10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
47 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
43 / 2
Average Mileage:
76,065 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #110

Mar 232015

Accord

  • 70,000 miles
Can not get Honda to replace my air bag which I got a federal recall notice for. Made an apt with hoehen Honda in carlsbad ca. 4 weeks ago. Was told parts would take about 1 to 1 1/2 weeks to arrive. They never called me to bring in my car. Called nat'L headquarters in torrance ca. They promised me a free rental until the car was repaired. Gave me a complaint number.. called again to speak to rep. Phone calls not returned. Honda acknowledges that these air bags could cause death if deployed.they are derrelect in not performing service in a timely manner and should be held accountable.

- Carlsbad , CA, USA

problem #109

Oct 202014

Accord

  • miles
The air bags on my 2002 Honda Accord were recalled 6 months ago because they apparently could explode and kill passengers with shrapnel if they go off in an accident. I have been waiting months for Honda to replace with air bags with no resolution in sight. Culver city Honda in los angeles, ca keeps telling me they aren't able to get the new parts shipped in because of the port strike in los angeles. There are other ways to mail things, and I can't believe they aren't trying harder to get the part for their customers when they've already had 6 months. 5 people have already died from this defect and they have no urgency to fix this at all. I don't want my wife driving the car with such a dangerous faulty part, but it's the only car we own. Who makes sure these companies actually follows through on the recall replacement? we need some help please.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #108

Mar 032015

Accord 6-cyl

  • 189,344 miles
Hi on 3/3/2015 I took my Honda in to breakaway Honda to do a recall on the airbags also had a few other things repaired. Mostly concerned about the airbags. Had to return 5 days later for a part.I asked the service dept representative why my SRS light was still on, he said something was still wrong with my airbags and if I had a wreck I still would not have airbag. But I could pay $89.95 to have it hooked up to a machine and if it was the seat belt I would not have to pay but if it was something else I would. Didn't make sense to me, should I pay again to have airbags repaired or is that something Honda should take care of. Something else is they never gave me a call on the service they had done.

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #107

Mar 142015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 187,700 miles
I was driving on Y way to worked at 40 West around 9:30 am on 03/14/2015 Saturday morning, when one of the car start spinning ahead of me, so I merge to the left hand side to avoid but is too late he still got me...everything is on process tru other party insurance... my main concern is my car driver airbag it was'nt depolyed just the passenger side does, and now I got a mail today that they have a recall for airbag on my 2002 Honda civic, if U have any concern on this U may call me at 9808296611, michelle

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #106

Mar 102015

Accord

  • miles
Took myhonda in to a dealership last week and had a few repairs, main reason was to have the air bag recalled done.which they did.didnt say they don't work still! over the wk-end noticed SRS light on. Went to dealership today service rep said that's your airbag and if you have a wreck they will not work. $89.95 a we can hook it up and see whats wrong. I said no, as of now im riding around with no protection.should they have fixed this when the did the recall??

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #105

Sep 122014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owned a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving at approximately 25 mph under heavy rain, the vehicle slid and crashed into a tree. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the head, neck, and back which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V251000 (air bags). The failure mileage was unknown.

- Naples, FL, USA

problem #104

Dec 152014

Accord 6-cyl

  • 2,840,000 miles
I have an complaint in reference to the 2002 Honda Accord. I have been doing some research on this make and model, and have found that many owners are having the same issues with the SRS light on the Honda Accord. We are being charged to fix or replace this issue, after clearly seeing that this is another flaw produced by the Honda Motors company, if you may look into the SRS light issue on the 2002 Honda Accord please.

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #103

Dec 062009

Accord

  • miles
SRS indicator keeps coming on. Had it repaired twice and it keeps coming back on. I do not remember the dates of repair. Not sure if the airbags will work or if they are defective in some way, since I could not afford to keep taking the car back in.

- Encinitas, CA, USA

problem #102

Nov 012005

Accord 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
I am on my second Honda - the first one was a 1987 Honda Accord that I had for 15 years. I loved that car and had no issues at all with its performance. The car listed with this complaint I bought new in 2002 and still have it today. I am not sure of the dates but within three to four years of having this Honda, the dash board lights stopped working and the driver side airbag returned an error light. I faithfully service this vehicle ( kirkwood auto center wilmington de) and when they investigated the issue, I was told that each of the repairs was not covered by warranty and would be several hundred dollars to repair. I was a single parent at the time and learned to live with no dashboard lighting at night and had the air bags disabled. I have also taken the car to a certified Honda dealer (union park Honda wilmington de) and they also confirmed that neither of those repairs was covered or the product of a recall. I always thought I would buy Honda forever but I am quite disappointed in the performance of this 2002 Accord and how it failed so soon after I purchased it with no recourse but to pay a huge amount of money to fix the issues. Equally upsetting is all of the issues with airbags that are being replaced yet my car, with the failed airbag, would have to be paid by me to be functional. What can Honda do for me to keep me in your Honda family?

- Hockessin, DE, USA

problem #101

Nov 252011

Accord

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. While driving at a low speed, the driver and passenger side air bags deployed inadvertently. As a result, the contact crashed the vehicle into a cement wall. No injuries were reported and a police report was not filed. Three years later, the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The dealer informed the contact that they were unable to perform the recall repairs since the failure had already occurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- San Juan, PR, USA

problem #100

Nov 202014

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
I was informed over a year ago my current auto received an air bag "fix" to the air bag activator during a normal service call and has no longer any air bag recalls. My car year and model is listed into the current takata air bag replacement recalls, but Honda refuses to tell me if my car has this air bag. The activator fix is not what the takata air bag issue is about! it's the metal fragments hitting the driver. I have no confidence in what Honda has told me and prefer to have my auto air bag be replaced, even though I am not in a high humidity zone, stated in the current takata recall. Philadelphia hits high humidity (>90%) every summer, so how/why will my car it know if it is in Florida or philly? please move forward to have all of the models, years, in the takata mess replaced, period! regards, [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #99

Nov 182014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 66,960 miles
While visiting a dealer to catch up on recalls, its computer and website both show the 2001-2002 Accord driver airbag recall from 2011 as fixed; since the last time I was at a (original, different) dealer was 5/10 this is impossible. I am concerned that after a certain period customers who did not attend to the recall are automatically marked as fixed. Fwiw I had an accident in 2007 and the passenger airbag deployed but the driver's didn't.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #98

Nov 012010

Accord 4-cyl

  • 44,000 miles
Airbag warning light came on and persisted after reset. According to the dealer it is due to a faulty sensor in the seatbelt. Dealer/Honda refuses to replace.

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #97

Jan 162009

Accord 6-cyl

  • miles
I was traveling home in the far North bound lane going 40 mph and was hit head on by a Dodge durango traveling South bound in the far right lane. (2 lanes each way with a center.) I was driving and the airbag exploded as the durango cut off another car and hit head onto me. The airbag explosion produced a burning smell which I thought the car was on fire but it was the airbag explosion. My face was very red and swollen and just felt on fire from the explosion which covered my face. I had a scratch in my left eye and needed a rinse and a small laceration above my eye. My right hand was swollen immediately and was throbbing from the grip of the wheel and the airbag explosion. My right pinky was totally numb for quite a while with radiating pain up the right arm. The right had still has issues with grasping things and dropping them. I had and still have headaches from the jolt and neck injury especially in the frontal area. I noticed my speech became slurred and thoughts took longer to process when speaking to people. On the job this created difficulty.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #96

Jun 032013

Accord 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Air bag light turns on and off.

- Wyoming, MI, USA

problem #95

Oct 012014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 125,000 miles
SRS light is on, which is for airbag. I searched the recall in Honda owner's website and found there is one (letter dated Sept 2014) which is for driver airbag for humidity area (which include California). So I called dealer on 10/8/14 and I was told part will be ordered and available in a week. I called after a week and I was told that it is back ordered so it cannot be order part until two weeks later. Dealer promise again to order it after two weeks, and I will call them after Nov 6 if I don't hear from them.

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #94

Sep 132011

Accord 4-cyl

  • 147,000 miles
SRS and air bag sensor lights appeared intermittently at first, now stays on constantly, this seems to be an issue with Honda for many years and ignored, my car has more miles and age and the Honda customer service assistance decline to cover with a warranty or safety recall. The Honda dealer wants megabucks to diagnose and replace sensors. I have been told that the air bags may not now deploy correctly or at all and this is a serious safety concern and liability for my wife and/or children/passengers from this defect in the event of an collision. I would like Honda to fix and make their product safe for their customers. Thank you

- Greer, SC, USA

problem #93

Sep 122014

Accord

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda Accord. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #92

Jul 312014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 71,663 miles
I slowed down at a traffic light and my car was rear ended by another car who failed to apply the brakes and/or may have hit the gas pedal instead of the brakes. The car has been deemed a total loss as the car chassis seems to be crumpled. What I find very surprising is that neither the seat belts tighten nor the air bags were deployed despite being hit so hard. I was wondering what may have been the reason and what needs to be done so that it doesn't happen with anyone else.

- Wynnewood, PA, USA

problem #91

Jun 162014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 108,201 miles
Car was headed West in the left lane of a four lane highway. A big SUV headed in the opposite direction was turning to the left. He didn't have time to go and stopped right in my lane. My car hit hers on the passenger side. When we crashed, both of my air bags exploded. I thought my car was on fire because smoke was coming from the bags. My right arm and hand swelled up so big and is still painful. I think there must be medal embedded in my arm. Blood was gushing from my arm and right knee. The inch gash in my right knee was on top of my total knee replacement. This had to be stitched up. I had contusions on my chest, arm and left knee. My ribs and sternum were bruised badly. My right ankle was fractured. My car was totaled. I was taken by ambulance to emergency and stayed until June 26, 2014. I was ordered to put no weight on my right leg and was transported by ambulance to a medical rehabilitation center. Before my release from there, I developed pneumonia and could not leave until July 14, 2014. I still have to have surgery on my left knee for torn meniscus. That surgery is scheduled for September 9, 2014. My back was fractured also; however, I have not scheduled that surgery as of yet.......updated 09-03-14 updated 11/26/2014

- Tucker, GA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »