a "customer satisfaction issue" even do there have been 1.5 million complains about the ETA. Not looking good I think we will most likely cut our looses and look for another car. I bet you the replacement unit is the same unit. F@#$ ay

- juicetwist, North Hills, CA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »