7.5

pretty bad
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
6,807 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 GMC Terrain:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #13

Apr 212019

Terrain

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2018 GMC Terrain. On several occasions, while attempting to accelerate from a stop sign, the vehicle stalled. The vehicle would restart after several minutes and the check engine warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to tasca Buick (510 E nasa blvd, melbourne, fl 32901, (321) 247-7124) where it was diagnosed that the transmission needed to be replaced; however, the part was on backorder. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 10,000.

- Melbourne, FL, USA

problem #12

Jul 032019

Terrain

  • 18,000 miles
Was leaving a parking spot. Vehicle reversed fine, put it in drive and it began to jerk and did not accelerate properly. Made it to the next aisle to park it and get out of way. Once parked, shut off vehicle. Started it. Reversed it and it would only rev up, did not reverse. Put it in drive and it jerked forward, hard and kept jerking as I pulled forward. Parked it again and turned it off. Called dealership, who called a tow service to tow it to them. Attempted to show tow guy the issue at his request, upon his arrival, put it in reverse and it revved up briefly then jerked into reverse. Had to move vehicle to clear area to get it on the tow truck so I put it in drive and it began to jerk constantly and barely accelerating as I drove and felt and sounded like it was going to shut off (but didn't) before I made it to where I could park again. Luckily I was in a parking lot and not on the road. I've had this vehicle exactly a month. Very scary.

- Bells, TN, USA

problem #11

Apr 162019

Terrain

  • 10,300 miles
Transmission fails to down shift after accelerating in traffic. RPM legal 2200 RPM at 40 mph for over a mile before dropping to correct 1200 RPM for that speed.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #10

Mar 062019

Terrain

  • 25,000 miles
While the vehicle is in drive it loses propulsion without notice. The vehicle stays in drive. The vehicles RPM increase as your foot is on the accelerator but the vehicle doesn't continue to move. The only way to regain propulsion is to completely shut the vehicle off and then start up again.

- Elizabeth, PA, USA

problem #9

Mar 252019

Terrain

  • 4,327 miles
The car automatic braking system locked up as driving on highway. Could not get car to move.

- Elkton, MD, USA

problem #8

Nov 082018

Terrain

  • 2,500 miles
My vehicle is stalling and stuttering while trying to accelerate. It also does the same when decelerating. The truck will jerk and stutter. Also making noise like a vacuum cleaner while this is going on. I just purchased this vehicle in September 2018 and it has been going on since November 2018

- Paterson, NJ, USA

problem #7

Sep 292018

Terrain

  • 6,000 miles
In 25 mph residential areas transmission doesnt feel like it is shifting right, you can feel the change and hear it while driving, then get transmission hot idle engine alert. Took to dealer no codes shown, happens consistently

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #6

Nov 222018

Terrain

  • 752 miles
Driving on a downslope heading North on 65 going into Tennessee from Alabama I experienced a loss of power system lights went off along with gauges going off and on. At which time stabiatrak and transmission lights came on saying to pull over immediately.we did so called GM onstar where they told us we would experience a loss in power but could travel onward. We chose to get towed, however due to the holiday we had difficulties getting a tow and were forced to drive home 90 miles away. The problem did not present itself again on the drive home. We took it to a GMC dealer in vestavia hills they pulled off the codes but had no reason for the issue nor were they able to get service bulletins from GM on the issue. I documented the findings went home and a later on 11/23/18 the problem occurred at about 130 miles from the first incident. This time it happened going up a hill and giving the car gas did nothing to get me up the very small grade. I had to put it in reverse and get a running start at the hill in order to make it home. I called GM again and requested a tow to a second dealer in trussville, al they were unable to even see it until Monday 11/26/18. I am very fearful that if we have to drive it again that I may not be as lucky.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #5

Oct 192018

Terrain

  • 3,000 miles
The contact owned a 2018 GMC Terrain. While driving approximately 40 mph, the vehicle jerked backwards and "transmission hot auto engine" illuminated. The vehicle was taken to rainbow northshore Buick GMC (888-525-9150, located at 2925 N hwy 190, covington, la 70433) to be diagnosed, but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified and stated that there was no failure. The failure recurred and the vehicle was taken back to the same dealer. The dealer admitted that they knew about the failure, but there was no remedy. The contact traded in the vehicle for a different year, make, and model. The contact called the better business bureau and was advised to call NHTSA. The failure mileage was approximately 3,000.

- Gretna, LA, USA

problem #4

Jun 012018

Terrain

  • 2,500 miles
First issue with the vehicle was a separation of the dash near and around the passenger side airbag. Unknown at this time if the airbag has been compromised. I won't know until the vehicle would be involved in an accident. The second issue involves the vehicle while in park. I am able to push the vehicle and it will actually move forward. There is also a very hard shift while the vehicle is in motion. This occurs usually between 2K and 3 K rpms. The vehicle will actually jerk as it is trying to shift.

- Papillion, NE, USA

problem #3

May 112018

Terrain

  • 2,040 miles
Vehicle was in service for 9 days for- (as identified on the information system) transmission, stabilitrak, parking assist and a message "the vehicle was unsafe to drive". on Friday, May 12, 2018 I picked up vehicle from jim causley after repair and replacement as indicated on the service report. I drove no more that 15 miles and the vehicle jerked, stalled, made loud noises and smelled of something burning. The vehicle went from 35mph to 5mph. The vehicle would not accelerate beyond 10-15mph. I had to have the vehicle towed to my residence. On Tuesday, May 15, 2018 I had it towed to jim causley. This is a continuation of the first complaint #11091743.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #2

May 112018

Terrain

  • 2,040 miles
Addition to report 11091743. The vehicle was serviced for warning of transmission, stabilitrak, parking assist and notification that vehicle was unsafe to drive (May 2, 2018). Vehicle picked up (May 11, 2018) after series of repairs. I drove approximately 15 miles and the vehicle began jerking and stalling. At the final jerk the vehicle went from 35 mph to 5mph and would not accellerate. There were several loud noises and a burning smell. The vehicle had to be towed to my residence. When I picked up the vehicle from jim causley I asked if it was safe to drive. I received no response. I asked about the repairs and I was told there were some loose wires and minor adjustments. Once again my life was put in jeopardy because of a vehicle failing to operate while in heavy traffic.

- Detroit, MI, USA

problem #1

May 022018

Terrain

  • 2,028 miles
Stopped at a light to make a left turn. The vehicle jerked, then shifted from drive to park. The info system gave me the following messages: Transmission, stabilitrak and parking assist. I turned the vehicle off and tried to restart it. I got a message that said "this vehicle is unsafe to drive.:" at this time non of the gear options were available. A roseville, Michigan police officer had to position herself behind me becsuse cars were going around me on both sides (my four way blinkers were on).the tow truck driver was unable to put the vehicle in neutral, thus my vehicle had to be dragged onto the truck. At the dealer they were unable to change gears and once again my vehicle was dragged off the tow truck prior to this incident. I reported to the dealer the rocky, bouncy, pulling ride which made the vehicle hard to control. I also reported the jerking while driving and in the auto stop. Despite all of my verbalizations of the concerns, they, wrote the work orders in dealer language and only addressed what they wanted.

- Detroit, MI, USA