10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
65,701 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #29

Jan 112019

Fusion

  • 126,630 miles
See complaint # 11155933 car has done the same unintended acceleration on 12/12/18 and again on 1/11/19. On 12/12/18 starting speed was 25 mph prior to acceleration. One 1/11/19 starting speed was 55 mph prior to acceleration. Problem occurs when the gas pedal is hit hard to accelerate quickly but acceleration continues beyond what is intended.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #28

Jan 082019

Fusion

  • miles
Car was in motion on highway when it started accelerating on its on and eventually started losing power

- Silas, AL, USA

problem #27

Nov 282018

Fusion

  • 175,000 miles
During acceleration, typically getting on a highway, the car continued to accelerate after the gas pedal has been let off. Problem is momentary and stopped after hitting the brake and tapping the gas pedal. Happened 4 times in about a month and a half.

- Richmond, VA, USA

problem #26

Aug 092018

Fusion

  • 98,000 miles
Our 2009 Ford Fusion sometimes does not respond when the gas pedal is pressed...then the car quickly leaps forward and accelerates. I presume it may be a problematic throttle positioning sensor / throttle assembly unit. I've done some reading on this...it appears this is a known problem."...is there a recall...any recourse we could pursue to get this repair done for "free" per SE" thank you robert zalenski 630-800-9855 R_zalenski@yahoo.com

- North Aurora, IL, USA

problem #25

Jun 292018

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle suddenly surged forward and returned to normal a few seconds later. The contact stated that the failure occurred at least twelve other times during the course of six months. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer or an independent mechanic for diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #24

Nov 022015

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that a red warning light flashed intermittently and the vehicle stalled several times without warning. The dealer diagnosed that the throttle body needed to be replaced. The dealer replaced the part, but the remedy failed to provide a solution. In addition, the dealer later stated that the computer failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was unable to be safely driven without potentially stalling. The VIN and failure mileage were not available.

- Kanawha, IA, USA

problem #23

Sep 122016

Fusion

  • 116,000 miles
My 2009 Ford Fusion would not crank, then when it did it idled rough and would not speed up. I had it towed to my Ford dealer who informed me that the throttle body had to be replaced. Even though Ford has a customer satisfaction program 13B17 and 13B03 that refers to my car, I was informed that my car was not covered. I'm glad that I was not driving the car at the time.

- Aiken, SC, USA

problem #22

Dec 162015

Fusion

  • 120,000 miles
I had exited the highway & was stopped at a stoplight in the right hand turn lane. Cars were behind me. When it was my turn to go, the car would not accelerate for me to make the turn. The traction light, wrench light, and engine light came on. I pressed down on the accelerator to try to move the car out of the middle of the 4-lane intersection, but it moved at a snail's pace maybe 4 feet from the turn lane. The car did not have the power to turn or even make it to the side of the road. My car was perpendicular to the cars in the 4 other lanes. I'm thankful I wasn't hit. I turned off the car and restarted it, but the same lights came on, the car was shaky, and could not accelerate. The police pulled behind me and she called the tow truck. The tow truck took us to the Ford dealership. The Ford dealership said the electronic throttle body has to be replaced, and was the cause of my car problems today. The lady at the dealership said Ford has had problems with the electronic throttle body going out in Ford vehicles, including the kind I have- 2009 Ford Fusion.

- Salem, MO, USA

problem #21

May 262015

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Ford Fusion. While at a stop, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into a ditch. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 42,000. Updated 7/20/15 updated 10/17/2017

- Fort Dodge, IA, USA

problem #20

May 112015

Fusion

  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. While attempting to park, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact was unable to stop the vehicle and crashed into the side of a building. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact mentioned that the vehicle accelerated to 40 mph. A police report was filed and no injuries were reported. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 81,000.

- Manchester, TN, USA

problem #19

Apr 022015

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving at an unknown speed, the vehicle hesitated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the throttle body was defective. The contact believed the failure might be related to a recent crash that occurred; however, this was not confirmed by the dealer. The failure mileage and the VIN were not available.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #18

Dec 152014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 102,653 miles
2009 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle acceleration issues. I was involved in a car accident on December 15th 2014 the car I own is a 2009 Ford Fusion sel. My accelerator got stuck on my car. I went online to see if there were any recalls on the vehicle and there was one. Updated 03/12/15

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #17

Dec 152014

Fusion 6-cyl

  • 102,653 miles
Business name: Ford Motor Company. Customer service division P.O.box 1904 dearborn, mi 48121 bus phone: 866-436-7332 email: Website: Ford Motor Company. Com names and addresses of any other businesses involved in your complaint: Transaction date: 12-15-2014 amount in dispute: N/a explanation of complaint: I was involved in a car accident on December 15th 2014 the car I own is a 2009 Ford Fusion sel.my accelerator got stuck my car I went ofnline to see if there was any recalls on the vehicle and there was one I contacted for customer service.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #16

Jan 082015

Fusion

  • 27,750 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle accelerated independently without warning. As a result, the contact crashed into a garage door and the air bags failed to deploy. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 27,750.

- Gardener, MA, USA

problem #15

Dec 182014

Fusion

  • 188,000 miles
While driving my Fusion which has had no mechanical issues up to this point slammed into 3rd gear followed by a rapid decrease in power and speed. The check engine light and wrench came on and pretty sure was in the" limp home" mode. Took it to get the codes read and P 2104 and P0607 were present.

- Rayville , MO, USA

problem #14

Aug 102014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
On 8/10/2014, after pulling out of the driveway, we noticed a reduction in acceleration on our 2009 Ford Fusion. The check engine light came on and upon taking the vehicle to autozone, the codes P2112 and P2104 showed up indicating a defect with the throttle body. Upon researching the internet we found the NHTSA action number PE13003 which indicated that there was a problem with this part on 2009-2013 Fusion and that Ford would cover the repair when the problem occurred. We took the car to southway Ford in san antonio on Monday, 8/11/2014. On Friday, 8/15/2014, the Ford service advisor indicated that the problem truly was the throttle body, but we were told that Ford would not pay for this repair. We have brought this to the attention of the service manager at southway Ford and to the corporate customer relations department at Ford. Obviously, there is a defect in this part, which causes a potential life-threatening safety hazard but Ford does not seem to acknowledge it and take responsibility for correcting the problem.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #13

May 282014

Fusion

  • 38,000 miles
While merging onto a freeway my car experienced a sudden loss of power while driving. Shortly afterwards my check engine light came on and I took it to the dealer to see what it was. It was a bad catalytic converter I was told that it would take 4 weeks to get one in. Meanwhile it being my only car I asked and was denied a loaner vehicle from Ford Motor Co. And I was told that the vehicle was still safe to drive as long as I did not let it goo too long without the repair. I called back 4 weeks later and was told that it would be an additional 4-8 weeks as there were "no" parts to be found anywhere. This worried me greatly as they even said problems could arise if driven too long without being fixed. So I filed a complaint with Ford Motor Company and was treated like crap by them. They told me they were willing to help but "not" willing to do anything. So I called a local news station who put me in touch with their executive offices where I got the same response. No loaner vehicle and no compenstaion for the extra gas I had to buy as it sucked it down. Whenever someone from Ford's calls me I am lucky to get a sentence in before they hung up on me! thankfully to my contacting a local news station they made enough headway with Ford that my part "finally" arrived today on 07/28/14 but I am extremely upset that Ford would put me in the situation where myself and my family could be in danger by driving an automobile that is not safe. Driving with bad catalytic converters is not safe and could cause all sorts of other issues and the fact that Ford's encouraged me to do so is frightening. This for one along with the GM issues has me seriously thinking of buying a foreign automobile for the first time ever. It was wrong what Ford Motor Company did to myself and my family and I hope that this complaint will prevent them from doing this again in the future!

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #12

Jan 012014

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 153,100 miles
Slowed down to turn in a parking lot and car just stalled and check engine light and tool light came on. I had a diagnostic rsn and got code 2104 & 2112 meaning throttle body failure.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #11

Dec 302013

Fusion 4-cyl

  • 66,500 miles
Replaced vehicle battery on 12/30/2013. Check engine light came on before the car was even removed off of the auto center premises. Service center ran vehicle diagnostics check and reported P2112 error indicating an issue with throttle body. Ford dealer ship said the throttle body needs to be replaced which isn't cheap. Faulty electronic throttles are causing these problems.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #10

Oct 272013

Fusion

  • 14,957 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that while driving approximately 25 mph, the vehicle stalled with the illumination of the wrench warning indicator. After several minutes, the engine was restarted and resumed normally until the failure recurred twice. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for diagnosis. A redesigned throttle body was installed in the vehicle at the owner's expense. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 14,957. Updated 12/23/13

- Pensacola, FL, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »