9.0

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,750
Average Mileage:
84,150 miles
Total Complaints:
52 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. replace the transmission (33 reports)
  2. replace transmission (8 reports)
  3. not sure (5 reports)
  4. fixed under warranty (4 reports)
  5. replace torque converter (1 reports)
  6. replaced transmission under warranty (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 GMC Acadia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your GMC dealer.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Aug 222013

Acadia SLT 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 101,000 miles

First of all the car handles well and is comfortable to drive, however mechanical nightmare. My transmission suddenly went out. I took the car to Aamco for a check, estimated repair to be somewhere between 2800-4000 dollars with 25000 warranty. So I called dealer and priced new transmission and was quoted $2700 for transmission $3800 total for installed with 100,000 mile warranty. So I went with them.

The next day dealer calls says transmission was bad also needed strut, motor mount, cam sensor etc. totaling $7200. I refused to pay then they said if I paid for trans.fix they would repair rest, so kind of them. Altogether cost ended up to be $4200. There are three Acadias in our family all three had transmissions failed, one failed twice computer telling transmission when to shift supposed culprit. I have a list of other repairs and would not recommend this vehicle .

- James F., Carriere, MS, US

problem #31

Nov 012014

Acadia

  • Automatic transmission
  • 72,500 miles

The transmission failure is a well known problem with the 07 and 08 Acadias. Supposedly corrected in the 09 and newer models. I did all of my services at the GMC dealership and bought new from them. I WILL NEVER BUY ANOTHER GM VEHICLE AND NEVER USE THEM FOR SERVICE AGAIN (and hopefully neither will my children, or my children's children... but I digress)

- T W., Canton, GA, US

problem #30

Apr 112013

Acadia SLE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 108,000 miles

If anyone is thinking about buying a GMC vehicle I suggest you don't. I have had so many problems out of my Acadia and I know a lot of others have too. At 108000 miles my transmission went out. I have to pay $2800 to get it replaced. but I have had many more problems then the transmission. I've had motor problems power steering problems, you name it and it all started at about 54000 miles then it was one thing after another.

- trogers, Pineland, TX, US

problem #29

Jan 012014

Acadia SLT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles

Just another GMC Acadia with known transmission problem.

Thank god I opted for extended warranty. Otherwise, $3,000.00.

Last GMC vehicle for me !

- Bob C., Alpharetta, GA, US

problem #28

Jun 012009

Acadia

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

This year of car is a lemon and GM knew about it, they never contacted me about a recall and I am sure that plenty of people had the same problem. You can't drive a car with a bad transmission.

- carlami, Romulus-+, MI, US

problem #27

Nov 112014

Acadia SLT

  • Automatic transmission
  • 49,154 miles

I have a 2008 GMC Acadia, bought new and now only have 49,154 miles on it and the tranmission has gone out. The dealership wants $4200 to take it out and put a refurb in, no opening it up or looking at it. GM says they won't recognize that there is a problem with their Acadias and the transmissions and refuse to recall costing consumers thousands! GM is willing to put $1200 towards the fix but they require that it is opened up and looked at before fixing. Once that happens they will decide whether it is repaired or a refurb is put in. But this takes my rights away, it they choose it gets fixed, then it comes with a 12,000 mile/1 year warranty. If it is replaced then it comes with a 100,000 mile/3 year warranty. I don't get to make this decision though if I accept their terms. What kind of help is this? Everywhere I have read, it will only be a matter of time before the transmission goes out again:(

Also to note, we have had to replace both headlights for wiring issues, replace the water pump, and have all the seals replaced in the moon roof and sun roof!

- Shauna J., Bellevue, WA, US

problem #26

May 112014

Acadia SLE-1 V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 120,000 miles

My husband and the kids were traveling to the coast when the vehicle stopped working without warning. Unable to shift into gear, still possible shift into reverse. Had to tow the Acadia a significant number of miles, thankfully friends helped by renting a trailer and towed with their truck.

It had been a reliable family car until it passed its 100k mile manufacturer warranty! Now we can't afford to get the Acadia fixed for a while and not even sure if that's the only problem with the car!! Very disappointed with GMC, and now after reading so many bad reviews on multiple forums I will be giving our dealership a call to ask for them to help with this cost.

- Mary F., Vancouver, WA, US

problem #25

Aug 292014

Acadia LX V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 88,000 miles

GMC knows there is a problem with the Transmission on the Acadia, but said there is nothing they can do. Sorry

- Greg L., Wheaton, IL, US

problem #24

Oct 072014

Acadia SLE 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 113,000 miles

Well, I want to start by saying I do like my car. I DO NOT like how GMC is not acknowledging that there is a KNOWN issue with the early models of the Acadia. I really should have done my homework before purchasing my 2008 Acadia. It was only 5 years old, with 103,000 miles when we bought it in August 2013. It fits our family perfectly.

We had never had an issue until October 7, 2014. I went to help a family member who had ran out of gas, and when I went to get on to the highway, it started slipping between 2nd and 3rd gear. I noticed something was wrong immediately. I took it to a shop that would look at it for free. Once he said what kind of car it was, he knew what the problem was. We drove it together, it was not catching 3rd gear at all. Low and behold, reverse was messing up also. He told me the wave plate was the issue. I ended up taking it to AAMCO for the repair. Keep in mind there is no warranty on this thing.

The next day, I received a call stating that the wave plate was in fact the issue and we were looking at around $2700 for repair. I had no choice, I had to do it. After another week in the shop, I went to pick it up. I was then told that there was some drum that was bad, adding another $300 to the bill. I also did not know the dealer had to be involved to re-flash the computer. This was an additional $125. The final bill came to just over $3400! I feel like we have been bent over by GMC.

- tiggercrazy80, Pueblo, CO, US

problem #23

Jan 312013

Acadia SLE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,537 miles

PURCHASED in 1/11/13 went to the dealer on 1/31/13 having engine issues we were told we needed a new transmission and it was under warranty because we just bought it. They even gave us a car to use no charge they had the car for a week to fix it. On March 7, 2013 returned dealer with same problems. they "obtain calibration to correct issue" still under warranty and said the problem was fixed. June 23, 2014 started running funny and check engine light was on. They fixed it something about camshaft position system, cost $200. Then September 3, 2014 same problem as in January took back to dealer and was told that we need a "New Transmission" I was floored we just got one in January. The "new service manager" informed me that we DID NOT GET A NEW TRANSMISSION IN JANUARY!!!! That they put in a plate or something and that we need a new transmission!!! Cost $4808.84!!!!!!!! We were lied to obviously! We only want them to put in the transmission we were told we were getting in January!! they are not willing to do that.

- scarolcs, Wye Mills, MD, US

problem #22

Sep 012014

Acadia

  • Automatic transmission
  • 110,000 miles

I bought a 2008 GMC Acadia in 2012. I drove it for 1/2 year, and one day it would not shift gears until I reved engine to 3200 rpm, and wound not shift into high gear. I took it to Wilma’s. They replaced clutch plates under Warranty. This Spring I drove it to Phoenix. Same Exact Symptoms. I was informed my warranty was expired by 100 miles, and to fix it would cost $1200, for electronic control module. Of course I paid it. Couple weeks ago while in Little Rock, Arkansas, Exact Same symptoms. Just got a call from Wilma's, over $3000 to replace Torque Converter, NOT under Warranty. I was given the option to replace Transmission for another $700. I am going with the new Transmission,for. I do NOT recomend a GMC for anyone.

- Lee Y., Blair, OK, US

problem #21

Nov 012012

Acadia

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

I bought a 2008 GMC Acadia in 2012. I drove it for 1/2 year, and one day it would not shift gears until I reved engine to 3200 rpm, and would not shift into high gear. I took it to Wilma’s, in Altus, Oklahoma. . They replaced clutch plates under Warranty.

- Lee Y., Blair, OK, US

problem #20

Aug 012014

Acadia SLT 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles

Our transmission started slipping one morning so we dropped it off at Smail GMC in Greensburg, PA. They took it for a test drive and told us it would need a new one for 5k. We took the vehicle back and started making phone calls.

After a 2 week exhausting ordeal our transmission is fixed. The dealer ended up rebuilding a transmission that they claimed "they only replaced" for about $180/hr labor. We have a 2008 acadia with 46k miles on it when the transmission went. First they wanted to replace it for 5k. After fighting with GMC they offered us assistance of $1600 and we paid $1060 for a rebuild. The parts were negligible so if you do the math we paid about $180/hr labor for one technician to rebuild it. The dealer was #1 Cochran in Monroeville, PA. The invoice they gave us to take home had N/C on the parts, no detail, and just a total price. Can't help feel they were hiding something but I'm not stupid. They made a boatload of money on this defective product that they should have extended the warranty on.

After plenty of research I can say with confidence that if you have an 07 or 08 acadia..it has a defective transmission and you should be prepared for failure. I've had technicians tell me this and all you need to do is googlesearch "acadia transmission" to see what I'm talking about.

Or dealer was overwhelmed with recalls and was scheduling appts two weeks out. They really didn't care about our problem nor did GM when I called them.

This is hands down the worst customer service experience I've ever had. Not only won't they cover a clearly defective product but their customer service skills stink. They never contacted us after or during the repair process to follow up or offer solutions. Only the dealer contacted us. GM should do the right thing and extend the warranty on this transmission.

Other common problems on this vehicle are the water pump and more importantly the design. I had a technician tell me the problem with this car is that it is poorly designed. The engine must be lifted to perform basic repairs which translates into big labor costs.

I will never buy another GM product as long as I live. The acadia is going. I just don't have any confidence in it anymore. I need a vehicle that is reasonably reliable and believe me the acadia isn't it.

If you own one...good luck.

- fordfan, Greensburg, PA, US

problem #19

May 142014

Acadia SLE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 78,000 miles

My transmission died at a traffic light. Had to have it towed. Was not under any kind of warranty. Took two weeks to fix. Mechanic said there is nothing I could of done to prevent this. It was an engineering issue that was a problem when the car was built. GMC has modified the parts of the transmission yet there has not been a recall.

- Nicole N., Boylsyon, MA, US

problem #18

Aug 212014

Acadia SLT 3.6L Vvt

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,151 miles

Okay, everyone out there that owns a Saturn Outlook, Buick Enclave or GMC Acadia (possibly the Chev Traverse), get ready, your transmission is going to pack it in at some point. These 3 vehicles all have the same tranny. My friend at the Transmission shop had a Saturn Outlook with only 107,000 kliks on it and is seeing more and more of them fail now that the mileage is getting high on them.

I was operating the vehicle in the city and when I accelerated to move forward, there was no power. I looked down on the dash and the Service Engine light was on. I went to GM to get it diagnosed and the code was P0716. The system senses an issue with the transmission and automatically puts it into low power mode. If you turn off your vehicle it re-sets and you are good to go until the failure occurs and again, then again, and again.

The problem appears to be what is called a wave plate. Well, apparently the plate can be replaced but with all the other parts that are needed for the fix, a remanufactured transmission is cheaper. So, here I am shelling out $5000 for the re-man tranny ($2750 for the tranny and 12-hours of labour). The GM 5-year, 160,000 klik warranty is over for me although I am good on the mileage, over on the years. Total BS!

All the best to you out there that have GM warranty. Better get in to see them NOW before its too late!

- gcmackay, Winnipeg, Manitoba, canada

problem #17

Jul 312014

Acadia LS

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,195 miles

Returning from OK to IN summer home. No warning, engine raced & would not go into second Near I-465 in Indianapolis. Coasted to safe place in first gear. Finally check engine warning appeared - wow what a help! Found water pump failure in addition to shot transmission.(Wafer? board failure like others have noted)

Water pump covered by extended warranty (apparently many prior problems), but not rebuilt transmission . Dealer mechanic said no relation of water pump & transmission going out at same time nor prior fiasco with leaking sunroof and consequential computer failure/replacement. Asked dealer of odds on double failure at same time. His only explanation was hmmmmmmm! About the same reply I've gotten from GMC on other problems with this poorly engineered/manufactured piece of crap. Looks good, but unquestionably the worst American car I've owned in 50+ years.

Dealers are OK (they want sell you a vehicle), BUT GMC Customer Service is downright arrogant and condescending

- John R., Tulsa, OK, US

problem #16

May 112014

Acadia SLE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 97,000 miles

OK, at 97,000 miles or 6 yrs after date of purchase the good old 35R wave plate went out on our 2008 GMC Acadia on I-90 near Chicago's O'Hare Airport during Sunday traffic. The vehicle suddenly lost forward momentum, rpms shot up, and we coasted to a stop, luckily, on an oasis exit ramp. $361 later we had it delivered by tow to our local dealership in Indiana.

As with a legion of others we were told that there was no warranty coverage left and also that GMC would not take any responsibility in helping to defray the cost of repairs even though it was a known issue in 2007, 2008, 2009, 2010, and 2011 year models! . I very loudly proclaimed my disgust in the local dealership as they continue to sell these vehicles to unwitting trusting patrons knowing that it is a matter of when and not if these transmissions will fail.

We had to pay $3500 to have this turd repaired so that we could drive it to the KIA dealer for trade in. Oh, but GMC was nice enough to "give" us a 3 yr./100kmile warranty on the remanufactured factory tranny. The next owner's going to need it as they reportedly never fixed the issue with the 35R wave plate.

We are going to pursue GM's consumer department for some sort of recompense, but that will surely be a long arduous journey!

GM, may God forgive you because we never will!

- steveawesome, Crown Point, IN, US

problem #15

Sep 232013

Acadia SLT-2 3.6L Vvt V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 68,079 miles

The transmission went out as we had visitors from Ireland. We then had to rent a car for the rest of the week for $700.00. We were 5 months over the 5 yr warranty mark.

- Sharon M D., Napa, CA, US

problem #14

Feb 052014

Acadia

  • Automatic transmission
  • 98,000 miles

Driving down the interstate with my 2 kids and the car revs up and starts to slowly drop speed. Finally make it to a safe area to pull over where I had to call my husband to come and take it from me and try and get it to the dealership. What a crock! I have put so much money into this piece of crap that I wish it would just blow up and get it over with. No warranties, no deal, no help with anything!

- Kristy R., Minonk, Illinoi, US

problem #13

May 122014

Acadia LX 3.2lv V8

  • Automatic transmission
  • 48,574 miles

I bought my GMC 2008 Acadia Feb 6, 2014 with only 42000 miles. After 3 months of having it. I have had to change the tires, front end alignment and now replace the transmission. I couldn't buy the extended warranty because I could not afford it.

There are so many complaints about people having to replace their transmissions in their Acadia's. Why has GMC not had a recall for the transmissions on these vehicles. Thanks to replacing the transmission we had to cancel our vacation that was planned in June. THANKS A LOT GMC. Tell that to my children. I will never ever buy GMC vehicles again. If I can sell this piece of sh*t I will.

- Dorena R., Larose, LA, US

Read the next 12 complaints »