10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #179

Sep 182013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 46,774 miles
I was leaving my residence in my 2004 Freestar when it all of a sudden just cut off. It started right back up and shut off again, started back up drove about 100 yards shut off again. I drove it back to my house as I had barely gotten out of my drive. However to drive it back to the house I had to continually restart the vehicle. Next day got in it and it would not go in reverse and in neutral the engine idled up very high. I put it in drive it moved, put it back in reverse nothing repeated this action, heard a loud click and van went in reverse. After a few minutes it seemed to change gears sitting in the drive. I haven't driven it any where, scared to. Also we just purchased this van used 10 days ago. Dealer said bring it in has a 30 day warranty. Did I mention it rained Sunday and I didn't attempt to drive it until Wednesday and all this started. Read on this sight about all the PCM problems after rain.

- Colquitt, GA, USA

problem #178

Sep 072013

Freestar

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated while driving 75 mph the vehicle stalled. The vehicle was restarted after 2 hours but did not operate as designed. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who confirmed that a failed seal was allowing water to leak into the trans-axle vent causing a failure to the PCM. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 160,000.

- Englewood, FL, USA

problem #177

Sep 062013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 110,500 miles
I lost power all of a sudden through the torque converter. There is a recall on specific Freestars, but not mine. I have the same issue as the others. I almost was hit pulling onto the highway by a larger truck.

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #176

Sep 042013

Freestar

  • 171,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the transmission needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 171,000.

- Little Bowl , MA, USA

problem #175

Oct 152012

Freestar

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that after having the vehicle repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 12V006000 (power train), the vehicle leaked transmission fluid. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where the dealer repaired the vehicle transmission again. The contact also stated that the vehicle continued to leak transmission fluid after the second repair. The manufacturer was notified. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Silver Spring , MD, USA

problem #174

Dec 242012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Ford issued a recall for loss of forward power due to a torque converter issue. My vehicle did not exhibit the symptoms but I decided it would be a good idea to have it done, I was planning to keep the vehicle for a while. The dealership said it would take 2 days. They had vehicle over a week. That was December 2012. They had a problem; they did not tell me. Not long after getting the car back, I knew something was different, I could not put my finger on it. Sometime in April/May 2013 time frame, I had a couple of incidents where the car would not go forward. I stopped, put the car in park, then drive and I was ok. I thought it was a linkage adjustment issue. Then in June, it failed while going up a hill on a very busy road. I turned into a driveway, back out, and went down the hill and limped to the dealership. My car was exhibiting the exact same symptoms of the recall. The dealership said it was due to a rotted dipstick housing assembly and that my repair bill was over $3500. I let car sit because I don't have money. After stewing about this for many weeks, I contacted Ford to complain. In December, the mechanics who worked on the transmission would have had to disconnect the dip stick housing. They had to know it was rusty and may have even damaged it to the point of allowing water in. They ignored that danger. Since the symptoms of the issue are exactly the same as described in the recall, there is the possibility that Ford is not being honest about the real source of the problem. Additionally, how many of their model lines use the same material for their dip stick housing. If this happens on a heavy interstate, this could result in a multi car pileup and death.

- Marcy, NY, USA

problem #173

Aug 192013

Freestar

  • 178,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while the vehicle was unoccupied and in park, it erroneously rolled away and crashed into a house. There were no injuries and a police report was not filed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 178,000.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #172

Jul 312013

Freestar

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 55 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis where it was stated that the torque converter needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000.

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #171

Aug 112013

Freestar

  • 52,490 miles
Van started running poorly suddenly, then would not run at all. After shutting down and allowing cool down time, restarted van and it would not go into gear. Ran well in park or neutral, but shifting into any gear would "clunk" and the engine would immediately quit. After 5 days of troubleshooting, traced trouble to engine PCM after reading in on-line forums about it. Found PCM wet and pins on PCM and contacts on wire harness corroded and green due to water leaking past cowl-to-body seal. The PCM connector is not sealed, so if water does drip on it, it is dripping directly onto back side of the contacts and Ford did release a tsb about this issue but not a recall. Tsb says to remove some plugs from body (my van is severely rusted in one of those 2 spots), seal around clips that hold plastic cowl to body with silicone sealant and add additional weather stripping on the outer edges of cowl to try to prevent water. I had to replace my PCM. Had my wife been on the highway when this happened, there would have most certainly been an accident or injury.

- Clifton, NJ, USA

problem #170

Jun 242009

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 105,495 miles
Ford Motor Company appears not wanting to honor its own recall letter 11S25 torque converter replacement. On June 2009, I took my vehicle to a repair shop and they replaced the transmission, it was unfortunate as my extended warranty has expired. Fortunate for me at the end of last year I received that recall letter which at least would cover part of my cost. I took the letter Ford Motor Company had sent me along with repair shop invoice totaling $2,228, replaced transmission warranty and receipt slips to a local Ford service center on May 2013 and still by Aug 2013; there had been no check issued as the service man told me or calls until I got with Ford national 1-800 number. Only then and more than 60 days later I received a call from the local service center asking for more documentation. Now Ford local service center told me that it was up to Ford Motor Company to work with the issue and Ford Motor Company told me it was my Ford local service center. I am confuse thought they both work for each other I do not know what is going on here. But certainly want to get this resolve. Can you help? ///// my problem with the power train started on June 2009 while I was driving my son, for a scheduled outpatient operation. It happen on a two lane portion of the street at about 400 fts or so from a traffic light, my mini-van all of the sudden loss power train, the engine was still on and with the vehicle momentum I drove it to the side off the street. The engine was on, electrical ok, but no moving forward or reverse, it felt like it was in "neutral". we had it towed to a reputable auto repair shop on the same street were the vehicle left us.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #169

Jun 012013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 99,400 miles
Have chatter coming from transmission ayear ago the input shaft failed and we had a recall repair made it is doing the same thing again there needs too be a recall on the transmission S in these vehicles immediately.

- Chouteau, OK, USA

problem #168

Jul 312013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • miles
In September 2012 I took my 2004 free star into Ford dealership to have the torque converter replaced due to a recall. Now I get a transmission chatter. I took it once again into the dealership for a recall on the 3rd row seat and asked them after completing the recall if they would check out the chatter. They at first told me it was a misfire...that possibly the plugs and/or wires needed replaced. I obtained a cost for that and then asked them to complete the job. They called me back in an hour or so and told me that my problem was a much bigger problem. They said my transmission had water in it. My husband checked the fluid and yes it has a milky appearance. The dealership is the only ones who have removed my transmission when they done the torque converter recall the previous fall. Now I learn that there is some sort of seal in which water can seep into the transmission. What's up with that and why hasn't there been a recall on this seal.

- Shoals , IN, USA

problem #167

Nov 262012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 58,866 miles
Bought car Nov 2012 from truck junction and from the day we bought it the car stalled ran ruff wouldn't start. Gave us the run around while under warranty now Ford says PCM wet N ruined from day one. I've had a broken van in my drive for 8 months what the [xxx]how can Ford make a product that is this bad with no recall [xxx] american products this is [xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Sarasota, FL, USA

problem #166

Apr 282006

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 37,570 miles
On April 28th 2006 I was on my way to work, stopped at a red light, proceeded to make a left turn, my van would not move forward of backward. I had to call for a tow to take my van to a dealership. The dealership told me I had to pay $75 in order for them to tell me what was wrong with my van. They diagnosed the problem and told me it was my transmission, that the torque converter had played out.the total charge was $2817.38 + $75 dollars.I made a call to Ford Motor Co. To see if there was a recall on the transmission of the Ford free-star, they told me no.

- Pine Bluff, AR, USA

problem #165

Jul 052013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in and repaired under NHTSA campaign id number 12V006000 (power train). The contact stated that while the vehicle stalled without warning. The contact had to stop and wait some time before being able to restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics, who stated that the transmission failed due to a faulty torque converter. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The failure and current mileage was 98,000. Updated 8/26/13 the consumer stated the problems started after the dealer worked on the vehicle. Updated 09/05/13

- Belton , MO, USA

problem #164

Jul 072013

Freestar

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the vehicle began to decelerate. The contact noticed smoke from under the hood. The contact stopped at a side and noticed transmission fluid was leaking. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, who stated that the transmission failed. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000 (power train) for which the vehicle had been repaired under in 2012. The failure and current mileage was 125,000.

- Midlothian , VA, USA

problem #163

May 262013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The transmission is slipping in and out and very sluggish and no power, backfiring and smells very strong of gas fumes. Has been going on for a few weeks. I was driving on the highway and it slipped out of drive and lost power. I had to slow myself down at a pace to turn the van into a safe area off the highway I was traveling at the speed of 60..very scary...the van would not move. I had the van towed by a friend at the cost of $65 (he saved me a lot of money ) which was not offered back to me from the dealership.... I didn't know abt the recall or the PCM problem until I was looking for info on ytube..I called my dealer where I had bought the van( and it is paid for) when I talked with an advisor he said for me to have it towed to the dealership and they would look at it. I refused to pay for the tow (they did do that at least) he called me and said that the torque converter was under a recall and they would replace that part...3 days later I went to pick the van up and it still wasn't driving right. Still loosing power and gas smell and it felt as if the transmission was slipping still. It was a Saturday and the lady helping me knew nothing couldn't even find my paperwork and had to call the advisor. She said to call him back on Monday so needless to say I tried to drive the van and it just wasn't drivable so I parked it.. was afraid it might do more damage if I didn't. on Monday I called and spoke to the advisor and he informed me that they only did the recall part as I had requested to be done. He also said the tech told him that the van needed a lot of work. I in return ask why they didn't check out all of the problems and his answer was we did the recall and that's all we can do unless I wanted to pay $100 for a diagnostic.so needless to say my van sits until I can pay or Ford does something to make this right. The ball is N your park Ford.

- Newport, NC, USA

problem #162

Jun 012013

Freestar

  • 127,857 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 65 mph, the engine rpms raced as the vehicle began to decelerate independently before stalling. The vehicle was towed to the dealer where the torque converter was replaced under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000 (power train). The failure was not corrected and the vehicle remained inoperable. The failure was reported to the manufacturer. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 127,857.

- Tiverton , RI, USA

problem #161

Dec 282009

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 64,858 miles
Purchased car in Nov 08. In Dec 09 had transmission rebuilt (remanufactured by Ford) in June of 2013 needs transmission again!! went in to Ford dealership and asked for all paperwork. Found out this will be the 4th total transmission in the life of my very well maintained car! warranty history stated Nov 07 overhauled transmission 43085 mi Dec 09 rebuilt remanufactured transmission 64858 mi June 2013 torque converter recall done 88658 mi dealership called Ford recall line, did not fix neutralizing problem with transmission. Ford stated it must be an internal transmission problem not covered by recall. So I called Ford Motor Company and they will not do anything!!!!!! recall the unsafe bad transmissions made by Ford Motor Company!!

- Marlborough, MA, USA

problem #160

Apr 242013

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 126,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving approximately 35 mph, there was a sudden loss of motive power with no warning. The vehicle was towed to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the torque converter and the transmission pump needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V006000 (power train) but the repairs did not include the transmission pump. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 126,000.

- Millburry , MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »