8.4

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$150
Average Mileage:
5,550 miles
Total Complaints:
16 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. not sure (7 reports)
  2. not fixed (6 reports)
  3. transmission and engine software update (2 reports)
  4. software update (1 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2015 GMC Canyon:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your GMC dealer.

problem #16

Jul 152015

Canyon SLE 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15 miles

Lazy trans... does not shift consistent with vehicle speed and engine torque. Just wants to be in the highest gear possible and won't let go. Almost dangerous... step down on gas to go... nothing... nothing... over shift... lots of rpms and noise but no go. Engine lugs and shakes...

Felt like a "slug" not the 305 bhp of engine... no fun to drive.

Update from Mar 8, 2019: February 2019... after several complaints to two GMC dealers over several years... they "could not duplicate problem"... found a great Chevrolet Service Manager thru a friend. He took the time to listen and understand... did research... found and performed a software update. All good now... drives and shifts like it always should have... smooth, responsive, close to perfect. Super happy... if you have this problem get to your GMC/Chevy dealer with this:

"The calibration number is 92510322. It is installed during the “sequential programming” of the engine control module and the transmission control module. After that, I reset the transmission adaptive values."

This gut now gets all my service and from my two other buddies with Canyons... he literally saved me from checking out the new FORD Ranger or going back to Tacoma. GM needs more guys like this. Good Luck!!!

- R C B., Allentown, US

problem #15

Nov 012016

Canyon SLE 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,500 miles

I could say so much about my opinion on GM service but that still will not address this issue. There is a gear there. The truck cannot hit it in normal driving conditions. The driver can use several tools to work around it ( let off gas pedal then go, use tow/haul, shift in manual.)

People are making excuses for GM by saying it's emission stuff, fuel mileage standards etc. HOW can this get better emissions, or fuel mileage when the answer is to floor it and 5000 rpm later it will shift. I know I can get this tuned and fix it, but it is a GM problem. GM FIX IT, show loyal customers you really do care.

- Darren R., Mitchell, US

problem #14

Dec 012014

Canyon Extended Cab 3.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles

Transmission and engine are not synchronized through shifting and acceleration. Engine is overloaded and shudders at low speeds when transmission does not downshift. Acceleration is very poor unless aggressive accelerator is used. Often, engine revs to 4500 to 5000 RPM but there is no acceleration until transmission catches up - dangerous situations occur. Dealer has done GMC "upgrades" without helping. Lead GMC tech has driven the truck and agrees it is not operating correctly. Computer does not show "fault" codes so this appears to be the computer that is the problem. Intermittent episodes of engine almost stalling, horrible acceleration (worse than normal) to the point of maybe having to flatbed the vehicle to dealer. Turning off the truck seems to "fix" that - but no fault codes appear. Asked GMC for qualified engineer to drive the vehicle and was informed the area manager states "that the vehicle is operating as designed" - which if that is the case, they need to go out of business.

- John G., Shohola, PA, US

problem #13

Oct 012015

Canyon SLT 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles

I purchased a new 2015 GMC Canyon and had the same issues with the automatic transmission being calibrated poorly. As others have mentioned, when in drive, the transmission stayed in 6th gear when slowing down from highway speed all the way until about 30 mph so when you would accelerate at that point, the engine lugged and you had to push the gas pedal down quite a bit until finally the transmission would downshift to 3rd, skipping 5th and 4th and causing a super abrupt shift. Also, when accelerating from a stop, you had to increase the pressure on the pedal to keep the truck from slowing and lugging at about 30 mph.

I traded this truck in when it had 10,000 miles on it because I just couldn't take it anymore. I bring this up because I traded it in on a 2016 Tacoma and it does almost the same thing! If you don't like your Canyon/Colorado for this issue, just know that you most likely would have had the same issue with the 2016 Tacoma. It's not quite as bad the Canyon was but dang close. My opinion is that GM and Toyota are trying hard to get better fuel economy out of these trucks and getting them into higher gears as quick as possible causes these driveability issues. These mid size trucks weigh between 4500-5000 lbs and their low RPM horsepower is really low at that 1200-1800 RPM range where these trucks drive at. I ended up trading in the Tacoma on a Silverado 1500 with the 5.3L V8 and won't ever go back to mid size trucks until they go to V8's or turbo V6's. That's just me.

- rainflurry, Knife River, MN, US

problem #12

Jun 022015

Canyon SLT Extended Cab V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

Issue happens every time I go down a steep hill. I have taken it back to the dealer four times and have been told this is a consistent problem with GMC truck transmissions. To stop the drag on the transmission, I have to accelerate and try to get the transmission to "let go." Sometimes this solves the issue, sometimes it does not. I have a 36,000 mile warranty. Currently the truck has 16,000 miles. Before the warranty expires I will be trading the truck in for anything but another GMC truck.

- shifty sue, Butler, PA, US

problem #11

Sep 122016

Canyon

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,400 miles

Going up a small hill, the car would not shift out of first gear and jerking. I looked at GMC forum and its doing the same as other people GMC Canyon. In the shop now.

- Derrick C., Baltimore, MD, US

problem #10

Aug 012015

Canyon

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

Purchased this truck new in 2015 noticed problem soon afterwards, not shifting properly, rough shifts. Truck will not downshift, feels like truck is misfiring, slow throttle response. Been to dealer with this problem and of course they can't find anything, they say that's just normal and that there is a learning process that the transmission goes through.

Update from Sep 30, 2016: I came across Trifecta tune and I may go that route to "fix". It runs $298

http://www.trifectaperformance.com/forums/store/product/2169-2015-gmc-canyon-36l-advantage/#reviews

- Mike P., Tigard, OR, US

problem #9

Jun 252015

Canyon SLE 3.2L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 17,000 miles

MY TRUCK IS NOT SHIFTING CORRECTLY IN A LOW GEAR . ID RATHER MY TRUCK GET 15 MILES TO THE GALLON THEN DEAL WITH THIS PROBLEM . GMC LETS GET THIS FIXED

- John C., Andover, US

problem #8

Nov 252015

Canyon SLT 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,500 miles

Purchased this truck new in Nov 2015 noticed problem soon afterwards, not shifting properly, rough shifts. Truck will not downshift, feels like truck is misfiring, slow throttle response. Been to dealer 3 times with this problem and of course they can't find anything, they say that's just normal and that there is a learning process that the transmission goes through. I now have 11500 miles on the truck and if anything its gotten worse. This has got to be the worst transmission I have ever driven. Sorry I ever bought this truck.

- blackhawks, darien, IL, US

problem #7

Apr 162016

Canyon SLE 3.6L - V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,000 miles

This is an obvious issue with the 2015 GMC Canyon as I am reading from several sites and people that they too experience the issue. My truck is well into 14,000 miles so the transmission is NOT in learning mode or has not made ANY progress in learning. I am getting annoyed to the point of having to manually shift the truck so as to be sure my truck is responsive in traffic and doesn't jerk to the point of losing control. I have posted a complaint with the NHTSA and suggest everyone experiencing this problem do the same. I also believe we need to pressure GMC into recognizing the issue or more importantly admitting there is an issue. Current response is "this is normal as it is learning". I also noticed that GM has issued PIP4112Q. I am looking for a place to read what it is they said but as i understand it, the response is: this is normal.

Update from Sep 28, 2016: To those who posted that there is a fix. Please update me as to what that fix is so I can present it to my dealer. At this point, my dealer is stating there isn't an issue and as a result, there isn't a fix. Please share so we can be armed to present the findings to our dealers. This issue is beyond annoying now.

- Theo S., Prescott, AZ, US

problem #6

Aug 102015

Canyon All-terrain 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,107 miles

I bought the truck in Aug 2015, I have all the same problem as everyone on here complaining. I was also told the transmission has a learning process. Right!!!! Now at 22000Km I'm sure the transmission should know what its suppose to do, but all the same problems exist. I'm very disappointed in GM for not acting quickly on this issue. A person doesn't spend $43000 for brand new vehicle to run like sh*t!!!! Its been in the shop and I'm am still told they cant do anything until the engine check light comes on or GM comes out with a bulletin fix. Problem: The transmission shifts to fast at lower speeds causing the engine to choke. As the accelerator is pushed it wont change gears until you push harder then it down shifts to far and now I'm riding the guys ass in front of me cause of high rpm and speed, it also hesitates and chokes before anything happens. Dangerous!!!! Also the transmission wont shift down with a load on, It like going up a hill. Again I really have to push on the gas pedal. I also at lower speeds get a grinding sound from under the truck when I give it gas. WTF!!!! Over all, the truck that I was looking forward to owning, sucks!!! Its not exciting nor fun to drive. Its a pain in the ass Come on GM!!!!!!

- Mike B., Okotoks, AB, Canada

problem #5

Aug 122015

Canyon All Terrain 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles

Noticed shifting problem on day one test drive entering the interstate. The transmission chugs or misfires at slower speeds and on occasion won't shift through the gears when leaving the traffic stop, You have to put your foot in it to make it do anything. Also when you stomp it, it won't disengage transmission fast enough and creates a hard stopping problem that is very dangerous.

Update from Jul 21, 2017: Still will not shift properly, dealer says no lights, test drove for 10 miles, and cannot produce errors.

- Tommy R., ColoradoSprings, CO, US

problem #4

Oct 312014

Canyon SLE V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,800 miles

Noticed shifting problem on day one test drive entering the interstate. The transmission chugs or misfires at slower speeds and on occasion won't shift through the gears when leaving the traffic stop, You have to put your foot in it to make it do anything. Also when you stomp it it won't disengage transmission fast enough and creates a hard stopping problem that is very dangerous. Stuck transmission sensors or brain box fuel saving EPA requirement who knows. GMC dealership said it would take time but that's probably what their told to say by GMC. This is a defective problem that may kill someone for the sake of fuel economy. Maybe is a bad design for a transmission or software related problem. Service department said they have a software upgrade and it's in the shop this morning. Will let you know.

Update from Aug 6, 2015: OK all you Canyon and Colorado folks.The Fix Is In. left the dealership with the reprogramming update and it's about a 75% + improvement. Shifts low speeds pretty good and no longer feels like it has a clogged air filter. Entering the freeway and you don't have to kick it down to maintain a safe entry speed. Full throttle it accelerates as it should still a a bit of latency with quick off the gas. Low speed uphill it shifts better and closer to the right gear.

- captmike, Shawnee, KS, US

problem #3

May 012015

Canyon SLE 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 500 miles

The transmission does not want to down shift at slow speeds. 25 mph to 40ish seems to work fine. Above 40 mph, goes into a what am I suppose to do.. dah! mode!

Update from Jan 4, 2016: Still doing same ,slow to down shift 25 mph to 40 mph. I now have 9500 miles & it seems worst than earlier complaint .when it does downshift it goes down to many gears then lunges ahead decides it went to fa up shifts then says oops and down shifts again. I'm told it has a learning sequence eventually it will get it right .thats probably when I hit an ice patch and it goes sideways and it totals itself.

Update from Apr 24, 2016: I had a GM field rep and a enginnerring tech test my 2015 canyons transmission for delayed shift,then we took out a brand new 2016 it also does same thing. They said because both did it it was "normal" and I said but it's not right! Oh well I guess after almost 70 years of building automatic transmission they would know how to make a transmission ! Guess we're all stuck with a real badly enginnerred transmission that GM either can't fix or doesn't want to,and they didn't even fix it for the 2016 models. Anybody who asked me how's my Canyon i tell them transmission piece of sh*t

- Clayton V., Catskill, NY, US

problem #2

Jun 222015

Canyon SLE 3.6L V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,200 miles

hesitant to downshift or downshifts too far

The shift software for the automatic transmission is terrible and Colorado owners are having similar issues as well if you look at the complaints for that truck. When you need the truck to downshift it doesn't. It is especially evident in the 20 to 30 mph range. Say you slow for traffic and then want to accelerate, when you press on the gas the truck is in too high of a gear to get moving. It will either do nothing or start chugging because it is in too high of a gear. Imagine being in 3rd gear with a stick shift when you should be in 1st gear. I'm just waiting to get rear-ended some day because this thing won't move.

Granted I haven't taken it to a GM dealer yet but will be doing so next week. Based on what the Colorado owners have said I am not expecting the problem to be corrected. At least I will be officially on record with GM. This is a really nice truck with a really crappy transmission! In the mean time I will wait patiently for the new Toyota Tacoma to come out.........

Update from Jul 6, 2015: Had the truck in to the dealer today 7/6/15 and they said there were software updates. Truck was updated and runs and drives great now!! I'm more than happy!

- Michael Y., Charlotte, NC, US

problem #1

Feb 012015

Canyon SLT 3.6L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

transmission doesnt downshift or shift right

I have had it in the shop 2 times and they confirmed the problem. Was told that GM says there is not a fix for the truck. Would not buy another one.

- gmccanyon, fort worth, US