really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 4
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 0
Average Mileage:
135,710 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Ford Windstar:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #130

Mar 072018


  • 137,548 miles
Rear axel cracked causing wheels to tilt and hit inside wheel opening. Noticed while driving the car started to shimmey and shake. Made noise when turning. Van is now parked vehicle was involved in recall and dealer said the repair was not needed.

- Swansea, MA, USA

problem #129

Mar 012018


  • miles
Rh back side of subframe, is rotted/corroded so bad that the metal tore all around the subframe bushing. To where it is not being held up by the bushing on the right hand lower/back is not holding up the front subframe... now, the vehicle is making a very loud popping noise when driving and turning... and when turning fast enough (more turning left then right) can feel whole front end jerk like its about to go the opposite way the van...replaced the left front strut assembly and control arm to find out that did not solve the problem. Then after repairs and looking deeper.. noticed right front side, sagging almost 2-4 inches lower then left front... that's when we noticed the subframe completely broken/rusted off from the body bushing (on the front right lower/rear bushing)

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #128

Feb 062018


  • 178,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While attempting to pull out of a parking space, the contact heard a noise emerging from the rear of the vehicle. The contact checked the vehicle and discovered that the two rear wheels were caved into the frame, and the axle was fractured. The vehicle was towed to brondes Ford in toledo, Ohio where it was determined that the brackets that were installed per a previous unknown recall were installed correctly. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 178,000.

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #127

Jan 012018


  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact stated that the vehicle was repaired per an unknown recall pertaining to the axle in 2011. Seven years later, while driving 25 mph, the contact heard a loud abnormal bumping noise. Shortly after, the contact smelled burning rubber. The contact pulled over, exited the vehicle, and noticed that the rear driver's tire was turned inward. The vehicle was initially towed to an independent mechanic and then towed to premier Ford Lincoln (1072 E 49th St, brooklyn, 11234). The dealer stated that the axle had fractured; however, the vehicle was no longer covered under the recall. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 140,000.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #126

Feb 082018


  • 176,000 miles
Rear axle assembly snapped yet our VIN is not on recall list. This was not due to any accident or damage on our behalf this was simple daily in town five miles driving then snapped and not usable. We were driving and turned left and. Or even two blocks the vehicle made a snap sound almost like a popped tire. Both tired are inward and the vehicle ian now parked due to the snapping of this.

- Freeport, IL, USA

problem #125

Nov 102017


  • 175,000 miles
The rear axle started to snap in November 2017 when I was driving with my wife and kids in the van. We smelled burning rubber and pulled over. If we had drove any further the axle was going to snap with all of us in the vehicle. Ford is refusing to cover all the costs of the repair because the previous owner had the bracket/support put on. We did not purchase this vehicle till March 2017. We want the full cost of the repair covered and the Ford dealership's storage fees erased. Our bill is currently $1,809.65. We should not have to pay for the repair and the time it has been sitting there while we fight Ford to pay the bill. This was not an act of wear and tear but an act of a recall on the manufacturer.

- Bethlehem, PA, USA

problem #124

Apr 012017


  • miles
My complaint involves a recall that was said to have been completed and closed but upon further findings show that the work was never done. This involves the recall: NHTSA reference #11V030000. I filed a complaint with Ford Motor Company through certified mail on July 26, 2017 and was received and signed for on July 28, 2017. I have not heard back from the company since I filed the complaint. I bought this vehicle in Oct of 2016 and put it in storage for the winter. I didn't discovery the problem until I took it out of storage in April 2017. That is when I took it to a local service garage to find out what the problem was. Subsequently, I learned that there had been a recall for this problem back in 2011 and supposedly, it had been fixed by a Ford Motor Company dealership - jack madden Ford in norwood, Massachusetts. I took the car to a local Ford dealership here in Michigan where I reside. And upon inspection they determined that the problem had never been fixed. My bottom line in all of this is that I would like to have the vehicle fixed by Ford Motor Company in accordance with the recall. I have upload an estimate for the repair from my local service garage. I would appreciate a timely response with regard to this complaint thank-you, kirk M. raiche

- Ann Arbor, MI, USA

problem #123

Oct 212017


  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving 25 mph, the contact heard an abnormal high pitch sound and noticed a burning odor without warning. The contact pulled the vehicle over and observed that the rear axle had fractured. The vehicle was towed to the local dealer (sharpnack Ford, 1200 S conwell ave, willard, oh, 44890) where it was diagnosed that the rear axle failed and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer confirmed that the vehicle was included in a previous unknown NHTSA campaign number for the rear axle (June 20, 2011). On November 2, 2015, the rear axle was inspected again and repaired as needed due to brackets improperly being installed per NHTSA campaign number: 15V608000 (suspension). No additional assistance was offered and the contact was advised to call NHTSA. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 115,000.

- Willard, OH, USA

problem #122

Nov 152017


  • 150,000 miles
The sweigh bar links have been replaced twice. Breaks and rosters too! the tires are new with inlinement and rotation done! I have went through several sets of tires! the vehicle just doesn┐T drive correctly! the vehicle is also missing with no found reason and will randomly die! it feels very lose and unsafe on the road! the coil pack, plugs and plug wires replaced! all new fluids including antifreeze, break fluid, power steering fluid, oil and transmission fluid! the air filter and other filters! new fuel pump and it's still not right! break light comes on and off and emergency break isn┐T set nor is it low on fluid! new breaks and caliber and rotor! seriously have invested slot of money in this vehicle! also motor for windows being replaced now! gage hand will periodically go all the way to the right the after a few seconds go back to normal! this started in April of 2017 and is still continuing

- Bowling Green, KY, USA

problem #121

Oct 282017


  • 190,000 miles
Recall 10S13 was performed on the vehicle in 2012 fox of marquette, recall 15S27 inspection was done in Jan 2016 copper country Ford. The rear axle beam broke 10/28/17. It was late at night when I was driving. I started to smell burning plastic or rubber. I parked the van and the next morning someone looked at it and said my wheel was tilted inward. The axle was broken. I was given Ford's customer service number by my local Ford dealer, but there are no programs available to help me get it fixed. I owe $1000 on the van and it will cost hundreds of dollars to fix it. I am a single mother living paycheck to paycheck.

- Laurium, MI, USA

problem #120

Sep 152017


  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact previously received an unknown recall notification regarding the suspension. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer (diblasi Ford, 112-21 northeren blvd, corona, NY 11368) for the recall repair. Two weeks ago, while driving 25 mph, the rear axle cracked without warning. Additionally, the rear passenger tire was bent inwards. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The contact called a local dealer (koeppel Ford, 57-15 northeren blvd, woodside, NY 11377) and was advised to bring the vehicle in for service. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,000.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #119

Aug 302017


  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately 15 mph, there was a bumping noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road and noticed that both rear tires were turned inwards and the axle detached. The contact called noble Ford, (2200 N 20th ave, newton, ia 50208) and was informed to call NHTSA to have the vehicle towed. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V608000 (suspension). The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000. The VIN was not available.

- Newton, IA, USA

problem #118

Aug 142017


  • 135,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately 30 mph, there was a noise coming from underneath the vehicle. The contact drove into a fuel station and was informed that the front axle detached and needed to be taken to a dealer. The vehicle was later towed to the Ford Lincoln dealer (located at 147 w 11 St, huntington station, NY 11746) where it was diagnosed that the front axle detached and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the contact was waiting for authorization from the manufacturer. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 10V385000 (suspension). The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 135,000.

- Huntington, NY, USA

problem #117

Aug 012017


  • 167,222 miles
Rear axle cracked

- Highland Park, NJ, USA

problem #116

Jul 152017


  • 195,000 miles
On Saturday morning July 15th 2017, I was driving at 2:30 am. I had just left for my first job and crossed a set of train tracks. When I did, the rear axle snapped almost causing me to crash. After looking for the cost to replace the axle, I came upon a Ford recall. When I placed my VIN in the computer it came up that my 2002 Ford Windstar was in fact included in the recall. I talked to someone at Ford via live chat on Saturday after having the vehicle towed home and they stated that the recall was outstanding and I needed to call the Ford dealership. I paid again to have the vehicle towed to the dealership. Now Tuesday morning July 18th 2017, both the dealership and Ford is saying that they cant help me and I need to take care of replacing the completely rusted rear axle. The rust causing the axle to snap was the reason for the recall in the first place. I have owned this vehicle less than 6 months and now as a single mom am left without a vehicle. I will never buy another Ford again in my life and I will also discourage my friends and family from purchasing Ford as well.

- Lancaster, PA, USA

problem #115

Jun 292017


  • 215,000 miles
Ford Windstar rear axle recall was completed prior to purchasing and a second rear axle recall "inspection" was recently completed in May 2017 and was told the previous recall was completed correctly, that the reinforcemenr brackets were correctly installed. My wife was driving and noticed when turning right into a business driveway that a squeal noise was heard from the left rear wheel area. I inspected the undercarriage and noticed the wheel was tited in at the top and the tire was rubbing the inner wheel well. Well now less than 2 months later the rear axle is broken and my van is no longer safe to drive because the left rear wheel is tilted in at the top and the tire rubs the inner wheel well which will result in a rapid loss of air pressure and loss of vehicle control and possibly a serious accident. Now it appears that I will have to pay to replace this broken axle since Ford seems to have washed their hands of the problem due to the required recalls having been completed.

- Pennsauken, NJ, USA

problem #114

Mar 062017


  • 113,775 miles
Rear axle fractured while driving from school to home, there is uneven road surface between the school driveway or parking lot and going into the first street roads intersection, I heard a noise in the rear while crossing this uneven surface intersection, handling of the vehicle became noticeable different and a smell of burnt rubber and smoke started, after stopping the vehicle, the rear wheel was crooked and after further observation I observed the rear axle fractured close to the rear wheel (driving side) causing the rear wheel to rub against the inner wheel house and affecting control of the vehicle. Ford first installed brackets over the axle to reinforce it in 2010 (recall 10S13), then in September of 2016 sent me another letter (safety recall notice 15S27) to bring my vehicle to the dealer to verify if the brackets were installed correctly, after bringing my vehicle to the dealer I was told the brackets were installed correctly and if I wanted my axle replaced anyway I would have to cover the part cost. I called to the Ford phone number in the letter to request the change of my rear axle at no charge but they did reject my request and said that brackets were installed correctly in the past but my rear axle would be replaced if I would pay the $300 usd, they could not give further details about why I would have to replace the whole axle if they stated the reinforcement brackets were properly installed.

- Rochester Hills, MI, USA

problem #113

Sep 282015


  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. The contact was not notified, but was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V608000 (suspension). The dealer indicated that a manufacturer campaign was completed more than five years ago. The contact stated that the rear brackets fractured without warning while driving on the highway. The vehicle was towed to the dealer who stated that the statute had expired to receive the recall repair per NHTSA campaign number: 15V608000 (suspension). The vehicle remained at the dealer. The contact was waiting on the manufacturer to determine the repair solution. The failure mileage was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Drexel Hill, PA, USA

problem #112

Feb 272017


  • 200,000 miles
Suspension snapped while driving less than 10mph turning a corset on a residential street

- Freeport, IL, USA

problem #111

Dec 242016


  • 81,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Ford Windstar. While driving approximately 25 mph, the front frame fractured or was rusted, which caused the passenger side wheel to detach from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to an auto repair garage. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V385000 (suspension). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 81,000.

- Center City, MN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »