10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,665 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Ford Fusion:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #335

Sep 102019

Fusion

  • 75,080 miles
Takata recall. Vehicle stationary on January 18, 2019 the passenger air bag inflator was replaced under the 18S01 recall, Ford part number 8E5Z 54044A74 ad. On September 10, 2019 brought car into local quirk Ford dealership for service because air bag cover was no longer was flush to the dashboard. Ford service said problem was due to "worn dashboard" and not covered under recall. See first attached picture. Called Ford customer service on Sept 11, 2019 was told problem was not covered under any recalls or any warranties, case number cas-24226208-S8R0V4. My concern is that by having an open corner (see second attached picture) foreign objects could accidentally fall into this space without the drivers knowledge (ie. A penny, dime, etc) and if the air bag deployed a serious injury could occur. Specifically, foreign objects could become air borne when air bag deployed. A small piece of metal like a penny or dime could cause fatal damage to the passengers in the car if air bag deployed. Not sure if this should be covered under the original takata recall or if another recall should be issued. In any case I believe this is a serious safety issue which should be brought to your attention.

- Wollaston, MA, USA

problem #334

Aug 222019

Fusion

  • miles
Ford air bag recall. Ford unable to repair in a reasonable time. After years of earning to replace the airbags and noting none were available, I received notice from my state dmv to have the air bags replaced. I called Ford to setup an appointment and they don¿T have anytime to do the work until 1 October. I consider the years of wait and then requesting an additional 6 weeks notice to make the replacement unreasonable.

- North Chesterfield, VA, USA

problem #333

Jun 152019

Fusion 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. I keep getting recall notices from Ford mo. Co., I have taken the car in, they want me to sign a waiver thats says, there not responsible for any damage while the car is in there possion.the letter from Ford says we will be given a loner car to use, the local dealer says no !. if the mechanic does damage there not responsible, if its lost are stolen, backed into while sitting on their property, broken into, there not responsible !!!

- Toney, AL, USA

problem #332

Dec 012018

Fusion

  • 183,000 miles
Takata recall I have been trying for over 6 months to get this takata airbag fixed. When I call a Ford location ( local dealership/customer service) they tell me my car has been fixed. I have not taken my Fusion anywhere for this recall fix. I have made over 30 phone calls to Ford. There is a VIN number mix up in the Ford system. Another car was repaired using my VIN#. my airbag has not been repaired. Ford tells me that it has. Please help!

- Purcellville, VA, USA

problem #331

May 172019

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall the replacement R- side air bag was replaced after 1 year recall waiting. Now the installed airbag shows yellow foam type coming out from accross the top of the air bag on the dash board. Notified coccia Ford- they said drive it in to be checked on Monday May 20 2019-said-ok to drive it.

- Plymouth, PA, USA

problem #330

Dec 012018

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall, not getting done, I have been trying for more then 5mos to get this recall done, 3 times the dealer (delacy Ford) has told me they ordered the part and would call me when it comes in..never get a call, I have called Ford customer service with more broken promises. They even called a second dealer (basil Ford) and said that dealer would call me to schedule an appointment, 3 weeks later, still no call.

- Cheektowaga, NY, USA

problem #329

Mar 262019

Fusion

  • 150,000 miles
Takata recall I had made an appointment for 3/28/19 we had an accident on 3/26/19 a car hit us at a red light totaled the car the airbag hit me in the chest bruises and cuts. I was the passenger my husband the driver he lacerations mostly. I also had broken ankle on the right foot and a sprain on the left. The car was totaled. Car was in motion.

- Iaeger, WV, USA

problem #328

Jan 282019

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 19V001000 (air bags)/ the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Marlow Ford (1021 us-211, luray, va 22835, (540) 743-5128) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Stanley, VA, USA

problem #327

Dec 282018

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Ford Fusion. Consumer writes in regards to airbag safety recall.

- North Tonawanda, NY, USA

problem #326

Jan 022017

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of manufacturer recall number: 19S01 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Koons Ford of baltimore (6970 security blvd, woodlawn, md 21244, (410) 298-3800) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #325

May 152018

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 17V024000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Cronin Ford (10700 new haven rd, harrison, oh 45030, (513) 367-5300) was contacted and stated that the parts were not available. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #324

Feb 132018

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 18V046000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Kocourek Ford Lincoln (2727 N 20th ave, wausau, wi 54401, (715) 298-3673) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Consumer stated air bag was replaced.

- Rothschild, WI, USA

problem #323

Aug 012018

Fusion 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received a recall notification for manufacturer recall number: 19S01 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Frenchie's Ford, Inc. (216 E orvis St, massena, NY 13662, (315) 764-1771) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Consumer has stated problem has been solved.

- Potsdan, NY, USA

problem #322

Jan 252019

Fusion

  • 0 miles
Takata recall - after receiving written notices of the recall, I approached my local dealership about the repair (koons falls church Ford). I've called several times about making an appointment and having the part ordered to only be told "they don't have a record of if". I called today, after I was told the part should have arrived a week ago, and was told that they didn't have the part and had no way of knowing when it would come in. And that "given that the company's recently gone out of business" I should expect it to be quite a while. When I mentioned that I was concerned about the safety of my vehicle, I was told that the recall only impacted my passenger side and to not sit there.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #321

Jan 082019

Fusion

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced by midland Ford-Lincoln (500 joe mann blvd, midland, mi 48642, (989) 631-0040) per NHTSA campaign number: 18V046000 (air bags). Shortly after the dealer's repair, the air bag warning indicator remained illuminated; however, the dealer indicated that further diagnostic testing was required. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was not available.

- Midland, MI, USA

problem #320

Aug 012018

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Ford Fusion. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 18V046000 (air bags). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Johnson Ford-Lincoln (694 East St, pittsfield, MA 01201, (413) 443-6431) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The VIN was unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Canaan, NY, USA

problem #319

Jul 242018

Fusion

  • 112,000 miles
I had received a recall notice in late June 2017. I contacted Ford dealership for service, they told me they did not have parts or any loaner card.I called for service 2times telling them this was my only car and I was scared to drive it, ,!! well I was in a minor accident on July 24,2018 where I was severally injuried due to this faulty air bag, was hospitalized and still have medical injuries, ,and Ford not air bag company will help with hospital bills..please help

- Tull, AR, USA

problem #318

Jan 082019

Fusion

  • miles
Car was in motion on highway when it started accelerating on its on and eventually started losing power

- Silas, AL, USA

problem #317

Jan 052019

Fusion

  • miles
Takata recall local dealer says no parts available I received letter in May 2018, repeated calls result in "no" now its January 2019!

- Rochester, NY, USA

problem #316

Jan 012018

Fusion

  • 81,000 miles
I have been notified that my vehicle is subject to a recall because it has a passenger takata air bag. I have repeatedly checked with my dealer, sheehy Ford in gaithersburg, md about the date my vehicle will be recalled. They have no information and no advice for me except to consider trading the vehicle in. This is totally unacceptable to me.

- Gaithersburg, MD, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »