10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
47 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
43 / 2
Average Mileage:
76,065 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #150

Dec 162014

Accord

  • 25,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving 45 mph, the contact crashed into the rear driver side of another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The contact sustained a left knee injury, which did not require medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was taken to a local dealer (autonation Honda at bel air mall, 1175 E 1-65 service road, mobile, al 36606), but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 25,000.

- Vancleave, MS, USA

problem #149

Oct 012017

Accord

  • miles
It shows a three letter SRS I don't remember I went to mymerchanichesaid something is wrong with the airbag it is showing about a month or more red light can you call me at [xxx] for a free recall I received a letter but I don't remember the address where I want for free couple of years ago please let me know the address for a free recall for them to fix my airbag. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glandale, NY, USA

problem #148

Aug 202017

Accord

  • 106,500 miles
I had an accident on 08/20/2017 at front side of my car my passenger side air bag open but driver side air bag didn't open. At traffic light I was making a left turn and Ford truck came and hit my car. I had 360 degree spin on my car. Driver side air bag inflator was replace in January 2015 by Honda. My insurance company made my car total loss.

- Plymouth, MI, USA

problem #147

Nov 042016

Accord

  • 200,000 miles
Takata recall- my grandmother was injured when the passenger side air bag deployed in a low impact car accident. The car was pulling out of quicktrip and was hit by someone speeding down the turn lane in rush hour traffic as a result in the airbag exploded and was so forceful it broke her sternum, 2 ribs and collapsed her lung.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #146

Jul 212017

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. Our Honda Accord is just over 15 years old and apparently is not subject to the general air bag recall as it is not listed on the recall list. Why is it not covered? the information we have received says that high temperatures (we live in tucson, AZ) and age are indicators of possible failure.

- Oro Valley, AZ, USA

problem #145

Mar 252012

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall SRS light is

- Benton, AR, USA

problem #144

May 272015

Accord

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The contact was unable to determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Durham, NC, USA

problem #143

Mar 242017

Accord

  • 117,464 miles
The "SRS" light has turned on in the instrument panel. Honda is trying to charge me $360 to diagnose the problem when it is obviously air bag/seat belt related. The light remains on during motion and while the engine is at idle. My vehicle is at 117,464 miles. My question is if Honda has the right to charge me to diagnose something that is related to safety equipment.

- San Fernando, CA, USA

problem #142

Aug 082016

Accord

  • 130,000 miles
My SRS light is on... does that have to do with the recall of the airbag problem"??", I constantly deal with steering problems. Replaced my struts at least twice!!! I really would like to get some help!!! the SRS light came on a couple of months ago when I go in my car to go somewhere as it sat over night!

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #141

Feb 132017

Accord

  • miles
Why my car's passenger side airbag is not recalled yet. I think it came from takata. Honda recalled only driver side.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #140

Jun 172016

Accord

  • 6,000 miles
Dealer said my air bag was spice together and can't be replace because of the wire spice. The Honda send the recall air bag is under the recall. The Honda dealer replace the airbag inflator already, I paid for the inflator at the dealer. Would the spice wire disqualify my car from replacement of the airbag?

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #139

Jul 112016

Accord

  • 60,000 miles
Takata recall: This vehicle was bought in the usa and sent to greece for use there. We have been trying to correct the air bag issue for several years working with Honda America but there have been no results. The Honda dealership in greece is constantly lying about ordering the parts, no written documentation is ever given to state the parts are ordered, or not in, etc. We've had to get a rental this past summer because of the safety issue. Several letters have been sent to Honda America as well as phone calls and we are being ignored on all ends! what are our rights in this matter" how can we get them to respond and take some definitive action? can we sue" this car also has a recall on an ignition problem.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #138

Oct 292016

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
"takata recall" having a problem with hollywood Honda not having a replacement airbag.

- Dania Beach, FL, USA

problem #137

Jul 162016

Accord

  • 130,000 miles
Takata recall. I brought my car in on 5/18/2015 for the recall on the driver's airbag at Honda redwood city, ca. I was in an accident on the freeway on 7/16/2016 with frontal impact going 35-50 mph and my air bag did not deploy. Based on the speed and location of impact I believe the airbags should have deployed.

- Menlo Park, CA, USA

problem #136

Nov 282014

Accord

  • 74,000 miles
My driver airbag was replaced by the local Honda dealer on 11/05/2014 but the airbag warning light still comes on.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #135

Jul 052016

Accord

  • miles
I have been trying for days to schedule an appointment for the air bags recall. Leaving messages with no abilities to speak with any one. No one returns my call. Called customer care of Honda with no much of the use

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #134

Jul 022016

Accord

  • miles
Trying to check a 2002 Honda airbag recall notice to see if the 2002 inflator on the VIN # of ours has been replaced. VIN # was hard to read. Now I've received on this site a notification that the VIN# is valid. What's next to get an answer re: The inflator replacement?

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #133

Jun 222016

Accord 4-cyl

  • 251,575 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact stated that the key could be moved from the ignition while in gear and the vehicle can roll away. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 251,575. Updated 08/17/16 the consumer stated the vehicle rolled away on several occasions and on one of those occasions, the vehicle was damaged. The consumer also stated there was a recall on the SRS. Updated 11/03/16.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #132

May 312014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving 45 mph, the air bag warning light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but the contact was unsure about the diagnosis or what part needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where it was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 15V320000 (air bags); however, the failure persisted. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Fayetteville, NC, USA

problem #131

May 162016

Accord

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While the vehicle was stationary, the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- Orlando, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »