10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,058 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #90

Jan 062015

CR-V

  • miles
I was contacted by my local Honda dealership notifying me of a recall on both my drivers and passengers side airbags. The Honda dealership said that they had the airbags on order and would contact me when they were in. I have been contacted by Honda a couple of times since them, only to hear that they do not have the parts yet. I received a letter today, July 17, 2015 from the automobile division of Honda stating once again that my car's airbags are being recalled. I was pointed to this page due to the fact that it has been over 6 months since I was first contacted by my local dealership and they have yet to be able to deliver the service of servicing my airbags!

- Beaverton, OR, USA

problem #89

Oct 172014

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V313000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ortonville, MI, USA

problem #88

Jun 022015

CR-V

  • 170,000 miles
The SRS light on my instrument panel recently activated which I figured was a result of the recent air bag recall and would be rectified when the dealer replaced the air bag parts as part of the recall. Unfortunately, after having both passenger and driver air bag recall work completed on 6/30/15, the SRS light remains lit. Cost of repair was estimated by dealer at $850 and apparently not covered by Honda as part of the recall(!) even though I was told the SRS system controls both the air bag and seat belt tensioning systems. Not sure how these units would wear out other than by internal failure since the air bags fortunately haven't ever been deployed- sure seems like it should be a no brainer recall item given the potential life safety danger the failure of this system poses.

- Oakland, CA, USA

problem #87

Jun 022014

CR-V

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. while driving approximately 35 mph, the driver lost control of the vehicle and crashed into a tree. During the crash, the front end of the vehicle was severely damaged but the air bags did not deploy. It was unknown if a police report was filed or if any injuries were reported. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000. The VIN was not available.

- Boones Mill , VA, USA

problem #86

Jan 012015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
2002 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to drivers front airbag recall notices 14V-349 and 14V-351. The consumer was informed the parts were not available....updated 07-30/15 the consumer stated the dealer completed the recall. Updated 08/06/15

- Yarnell, AZ, USA

problem #85

Mar 152015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #84

Feb 022015

CR-V

  • miles
2002 Honda CR-V. consumer writes in regards to airbags recall notice issues. The consumer was informed the parts were on back order.

- Fountain Valley, CA, USA

problem #83

May 272015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Revere, MA, USA

problem #82

Apr 142015

CR-V

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Honda CR-V. while driving at 25 mph, another vehicle crashed into the passenger side of the contact's vehicle. The air bags deployed after the impact. As a result, the contact sustained wrist cuts that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 180,000.

- Anaheim, CA, USA

problem #81

Feb 062015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/7/15 the consumer stated the air bags were repaired. Updated 07/14/15

- Poteau, OK, USA

problem #80

Feb 212015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kansas City, MO, USA

problem #79

Mar 012015

CR-V

  • miles
We took the car to Honda of nanuet, New York a few months ago for this and other safety recalls and was told they will contact when the parts are ready. But nothing happened.

- Wesley Hills, NY, USA

problem #78

Jan 152015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was not available and had surpassed a reasonable amount of time. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced the failure.

- Utica, NY, USA

problem #77

Jan 012015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #76

Feb 052015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The passenger side air bag inflater was replaced, but the part was not available for months to replace the driver side air bag inflator. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Saint Paul , MN, USA

problem #75

Jan 062015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Danville, CA, USA

problem #74

Feb 102015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Incline Village, NV, USA

problem #73

Jan 012015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated that the driver side air bag inflator was not available for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/1/15

- Bethel Park, PA, USA

problem #72

Feb 062015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
02/06/2015 contacted Honda of vacaville ca regarding NHTSA recall 14V-349. Was told "the part is ordered". placed multiple calls to dealer requesting updates. No information given until 4/23/2015 when I received a call stating the part was in but the service could not be completed until 4/25/2015. Furthermore I was told it would take 4 hours even though the recall notice stated the repair would take 42 minutes. From start to finish it has taken Honda of vacaville ca, 78 days to complete the service on this recall notice.

- Vacaville, CA, USA

problem #71

Jan 022015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was unavailable.

- Greenville, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »