10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
54,323 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #36

Dec 302006

F-150 8-cyl

  • 21,715 miles
Driving on the interstate @ 55mph the truck has a vibration -begins to shake- returned to dealer no problem found, this story goes on and on I have replaced out of my pocket rotors, calibers two whole set of tires and still to this day is still will shake @ and around 52 mph to 57 mph nobody will help me find the problem now it is out of warranty Ford doesn't care.

- Delaware, OH, USA

problem #35

Sep 242012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 73,000 miles
Turning out of a parking lot during acceleration the truck began to "jump" and ride rough like driving over a "washboard". after stopping and checking it out nothing was seen. Happened again on the way home. I took it to the dealership in town and they said the rear diff needed to be replaced.

- Sierra Vista, AZ, USA

problem #34

Jan 032011

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
Shaft assembly part #8L32-3B676-B on 2004 Ford F-150 needed to be replaced. Mechanic told me there was a technical service bulletin (tsb). Steering wheel would stick badly especially at low speed turns and intermittently at high speed turns, as well, causing two near accidents. Still having problems...one mechanic tells me it the tie rods that require replacing and another tells me lower steering shaft needs replacement.

- Victor, NY, USA

problem #33

Oct 032011

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 103,188 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F150. The contact was driving 55 mph when the steering wheel seized. The contact merged the vehicle off the highway, turned the vehicle off and waited thirty minutes before restarting. The vehicle resumed as normal. The dealer inspected the vehicle and advised the contact that the upper and lower steering shaft had rusted together. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 103,188. The alternator was replaced. Updated 02/28/12

- New Castle, DE, USA

problem #32

Aug 102009

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, there was a loud rattling noise coming from the steering column. The contact continued to drive and later discovered that the failure was contributed to the tie rod ends, which were extremely loose. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that there were no recalls associated with the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- South Lyon , MI, USA

problem #31

Jun 162011

F-150

  • 66,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated the bolt in the steering box was broken and caused the steering wheel to become very tight. The contact was able to drive the vehicle back to his home then to the dealer who confirmed one of the bolts in the steering box were broken. The VIN was unknown. The failure and current mileage was 66,000.

- Washington, PA, USA

problem #30

May 012011

F-150

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated while driving, the vehicle made a noise in the front end; the steering wheel was also difficult to turn. The vehicle was taken to the dealer and who diagnosed that the rack and pinion steering needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 64,000 and the current mileage was 65,000. Updated 09/08/11 updated 2/9/12

- Cicero, IL, USA

problem #29

Feb 162010

F-150

  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the steering wheel would vibrate excessively when driving 40 mph and over. The vehicle would not remain in third gear when shifted and the interior of all four tires were worn prematurely. The tires were replaced at a local tire specialty facility and the contact was advised to rotate the tires every 2000-3000 miles. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle would exhibit an unusual knocking from the top portion of the engine. The rear brake light above the crew cab would become filled with water that was leaking into the vehicle. Also when accelerating to highway speeds, the vehicle would become resistant to acceleration. The contact would have to depress the accelerator pedal abruptly. When doing so, the check engine warning light would illuminate and the vehicle would vibrate violently. The contact believed there was an issue with the fuel gauge and tank. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 70,000 and the current mileage was 98,000.

- Freemont , CA, USA

problem #28

Jan 012010

F-150

  • 98,000 miles
Steering became very hard intermittently. I thought that I had a power steering problem. Steering would not return to center when completing turns and froze up on turns at low speed. Took to dealer and advised that universals in steering shaft were rusted frozen. Truck had 98,000 miles. A friend with a 2007 F-150 with 50,000 miles had same problem. This is a very dangerous situation, since it was difficult to control the vehicle in turns.

- Stratham, NH, USA

problem #27

Mar 302010

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • 79,000 miles
2004 Ford F-150 VIN#[xxx]. I was having a problem steering the vehicle and thought it was the steering fluid/pump. Pump and fluid were find but, they problem continued and I was having considerable issues trying to steer. Vehicle was taken to my local repair shop. All tire on staten island New York. Phone# 718 447-3400. The problem was diagnosed and repaired. The lower steering assmebly was broken. This shaft is part #8L3Z3B676B. I was informed by one of the shop managers that this is a common problem and that he was repairing a second Ford a Ford Excursion with the same shaft. He further stated that he has repaired several in the last few months. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #26

Mar 032010

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
Shaft assembly part #8L32-3B676-B on Ford F-150 needed to be replaced. Mechanic told me there was a technical service bulletin (tsb). Steering wheel would stick badly when making turns causing two near accidents.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #25

Jun 232008

F-150

  • 52,987 miles
I have a 2004 F150 pu I purchased the truck used, supposedly a demo. Driving home the steering locked up I thought maybe a belt after nursing the truck home I looked and the belt was intact I got some info from a mechanic friend he suggested the power steering pump I changed that (the truck is no longer under warranty it only has 52000 miles on it) after checking it out further I noticed it has two different style tierods on it and noticed that both upper ball joints ar bad the truck was a just inspected in Nov. Nothing was said that the was any trouble with anything any way I tried to E mail Ford customer relations center I was told to contact dealer( I had problems with another Ford truck and when I complained about that truck the manger told me I was nuts his service than test drove the truck and stated that there was a problem with the shimmy in the front end of the truck but could not find cause)so I did not talk to this person my point is with only 52,000 miles on it the ball joints should not be bad and should not have to be replaced and with paying 500. A month for a payment I cannot afford to repair the truck on my own(or should not have to) can you help in any way?

- Yorkshire, NY, USA

problem #24

Mar 172008

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2004 F150 Triton needed to have steering shaft assembly replaced. Strong burning smell. Difficulty steering. Leaking steering fluid. Part #8L3Z*3B676 was removed and replaced @ C wimerley..49047.

- Dowagiac, MI, USA

problem #23

Oct 262005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 8,016 miles
Terrific vibrations/shimmies at speeds from 55-70 mph. Steering wheel shakes and vibrations felt through out the vehicle. Have had vehicle in to Ford for warranty repair 6 times. The vehicle is at the dealer right now and has been there 3 days. (10/17-10/18-10/19 and who know how much longer.) when it vibrates and shakes we have to slow down and pull off the freeway. This has been ongoing since the vehicle had only 8,000 miles on it and it only has 20,500 on it now. The incidence of vibrating/shaking is getting more and more frequent.--this vehicle is not safe in this condition.

- Beverly Hills, FL, USA

problem #22

Aug 062007

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,050 miles
I have owned the truck for approx. 7 weeks. During the test drive I noticed a vibration starting around 55 mph. The truck had 41000 miles on it. The dealer agreed to balance the tires. After balancing the problem still occurred. It gets severe around 70-74 mph with steering wheel vibrations. I will be taking the truck into the shop for the 45000 mile service within two weeks and will be talking to the service dept.

- Calhoun, GA, USA

problem #21

Oct 042006

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have just left my dealer with some disappointing news. The vibration I am encountering with my 04 F150 is due to the wheel hubs being engineered out of acceptable tolerance. That is to say the issue has been fixed for the 05 and 06 models. It has been explained to me that the wheels and hubs must be "indexed" for the bottom basemant price of $396. This process will have to be done everytime you move or replace a tire. Ford has indicated to me that this is the only fix for the steering wheel vibration and that the consumers are financially responsible for this process although it is their engineering foul up. It was also indicated that they would do the indexing for a reduced amount as long as I purchase my tires and my rotations from them! luckily my dealer has enough good sense to do this process (one that should by the way never have to be done) for free. Of the 26 vehichles I ahve owned, I have never and I mean never had to or heard of indexing the wheels and hubs in order to get my car to quit shaking!!! you can reference this information from the Ford Motor Company technical service bulletin #06-12-02

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #20

Jun 202004

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
I purchased my Ford F-150 as a demo in 2004. The truck has been back to the dealership at least 5 times for a vibration over 60 miles/hr. The truck now has just over 46,000 miles and I just put the 4th set of tires on the truck. The dealership states there is nothing they can do. I have read many online forums about the same complaints with this Ford truck. Two weeks ago I spent over $1000 dollars on tires and alignment, the vibration is still present. My next step is to file for the lemon law.

- Connellsville, PA, USA

problem #19

Jan 242006

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 22,000 miles
Regarding 2004 Ford F150 4X4 pickup: Several months ago I experienced steering problems. Our local dealer fixed a problem with the front brakes. He stated that they have had a number of 2004 4X4 pickups with the same problem, though there has been no recall. Last week the vehicle crashed, which resulted in serious injuries (multiple head fractures) to my wife, and the vehicle being totaled. I was driving on a straight two-lane country road, up a slight graded. Suddenly the vehicle turned sharply to the left. It made a 180 degree turn, and skidded sideways (over the center crown) across the road and broadsided a power pole. The pole struck the passenger-side door, effectively caving it in and causing the injuries. Days later I inspected the vehicle. I noticed (and photographed) that the left front wheel was resting against the brake caliper housing. There was no damage evident to explain this. I did observe that the right front wheel had a clearance between it and the right brake housing. Note that there is no collision damage to the left side or front portion of the truck. The fact that the vehicle seemed to pivot on the left front wheel would be consistent with the brake suddenly grabbing.

- Surry, ME, USA

problem #18

Nov 012005

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,600 miles
The consumer lost control of the truck when driving at 20 mph and hit a lamp post. The steering bolt joint came off and the wheel turned to the right, hitting first the curb then the post. The wheel reached the right one pointing to the right, and the left one pointing to the left. The post was not damaged, but the truck was lightly damage due to the low speed. Updated 12/07/05.

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #17

Jul 022005

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,464 miles
2004 F150 super crew 4X4 with vibration and tension changes in steering wheel. Have taken to two different dealerships multiple times each without resolution. Tires have been rotated and balanced numerous times, road force tested, damper kit installed, drive shart re-indexed, tried new tires but made problem worse. Also told by dealership to drive it for awhile and see if it goes away.

- Rocky River, OH, USA

Read the next 16 complaints »