10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,861 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #9

Jan 022010

F-150

  • miles
On January 2, 2010, in austin, Texas, I was accelerating in a 2009 Ford F-150 supercrew to enter a restricted access highway and the accelerator pedal became lodged on an aftermarket weathertech brand floor mat at fairly close to full throttle. Fortunately, there was no one in my lane directly in front of me. I was able to switch the vehicle off, shift to neutral and hold my lane position as I brought the truck to a stop. I dislodged the accelerator from the mat and then removed the mat. At that point, I restarted the vehicle and was able to continue my trip. I purchased the mats directly from weathertech on Dec 27,2008. Shortly after I received the mats, weathertech then sent me replacement mats for the driver and front passenger. There was no explanation for the replacement mats. Curious as to the reason and concerned that I was being charged again for mats, my wife called weathertech's service line. She was told that weathertech was not "satisfied with the fit" of the first set of mats that we received. There was certainly no indication that there was any safety issue with the original mats. I compared the new mats to the original ones and could see no substantial difference, so I did not replace them, and simply put the new mats in my garage, unused. After the Jan 2, 2010 event, I realized that there was indeed a change. A change that I now know to be very significant. The replacement mat has a "cut out? for the accelerator pedal to prevent the lower end of the pedal from hanging up on the mat. Obviously, I have now switched out the old mat for the new one. I certainly applaud the redesign. My concern is that I received no warning or indication from weathertech that replacing the driver"S mat was an urgent safety matter that could result in death or injury if not performed promptly. I notified weathertech of my concern in January 2010 and have received no response.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #8

Feb 062010

F-150

  • 1,475 miles
2009 Ford F-150 pickup truck 4.6 L EFI V8 engine accelorator sticks when brake applied. Has done this 6 times so far (once in reverse) and the truck only has 1480 miles. It does not matter if the engine is cold or warm. The truck continues to surge ahead even as I apply extreme brake pressure. I have taken this truck into the dealer where I purchased the truck. I left it with them several days. They say they cannot fix the problem unless they can replicate it. They returned the truck to me. The problem happened again, twice, today (6 February 2010)

- Starkville, MS, USA

problem #7

Jan 032010

F-150

  • 2,785 miles
On sun Jan 3, 2009 at 7:20 a.M. I was driving to work in my Ford F-150 2009 4X4 pick up truck, when the pedal accelerated from 55 mph to 80 mph on its own. The pedal left my foot as if I had cruise control. I don't I attempted to get the vehicle to stop I could not. I doubled down on the brakes while pumping the gas pedal and eventually the gas pedal released. The day was clear weather conditions and the temp was very cold. I was driving on a one lane divided highway and I had a vehicle in front of me. I was terrified!! I took my vehicle back to the dealer prince frederick, md Ford dealership and left it for the day. The result: They were unable to duplicate the action come pick up your vehicle. So if I die my parents have it in writing that Ford was unable to duplicate the action. I felt great about this. My truck was purchased Nov 7, 2009 www.F150online.com/forums/2009-2010-F-150/395891-sticking-throttle.html you can visit the above link and see this is not a rare problem never heard of before as I was informed by my dealership. Good luck!

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #6

Dec 312009

F-150

  • 16,000 miles
We drove a rental 2009 Ford F 150 from enterprise rental in boise, id (12-28-09 to 12-31-09)for a couple of days. On the 4th day, we had the accelerator stick several times. It would not stop at intersections, and we thought it was just icy roads (even though the roads only looked wet!) once was at an intersection where the cross traffic was going 50 mph and we almost got hit! later, the truck acted up when we tried to stop in a line of traffic at a stoplight. It was accelerating so fast, we put it in park and shut if off to avoid crashing into cars ahead of us. The rental company brought us another car. We told them about the problem (which disappeared when they drove the truck away). I'm afraid that they'll rent it out again to someone else thinking that the problem was us, and not the truck!

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #5

Oct 302009

F-150

  • 5,634 miles
While driving my 2009 Ford truck I left a stop sign rapidly and pressed the accelerator down firmly, it stuck to the floor. I depressed the brake as hard as I could hoping the pedal would come off the floor. Then I tried to shift the truck in neutral but the motor raced. A car was coming up behind me so I put in drive turned hard off the road with the wheels spinning and shut the key off in gear. I drove the truck home and parked it. I latter discovered that the accelerator was catching on the rubber floor mat that came with the vehicle. I lowered the power pedals to decrease the distance between the pedals but when I reenacted the event for a coworker the pedal stuck to the floor again.

- Kent, WA, USA

problem #4

Nov 052009

F-150

  • 3,259 miles
While driving our new 2009 F150 truck with only 3,200 miles on it, I stopped at a stop light. The truck began to idle very fast and was lurching forward, when I took foot off brake the truck accelerated very fast to 80 - 90 mph. I could hardly slow the vehicle down by applying brakes as hard as possible. I was on a freeway and continued to put it into neutral which only slowed it down for a moment.cruise control was not on and there are no floor mats in the truck. I continued down the freeway for approx. 3 miles when I decided I had to exit freeway because I was gaining speed. I put it into neutral again to exit on a off ramp doing about 40 mph. The brakes were not doing anything to slow truck down at this point. I was headed for a very busy intersection and did not want to broadside another vehicle so I then decided to crash into a row of dumpsters at the end of a strip mall. As soon as I entered the mall parking lot I through it into park which locked the steering and I stopped just few feet in front of dumpsters. We had the truck towed to nearby Ford dealership. The dealer said that they can not replicate the problem and found nothing wrong with the truck. They want us to pick up truck and we refuse to drive the truck home.

- South San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 202009

F-150

  • 5 miles
While accelerating onto highway, the throttle stuck and kept accelerating the vehicle even after my foot was removed from gas pedal. I had to shift into neutral and the engine stayed at 4000rpm without pressing on the gas pedal. I brought the truck to a stop on the shoulder and shut it off. It worked fine on the way home. This vehicle is going to Ford in the morning!

- Davie, FL, USA

problem #2

Jul 032009

F-150

  • miles
While accelerating on a ramp to merge into traffic the truck accelerator pedal got stuck causing the truck to gain speed rapidly. The truck went from approx 25 to 87mph. I was unable to get the pedal un-stuck. The brakes and emergency brake had little effect, I narrowly missed hitting another vehicle and was unable to get the truck to slow down for a few miles. I eventually was able to slow it to 30mph and put the truck in park and turn off the engine to make it stop completely. It has occurred once (and that is enough). I had the truck towed to a Ford dealer and was later advised they could not replicate the problem so I could come pick the truck up. Nothing has been fixed.

- Norristown, PA, USA

problem #1

Apr 122009

F-150

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford F-150. While placing the vehicle into reverse, the accelerator pedal became stuck and the steering column locked to the left. The contact lost control of the vehicle and almost struck a pedestrian. The vehicle crashed and the contact was injured. The vehicle sustained damages to the cab, tires, and seating area. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop and inspected by a technician, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was inspected by an insurance agent, who is currently investigating the failure and repairing the vehicle. The contact is in the process of notifying the manufacturer. The failure and current mileages were 13,000. Updated 06/23/09. Updated 06/24/09.

- Macomb Township, MI, USA