10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 1
Average Mileage:
43,105 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2014 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #46

Nov 062018

F-150

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. While attempting to exit the garage, the vehicle lost steering ability. The contact rocked the vehicle back and forth and the steering returned to normal. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The contact stated that the failure occurred four other times, but then returned to normal. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- White House, OH, USA

problem #45

Oct 162018

F-150

  • 114,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. While driving various speeds, the steering became inoperable. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was taken to townsend sales & service (340 main St, townsend, MA 01469, 978-597-8955), but the cause of the failure could not be diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and referred the contact to NHTSA. The failure mileage was 114,000.

- Westminster, MA, USA

problem #44

Sep 252018

F-150

  • 66,000 miles
While turning to the left I heard a sequelching noise. I then got a message to service my acutraction system. I would turn my truck off then back on and it would reset and go off. This took place for a few days. While message was on the lever for my turn signals would not stay activated. Today (9/25/2018) I got the message again. This time I also got a power steering assist failure and it became very difficult to turn. Truck only had 66,000 miles on it. I have got rid of truck because of it. I have also had a fault in the air bag control module.

- Rockwell, IA, USA

problem #43

Sep 102018

F-150

  • 63,000 miles
Loss of steering control while vehicle is in motion. Intermittent loss of power steering assist causing you to over steer or under steer especially when coming out of a turn. Many complaints of this issue are posted on various internet sites. Partial recall of epas unit for certain VIN. My vehicle manufacture date is August 22, 2014 per Ford customer care. Manfacture date is just weeks after recall lot of identified vehicles. Vehicle cannot be safely driven

- Elkton, ME, USA

problem #42

Sep 082018

F-150

  • 65,000 miles
First received advance trac warning, then hill descent warning and then power steering failure indication. Power steering failure was sudden and unexpected and almost caused an accident when in motion doing a turn, due to electronic power steering system lock up which prevented the front wheels from turning as much as expected. This is a very dangerous unexpected condition and could have caused a serious accident with injuries or worse if occurred at highway speeds!

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #41

Jul 312018

F-150

  • 53,000 miles
My son was only traveling straight at a low speed on a side street when he was no longer able to steer his truck. He then applied the brakes to stop. He had to turn off the truck wait a few minutes then turn it back on several times to get home. We checked to see if this major manufacturing defect was covered by warranty or a recall. No warranty of course (2014 F150 with 53,000 miles) the recall for this exact problem was for trucks built between May 26, 2014 and June 19, 2014 and of course my son's was built in October 2014. We are told that it will cost somewhere around $2000 to try to fix this and more than likely it will continue to fail even after being "fixed". Ford knows it's been a problem since they started with it but refuses to fix the problem for everyone. They would rather risk the lives of their customers than correct their issues. I have checked online and found that even after people pay to get this fixed it continues to fail. Recall number 14V316000 recall date 06/12/2014 component steering:electric power assist system summary Ford Motor Company (Ford) is recalling certain model year 2014 Ford F-150 trucks manufactured May 26, 2014 to June 19, 2014, and equipped with electronic power assist steering (epas). The affected vehicles may have an incorrectly installed epas gear motor position sensor magnet that can lead to a total loss of steering control while driving. Consequence a loss of steering control while driving increases the risk of a vehicle crash. What owners should do Ford will notify owners, and dealers will replace the epas steering gear, free of charge. The recall began in July 2014. Note: Owners are advised not to drive their vehicles until they have been remedied. Owners may contact Ford customer service at 1-800-392-3673. Ford's number for this recall is 14S09.

- Luling, LA, USA

problem #40

Jul 062018

F-150

  • 93,532 miles
Lost steering momentarily while driving under dry, normal conditions on a mountainous hiway and crossed left of center when power assisted steering failed. Hill descent control fault and service advance trac errors appeared on my panel. Dealer was unable to find computer generated errors and could notr/did not repair. Has occured twice more with same results.

- Wilburton, OK, USA

problem #39

Jul 032018

F-150

  • 181,000 miles
2014 Ford F-150 serious loss of power steering issue, notice going out at certain inclines of highway, checked fuse on batter looks ok, noticed different levels of ac/heat fan speed variations, warning lt. Reads check advance traction control. Should be a recall according to complains I've read on issue..

- Buchanan, GA, USA

problem #38

May 312018

F-150

  • miles
The power steering faults while driving and there is no steering

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #37

Apr 262018

F-150

  • 81,000 miles
The electronic power steering is not working correctly, about every quarter turn it binds up for a sort distance. This causes you to both over-steer and under-steer

- Poulsbo, WA, USA

problem #36

Apr 042018

F-150

  • 76,000 miles
Loss of power steering- in March 2018 this started happening, to date it has happened 4 times. The first time I was pulling out of grocery store, my power steering went out and the " service advance trac" "hill decent control fault" came on my screen, I was in oncoming traffic, second time I was turning into my neighborhood and loss the ability to turn my wheel, 3rd time was getting on the highway and at an onramp, this time I was headed into a highway perpendicular and cars were coming at me 70+ mph. Then my son and I were turning onto a highway when I lost control of steering and locked up my brakes to keep from hitting a semi- they had to lock their brakes up and swerve to keep from hitting us. Then today I got it back, and made it 1 mile down the road before again I was getting on the highway and I could not turn my wheel, an embankment kept me from going perpendicular onto the highway again. Police came and helped me get back over and blocked cars from hitting me. Each time I have taken my truck to matthews Ford to be fixed, each time I was told it was fixed, I am not complaining on them as I feel they have genuinely done what they thought would fix it. The staff has been more than accommodating considering I was shaking, crying and cussing. Ford Motor Company has stated tay cannot help me as my ruck was not in the 2014 F150 recall #14S09. It was just a month shy of it. I have had no return calls from management as promised ( from Ford) I was told my case would be expedited due to possible death/injury and I would hear from manager within 24 hours, and that never happened. Please help! attached are all the service reports minus the one today.

- Coweta, OK, USA

problem #35

Apr 022018

F-150

  • 11,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. The contact stated that the steering ability became very difficult while driving various speeds. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (tom's Ford in keyport, New Jersey) where it was diagnosed that the power steering rack failed and needed replacement. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 11,000.

- Union Beach, NJ, USA

problem #34

Jan 172018

F-150

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. While driving at low speeds, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver without warning. The vehicle was taken to diffee Ford Lincoln (1681 I-40, el reno, ok, (405) 262-4546) where it was diagnosed that the steering rack and pinion needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and the contact was provided case number: Cas13937768. No further assistance was offered. The approximate failure mileage was 40,000.

- Yukon, OK, USA

problem #33

Sep 252017

F-150

  • 30,000 miles
Power steering assist fault upon start up. Unable to drive. Sometimes "service advance trac" will illuminate. Truck just sits, unable to drive. Very difficult to steer.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #32

Nov 132017

F-150

  • 56,000 miles
Power steering fault and service advanstrac message displayed on start up while parked, lost all power steering in truck. I took to local Ford dealer, bob bell Ford, glen burnie, md 21061. Dealer first diagnosed as bad battery and reprogramming needed. I expressed I had researched and found issues with epas as cause, was assured battery would correct issue. Once home the truck threw the same codes the following morning and had lost of power steering. I took back to dealer that afternoon. Dealer advised they needed to install new electronic steering gear part # el3Z be replaced with part # el3Z 3504. Truck is a 2014 Ford F150 with about 56K miles on it. I have found that there are numerous complaints (easy google search) about Ford epas gear in the F150 and other vehicles, causing an expensive replacement cost for the entire steering gear. To my knowledge there have been recalls on similar if not same part for epas on F150 and others. I would like to request your consideration into investigating Ford epas and holding them accountable for a recall and full payment of replacement parts. Total out of pocket expense was over $1700, after their initial diagnosis, replacement of battery, reprogramming, gear replacement and labor. Thank you

- Millersville, MD, USA

problem #31

Oct 312017

F-150

  • 67,953 miles
Power steering went out suddenly at highway speeds, luckily I was going straight. Milage 67,953

- Northfield, NJ, USA

problem #30

Jan 252017

F-150

  • 49,000 miles
My tire spec and pressure label is incorrect, cold psi is shown at 55 psi front and 60 psi rear and the TPMS shows low pressure if under 55 and 60. All local Ford service advisers say it should be 35psi. I have been complaining of vibration issues since I bought the truck and feel this has put myself and my family at risk not to mention the premature wear on my tires and suspension components.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #29

Aug 112017

F-150

  • 44,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. While driving various speeds, the steering wheel failed to turn left or right. The vehicle was taken to the nearby dealer (barnes enterprises located at 272 w main St, East brookfield, MA 01515; (508) 867-7413) where it was diagnosed that the power steering rack needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted at 800-392-3673 and advised the contact to get the vehicle completely diagnosed. The failure mileage was 44,000.

- Oakham, MA, USA

problem #28

Aug 092017

F-150 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,000 miles
The contact owns a 2014 Ford F-150. While driving 35 mph and turning a corner, the steering wheel became inoperable. There were no warning indicators illuminated. The local dealer (aberle Ford 1025 main street, sabetha, ks 66534) was contacted and an appointment was scheduled for diagnostic testing. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V316000 (steering). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and confirmed that the VIN was not included in the recall. The failure mileage was approximately 49,000....updated 10/19/17 updated 10/26/2017

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #27

Jun 082017

F-150

  • 52,250 miles
At highway speed I hit a bump on the freeway. The front end of the truck immediately began to shudder violently and uncontrollably. I removed my foot from the accelerator and coasted once the vehicle speed reduces to about 45mph the shudder stopped. This has happened before but only lasts 1 or 2 seconds.

- Spring Lake, NC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »