7.9

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$4,502.00
Average Mileage:
67,541 miles
Total Complaints:
41 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (17 reports)
  2. replace defective cam phaser before it blows out motor (13 reports)
  3. replace engine (12 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Ford dealer.

problem #41

Jul 142014

F-150 FX4 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 91,000 miles

I purchased an F-150 fx5 with the 5.4 Triton motor.2005 year. The truck does run great but it sounds a little like a diesel. It's kind of annoying,and It just makes me worry!I invested a good deal of $$ in extras on this truck, it is very nice,and actually runs excellent so far.

I have put about 6,000 miles on it,and it still sounds the same. Rattles a little at startup, like the oil isn't getting circulated, but it's only for a second. With all I have seen about the spark plug issues,and the noise being tied to the cam phasers I'm quite concerned I'm gonna have a problem. The truck looks great, has plenty of power, and like I said runs great, but 80% of the time it makes a noise like a diesel. People say, oh, sounds like your lifters are going out, and that's embarrassing. I try to explain that's just how it sounds, which I have heard some say that, but it doesn't seem right to me after seeing all that has been said about it on various sites online!

Ford should really honor their quality commitment and fix the problem on these 2005 Tritons! I really like the truck but I am just worried I may have a major issue and I am actually poor, I was able to buy it because a friend helped me out to get me something dependable. And my Ranger was so damned good I thought I would get another Ford truck and I needed something with more room. I am disabled and I will not be able to afford the cost and I shouldn't have to if something like this goes wrong since from all I have read it is an obvious design flaw that Ford doesn't want to acknowledge because that may cost them to fix! They can afford it, I cant! I just hope I don't end up screwed! It's still running great now but I have this constant anxiety of whether or not I'm gonna have a catastrophic failure!

- , Carbondale, KS, USA

problem #40

Apr 012005

F-150 FX4 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5 miles

Well it still ticks. this truck needs to be recalled for motor and exhaust system.

- , Pleasant Hill, MO, USA

problem #39

Sep 022013

F-150 Lariat 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 89,000 miles

I purchased the truck with an extended 3 year warranty that is supposed to cover the power train but the Ford warranty people, after the truck sitting in the local Ford shop for two months, said that they would not honor their contract with me to fix the motor because something went wrong with the motor. As I understand it it was a phase something or the other. From what I have read this is a problem with this motor and they seem to already know this. My local Ford store is not to blame for anything, they have told the Ford people that I have had the truck serviced at all service scheduled times and I haven't abused the truck in anyway. I have only put less than 14,000 miles on the truck since I have had it.

My first Ford was a 1953 flathead 8 cylinder and I have been a Ford man ever since with no problems with any of them. I have had several f-150's The local Ford store has tried to help me with this problem, I have no complaints with them. If Ford doesn't honor their contract with me on this I will not spend one more penny on any Ford product. This is the first step in making my grievances known. FB, BBB, local news stations etc. Thank you carcomplaints .com.

- , Banner Elk, NC, USA

problem #38

Feb 012012

F-150 XL 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 90,000 miles

Wow, Ford 5.4 motors should be recalled completely. Cam Phaser problems on every one they built.

I am a Ford guy since birth but thinking change may be good.

- , Burdett, NY, USA

problem #37

Mar 262012

F-150 XLT Crew Cab 5.4L 3v V8 Triton

  • Automatic transmission
  • 169,000 miles

I am owner of 05 F150 for two years, I am mechanic automotive Chevrolet and Ford. I bought a 2005 Ford Crew Cab at 169,000 miles two years ago, same day unfortunately that my truck's 5.4L engine ran awful, shakes, knocked, and rattling. Then I replaced new timing chains, tensioners, cam sensors, and VCT solenoids at 171,646 miles for $2,070. So I used Ford Motorcraft 5W20/ Oil Filter Motorcraft that my 5.4L 3V is required specific type of engine oil. At 175,400 miles, the engine was rough/shake, rattling noise so I had it run like that for a long time until 8 months later, at 196,200 miles, the engine is completely damaged; failure of, crank bearings, timing chains, adjuster lifters, and cam phaser were failures for no reason.

I purchased brand new 5.4L 3V zero mile for $1,790 completed long block 100,000 miles or 3 years warranty in Tucson, AZ very lowest price ever instead of $5,000. I installed new 5.4L 3V into my truck and reprogram my new PCM for $1,600, after everything had finished connected altogether into the truck, I turned it over and ran sound as normal, no ticks, and I will use MC Ford 5w20/ MC Ford oil filter on my 5.4L ALWAYS. I was upset that Ford did not recall this 5.4L, designed is poor, caused spark plug and cam phaser issue. Also I have spent $5,000 for new engine, parts and PCM

- , Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #36

Sep 152013

F-150 Lariat Super Crew 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 74,550 miles

It is absolutely unfair that a $36,000 truck would need $4,500 worth of engine work after 75,105 miles. The truck was always serviced at the Ford dealership. Always had all it's oil changes and routine maintenance done and kept up to date. This totally irresponsible for Ford not to cover the the cost of these repairs and stand behind the quality of their product. This is absolutely reprehensible.

- , Rumford, Rhode Island, USA

problem #35

Mar 062007

F-150 King Ranch 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 37,282 miles

Engine sounds like a diesel, definitely annoying me. I had asked the dealership multiple times to fix it and they said its normal and even showed me a statement from Ford saying its normal do not try to repair. If I had known this would happen and is "normal" I wouldn't have buy the truck in the first place.

- , milton, Ontario, canada

problem #34

May 192011

F-150 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

My son purchased the 2005 F150 as his first vehicle, it was very nice looking and he was very excited about it. After just a few weeks he noticed a loud ticking noise in the engine. We took it to the Ford Dealership and were told about the problem with this engine and the cam phasers. Needless to say that less than 30 days from purchasing the vehicle he put $1500 into it for the cam phaser replacement. After that the noise came back within the next month, I had read about the problem on the internet and that some people had been able to just keep driving it but you just ignored the sound.

Over the next year he has barely driven it has put less that 5000 miles on it because he works out of state. The other day he began losing power and this time when we took it in they say his motor is shot and he needs a new one and they don't know why, they are trying to pull the oil change thing on him to to avoid the real reason this is happening and that is that Ford has put out a lemon and is not accepting any responsibility for it.

They have discontinued this motor which just goes to show that they have no confidence in it either and I would be happy to join in on any class action suit to get some help on replacing the motor. As for now it will sit and he will continue to make the payments until he can afford to replace the motor and get rid of it. We will never buy another Ford, Too bad, we thought we were Ford people, but never again. Too bad they can't back up their own product.

- , Riverton, UT, USA

problem #33

Feb 022013

F-150 XLT 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,500 miles

I have the common ticking, knocking, and sounding like a diesel only when the motor is very cold so far. I have contacted the dealer I purchased it from. They know I am a maintenance technician, just not on vehicles. We discussed what has happened. They want to look at it for an hour, instead I contacted my mechanic friend who I trust. He tells me its the failing solenoids and phase adjusters, all caused by a main bearing failing and causing low oil pressure which has numerous other culprits on this type of motor. The metal flakes and such from the failing main bearing make their way to the right side valve trane, causing the issues I described above. This is why these engines are being replaced in the 75-over 100k miles. The dealer did admit there is a problem, Ford engineers are aware of it, but there is no compensation. I was advised by he dealer to use only Ford parts as these are going to be the latest and greatest for these issues. Also the most expensive!

- , Northfield, Minnesota, USA

problem #32

Jan 302007

F-150 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles

Wow 2005 F150 what else can go wrong with this pretty truck ? Lol I have replaced coil over plugs twice over replaced rear end gears, computer, new engine, transmission, now they say with new motor.cam phasers.well ford tuff has made me tuff lol i never give up...just wish I knew about problems with this engine,,,waiting for recall...I have always been a ford man...but like all owners on the problem engine are looking else where for good hard working trucks...like we are

- , Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #31

Jun 022012

F-150 XLT 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

I am a college student, I bought my 05 Ford F150 4x4 Crew Cab a year ago because I am an intern at a steel company and need to be able to drive in bad weather and slight off road conditions. I drive 45min (one way to work), the very same day I bought my used f150 was the same day the cam phaser knock occurred. After reading all the forums HOW CAN FORD IGNORE THIS? Yeah in my case it was a used truck, but think of the hard working people being screwed over on an obvious defect! Dealer wants $1500 just to "TRY TO FIX IT", $7500 to replace with a re-manufactured engine.

My message to Ford:

FORD I HOPE YOU SLEEP WELL AT NIGHT KNOWING THAT IF MY TRUCK ENGINE FAILS I WILL BE UNABLE TO PAY MY BILLS! F*** YOU!!!

- , Hurricane, WV, USA

problem #30

Aug 202012

F-150 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,000 miles

Husband has a 2005 f 150 with the piece of crap triton engine! So I am laying in bed and he left to take our kids to school well I wake up and hear beep beep beep! I knew what had happened, that piece of a crap truck broke down! We took it to the dealership he bought it from and they said cam shaft sensors and that ford says its a wear part! That's just stupid when something cost $1500.00 to repair that's no wear part!! I have a ford 1998 mustang a 2000 mercury mountaineer, my husband had a ranger and a fx4 f150, my father in law has a f150! We are done with ford completely if I could drive that crap to the plant I think I would ram the entire building! Called ford today and they said they have numerous complaints about this model and year and for us to save receipts for any repairs and if they issue a recall they will reimburse us! I don't have that kind of money to play with!! So you know what ford kiss my southern tail!! I will not stop until you do something!! I will call your customer service people everyday until you do something!!

- , Spartanburg, SC, USA

problem #29

Jul 132012

F-150 XLT 5.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 50,000 miles

Have taken very good care of this truck, Oil Changes, used Ford products, regular maintenance, and all of a sudden this ticking sounds shows up in the engine and I hear that it is common on these motors. Now I hear that the fix could range form $1500.00 to $3000.00. I have 3 Fords in my life and all 3 have turned out to have issues that ford would not fix. Enough for me, when this truck goes, I'm back in a Chevy. I'll have to eat crow, because I swore when they got bailed out by Obama, I said I would never go back. Maybe Toyota next time????

- , Valdosta, GA, USA

problem #28

Apr 142010

F-150 Lariat 5.4L V3

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,000 miles

Copy of a letter to a lawyer firm, trying to get a class action lawsuit against Ford over the Cam Phaser issue

Sir, I am writing to your firm, in hope of getting a class action suit against Ford Motor company. The other week, I when to Conway Ford dealership to trade my 2005 f150 Lariat 5.4 (113000 miles) in , was told that my engine would need about 2000.00 dollars worth of repairs. I ask how could that be, I brought the truck new in Nov 2004, all oil changes were done at ford dealership till 2007, after that I paid a local oil lube company to do them. The salesman told me that my engine has a common problem called “Cam Phaser”. I told him that I never was told about this when I brought the truck (paid 33000.00). I ask how come the dealership never mention it to me, since they were having problems with this issue back when I brought the truck, (found out some engine would not make it to 30k miles due to the problems with the cam phasers, in some cases, the engine would have to be changed out at a cost of 7000.00).

I did some research on this problem, found out that many owner have the same issue (will post links at bottom of email for case study). I d believe that this is a major problem that Ford should have address, instead they chose to keep quiet about this, if you chose to look into this, you will find over 1000 owner with this problem, many have already paid out to have the engine changed or had the Cam Phasers changed out.

I hope your firm will take this up, as for now, I am not driving the truck till I hear back from your firm. I do not wish to spend money changing the phaser or engine if it can be proven that Ford knew and could have solve this problem instead of selling the truck knowing the owner would incur the cost of repair.

Below is a bulletin from Ford dated Sept 13, 2006

TICKING AND / OR KNOCKING NOISE / STARTUP TSB 06-19-8 RATTLE FROM ENGINE—4.6L / 5.4L 3V FORD: LINCOLN: 2005 Mustang 2005 Navigator 2004-2005 F-150 2005 Expedition, F-250, F-350 This article supersedes TSB 06-4-7 to update the NOTE Service Procedure. THE 4.6L 3V AND 5.4L 3V ENGINES ARE INSTALLED IN SEVERAL VEHICLE PLATFORMS, ISSUE WHICH MAY INFLUENCE THE INTENSITY OF Some vehicles equipped with a 4.6L 3-valve or 5.4L NOISE DUE TO VEHICLE DIFFERENCES IN 3-valve engine may exhibit a ticking and / or SOUND TRANSMISSION PATHS, HOOD AND knocking noise after reaching normal operating BODY INSULATION PACKAGES, AND ROOT temperature, or a rattle upon starting. The noise CAUSE OF THE COMPONENT(S) CAUSING THE may be described as ticks, taps, knocks, or thumps. NOISE. In some cases the noise may be a normal characteristic of these engines. In other cases the PRE-CHECKS noise may require further investigation. Sorting out 1. Make sure you have a detailed description of and defining the noise as reported by the customer the noise the customer is concerned with, is important to successfully diagnose and / or repair including whether the noise is occurring at idle the condition. or above idle speed (does it disappear above ACTION 1200 RPM), and if the engine is cold, hot, or both when the noise is occurring. These Before starting diagnosis, it is critical to determine engines generate a lot of “normal” noises, so it the specific engine noise the customer is concerned is critical to confirm the noise the customer is with. The customer should be interviewed to get concerned with. Determine what environment their detailed perception and description of the the customer is in when the noise is most noise, and to determine if the noise occurs at idle noticeable to them (inside passenger or above idle speed, and if the engine is cold, hot, compartment, next to building with / without the or both. Attempt to duplicate the noise, and driver and / or passenger window open, or determine the source of the symptom. Refer to the beside the wheel well). Validate by using your following Service Procedure to help determine the own perception. source of the noise and if a repair is needed. 2. Compare the noise generated with a new SERVICE PROCEDURE vehicle, if available, with an ENGINE build date NOTE of 3/30/2005 or later on Mustang and 4/18/2005 READ THIS SECTION IN ITS ENTIRETY BEFORE or later on F-150 to F-350, Expedition and BEGINNING. Navigator vehicles. 3. Diagnose noise when engine is at normal operating temperature (Oil at 160° F (71° C) or above). Verify oil temperature by using a diagnostic scan tool and monitoring the engine oil temperature (EOT) PID. Startup rattle may only occur with cold oil. NOTE: The information in Technical Service Bulletins is intended for use by trained, professional technicians with the knowledge, tools, and equipment to do the job properly and safely. It informs these technicians of conditions that may occur on some vehicles, or provides information that could assist in proper vehicle service. The procedures should not be performed by “do-it-yourselfers”. Do not assume that a condition described affects your car or truck. Contact a Ford, Lincoln, or Mercury dealership to determine whether the Bulletin applies to your vehicle. Warranty Policy and Extended Service Plan documentation determine Warranty and/or Extended Service Plan coverage unless stated otherwise in the TSB article.The information in this Technical Service Bulletin (TSB) was current at the time of printing. Ford Motor Company reserves the right to supercede this information with updates.The most recent information is available through Ford Motor Company’s on-line technical resources. Copyright ã 2006 Ford Motor Company Online Publication Date September 13, 2006 PAGE 1 TSB 06-19-8 (Continued) 4. Check the type of oil filter installed on the VCT phasers may knock at hot idle. It may be vehicle. A dirty or clogged filter may cause a heard inside the passenger compartment, or the pressure drop. Look for aftermarket brands not wheel well area. Some light noise is normal. The recognized in the market or a production filter engine may require a cold soak overnight for a full that has gone beyond the standard Ford diagnosis to effectively be made at hot idle, recommended change interval. particularly when a VCT phaser is suspected. The knock is not prevalent at cold temperature. 5. Check for signs of oil brand used and viscosity (interview customer if needed). Motorcraftâ To test for VCT noise: SAE 5W-20 Premium Synthetic Blend Motor Oil or equivalent is recommended. 1. Place the transmission in park or neutral Once the above pre-checks are complete, check 2. Bring engine oil temperature to 160° F (71° C) for sound level from the following components, in or above as indicated by the scan tool “EOT” the order listed. Compare the sound from these PID. components to the noise the customer is concerned 3. Allow engine to idle, and determine if noise is with, to determine the source of the noise. noticeable. INJECTION / FUEL SYSTEM 4. Set engine speed to over 1200 RPM (if noise is Injector noise (ticking) is considered normal. Noise a VCT knock, the noise should disappear). increases with RPM hot or cold and is recognized 5. Return engine speed to idle (verify knock at the top of the engine. returns). VALVE TRAIN If the noise intensity is more than a lightly audible Lash adjusters can make a ticking / tapping noise knock at hot idle under 1200 RPM at engine noticeable at any engine RPM / temperature and is operating temperature, replace the cam phaser audible through the wheel well or an open hood. using the “In-Vehicle Repair” Camshaft Phaser and However, with the hood down, lash adjuster noise Sprocket procedure found in the Workshop Manual, can be heard as a light tapping noise through the Section 303-01 wheel well and is considered normal. START UP RATTLE Tracing this noise must be isolated to a cylinder Some 2004 F-150 and 2005 F-150, Expedition, bank. If one bank is louder than the other bank, Navigator, F-Super Duty, and Mustang vehicles may focus the diagnostic to the loud bank. If both banks have a rattle on startup that lasts 1 to 3 seconds. If seem loud with the hood down, compare wheel well initial pre-checks have been completed and the sound level to another comparable vehicle. noise sounds like it is coming from the front of the Use a stethoscope on the top of the cam cover bolt engine, replace the VCT Phaser Kit. If the engine heads to confirm which bank is affected. Move the continues to make the rattle noise after the initial probe from front to rear if necessary. startup do not exchange VCT. If isolated, only replace the intake and exhaust PART NUMBER PART NAME lifters on the affected cylinder bank. 5L1Z-6500-AA Lash Adjuster (2005 Vehicles) 3L3Z-6500-BA Lash Adjuster (2004 Vehicles) VARIABLE CAM TIMING 3R2Z-6A257-DA VCT Phaser Kit The 4.6L 3V and 5.4L 3V variable cam timing (VCT) feature may emit a light knock in normal WARRANTY STATUS: Eligible Under Provisions Of operation and is audible only at idle speed, with a New Vehicle Limited hot engine (gear selector in park / neutral). Warranty Coverage However, it may be masked by or mistaken for other noises generated from either injector firing or a malfunctioning valve train as described above. The noise does not affect performance or durability of the part. PAGE 2 TSB 06-19-8 (Continued) OPERATION DESCRIPTION TIME 061908B 2005 Expedition / 2.7 Hrs. 061908A 2005 Expedition / 4.5 Hrs. Navigator 5.4L 3V: Navigator 5.4L 3V: Replace Left Bank Lash Replace Right Bank Lash Adjusters And / Or Adjusters And / Or Camshaft Sprocket / Camshaft Sprocket / Phaser (6500A, 6256A, Phaser (6500A, 6256A, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) 061908C 2005 Expedition / 6.7 Hrs. 061908A 2005 Mustang 4.6L 3V: 2.2 Hrs. Navigator 5.4L 3V: Replace Right Bank Lash Replace Both Banks Lash Adjusters And / Or Adjusters And / Or Camshaft Sprocket / Camshaft Sprocket / Phaser (6500A, 6256A, Phaser (6500A, 6256A, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) 061908A 2005 Super Duty 5.4L 3V: 3.1 Hrs. 061908C 2005 Mustang 4.6L 3V: 4.2 Hrs. Replace Right Bank Lash Replace Both Banks Lash Adjusters And / Or Adjusters And / Or Camshaft Sprocket / Camshaft Sprocket / Phaser (6500A, 6256A, Phaser (6500A, 6256A, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) 061908A 2004-2005 F-150 5.4L 3V: 3.7 Hrs. 061908C 2005 Super Duty 5.4L 3V: 5.2 Hrs. Replace Right Bank Lash Replace Both Banks Lash Adjusters And / Or Adjusters And / Or Camshaft Sprocket / Camshaft Sprocket / Phaser (6500A, 6256A, Phaser (6500A, 6256A, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) 061908B 2004-2005 F-150 5.4L 3V: 2.5 Hrs. 061908C 2004-2005 F-150 5.4L 3V: 5.5 Hrs. Replace Left Bank Lash Replace Both Banks Lash Adjusters And / Or Adjusters And / Or Camshaft ) Sprocket / Camshaft Sprocket / Phaser (6500A, 6256A, Phaser (6500A, 6256A, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6266A, 6584A, 9424A 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) 061908B 2005 Super Duty 5.4L 3V: 2.6 Hrs. MT061908 Claim Additional Labor Actual Replace Left Bank Lash Required As Actual Time Time Adjusters And / Or DEALER CODING Camshaft Sprocket / CONDITION Phaser (6500A, 6256A, BASIC PART NO. CODE 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6500 (LASH ADJUSTER 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) REPLACEMENT) 42 061908B 2005 Mustang 4.6L 3V: 2.3 Hrs. 6A257 (VCT REPLACEMENT) 42 Replace Left Bank Lash Adjusters And / Or Camshaft Sprocket / Phaser Hrs. (6500A, 6256A, 6250A, 6020A, 6268B, 6266A, 6584A, 9424A) PAGE 3

- , Surfside Beach, SC, USA

problem #27

Jun 022012

F-150 Lariat 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 96,001 miles

OK........ So I have always wanted one of these trucks, I used to be a mechanic and worked at a dealership for a while and had the please of test driving an 06 F150 Lariat and it was quite road very nice and immediately fell in love with these trucks but haven't been able to afford one until recently and now I can!!!! I was ecstatic to drive home my new (to me) 2005 F150 on June 15, 2012..... The very next day I heard the knock, I called the dealership I purchased the vehicle from 2 days later on sunday and told them what was going on, then! I had to wait another 2 days for the sales manager to get back so I could talk to him. So the dealership takes a look at it and I didn't buy it from a ford dealership. They took 45 minutes or so to look at it and supposedly called a ford dealership and they said it was normal, me being a former mechanic I wasn't buying that bullshit line from the jackass in the suit who just wanted my money...... So I attempted to explain to this guy that the beginnings of a mechanical failure is going to turn on a check engine light unless it effects a sensor. And of course he would not listen to me at all and just said drive it a couple more days and if it gets worse we will "fix" it.... so its been 2 days now and now a second noise has come out of no where that almost sounds like the timing chain slapping against something metal. So I am now furious and talking a to a friend of mine from school who is now a seasoned ford mechanic and said it could be 1 of 3 things, that it could be "normal" (still don't buy it), it could be the cam phasers, or it could be what they call the "rattle of death"! me being a new f150 owner and hearing that just added fuel to the fire. And on top of that I searched google for an engine noise for f150's and all I see are 2005 f150's.... I now feel screwed..... Just like many other people. My mom has an 06 F150 exact same as mine inside and out, not a single f*cking peep from her truck, pers like a kitten and sounds amazing!!! Apparently ford couldn't pull their head out of their ass until late 2005 to fix this motor issue. Tomorrow I go to my buddies shop to have them look at it and give me a quote to fix it so I have ammo against the dealership I bought it from. These trucks are gorgeous inside and out I love them and the 5.4L has been a great engine for a long time, but to hear that there are so many people having the exact same issue with their 05 F150's pisses me off, there should be a full recall on the early 2005 F150's for this to be fixed, and for them to tell you oh sorry you didnt change your oil with us.... your warranty is void! IS F*CKING BULLSHIT!!!! Thats a company not taking responsibility for their crappy engine design!!! I love ford, and have owned nothing but fords, but this is ridiculous, I might just become a chevy man over this, at least I know what to expect with those, I worked on them for years!!!!! Chevy has their fair share of issues, and the one major engine issue they had on some of the 5.3L engines guess what!!! They f*cking covered it!!!!!! 100% including car rental for the time your truck was in the shop. I love ford but at least chevy takes care of their customers. Ill post more when I am done with the dealerships more tomorrow (june 22, 2012).

I can't believe that there is this big of an issue with the 05's and ford is doing nothing about it. makes you re-think who to buy your vehicles from. Bravo ford for being a lousy f*cking company.

- , Portland, OR, USA

problem #26

Jul 082005

F-150 XL 5.4L V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles

My almost brand new truck, (dealer demo with 12,000) had the cam phaser out from the moment i got it. The dealer said not to change it out because it required pulling the motor and once you do that they never run the same. It as always had a ticking sound that is embarrassing and annoying.

- , Stephenville, TX, USA

problem #25

May 052012

F-150 XLT 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles

purchased truck with 39000 miles drove it home one week later herd loud ticking noise. took it to ford. ford said i had three broken rocker arms and lifters were bad. they replaced noise wasn't as bad but still there. they told me that 5.4L motors sound like that. went home believing ford. noise came back took it back to ford they said warranty was up. hired a mechanic who had to go to ford. couldn't figure out problem they told my mechanic to replace cam phasers. did not fix problem mechanic went back to ford they said replace tensioner gaskets losing oil pressure. did that still did not fix problem. my mechanic went back to ford they said replace motor. i don't have the money to do that guess i'm screwed. but still paying on vehicle. ANYBODY READY FOR A CLASS ACTION AGAINST FORD BECAUSE I F** AM

- , Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #24

Feb 242012

F-150 FX4 5.2L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,013 miles

BUILT Ford tough my butt! We purchased this 2005, loaded, leather, crew cab, 21,000 miles 4 years ago. We babied this truck, ALWAYS did the correct maintenance, etc. We paid this truck off 4 months ago. Three weeks ago coming home from work the power seemed to fail, and my check engine light started flashing. We had scheduled an oil change THAT same evening at our mechanics and I drove right there from work. After changing plugs, cam, cad. convertor, injectors, we now need a NEW engine. This truck has 61,000 miles on it. We thought we had a payment free truck for 10 years!!!!!! How do we get a hold of Ford? Is there any type of class action suit on this engine? I have heard other horror stories about this same year and engine. ANYONE that can HELP us I sure would appreciate it. We are already out $2,000.00 and cannot afford to put the new engine in, now what the heck are we supposed to do???????????

- , Wautoma, WI, USA

problem #23

Dec 252008

F-150 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

really disappointed in the local Ford dealership....although I did not purchase the truck from them, they are obviously aware that this is a common problem with the 05 f150 5.4 .....and the service dept rep acted as if they had conducted a thorough investigation and questioned how often I had changed the oil etc.....SHAME ON YOU!!!! "you can spend 3500 on repair or 7000 for engine replacement..... or trade it".....any wonder why we hate car dealers?

- , Gulfport, MS, USA

problem #22

Aug 012011

F-150 5.4L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 139,000 miles

Purchased a F150 from Maples Ford, Warsaw, MO about 2 years ago and it's been nothing but PROBLEM after PROBLEM with this truck - somthing is constantly going out on it. Each month it's been an additional 500 - 1000+ to keep this vehicle on the road. Knocking in motor - new motor. Wheel bearings - U joints. Alternater - battery - windshield cracked out with no reason - 4 wheel drive went out. Biggest piece of F+++++KING SH*T I have ever owned!!!!!!! But, I'm glad to read I"m not alone. Will NEVER purchase another Ford!!!!!!!!!!! EVER..........

- , Wheatland, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »