10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
23 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
23 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,058 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #50

Mar 022015

CR-V

  • miles
2002 Honda CRV. Consumer writes in regards to a defective passenger airbag issues. The dealer informed the consumer, the part was not available.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #49

Jan 022015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Honda issued a recall in 2014 but contact me only in January 2015 that the driver side air bag when deployed would propel parts and harm driver or passenger. Went into dealer ( airport marina Honda in los angeles ) to have recall part replaced but they do not have parts. Dealer said part is on backorder. Contacted Honda usa, the manufacturer and they tried to locate parts in their own inventory and other dealers in the area within 10 miles, to no avail. Why is the company issuing recall and not prepared to handle the need. God forbid if ever I or anyone in my family get into an accident, it could be fatal. This is a safety issue and Honda usa acts as if this is not urgent.

- Culver City, CA, USA

problem #48

Mar 102015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags), however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #47

Jan 192015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V700000 (air bags) however, the parts needed to repair the vehicle were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #46

Mar 022015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The vehicle has pending airbag recalls (NHTSA recall number: 14V-351 and 14V-349) for the takata-brand air bag inflators. I have repeatedly contacted the local Honda dealership and american Honda customer service about these recalls.however, I have been told by Honda repeatedly that they do not have the parts to complete the recalls for months. Honda's inability and unwillingness to fix safety recalls should be looked into by the authority. Thank you. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #45

Feb 272015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Sub: Honda CR-V 2002. Ref; outstanding recall recently, in year 2014, we bought used Honda CR-V 2002 from gwinnett place Nissan, duluth, ga and was trying to find any outstanding recalls for the vehicle. We contacted Honda motor company usa through phone and fax line for recall (claim no: [xxx]) they informed me, they have no any record or any information for particular vehicle as per their representative acknowledgement. They also informed us that we have to find any recall by ourselves. Now, we don't know how to handle this kind of problem. Our and other people's safety is very important for us. Manufacture is not willing to give any co-operation for the recall or guide us what we can do to solve this matter. Please guide us, what kind of an action or process to handle these problems. Thank you for your time and consideration C.C.to:Honda motor company usa

- Lawrenceville, GA, USA

problem #44

Feb 272015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags); however, the parts needed to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 5/18/15 the consumer stated the air bags were replaced on May 1, 2015. Updated 05/29/15

- Laguna Hills, CA, USA

problem #43

Feb 242015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact stated that the SRS warning lamp illuminated several times. As the failure progressed, the light started flashing on the front passenger side intermittently, indicating that the front passenger side air bag was deactivated. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags), 14V351000 (air bags), 14V349000 (air bags), 13V132000 (air bags), 11V260000 (air bags), 10V041000 (air bags) and 04V255000 (air bags). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was not available.

- Richardson, TX, USA

problem #42

Feb 242015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) however the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Marino, CA, USA

problem #41

Feb 132015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V700000 (air bags) and 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- South Dayton , FL, USA

problem #40

Jan 302015

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 128,355 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Honda CR-V. while driving 35 mph, the vehicle in front of the contact's vehicle suddenly stopped, causing the contact to rear end the preceding vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries to the chest, ribs, sternum and back that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags). The failure mileage was 128,355... updated 02/19/15 updated 02/20/15

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #39

Feb 042015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) however, the parts needed were unavailable to perform the repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #38

Feb 022015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id numbers: 14V351000 (air bags) and 14V349000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Belleview , WA, USA

problem #37

Dec 312014

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V349000 (air bags) however, the part to do the recall was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- East Brunswick, NJ, USA

problem #36

Nov 032014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
My Honda CR-V has been the subject of a recall due to a problem in the airbag inflators (passenger side). I have been waiting since Nov for the parts to be available. I recently got a second notice, but there are not parts.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #35

Jan 202015

CR-V

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign id number: 14V700000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Kingshill , VI, USA

problem #34

Sep 052014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 31,000 miles
I received my safety recall notice in September 2014 and immediately made an appointment to have my air bags replaced. It is now December 2014 and the parts have not been received by my dealer (king auto in lihue, hi 96766), a high priority tropical area. I feel this lengthy delay is irresponsible.

- Lihue, HI, USA

problem #33

Nov 252014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
I was traveling on 91 North, exit 14 in West springfield, MA on the road that lead to the mass turnpike. There was heavy traffic due to impending snowstorm the next day and thanksgiving. A car in the lane next to me slowed and put his right directional on. I slowed to allow him into my lane. He then changed his mind, canceled his directional and proceeded on toward rt. 5. for an instant, I glanced down at my lap and when I looked up the row of cars in front of me came to a complete stop and I crashed into the car in front of me. The passenger air bag was deployed but not the driver's bag. I had no passengers in my car.

- Chicopee, MA, USA

problem #32

Nov 182014

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. the contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V351000 (air bags) and stated that the parts needed were unavailable. The dealer was uncertain when the parts would become available to service the vehicle under the recall. The manufacturer informed the contact that the parts had not been ordered and was uncertain when they would become available. The contact had not experienced a failure...updated 12/29/14 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 01/20/15

- Sara Sota, FL, USA

problem #31

Jun 062014

CR-V

  • 88,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Honda CR-V. while driving 25 mph, the instrument panel flickered and the vehicle stalled. In addition, the air bag warning indicator illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who was unable to diagnose the cause of the failure. The manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 88,000.

- Margate, FL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »