10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 3
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
15,808 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Honda Accord:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #30

Jul 242019

Accord

  • miles
Since I bought my 2017 Accord many times after driving the car and turning off the engine I tried to start it didnżT I had to have it a boost then it runs fine with some dash lights on then they disappear once I drive after many times I took it to the dealer they said your battery is good and no electrical problem and then I read online I saw tons of people talking about the same issue and they had to replace Honda battery to a bigger battery with higher cca because this battery is weak and it cause a stall consequently a crash or the car will not start if you are in the middle of nowhere it's clear this is a Honda problem that Iżll have to buy a bigger battery with higher cca and capacity to avoid as they said(not Honda) this problem to happen again thank you very much this car is 28 days old

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #29

Jun 232019

Accord

  • 57,200 miles
For the second time in less than two months, the emissions/electrical/check engine on the 2017 Honda Accord is an issue. I have researched the internet and I am finding that this is a common error on the 2016 Honda's and newer. The emission error system has come on again. The last time I had this problem the converter had to be replaced. The system error comes on when driving when raining, which makes me believe that there is also a electrical problem as well. I find this concerning on a new, 100 percent dealer maintained vehicle. There is obviously an electrical/emission problem in the system and it requires an independent party to review. The tech states no issue can arise from having the check engine/emission light on but the car does tend to lose power during these issues. Honda owners should not be held liable for manufacture errors.

- San Antonoio, TX, USA

problem #28

Jun 232019

Accord

  • 55,000 miles
Recently took my car in for car doc maintenance for and an oil change. Paperwork states the battery is good. Upon leaving the dealership after mechanic brought my vehicle out to me I jumped tried to start the vehicle and it wouldnżT start so I informed the Honda mechanic and they gave me a jump with the jumper box. It's been 1 month since then and my car wonżT start at the oddest times even after Iżve been driving for a while. Car wonżT start or turn over and the lights just flicker on and off. IżM currently waiting on a tow truck to get a jump my car is parked in the garage and it wonżT start. Very frustrated with Honda I had the car less than 2 years and I have less than 50K miles

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #27

May 282019

Accord

  • 45,000 miles
Car suddenly wont start. Break petal is stuck, dash lights click and wont start. Acts like its the battery but doesn't allow jump. Car has less that 46,000 miles and is 2 yrs old. Current recall out for fuel issues, but the dealer is sure thats not the cause. Contact at the dealer was not helpful at all and kinda rude. Rushed me off the phone when I was asking questions. Very upset

- Iva, SC, USA

problem #26

May 112019

Accord

  • 38,000 miles
Car wonżT turn over at random times. Cleaned terminals and tested battery and alternator which are good.

- Denham Springs, LA, USA

problem #25

Apr 192019

Accord

  • miles
Battery died after less than 2 yrs of use. Battery dies about once a week what can I do, very dangerous if happen to me in the middle of the nigh.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #24

Jan 162019

Accord

  • miles
Rear view camera glitches then went black. Very short intermittent on, but then glitches and screen goes black again. Now the screen stays black when shifting into reverse or try different angles. Clean lens and no obstructions.

- Cottonwood, AZ, USA

problem #23

Jan 142017

Accord

  • 500 miles
In the first several weeks of ownership, I notice a slight vibration inside the car--floorboard, steering wheel, dash board--when the blower motor was turned on with the engine running. It was faint at first, but the vibration has gotten progressively worse. The vibration seems more exaggerated when the blower and A/C are on together, but the vibration is still present with only the blower motor on with the engine running. I don't recall any sound with the vibration. The first time I noticed the vibration was waiting at a stop light. I turned the blower motor on for heat or outside air when I noticed a faint vibration as I sat idling, at a stop light. Now, when the blower motor is used with ventilation, A/C, heat, etc., the interior of the car emits a distinct vibration until the blower motor is turned off. With the engine off, I have turned the blower motor on and there is no noticeable vibration, so the blower motor vibration appears to be linked to the running engine.

- Colorado Springs, CO, USA

problem #22

Mar 152019

Accord

  • 32,000 miles
My car braking system and all the safety systems stopped functioning on my car while I was on the highway (garden state parkway South) this morning, 3/15/2019. My brakes did not work to slow the car down at all. When it initially started to show the error messages I tried to use the brakes and it felt like my car accelerated. I luckily was able to allow my car to slow down naturally and get off at a rest stop (monmouth rest area, and force pull the emergency brake to a stop and put my car in park. It was really a scary situation on a very busy highway to have your brakes not work at all. I was advised it could be a lie battery indicator of the electronic system that is all connected to even the brakes. It is highly dangerous that an electrical glitch or malfunction can completely disable my braking system and all other safety features.

- Lindenwold, NJ, USA

problem #21

Feb 282019

Accord

  • 2,225 miles
On 2/28/19 @5:15 pm got in my car started it up and when I did everything in the video was happening so I immediately went to butler Honda in milledgeville ga where they checked it out and stated that it was camera's malfunctioning and that they would order a new camera. On Friday which was 3/1/19. And they will give me a call on Monday.. and that my car was safe to drive I had nothing to worry about. I just pray and hope

- Sparta, GA, USA

problem #20

Oct 102018

Accord

  • 15,000 miles
Battery died after less than 2 years of use. Needed to replace. No electrical use of the vehicle, pep boys says its a common issue with new Honda. Needed to tow car and dangerously turned off in the middle of the street when the battery died.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #19

Nov 062018

Accord

  • 20,000 miles
Blind spot assist camera is a distraction and flickers due to other vehicle headlights at night. Huge distraction can be dangerous, not an effective safety feature. Driver side window doesn't close. Even after 5 attempts the driver side window starts to close and half way reopens. All windows close noticeably slower. Dealership can't replicate issue so no repair. Still have the issue, even when parked the window doesn't close.

- Astoria, NY, USA

problem #18

Jan 192019

Accord

  • 4 miles
My Honda Accord 2017 4 cyn all of dash board lights lit up, the steering wheel partially locked while I was driving going 55 mph. I pulled over and couldn't cut the car off with my start button. After about 5 minutes I was able to finally cut it cut off. Then it would not start at all. Then after another 5 minutes it started and I went straight to the car dealership January 2019. About seven months earlier, my car would start at all. I went to the dealership and they couldn't find anything wrong. They told me only thing it might be was the battery, I bought a battery and my car was only 11 months old. Recently, February 2019, now my battery is 7 months old, my car wouldn't start again. They can't find anything wrong with my car, but I am having issues. There have been times when I start my car and the dash lights do not come on and I hold the button on the dash and the system reboot and the dash light come on. My car is at the dealership and now it is starting, but the said everything is registering that nothing is wrong. I have an huge issue because I can't be strained in this cold winter weather and my car not starting. This is unsafe because I was in motion less than a month ago on the highway going 55 mph and my car froze in motion. Cjb February 2019

- Bloomington, MN, USA

problem #17

Feb 062019

Accord

  • 8,607 miles
I took my car in for a recall, when I got to the dealership I tried to roll up my window it went half way up and than came back down, I tried this several times in front of 3 service men, they said that's strange I said I know this just happened. So of course when I dropped off me car they could not figure out why it would not do that for them, but of course the car was turned off by than. So when my car was down I let the dealership went into the store and when I came out all my windows were half way down and my sunroof was cracked open. I call my service guy and explained to him what happened, so the next day I took my car back into the dealership and of course it didn't happen for them..the service man said well if you hold down the button all your windows will open I said that was impossible because I was in the store when this happened and there was no was I could have opened it! so now it's just a wait and see to see if it happends a third time!

- Glenolden, PA, USA

problem #16

Feb 022019

Accord

  • 32,000 miles
Over the last several days the car would not start without requiring a jump for the battery. Then it would run, but once the car was off and had to be restarted it would require another jump. Had the battery tested and brought the car to dealership and they state nothing is wrong with the vehicle. (it started there no problem). It ran fine for the next few days, but currently its parked and won't start. The only lights that displayed was the eps which turned off shortly after the car started.

- Prairieville, LA, USA

problem #15

Dec 142018

Accord

  • 9 miles
The car caught on fire by itself, a car only with 13,000 miles and 1 year of usage that means almost brand new car. I drove 9 miles aprox. From home to my work location. When I arrive and park the car before going upstairs, I saw the car blowing unusual smoke from the engine compartment, I opened the hood and I saw the fire was coming between the engine and the radiator. I call the 911 and when they arrived they tried to use a fire extinguisher but the fire started getting out of control, forcing them to use the water hose to stop the fire. Honda is not taking care of this safety concern and no body knows what happened

- Chelsea, MA, USA

problem #14

Nov 102018

Accord

  • 21,500 miles
The trunk lid opens on it's own while driving down the road. Has happened many times. Reported to dealer 3 times. They can't find the problem. Must be electrical. When I push the fob button going down the road it won't open. Just randomly when going down the road - 35-50 mph.

- Lacey, WA, USA

problem #13

Oct 162018

Accord 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 16,098 miles
The contact owned a 2017 Honda Accord. While the contact's wife was driving 40 mph, the collision mitigation braking system failed and she rear ended another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The vehicle was towed by Liberty mutual insurance to a body shop and deemed a total loss. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The manufacturer was notified and provided case number: 09105290. The failure mileage was approximately 16,098. Consumer continued to brake but the brake failed to stop. The front airbag deployed. Updated 02/01/19

- Antioch, CA, USA

problem #12

Sep 202018

Accord

  • 19,000 miles
I have started to have this strange engine start issue recently (with short circuit sounds). Dealership service done in July found nothing wrong with the car or my ignition switch. Definitely looks like a critical issue ż it is now leaving me stranded on the roads. I donżT see any recall for this issue either. I'm glad I noticed during summer as otherwise could be life threatening issue. I have describe the events in details in the attached pdf.

- Lowell, MA, USA

problem #11

Oct 092018

Accord

  • miles
Loud clicking noise possibly in locking system. It doesn't happen every time I drive the car. When it does start the noise, it is continuous for several miles. It sometimes happens when I park and lock the doors from outside and the locks continue to click until I come back to the car and re lock the doors. It will also make the noise when I shut the door and I have not started the car yet. Sometimes I will be driving down the street and all of a sudden it just starts the clicking noise. Also the alarm has gone off by itself while parked and I didn't even set the alarm. These things have happened many times since I purchased the car on Dec 21, 2017.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »