10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,517 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #13

Apr 012013

F-150 8-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
Foul odor developed in vehicle, consistent with mold and mildew. Entire carpet pad found to be wet. Inspection at dealer revealed leaking third tail light. Dealer noted this is a common problem. Clearly this situation is a public health hazard due to the resulting environmental hazard from mold growth.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #12

Sep 182012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 43,740 miles
I was entering an on-ramp onto the interstate and accelerating at the time. As I was nearing the end of the ramp, I felt the truck was traveling faster than I had intended. I removed my foot off of the accelerator only to hear the engine revving and watched the speedometer continue to climb. I was traveling between 80-85 mph by the time I was entering the interstate approaching a tractor trailer truck. I stood with both feet, straight legged with 130 pounds on the brake while not only trying to avoid the tractor trailer in front of me, but watching another tractor trailer approaching me from behind. My speed continued to climb as the accelerator remained stuck. After approximately half a mile of me standing on the brake, I heard a loud bang as the accelerator let go and my braking took effect. I took it to the closest Ford dealership who "could not duplicate the problem, the peddle must have been stuck on the floormat". as I was not satisfied, I then took it to the dealership where I had purchased it only to be told the same thing. As the person driving the vehicle, I can assure you, it wasn't stuck on the floormat. The same thing occurred to my husband as he accelerated to pass a vehicle. However, the period of acceleration did not last as long as this last episode. Both dealerships were made well aware of both incidents.

- Rimersburg, PA, USA

problem #11

Jul 102012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 47,560 miles
I wa traveling on I-20 East traveling from vicksburg, ms heading to atlanta, ga. I had been using the cruise control consistently for about 3 hours. I also was using the accelerate & decelerate buttons on the steering column. I approached a slight curve in birmingham, al with the cruise control locked in at 60 mph, when all of a sudden the vehicle accelerated full throttle. I applied foot pressure to the brake, but the vehicle would not slow down. It continued to accelerate to about 85 mph. I then somewhat raised up in the seat to apply all the foot pressure I could to the brake. It slowed down slightly. When I took my foot off the brake, it began to speed up again. Next I fumbled with the cruise control buttons to see if they were stuck. The vehicle continued to accelerate. Finally, I moved the gear shift to neutral & the vehicle began to slow down. When I put the vehicle back in drive, everything appeared to be normal. Needless to say, I did not use the cruise control anymore. Thank god, we survived!

- Ellenwood, GA, USA

problem #10

Apr 222012

F-150 8-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
Truck parked in garage from sat evening 4/21/2012 from short 9 mile trip. Truck started around 10:30 a.M. sun 4/22/2012. Removed from garage for 3 minutes then returned to garage. Shut off. Left residence in another vehicle. Returned around 7:30 P.M. opened the garage to find a smoky haze coming from it. The entire garage was hot. I noticed drips of some substance under the truck and on the running boards. I immediately realized it was the undercoating that was warm enough to melt and drip. I got into the truck to start it up but the battery was dead. It was warm enough in the cab of the truck to liquefy tootsy rolls that were in there. I could not get the truck in neutral to push it out of the garage. After a short period with the garage doors open and everything seeming to cool down. I used a battery charger to try start the truck. It would just click and not roll over. With the charger there was enough power to put it in neutral and push the truck out of the garage. There we used a commercial battery starter and the truck started up. There was a check engine light on all the time but it seemed to run fine. All gauges read where they were supposed to. The water temperature gauge was immediately at the warmed up line upon starting. Left it outside overnight. Following morning drove it 10 miles to local Ford dealership. They tested everything and could not find anything wrong with it. The dealership called their hotline and they had never heard of anything like that happening before.. there was nothing else in the garage that was affected.

- Rosebush, MI, USA

problem #9

Dec 192011

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
Truck purchased 3-30-2011. 9-2011 needed to have battery jumped. Cleaned battery posts. Seemed fine. 12-19-2011 battery went dead. Aaa replaced battery. 01-31-2012 battery went dead again. Aaa came and said the battery was fine. Had it jumped and took it to holman in maple shade, NJ. They kept the truck for five days and could not find anything wrong with it. When aaa came they said it seemed as if something was pulling from the battery holman said if it happens again not to have it jumped just have it towed. Seems it may be electrical. Not really sure.

- Cherry Hill, NJ, USA

problem #8

Sep 172011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
The fan blower speed control stuck on high only and was replaced 09/2011. The vehicle kept stalling out upon deceleration going down the road. With loss of power steering and power brakes when this happens. Could be going 30 mph or 60 mph. When get motor is started again it usually runs rough. The left oxygen sensor code was on so this was replaced. 11/2011 the fuel gauge also stopped reading fuel in the tank when this happens. Replaced fuel pump in tank, fuel filter, fuel power module, all was fine for three weeks. Truck dies 8 times today and all the same problems are back. Engine light on, fuel gauge stopped working, truck runs rough for awhile when restarted then clears up. Engine light now stays on and fuel gauge will read 1/2 tank when it is full. 36 gal tank. 11/22/2011.

- Mooresville, IN, USA

problem #7

May 232011

F-150 8-cyl

  • 20,900 miles
Vehicle has stalled/shut down on three separate occasions during operation. The first two times the vehicle shut off while stopping at a traffic light. During the latest occurrence the vehicle shut off while navigating a left turn through an intersection. The stall resulted in a power steering and brakes failure. I was able to stop the vehicle without incident because there was no traffic. The latest incident occurred on 05/23/2011. The vehicle has been taken to the local Ford service department but they cannot recreated the problem and therefore have no solution. I have also notified Ford customer service of the problem. There have been six other quality issues with this vehicle. Ford customer service instructed me to continue driving the vehicle and report the incident to the service department when it happens again. Hopefully the next time it happens it will not result in a crash.

- Paris, TN, USA

problem #6

Jan 022011

F-150

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford F-150. While stopped with the brakes depressed, the vehicle abnormally accelerated resulting in a crash. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries. The contact also stated that when reversing, the rear view camera would not alert him that he was reversing into another vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer but not repaired for the failure. The failure mileage was 25,000 and the current mileage was 37,000.

- Pearl, MS, USA

problem #5

Feb 202010

F-150

  • 3,500 miles
At around 3500 miles on my 2009 Ford F150 supercrew, I noticed a mildew smell and condensation forming on the inside of my windows. I did some research and found it is due to liquid in the cab somewhere. I pulled up each kickplate and found the problem to be under my right rear cab kickplate. Water was accumulating down there with all the electrical wires. I took it to the dealer and they stated it was due to the third brake light. It was replaced. At 5000, I noticed the smell again and knew right where to look. I did and had the same problem. Took it back to the dealer and they replaced the same third brake light only they said this one had a stronger seal. I just hit 6500 miles and noticed the same problem and smell, and popped the kickplate and had the water again. I am fixing to call the dealer on Monday to let them know. After looking in my cab I noticed a spot of dried water residue on my headliner. I am going to point this out to them and let them know something is not sealing correctly which could very well compromise the electrical system with all the wires down under the kickplate where the water accumulates.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #4

May 032010

F-150

  • 12,000 miles
Vehicle caught fire while parked. Wires leading into the fuel tank shorted caught bed on fire, but was extinguished in time to stop further damage.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #3

Feb 012010

F-150 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford F-150. While reading the owners manual, the contact realized that the vehicles electronic trailer sway control system was disabled. The system was enabled when the vehicle was turned on but when it was turned off, the system disabled and could potentially cause a crash according to the owners manual. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that there was no fix for the problem. The failure continued to occur. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 3,000. The current mileage was approximately 13,500 updated 11/19/10 updated 11/23/10

- Santee, CA, USA

problem #2

Jan 162010

F-150

  • 9,865 miles
Ford F-150 2009 lost my cluster for a few second during traveling and came back.

- Repentigny, Quebec Canada, 00, USA

problem #1

Apr 172009

F-150

  • 2,500 miles
I have had no answer to my concern. I purchased a new 2009 Ford XLT four door extended cab pickup in February. In April 2009, I noticed that the inside dash lights (gauges, speedometer, etc.) came on only when it was very dark outside the vehicle. This is true whether the light switch is in the manual or the automatic position. The dash lights will not respond when the headlights are illuminated in the manual or automatic position unless it is very dark outside or you place your finger over the electric eye. The Ford dealer from whom I purchased the vehicle agreed that the dash lights should illuminate whenever the headlights are on and kept the vehicle for five days trying to find the problem. They finally got hold of the Ford Motor Company hot line and were told that the current lighting system for this vehicle is a result of a programming change made by the company for 2009. I was informed that the only solution to my concern would result as a probable recall for all of the vehicles to fix the problem. In late May 2009, I called the Ford Motor Company's relationship center and related the above-stated concern. The representative was very attentive and courteous and indicated that he would forward this information to appropriate departments within the Ford organization. However, he did not feel that I would be getting any responses. I understand the young man's dilemma (it's a technical problem which needs a technical input). I am still wondering whether a Ford company programming change is the cause of the problem or if my concern is justified. I believe there are some safety issues to be addressed, I.e. shouldn't you be able to tell if your headlights are on by glancing at your dash lights during daylight storm conditions?

- Deer Park, TX, USA