10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
14,309 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Ford F-150:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #115

Aug 012019

F-150

  • 20,000 miles
On the newer Ford F150's the master lock sits outside of the door frame. Criminals can break this lock and grain access to the vehicle in less than 30 seconds. I have had my truck broken into 3 times now due to this security issue. Ford refuses to acknowledge the issue they engineered into the F150. I do not feel safe in my truck and will imedietly be looking for a replacement that is not a Ford.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #114

Jun 102019

F-150

  • miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford F-150. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 17V652000 (latches/ locks/linkages) and 18V568000 (seat belts, structure). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Lamarque Ford (3101 williams blvd, suite F, kenner, la 70065, (504) 443-2500) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #113

Jan 172018

F-150

  • miles
I have contacted gus johnson Ford numerous times to have my recalls fixed they always tell me they are ordering the parts. This started over a year ago in the winter with my door unabkle to close. I need my recall fixed asap

- Greenacres, WA, USA

problem #112

Apr 302019

F-150

  • 83,720 miles
Plastic tracks on panoramic sunroof broke. While stationary. I was unable to close sunroof.

- Mandeville, LA, USA

problem #111

Jun 012019

F-150

  • 21,000 miles
The panoramic sun roof will not close and is stuck in the partially opened position. The glass has a partial crack in it and I am concerned that it will shatter injuring any passengers. The vehicle only has 21000 miles. I believe this to be a design defect. I contacted Ford customer service and they refused to take any corrective action on this problem. One month earlier the roof would not close and I brought the vehicle to the dealership and they pressed on the glass and finally the glass panel returned into the track and closed.

- Fairhaven, MA, USA

problem #110

Apr 222019

F-150

  • 48,000 miles
Tailgate opens by itself. Has happened while driving at least once (that I know of because I have a bed cap on that has held it in place). The one time I noticed it I was towing a trailer and was fortunate that the tailgate did not get wedged between the trailer jack on a turn. I have now noticed that the tailgate will open and the latch mechanism will continue to fire even after the tailgate is down,

- Marinette, WI, USA

problem #109

Mar 122019

F-150

  • 121,000 miles
On 3/12/19, this vehicle was in motion on a federal highway with a driver, and (1) passenger in the front seat. Earlier in the day, said vehicle was in the dealership for a recall fix. The recall was to fix the driver and passenger door locking mechanisms from opening prematurely. While in motion on the highway after leaving the dealership the passenger side door came open and would not latch any further. During the initial repair process there were customer service issues with dealership staff; after speaking with the dealership again following the incident their response was, "that's what you get." Due to incidents at the dealership it is believed the repair was not completed correctly on purpose risking lives of those in the vehicle.

- Nitro, WV, USA

problem #108

Feb 072019

F-150

  • 45,400 miles
Electric tailgate drops open without being triggered and will not close and stay closed after repeated attempts. Finally will remain closed but may repeat process. Started in Dec 2017 and has continued until the present day. Returned it to a Ford dealer and they found nothing. Now tailgate will not open when the button on the tailgate is pushed. You can open tailgate with remote fob only. Tailgate opening usually happens when parked and stationary but has happened once when I was transporting my travel trailer on the highway. Last happened in February 2019.

- Turtlepoint, PA, USA

problem #107

Jan 012019

F-150

  • miles
I was told by the sales person, (xxxxx), that the truck is under a bumper to bumper warranty, and a Ford company warranty that includes even the light bulb. After just few days of driving, I noticed some vibration of the truck, bad oil burning in the cabine, griding of the wheels when I have to take sharp corners and many more issues. Called the covington Ford dealer about the problems/issues I have with the truck. I was told to take it to a Ford dealer to have it inspected. Did that. Called covington Ford and they told me to take it over to theyr dealer and they will checked and fix it. Left the truck for over a week with them I called to see what's going on with my truck. I was told they fixed everything.now the vibration is getting worse. Called again covington Ford with same problems. I told them I'll go on a hunger strike in front of their dealer and Ford company main office. And I will if the problem is not solved. The owner of covington Ford contacted me by phone, and left me a mesage that thy will take care of the truck or get me another truck. Drove again to their dealer on a Saturday morning. The sales person, (xxxxx), took a test drive and he said that yes, there are to many problems with the truck, so, I'm gonna get another one. After over 3 hours of back and forth with the owner and general manager, they offer me a older model,2015, and lower XL model. Now I have F150 2016xlt. Did not accepted, so they told me to hit the road. As I said, I'm gonna go on a day hunger strike, call all the media outlets. Even I'll put it on face book. Covington Ford should be responsable and inspect the cars before they offer it for sale. I hope that you will help me to solve this problem before I'll go on a hunger strike. All I want from covington Ford to stand behind their sales, honor the warranties. Thank you. A very disappointed customer. (xxxx) parts of this document have been redacted to protect personally identifiable information pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #106

Oct 012018

F-150 8-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2016 Ford F-150. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 17V652000 (latches/locks/linkages) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The contact received the recall notice in October of 2018. Mclaughlin Ford (950 N main St, sumter, SC 29150) was contacted and stated that they would order the parts. The manufacturer was not contacted. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Consumer bought truck from a private owner. Consumer has reported a recall on Oct 2018 but still has not received an appointment.

- Sumter, SC, USA

problem #105

Feb 092019

F-150

  • 23,000 miles
Rear door latches will not open when it's very cold outside. Have had two recall services to fix the problem, but it persists.

- Stow, OH, USA

problem #104

Feb 082019

F-150

  • 27,000 miles
Had door latch freezing tsb and recall both performed by dealer. On Feb 8, 2019, drivers door once again would not latch shut due to freezing of the latch. After letting truck idle with full heat on for a while, it appeared to have thawed enough to latch. It flew open on the first turn I made. Somebody is going to get killed if this problem isn't fixed.

- Urbana, OH, USA

problem #103

Jan 292019

F-150

  • 22,000 miles
During low temperatures the door latch does not engage, leaving the door free to swing.

- Milton, FL, USA

problem #102

Feb 092019

F-150

  • 33,250 miles
2016 Ford F-150 super crew has ongoing issues with both the door latches not re latching or releasing and the door locks not locking or unlocking when in freezing conditions (4 doors and all 4 have different variations of this problem). All applicable recalls and updated recalls from Ford have been performed by the dealership yet the problem continues.

- Kentwood, MI, USA

problem #101

Jan 042019

F-150

  • 34,500 miles
Frozen door latches. Doors froze shut in 2017, after opening, the driver's door appeared to close, but flew open rounding a corner in an intersection. A similar issue occurred with the rear passenger door. Jan 24, 2018: Warranty service for a similar concern, doors frozen shut or after opening would not latch closed (stationary and while moving). Tsb 16-0020 completed. Feb 2018: Intermittent issues with doors failing to fully latch shut in freezing weather. The door would open approximately 1/2" with the lock engaged and door shut. Dec 22, 2018: Warranty service: Performed customer satisfaction recall 18no3 two additional service visits required because the latch mechanism was not operating properly. Prior to the third visit, the driver's door flew open rounding a corner while driving. After third visit in early Jan 2019, we experience freezing temperatures (20S) for several days. The two rear doors (crew cab pickup) would not unlock using the key fob; however, the front doors operated normally. The doors remained in that condition (locked and shut) for 2 days before it warmed up enough for the door lock to cycle. After opening rear passenger door and shutting it while stationary, I attempted to open the door while locked. The door partially opened 1/2" with the lock engaged. The vehicle is scheduled for another service visit on Feb 13, 2019.

- Silverdale, WA, USA

problem #100

Jan 182019

F-150

  • 45,000 miles
Doors do no open, freeze shut in cold weather or doors will not latch/lock if they open at all. This is a known issue with Ford and had been unsuccessfully addressed in technical service bulletins (tsbs) issued by Ford. There needs to be a permanent solution. Also the windshield washer sprayer freezes regularly. This is also a know issue that has not been resolved. It is dangerous to operate a vehicle when the windshield cannot be cleared of road spray, obscuring vision,

- Minnetonka, MN, USA

problem #99

Jan 302019

F-150

  • 21,000 miles
Have gone through 2 recall fixes and problem remains: Doors can be opened but will not latch in cold weather. If driving is a necessity, you drive holding the door closed or with bungie cords. This is a safety issue as the latches are not latching and Ford has yet to be able to fix this

- Liberty Township, OH, USA

problem #98

Jan 292019

F-150

  • 32,150 miles
Freezing door latches causing the door not to stay shut in cold temperatures or open the door can fly open because you think that it is shut while you¿re driving down the road causing damage to the door losing personal belongings and if a occupant is not seatbelted flying out of the vehicle the doors on these trucks will not latch when you shut the door they bounce back open and then sometimes you think their latched and they¿re not then taking a turn and the door swings open Ford is aware of this problem they have put out tsb's and fsa in order to try to repair it with no success I personally have had my truck in the shop for this issue 5 to 6 times with no fix this is very dangerous and scares my kids that are inside the back of my truck when their door flying open or when they have to hold it shut while we¿re driving down the road to school

- Hernando, MS, USA

problem #97

Jan 282019

F-150

  • 25,500 miles
My 2016 Ford F150 supercrew is currently under a Ford recall for the rear doors freezing and not latching back closed. It has been to the dealer several times and the Ford official repairs were done and the issue is still not resolved. My doors are currently ratchet strapped closed and Ford will not give me a vehicle and take the truck back to do the repairs (again for the 3rd time). The issue was under a NHTSA recall and their actions have still not resolved the issue. The advisor at the dealer said there is now a new "latest and greatest" repair for the issue but they have had ~40% of the vehicles return after that as well.

- North Huntingdon, PA, USA

problem #96

Jan 272019

F-150

  • 30,800 miles
Under 15 degrees door latches will not latch and if you get the door to latch and doors are locked will not unlock to be able to open doors creating a safety hazard if emergency occurs

- Bryant, IN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »