10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
10 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,274 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Ford Explorer:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #17

Aug 012017

Explorer

  • 600 miles
Exhaust smell comes into the cabin when car is accelerating. Seems worst when the ac is in re-circulation mode. You can smell the exhaust fumes right after the engine/transmission has downshifted to accelerate.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #16

Aug 152017

Explorer

  • 10,100 miles
Carbon monoxide detected in passenger cabin - after reading stories about possible problems with carbon monoxide (co) in 2016 Ford Explorer in mid July 2017 I purchased a kidde battery powered co detector and installed it in the rear area of the passenger compartment. It had not alarmed until we were traveling from seneca, SC to indianapolis, in. We were towing an 8X5 enclosed U-haul trailer at normal freeway speeds. Tow/haul was engaged because we were towing and the engine was generally running at higher RPM's, especially going up the mountain inclines. The co detector first alarmed West of ashviille, nc. Suddenly the headaches and drowsiness both my wife and I were experiencing made sense. We opened the windows and the alarm stopped after a couple minutes. After this happened 3-4 times I moved the detector to the front of the passenger cabin so that I could monitor the part per million display. We found that it only took 15-20 minutes of highway driving for the detector to display 31ppm, the detectors minimum concentration detection threshold. The level would then build over time. Due to the detrimental effects of co on the human body I never let the concentration exceed 62ppm. I found, however, that the peak co concentration detected was 103ppm. I assume this was reached while the detector was in the rear of the cabin, where the display was not visible to me. The service manager at lake keowee Ford suggested that I run the HVAC in recirculate mode. I tried many different HVAC modes - recirculate, normal/outside air, rear HVAC turned off - but the result was always the same, co being detected in the cabin within 15-20 minutes. Needless to say I am not buying Ford's claim that this problem is only with law enforcement vehicles with body perforations from the installation of after market equipment. The vehicle is going into a carmel, in Ford dealer this afternoon.

- Seneca, SC, USA

problem #15

Aug 042017

Explorer

  • 2,300 miles
Occasionally when I drove the car I felt light headedness and diziniess. On 8/3/2017 I felt the dizziness again and ended up in a car accident. I felt as though I was going to pass out and in a flash I crashed into the car in front of me.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #14

Nov 242016

Explorer

  • 11 miles
Smell of exhaust fumes inside vehicle when driving vehicle upon reaching speeds approximatey 45 mph and above off and on since purchasing new vehicle

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #13

Jul 312017

Explorer

  • 890 miles
I am concerned about my 2017 Ford Explorer and a carbon monoxide leak. I have overall feeling bad since we got our new 2017 Ford Explorer, which is very out of character for me. I am a prior special operation veteran, overall in good health, and only 30Y/O. like many, who have complained about this vehicle I am getting nausea, weakness, and tension headaches from driving this vehicle. I have been very weak and having headaches, as of late. This has had a major impact on my day-to-day life. I couldn┐T explain why or what was going on with me it seemed as if it came out of nowhere. I am starting to think maybe I have long term exposure to carbon monoxide over the last 3 weeks. I got the Ford explore 3 weeks ago and this sudden sickness has been happening since then. I got so worried with my health"I went to the doctor. I explained to the doctor "I have no clue what's going on with me but I feel absolutely horrible. I feel like I have had a flu for almost a month". I was desperate and I know I sounded crazy but I have been having some serious bouts with weakness, fatigue, and headaches. I went to the doctor on July 31st 2017 and I really have been baffled by the sudden onset of symptoms. This was before I knew about the NHTSA investigation into the 2017 Ford Explorer. I saw the story run today (8-3-17) on good morning America and I started to put two and two together. At the doctor's appointment on (7-31-17) they pulled blood, and are conducting a bunch of test but nothing has come back. I am concerned, I am hoping it's not related to the carbon monoxide leak that others are reporting. My biggest concern is for my pregnant wife and unborn child. As a purple heart vet I have put my heart and soul into our great country and I need this Agency to please find answers to if these SUVS are safe. My families could depend on it thank you for your service.

- Apo, AE, USA

problem #12

Jul 282017

Explorer

  • miles
The vehicle was tested and found to have 18 ppm of co in the interior while in operation.

- Warrenton, VA, USA

problem #11

Jul 012017

Explorer

  • 22,000 miles
Explorer with 2.3L ecoboost produces an exhaust smell during moderate to wot throttle runs. Generally seems to occur after lifting off the throttle and returning to cruising throttle position. Vehicle must be vented to prevent illness to passengers, has happened multiple times. Occurs more often when vehicle is under significant load (such as climbing a grade).

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #10

Jul 292017

Explorer

  • 10,000 miles
We purchased this vehicle March 2017. We have noticed that each time the vehicle requires rapid acceleration, for example passing another car on a two-lane road, you will smell exhaust fumes in the cabin of the vehicle. These fumes enter the cabin via the air conditioning vents and will be so strong that all occupants will develop difficulty breathing. During routine acceleration, we have not detected any fumes, however some occupants have developed headaches simultaneously intermittently.

- Benson, NC, USA

problem #9

Jul 282017

Explorer

  • 4,200 miles
Strong exhaust smell in passenger compartment when accelerating and/or merging into freeway traffic. I had to open all windows as my eyes were watering.

- Gahanna, OH, USA

problem #8

May 012017

Explorer

  • 1,000 miles
Strong exhaust odor in the cab of the vehicle. This usually occurs during acceleration and when the ac is on. The odor is so strong, we usually have to put the windows down for relief.

- Lakeland, FL, USA

problem #7

Jul 192017

Explorer

  • 18,600 miles
I was driving on the New Jersey turnpike at 4:00 pm. I was traveling in the second travel lane at approx 68 mph surrounded by lots of traffic and many large semi trailer trucks. All of a sudden the car started beeping and when I looked at the dash board to see what was going on, it said" transmission is not in park" within seconds I lost all power. The screen went black and the engine had died. I had no power when I stepped on the gas pedal. As my car was slowing down I was able to make it to the breakdown lane safely before the car came to a stop. I had my daughter and young granddaughter in the car also. Thank good we were not hit by any cars or trucks on the turnpike. After shifting to park when the car came to a stop, the dash said " step on the break to restart". luckily the car did start so that we were not stranded on the turnpike. This is a very serious safety issue and Ford needs to address this immediately

- Middleboro, MA, USA

problem #6

Jan 102017

Explorer

  • 50 miles
While driving exhaust fumes enter cabin while excelerating and when air conditioner is

- North Massapequa, NY, USA

problem #5

May 102017

Explorer

  • 1,500 miles
Strong exhaust smell in the entire cabin of the vehicle upon exceleration so much so you have to roll down the windows to evacuate the smell. It's an on going problem and just not a one time event. I have a four old daughter that sits in the 2nd row that I'm concerned about.

- Oklahoma City, OK, USA

problem #4

Jan 092017

Explorer

  • 2,000 miles
While driving, usually during fast acceleration no matter the speed, there is the smell of exhaust in the cabin of the vehicle. I have already taken the vehicle to the dealership where I bought it and they say they couldn't find anything wrong. The smell of exhaust is present almost every time I drive the vehicle.

- Edinburg, TX, USA

problem #3

Apr 182017

Explorer

  • 1,700 miles
On January 27th, 2017, my wife and I leased a new 2017 Ford Explorer. Every time we operate the vehicle, we get extremely sick (some symptoms we experience are sore throat, running nose, headaches, and nausea that last hours after exiting the vehicle). This occurs about 10-15 minutes while driving/operating the vehicle. The heating system was set to 75 degrees Fahrenheit and the windows were closed. After we felt sick we did shut off the heating system and open the windows but there was a slight odor in the cabin and we still feel several aliments. Doctor appointments have been made for myself and my 6-month-old daughter that was in the vehicle (this being my most significant concern). Ford Motor Corp installed a new exhaust system, removed the rear bumper and resealed any leaks, checked cabin pressure and tried to reseal any cracks that may allow exhaust to renter the cabin. Ford stated that the vehicle was fixed, after being brought to them for the third time (they said they found more leaks and resealed them), but refused to give me any documentation stating that the vehicle is safe for my family and myself to be in. The vehicle has been in and out of service several times, a Ford service technician located at sayville Ford test drove the vehicle with me and confirmed the same ailments. The vehicle was picked up from service after Ford stated it was fixed for a 3rd time and we were still getting sick when we drove the vehicle. We contacted Ford again and we advised them of the situation for a 4th time and their response was ┐by its very nature, new car smell is due to plastics and adhesives in the vehicle. It could be an irritant to some. Unfortunately, you may have to consider other options that may be available to you.┐

- Great River, NY, USA

problem #2

Feb 282017

Explorer

  • 8,000 miles
Exhaust gases entering the passenger cabin, causing bad smell, usually under load, during hill climbing, moderate to hard acceleration when joining interstate or faster roads, ac in use, with or without recirculation on, symptoms of sore runny eyes and headache and nausea in children and other occupants. Confirmed today by dealer who has implemented an attempted fix. This is a 2017 model XLT. This has happened on multiple occasions since vehicle first purchased. Initially believed it was smells from other vehicles, however as symptoms continued with occupants search revealed known problem with this type of vehicle confirmed by dealer today and attempted fix undertaken.

- Vestavia Hills, AL, USA

problem #1

Oct 172016

Explorer

  • 604 miles
After a stop, the car was at stationary, was not able to start the car by pushing the start button, gave me error on the dashboard "full accessory power active". tried to turn it off, after multiple times of trying, was able to start the car, it has 606 mi on it.

- Richardson, TX, USA