5.6

fairly significant
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,512 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 Ford Flex:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #9

Mar 032019

Flex

  • 23,000 miles
Wrench light appears on dash and the car loses all power - known as "limp home" mode. Codes clear upon restart. Took it to dealer after freeway incident on 2/17/19, dealer found no codes, stated it was motor mount. Got the car back on 2/25/17, and it happened again within 30 miles. Was able to pull code with my own scan tool - P2111. Known error in throttle. This happened while traveling approximately 40 mph, and once on expressway, two additional times at around 20 mph

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 012017

Flex

  • 31,700 miles
Driving on I75 headed South just N of forsythe ga 3 lanes of traffic 75 mph or faster wrench light comes on and no power. With gods luck there was like a 10 second window where we got over to to right been and of the road. My wife and granddaughter were very frightened. Car was dead no power! waited a couple minutes and the car started so the air would work this is July 1st called roadside assistance first operator was not good and her english was terrible next lady was great but tow was 2 hours away.towed to Ford dealer closed till Monday. Monday morning Ford dealer says its a throttle actuated stuck have to replace throttle body. They did a good job on the road couple hours later. This a very serious safety issue.

- Ormond Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Jun 102017

Flex

  • 22,950 miles
I was driving northbound on us 23 on 6/10/2017 when my vehicle suddenly decelerated and would not respond to gas pedal. I coasted to the side of the road fortunately without striking another vehicle or the vehicle behind me rear ending me. A orange wrench appeared on the digital screen in my instrument cluster and a message appeared that said "see manual." Manual stated this was a power-train failure. I turned car off and restarted and was able to drive on. Once restarted, the wrench symbol disappeared. On 6/11/2017, while driving to work, the vehicle did the same thing only 1.5 miles after ignition. Sudden deceleration, coast to side of road, very low rough idle and would not respond to gas pedal depress. Fortunately no vehicles behind me. This time I had my wife bring my scan tool to me and I plugged into the obd2 port and received a code "P2111 throttle actuator control system - stuck open." Once again I turned car off and back on and was able to continue on. I went to bruce walters Ford in pikeville, ky on 6/12/2017 at 2pm and attempted to have the vehicle repaired. The service adviser as well as service manager advised me they could not read any code and therefore could not do anything. I explained that it resets when you turn off and back on and there is no way to drive the car when it happens because it is disabled. I was advised by both people that I just needed to drive the car until it broke down and have it towed in while still running that way they could read the code. I thought this was unbelievable. No tow service will tow a running car. I tried to explain but was only told that they had to be able to read the code to help. I left dealership and called Ford corporate and was told the same thing. Drive until I broke down and have it towed while running so the code could be read. Having a vehicle randomly shut down on the road is super dangerous.

- Virgie, KY, USA

problem #6

Jul 222016

Flex

  • 12,500 miles
Vehicle was in motion at highway speed when it suddenly decellerated and check engine light came on. Driver was able to steer/coast to side of road. Engine was running, but vehicle had no acceleration. Vehicle was towed to a dealer and dealer replaced the throttle body part. Dealer indicated defective throttle body parts were not uncommon on Ford vehicles. Sudden decelleration could have resulted in significant safety risk had traffic been heavier and/or less skilled driver.

- Labadie, MO, USA

problem #5

Jul 022016

Flex

  • 6,000 miles
Purchased my 2015 Ford Flex on May 11, 2016 with 54 miles. On Saturday, July 2, 2016 the wrench light came on while driving and the car shut-down. I was able to get it started and drove home, which was less than 5 miles away. The code per the manual, powertrain failure. Engine light was on as well. I noticed it would move a little sluggish when going up a hill and also noticed the sound of the transmission taking a few seconds to switch gears. Roadside assistance towed it to the dealership and they are saying the throttle body was defective and will need to be replaced; however.....it's on backorder for weeks. On July 5, 2016, I sent and email via Ford website and received an email response from meagan, a customer relationship center rep. With Ford on 7/5/16 at 2:53pm. Meagan's response stated that she, "escalated my case to the service manager at my dealership (of purchase), and ensured the service manager will use all resources available to assist me." Ford case number: Cas-9974632-S3Q0B3

- Stone Mountain, GA, USA

problem #4

Jul 012016

Flex

  • 12,763 miles
July 1 I was driving the car running some errands (bank, post office, grocery store) when the car suddenly lost power turning across oncoming traffic on a four lane highway. This was one day after I had the car at the dealership for more diagnostic work and they could not find anything wrong without the code. I left the car running after making it home and called Ford roadside assistance for a tow to the dealership. When wrecker driver arrived after a two hour wait he said he could not tow car with engine running (against dot rules and regulations) so engine was turned off and code was lost again. Car was delivered to the dealership and I told them to keep the car until repairs were properly made. I ask for a loaner but I was told they didn't have one. No offer was made for a rental. They did give me a ride back home where I sat over the July 4th holiday with no transportation. Totally lost for what to do next" any suggestions"

- Midland, NC, USA

problem #3

Jun 302016

Flex

  • 12,752 miles
Regarding NHTSA complaint no. 10876758. Had the car at the dealership this morning and nothing was found. They think it is the throttle body but can't repair it without authorization from Ford Motor Company. Service writer said he would call me if and when he got authorization (no idea when that might be). No offer was made to leave car until repairs were made and replace with a loaner. I drove the car back home approximately 25 miles one way. This afternoon I drove it to the grocery store with my wife riding along and upon returning home I was turning across two lanes of oncoming traffic onto the road I live on when the car stalled again. Dealership just called and said Ford will not authorize repair without the code showing on the reader. So, on to the next step.

- Harrisburg, NC, USA

problem #2

Jun 142016

Flex

  • 5,500 miles
Vehicle would not go in reverse when put in reverse. Also, when the new part was delivered to fix the vehicle, they delivered a damaged part and had to send it back and re-order a functional part.

- North Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #1

Jun 212016

Flex

  • 12,440 miles
Wife was driving the car 6-21-16 at approximately 55 mph when suddenly and unexpectedly the car lost power. She was able to get the car off the road without incident but could have been rear ended. Drivetrain malfunction/reduced power icon was displayed on instrument panel. Car was towed to nearest Ford dealership but no problem was found. I picked the cat up and drove it until the morning of 6-26-16 and the same thing happened to me. I got off the road, put the car in park, turned the switch off and pulled the key out. I waited a few minutes, put the key back in, started the car, put the shifter in drive and was able to get back home. Waiting on a call back from the dealership now to see what my next step should be. Definitely a safety issue!

- Midland, NC, USA