10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
3 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
100,980 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Ford Freestar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #119

May 052012

Freestar

  • 198,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that the transmission overheated while driving 60 mph. The failure occurred while driving at any speed. The vehicle was taken to a private mechanic, who stated that the torque converter was not supplying fluid to the transmission. The vehicle was repaired. The dealer and manufacturer were not notified. The failure mileage was 198,000 and the current mileage was 201,000.

- Fontena, CA, USA

problem #118

Mar 012012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 94,000 miles
March of 2012 I received a recall on my van. I contacted Ford and was told that the parts(torque converter) were not available and I would receive a second letter when they do. It is now near the end of July and after several phone calls to Ford I as of yet have not received any information on getting this fixed. A friend also has a Freestar and has already received her letter and has appointment to get her's fixed and has no problems with her van. Mine has already been diagnosed by an ase certified mechanic that the torque converter is going and is a danger to drive anywhere but in town (5 mile long island with no hills). Seems to me that after several phone calls, Ford would put those that are having problems with their vehicles at the top of their list and not go in whatever order they have deemed fit.

- Marathon, FL, USA

problem #117

Feb 132012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
Started in Feb 2012 with the torque converter - then the PCM which lead to different electrical issues - from dash lights staying on running the battery dead - a Ford dealer said the PCM was getting wet because of a manufacturing issue or design flaw - there fix from corporate Ford was to redirect the water away from the PCM by laying down a bead of chalk ( that's Ford rain kit service bulletin #tsb-06-14-10 ) - but by that time I was told the PCM could already be damaged - here it is July 18 2012 my Freestar is again at a Ford dealership - I am thinking the only way to resolve this is to include the attorney general.

- Newport, NC, USA

problem #116

Jul 022012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Had powertrain symptoms related to Ford tsb 06-14-10, for engine/transmission driveablity. Had vehicle towed because I had no reverse & forward engagement, and high idle in neutral. Ford dealer, fixed transaxle per safety recall 11S25, and tsb 06-14-10, for water entering the PCM. Dealer returned our vehicle on July 10th, everything appeared okay. One July 11th, the van began have shift issues, and then stall going down the road at 20-25mph. If the PCM is damaged from water, then why don't they require replacement in the tsb. This is a serious safety issued, especially at 70mph on a freeway. This tsb should be reconsidered as a safety recall. How many people should be injured or killed due to this condition? one is to many!

- Fowlerville, MI, USA

problem #115

Jul 092012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 179,000 miles
While driving at 65mph, the transmission went out with no problem in the engine and the vehicle coasted to a stop on the highway in front of a red light. The car would not go forward, it would not reverse, even though the lever from the engine to the transmission moved back and forth fine. The car cost me a large sum to tow, and the Ford dealer then charged me $100 for a diagnostic that was performed apparently without moving the car from the parking spot where the tow truck had dropped it off. They now want $500 to do a diagnostic on the transmission itself, and if they do the work, that will be included into the total. The dealer did not mention any recall, and were instead trying to persuade me to get a new factory rebuilt transmission for $3500.. I found out about the recall for the torque converter on a forum, and the malfunction of that piece of equipment explains exactly the symptoms my car had. I understand that Ford is only going to pay $1450 to replace the torque converter, and take no responsibility for the transmission that is now full of shavings. Every mechanic I've talked to, says on principal and for safety reasons, the entire transmission needs replaced. Ford is saying that just replacing the torque converter for $1450 while leaving the shavings inside the transmission, is all that is necessary; the transmission will function normally ever after. Who is right?

- Newark, DE, USA

problem #114

Sep 272011

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
I was stopped at a red light. I then proceeded to cross the intersection when the light turned green and my van just stopped without any warning. Had it towed and was told I needed a new transmission and torque converter.

- Aldan, PA, USA

problem #113

Jul 012012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • miles
Request update status on safety recall notice 11S25 NHTSA recall 12V-006, worn spines in transmission torque converter. I contacted Ford customer relationship center per their March 2012 recall letter. I want to take my 2004 Freestar to a local san antonio dealer to implement this recall before any fatal accidents occur with my vehicle. Ford representative stated they had until 2nd quarter 2012 to begin this recall. My local dealers refuse to even check my transmission or order replacement parts until they receive a second letter from Ford corporate headquarters. Because it is now 3rd quarter 2012, Ford Motor Company is in non-compliance with your recall. If possible, please provide me with an update status (if any) on this recall and note the inaction and insensitive response by Ford Motor Company regarding this vital safety recall. Thank you for your time and assistance.

- San Antonio , TX, USA

problem #112

Mar 012012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number 12V006000 (power train:automatic transmission:torque converter). An authorized dealer was notified and the contact was informed that the parts needed to complete the recall repair were not available and possibly would not become available for approximately three years. The manufacturer was notified and provided no assistance. The contact stated that the parts were supposed to be available at the current time and was not being honored within a reasonable time frame. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 08/08/2012

- Springfield, PA, USA

problem #111

Jun 172012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 79,056 miles
Traveling in town on fathers day with 8 yr old son and 8 month old daughter, lost forward power traveling at 30 mph, almost caused accident. Finally made it to side of road, could not get forward/reverse power. Had to have it towed.

- Decatur, AL, USA

problem #110

Jun 042012

Freestar

  • 145,000 miles
I was driving my Ford Freestar on a highway at 65mph. All of a sudden it lost power and made an odd noise. Drove as best I could to an exit. Stopped and it would not go forward or backward. Luckily there was no accident as I lost power. Towed to local Ford dealer. They replaced torque converter, but said they could not get it in 4th gear. The van had been running fine previously.Ford covered cost of converter only. Received call that the transmission was shot and it must have been going bad. I questioned that there were not previous problems and have always had it serviced every 3000 miles. Even had the transmission fluid replaced last year. Previous problems with air conditioning compressor. That was over 1000 dollars and now the latest is over 1800 dollars. We get the vehicle serviced regularly to prevent expensive repairs, but obviously this must not be of any help. Very unhappy with treatment by service dealer and Ford (they hung up on me). It is possible that it may have coincidental, but not thoroughly convinced. It should have been running poorly if that was the case. I believe they should have split the difference in the cost since they did not previously find a problem.

- Bryan, OH, USA

problem #109

Mar 062012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
We have a 2004 Freestar in our corporate fleet. In March 2012 we had a major transmission repair. This was one month before we received the recall notice. The issue was exactly as described in the recall notice. Can we submit the repair for any reimbursement from Ford?

- Deforest, WI, USA

problem #108

Jun 032012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 36,000 miles
Driving and battery light, ABS and brake light all illuminated. No issues with braking. Replaced PCM in Nov 2011 for similar issue. Car at dealer for a week so far and indicate needs an alternator (maybe) and PCM. Multiple PCM issues reported on this make and model. Tsbs, etc. When is action going to be taken. Dealer indicates part is on back order from Ford. Please take some action this is in addition to a torque converter issue already under recall. The PCM controls everything and could have caused this car to fail and hurt someone.

- Vienna, VA, USA

problem #107

Dec 012011

Freestar

  • 117,000 miles
The contact owns 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact received NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000 (power train: Automatic transmission: Torque converter). The contact stated that the recall exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair and caused fumes to release from the torque converter. The contact also heard noises being releasing from the vehicle. The contact also stated that the failure recurred for the last six months. The vehicle was taken to local a mechanic and the mechanic stated that the fumes were emitted from the torque converter. The approximate failure mileage was 117,000 and the current mileage was 127,000.

- Norfolk, VA, USA

problem #106

Mar 012012

Freestar

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000 (power train:automatic transmission:torque converter) and an authorized dealer was contacted. The contact was informed that the necessary parts were not yet available. The manufacturer was also contacted and was unable to provide a time frame as to when the parts would become available. The contact stated that the vehicle had begun to experience a failure in which the transmission would occasionally hesitate to change gears. The failure mileage was 85,000.

- Bala Cynwyd, PA, USA

problem #105

May 122010

Freestar

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, she felt the transmission slip while attempting to accelerate. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and informed the contact that they did not have the necessary parts to perform service on the vehicle. In addition, the contact was advised that the recall had not yet begun and was advised that recall repairs would begin in the near future (NHTSA campaign id number: 12V006000 -power train:automatic transmission:torque converter). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Cleveland, OH, USA

problem #104

May 252012

Freestar

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. While driving approximately 45 mph, the transmission began to jerk and suddenly the engine stalled with an illumination of the entire instrument panel. The contact was able to coast the vehicle to the side of the road. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer where the contact was awaiting diagnosis. The failure recurred numerous times and had been previously taken to the dealer ten times within a two year period. There were numerous repairs made to the vehicle in an attempt to correct the failure however, the problem persisted. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 90,000.

- Greenville, NC, USA

problem #103

Apr 062012

Freestar

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Ford Freestar. The contact stated that while driving 25 mph, the vehicle stopped accelerating and would not shift gears. The check engine warning light also illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and the dealer stated that the wiring system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the failure continued. The contact also received the recall notice associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V006000 (power train:automatic transmission:torque converter), but the dealer would not repair the recall, stating that it was not related to the failure. The failure and current mileages were unavailable. The VIN was unavailable.

- Stone Mountain , GA, USA

problem #102

May 142012

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 123,000 miles
The van would start and die - when it did stay running you could put it in drive or reverse and it wouldn't move - took it to sanders Ford in jacksonville, North Carolina. - their inspection found water in the PCM connector - they cleaned the PCM connector and applied dielectric grease - the service manager also said Ford advised them to apply a bead of chauking to divert the water away from the PCM connector - is this been a problem with other Freestar owners. [xxx] [xxx] [xxx] [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6)

- Newport, NC, USA

problem #101

Sep 242010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 106,966 miles
Vehicle just stopped moving. Engine running but no engagement. No drive or reverse. Steering and brakes not affected. Eec test no codes. Replaced transmission.

- Maidstone, VT, USA

problem #100

May 282010

Freestar 6-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
Water seems to find its way into the transmission. When this occurs it destroys the transmission.

- Crestwood, IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »