2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,918 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Focus:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Jan 122015

Focus

  • 98,101 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the turn signal was activated and failed to respond. In addition, the brake light became inoperative. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 98,101.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 152014

Focus

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the vehicle failed to start. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition actuator needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Haines, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 062014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 93,345 miles
On hot days, the Ford Focus intermittently will not start after shutting off the engine. It takes 30-45 minutes before the car stops again. The engine does not turn over, it acts as though the starter motor is going out. Ford is unable to reproduce this while in the shop, so they are unable to fix it. Investigating, I see that there are a lot of people experiencing the same issue on the internet for 2000-2012 focuses. This problem did not start until the car was 4-5 years old. There are many videos on youtube showing this symptom, I have posted several. I fear that if I am at an intersection and the engine stops that I will be unable to restart the car. Or, in the case of an emergency, the car will not start.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #13

Feb 122014

Focus

  • 105,421 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 30 mph, the engine stalled without warning. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence where a certified mechanic replaced the ignition cylinder. The failure recurred four weeks after the repair was performed. The dealer then replaced the ignition for the second time. Most recently, the engine failed to start due to the faulty ignition lock module. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 105,421.

- Garland, TX, USA

problem #12

Jun 062014

Focus

  • Automatic transmission
  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Focus. The contact stated that the key failed to turn in the ignition. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer. The technician diagnosed that the ignition switch, ignition cylinder and the housing needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The VIN was not available. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 147,000. Updated 9/4/14 the consumer stated the key would turn in the ignition but the engine would not crank. Airbag light was always on. Updated 12/16/2014

- Forest, MS, USA

problem #11

Nov 152012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 57,800 miles
As reported by several others, my 2009 Ford Focus will unpredictably go into "limp" or failsafe mode, with power surges or hesitations and the wrench & check engine light. After then engine is re-started the car will run normally for various periods of time, sometimes miles, days or weeks. This first happened several times in November 2012, I brought the car into a Ford dealer, but because the wrench or engine lights were not on, they were unable to read any codes or otherwise diagnose. In May 2013, I again experienced several instances of the limp / failsafe mode with one or both of the wrench and check engine lights on. On May 11, 2013 car was delivered to a different Ford dealer with the wrench light on. This dealer ?cleaned? the throttle body even though as I now understand the throttle body is a sealed unit. Just over 4 weeks after the maintenance I again experienced the limp mode and wrench lights. At this time I started to keep track of each instance. For approximately 1 month the car experienced frequent power surges/hesitation and instances of limp mode. The car then went 1 month without any repeat of that experience. After several more instances of the problem in early September 2013, the issue disappeared for over 6 months, until April 2014. I now have a log documenting approx 25 " 30 instances of limp mode over a period of about 8 weeks. This happens when the car is both warm or cold, in any weather conditions, sometimes when the car is running for only 1 minute or after a long drive. Unfortunately I have had to shift into neutral and re-start at highway speeds. Again as others have commented, this is a dangerous situation and should be corrected by a recall. I have an appointment in the next few days at which time they will likely replace the throttle body for approx $600, after sticking about $300 to the 1st 2 service calls.... thank you

- Appleton, WI, USA

problem #10

Apr 292014

Focus

  • miles
Going 75 mph when car lost power. Pulled over and restarted seems to work fine until it happens again. Luckily it has only happened when I'm going to work early in the morning when there is less traffic.

- Brigham City, UT, USA

problem #9

Apr 292014

Focus 4-cyl

  • 26,140 miles
I have a 2009 Ford Focus. When turning on the vehicle one morning a wrench light was on and pressing on the gas there was no acceleration. When taking it to mechanic I was told it was the P2111 and the throttle cap was stuck open. This is a known Ford problem and the escape had them recalled already. The car only has 26,000 miles on it and was a 3 year warranty unfortunately not covered.

- Darien, IL, USA

problem #8

Apr 132011

Focus

  • 15,000 miles
Wrench light came on when starting...and went off..gradually came on and stayed on until I turned off engine and restarted...bob ridings Ford here in Decatur said they could not check it unless the wrench light stayed on...which never happened...gradually the light would come on when car was being driven...and stalled down at a place I could not get off road to restart...luckily not in heavy traffic which could have caused an accident. Next the wrench light went off and the engine light came on...before I could get it to the garage to be checked, all the lights went off...said palmer from palmer tire and auto checked it and got one code which he tried to get Ford to help him with..before he could hear back (if ever he would have) I took it to bob ridings in taylorville (I had bad experience with one in Decatur)and they called said to get his diagnosis..and discussed the fact that both had replaced throttle control on other Focus cars which Ford motor did not recommend doing! this cost me $569.10 which I believe would have been under warranty if it had been repaired in 2011; and this should have been a recall as it is a dangerous condition when driving in traffic., I think Ford owes me...and probably others...and is a problem warranting a recall! I guessed at mileage and time but know this problem occurred the year after I bought the car and it only had 9000 miles on it when I purchased it...making it have around 15,000 when problem began.

- Decatur, IL, USA

problem #7

Aug 012013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Exactly as described in other entries on this site, and similar to the problems described in the nytimes today about GM cars (although mine is a Ford- probably the same faulty component is in both GM and Ford). Numerous times and at various speeds, including on the highway, the car will inexplicably "stall out"- the engine completely shuts off and no longer accelerates. First time was with my wife driving with our babies on the highway. She was terrified, and did a heroic job of getting over to the shoulder. She turned the key off and then was able to restart the car. A few weeks later it happened to me on a country road- without any warning, the car completely shut off while going about 40 mph. I took it to a mechanic. They drove it over a hundred miles and couldn't find anything wrong with it. In another week or so, it did it twice in one day, both city driving in heavy traffic. I'd put on the hazard lights, come to a stop and restart the car. Took it back to the mechanic. They drove it another 75 miles with the same lack of diagnosis. The next time it happened I was on an empty stretch of open road going about 40, and I was able to just shift into neutral while coasting and turn the key off and back on to restart the car while never actually stopping it. Realizing that this was actually better than stopping traffic and potentially causing an accident, this is how I have restarted the car and resumed acceleration in the several times it has done it since. But I am a very skilled driver- shifting into neutral and restarting the engine while coasting in traffic is definitely not a solution for the average person having this problem, and I am not advising anyone to do it. I've put a ton of miles on this car quickly, so other people with 2009 focuses may not have had this problem. But more will likely begin to experience it as their cars get older. Please recall.

- Derwood, MD, USA

problem #6

Jul 212011

Focus

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Focus. The contact stated the dashboard, radio, power window, and the button control lights would illuminate extremely bright and suddenly they became dim independently. The contact stated when the lights were bright they were blinding and could possibly cause a crash to occur. The defect was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 35,000. The current mileage was 64,000.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #5

Jan 092013

Focus 4-cyl

  • 122,000 miles
Gas pedal wants to stick.

- Caldwell, ID, USA

problem #4

Sep 242012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 42,500 miles
(complaint #2) difficulty in inserting and removing key from ignition. Repositioning steering wheel sometimes "locks" and "unlocks" ignition keyhole allowing for key insertion and key removal. Complaint #1 submitted as a separate complaint and wanted to include 1st complaint with the 2nd one - turning vehicle key to start position glides rather than "clicks" to each position. Ignition key feels and sounds like ignition tumblers are stripped. Delay between start and vehicle engine actually starting when key glides to start position. This delay is a sign that vehicle will not start due to faulty ignition part.

- Avondale Estates, GA, USA

problem #3

Sep 242012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 42,500 miles
(complaint #1) turning vehicle key to start position glides rather than "clicks" to each position. Ignition key feels and sounds like ignition tumblers are stripped. Delay between start and vehicle engine actually starting when key glides to start position. This delay is a sign that vehicle will not start due to faulty ignition part. Complaint #2 is being submitted as a separate complaint and wanted to include 2nd complaint with the 1st one - difficulty in inserting and removing key from ignition. Repositioning steering wheel sometimes "locks" and "unlocks" ignition keyhole allowing for key insertion and key removal.

- Avondale Estates, GA, USA

problem #2

May 102012

Focus 4-cyl

  • 59,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Focus. The contact stated that while driving 50 mph, the vehicle stalled and the power train warning lamp illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who diagnosed that the electronic throttle body sensor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure who did not offer any assistance since the vehicle was no longer under warranty. The failure mileage was 59,000. Updated 07/13/12 the consumer stated the vehicle was under warranty at the time, but Ford stated that the power train throttle body sensor was not covered under warranty. The vehicle was repaired. Updated 07/30/12.....updated 01/14/13 the consumer stated the vehicle was still covered under power train warranty. But, was told it would not be covered. Updated 1/15/2013 the consumer requested to have the component changed. However, the closest component, to throttle body sensor is vehicle speed control and electrical system. Updated 03/18/13

- Henrico, VA, USA

problem #1

Sep 012011

Focus 4-cyl

  • 39,253 miles
I was driving my Ford Focus on the highway, running approx. 55 mph. All at once a wrench light came on in my car, and my car decelerated to approx. 10 mph. I pulled it off of the road shut the car off and restarted it, and the car ran fine the rest of the way home. Since then it has happened multiple times, without warning. I took the car to my Ford dealer shortly after the first occurrence, and was told that since the wrench light wasn't on they couldn't tell me what the problem was. Yesterday, the car did it again, but this time the engine light came on and stayed on. I took it to advance to have the code read, and was told it coded out a (tac) throttle actuator control failure. I have several friends that also drive Focus' and they all tell me that theirs is doing the same thing. I was wondering if you could get Ford to recall this problem. I have also researched on the internet and found that they are also having this issue with the mustang, F-150, and F-250 to name a few. Thanks for your help.

- Corning, OH, USA