10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
4 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
43,749 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #48

Jan 092019

Accord

  • 67,000 miles
Couldn't get traction on light snow-covered road. Vsa light was flashing and my car wasn't responding to brake to vsa. I applied my brakes to slow down (to no avail). Now my car is out of control and proceeding down a slight incline to a stop sign...picking up speed along the way.my brakes are "to the floor" the whole time as I slide through intersection I have my steering wheel turned right. The front passenger side ended up crashing into a street sign & telephone pole. I was told by police that a car that swerved to avoid me made contact with my rear fender and my car then spun right into the poles. Also, neither front air bags deployed upon impact

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #47

Jan 252013

Accord

  • 39,855 miles
Premature failure of rear brake pads and rotors @40K miles. Just outside limits of Honda brake settlement. Rear brakes failed again at 100K with pads, rotors, and 1 caliper needing replacement.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #46

Aug 012016

Accord 4-cyl

  • miles
2009 Honda Accord. Consumer writes in regards to malfunctioning caliper piston.

- Lisbon, OH, USA

problem #45

Sep 142017

Accord

  • 89,343 miles
I bought car cpo and rear pads were supposed to be new. A year later, I started having problems with my rear brake pads (high pitch noise, burnt smell). Took it to a dealership. They charged me over $160 for cleaning and lubricating. A month and a half later - the same problem appears again. Took it to a local mechanic. I was charged $220 for cleaning, lubricating and new brake pads replacement. Two and a half years later, started having problems again. Rusted rear rotors, 20% left of the rear pads. All needs a replacement - $350 bill. I had put a little less than 20K miles for the past two and a half years. Front brakes haven't had an issue and are still usable. It appears that I am not alone and a lot of owners of the same make and model report the same issues. This is so ridiculous. I would like Honda to acknowledge bad design and replace it in the vehicle altogether.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #44

May 282017

Accord

  • 115,000 miles
The brakes pads on my 2009 Honda Accord LX are wearing out expectionally fast. Every 6 months. There is a lawsuit pending against Honda for fix. I want to join the class action lawsuit due to Honda selling me a defective product.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #43

Nov 022016

Accord

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. While driving various speeds, there was a knocking noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. When the brake pedal was depressed, the contact noticed smoke coming from the rear of the vehicle. The contact pulled into the driveway and noticed that the caliper was rubbing together. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 80,000. The VIN was not available.

- Fords, NJ, USA

problem #42

Aug 302016

Accord 6-cyl

  • 160,631 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. While driving 65 mph with the cruise control activated, the vehicle accelerated when the brake pedal was depressed. The contact had to place the gear into neutral and depress the brake pedal in order for the brakes to operate. In addition, while the vehicle was in park, the engine continue to accelerate. The contact had to turn the engine off twice in order to resume driving. The failure recurred twice. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,631. Updated 10/21/16

- Chesnut, MI, USA

problem #41

Jul 112016

Accord

  • 22,000 miles
Last week I heard a rubbing/scraping noise coming from the right rear of my 2009 Honda Accord. Today I took it to the dealers and had to have the right rear caliper replaced, new brake pads and new rotors. This vehicle is well taken care of and is garage kept. I do not understand why I needed new brakes and rotors as my car has approximately 22,000 miles on it. I am extremely upset by this.

- Lisbon, OH, USA

problem #40

Dec 032015

Accord

  • 70,000 miles
Vehicle in motion turning right into parking space. Brakes applied, vehicle accelerated into brick post causing significant damage to front end of vehicle and post. Second incident vehicle in motion turning right into parking space. Brakes applied, vehicle accelerated into grassy strip. Vehicle difficult to bring to stop.

- Amherst, NY, USA

problem #39

Feb 252016

Accord

  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. While driving approximately 60 mph, the vehicle independently accelerated above 100 mph for two miles or longer. The contact applied both feet on the brake pedal. The vehicle shook aggressively and continued to increase in speed. The contact was alone on the road and noticed that the brake pedal went to the floor but did not slow down the vehicle. The contact was able to change gears to neutral. The vehicle made a loud abnormal noise and was able to gradually decelerate. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was unknown. The approximate failure mileage was 37,000.

- Puyallup, WA, USA

problem #38

Jan 012013

Accord

  • miles
I bought my car in 2012. From 2013-present, I've had to replace my brakes and rotors at least 10 times and now I'm being told my calipers need to be replaced. There is no way that I should have to replace my brakes that many times. In the last year alone, I've had to replace my brakes and rotors 3 times. I currently have to replace my rear brake pads and rotors when I last did it 3 or 4 months ago. I don't have the money to keep fixing this problem, Honda should be responsible! also in July 2015, my ac/heater stopped working, we thought it was the fuse, so we replaced it but its still not working. I am very frustrated and upset with the problems with my car, I will never buy another Honda! I have never had this problem with any car that I've owned.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #37

Jul 032015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 36,800 miles
I am the original owner of my Honda Accord, and use my car primarily for pleasure driving on weekends and holidays. Recently, I took my car to my local service station for an oil change and safety check, and was informed that the rear disc brakes were completely worn and needed replacement, whereas the front disc brake linings were fine. This information came as a surprise because rear are generally last more than 70,000- 1000,000 miles, and certainly longer the than the front pads. The service station attendant told me that premature wear on rear brake pads is a well- appreciated defect for the 2009 Accord, and Honda is aware of the problem and has even settled a class action suit in 2010 relating specifically to this matter. For reference, a link to a New York times article is: wheels.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/04/06/Honda-settles-class-action-suit-over-brakes/?_R=0 sound brakes are necessary for vehicle safety. I request that the ntsb demand Honda issue a recall to repair the brake defect for Accord owners who were unable to take advantage of the class settlement. Thank you for your kind consideration of this request.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #36

May 122015

Accord

  • Manual transmission
  • 53,744 miles
From the beginning upon taking delivery of the vehicle, the rear brake calipers were not releasing properly. We noticed a burning smell once after driving, but no warning lights were on. We also noticed the emergency brake was not always releasing, as per the warning light. At a routine oil service it was determined that right rear caliper was not full disengaging. The entire rear brake assembly had to be cleaned and adjusted, the rear brake pads and rotors had to be replaced. Both rear calipers had to be replaced. In the past, our vehicles have gone 90,000 miles before replacing only the pads, and then only the front. To replace an entire rear bake assembly indicates some sort of defect or engineering problem. MA 07/30/15 updated 10/23/2017

- Temple, NH, USA

problem #35

Jan 012013

Accord

  • 100,000 miles
2009 Honda Accord ex V6 has numerous problems at 130K...most originating at 70-90K. Excessive oil consumption (1 qt a week)! rough idle and acceleration, 6 lights lit up on dash, including check engine...comes on and off intermittently.....fouled spark plugs, ticking noise coming from steering wheel when turning, brakes must be replaced every 10K miles, loud ticking noise from engine, poor acceleration with missing/sputtering, smoke emits from tailpipes, vsc light stays on along with TPMS! the list goes on and on...I have been loyal to Honda since 1993 having owned many, especially Accord and this one takes the cake....the worst vehicle ever owned! do not buy Honda...they do not care about you and never will! I missed the class action lawsuit by a couple of months on the engine misfire deal...just recently was made aware of it. Never again Honda!!!!

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #34

Jun 112012

Accord 4-cyl

  • 46,348 miles
Rear tires overheated to the point that it would burn a hand that touched it on 6-11-2012 (mileage 46,384). Smelled of burning rubber. Had to replace the left rear brake caliper, brake pad, and rotor. On 4-18-2013 (mileage 65,922) the same problem on right rear. This required replacement of the right rear brake pad and rotor. On 6-13-2014 (mileage 93,310) the same overheating occurred and required replacement of the rear brake pads. The latest occurrence was on 3-16-2015 (mileage 112,411). We have an appointment to have this examined in two days so do not yet know the diagnosis. I am very concerned that this failure could occur while we are driving and could result in a fire, blown tire, or crash.

- Staples, MN, USA

problem #33

Feb 162015

Accord 4-cyl

  • 48,164 miles
I was driving my 2009 Accord on my snow covered street and the vehicle stability (vsa) light flashed on, as it should, when the vehicle loses traction. However, the light stayed on and the ABS and brake lights both appeared as well and all 3 stayed lit. At first, I thought they would reset, but after a few days, they did not. The vsa and anti-lock brake functions were no longer working. My car was brought to a local dealership where they performed a diagnostic test and based on the computer codes, determined that the ABS modulator needed to be replaced. The cost for this repair was over $1300! at that time, I decided not to complete the repair because I wanted to call american Honda to see if they could provide a discount for this very important and expensive safety component. After more than a week, they did finally offer a discount and the repair was completed for $800. My research has indicated that this part has had a history of problems in some Honda vehicles manufactured around 2009. The ABS modulator should not have failed on my Honda Accord with such low mileage. I believe that it must have been a manufacturing defect with 2009 Honda vehicles.

- Wilmington, MA, USA

problem #32

Jan 222015

Accord

  • 31,000 miles
The brakes squeal. As the brakes heat up the noise gets unbearable.

- Wentzville, MO, USA

problem #31

Oct 142013

Accord

  • miles
Replaced rear brakes twice in 15months with less than 15000 miles on car.

- Vineland, NJ, USA

problem #30

Dec 312014

Accord 4-cyl

  • 17,660 miles
I took my Honda in for a routine oil change and was told that my brake pads where very low and had to be replaced. I was shocked to find this out with only 17,660 miles on the car. This could have been a dangerous problem and other owners of this model should be aware.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #29

Oct 122014

Accord

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Accord. The contact stated that while making a slight right turn, the steering wheel seized. In addition, the contact stated that the brakes seized and the vehicle violently jerked forward. As a result, the contact drove over a curb and crashed into a stop sign and a gravel road. A police report was not filed and there were no injuries reported. The vehicle was towed to a collision center. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Yuma, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »