10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
15 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
11 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,335 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #171

May 102019

CR-V

  • 81,485 miles
Takata recall took vehicle to dealership on 5-23-17 for takata airbag recall. Recently we received another airbag recall letter. Called dealer thinking that we already had taken care of this matter. Were informed that on 5-23-17 only the drivers airbag was replaced and now passenger bag needed to be replaced. Why were both not done on 5-23-17? why have we been driving a car with an unsafe passenger air bag for 2 additional years and a total of 15,157 miles. All this time we thought we were driving a safe car, not playing russian roulette with the person riding in the passenger seat.

- Crivitz, WI, USA

problem #170

Mar 022019

CR-V

  • 133,000 miles
Passenger airbag light keep going on and off

- Fremont, NH, USA

problem #169

Aug 172017

CR-V

  • 55,000 miles
Takata recall this 2009 Honda CR-V was declared a total loss in a stationary parking lot crash unrelated to air bags and has been destroyed. Please remove from list of recalls.

- Webster, NY, USA

problem #168

Apr 052014

CR-V

  • miles
Passenger air bag never show off when nobody is in the seat les you connect the seat belt then the light off we stay on I complain to the dealer for 3 years because I have 5 years extended warranty know that warranty expire they give two code said that the weight sensor is no good they won me to pay $ $1506.58 to fixed when happen was on the warranty code are 83-27 internal failure of the front passenger weight sensor {rear outer side} 56-21 undefined data received the PCM {A/T system}

- Eustis, FL, USA

problem #167

Feb 282018

CR-V

  • 125,000 miles
Takata recall. I did go to dealership and got the air bag fixed, but I never got a notice about another recall on this vehicle.

- Fargo, ND, USA

problem #166

Aug 062017

CR-V

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. while driving 20 mph, the contact T-boned another vehicle that ran a stop sign. The air bags failed to deploy and the driver's seat belt failed to restrain the contact properly. A police report was filed. The contact was transported to the hospital to be checked for chest and back pains; however, the X-rays came back clear. The contact experienced muscle spasms and soreness across the chest and bruising to both feet. The vehicle was towed to the local body shop and the body damage was repaired; however, the seat belt needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not declared destroyed. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer was contacted and made aware of the failure, however no additional assistance was offered. The failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #165

Mar 012017

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #164

Mar 072017

CR-V

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Honda CR-V. while driving 55 mph, the vehicle veered off the road and crashed into a ditch and a power line. The driver's side air bag failed to deploy and the passenger side air bag deployed normally. The contact sustained a head injury, contusion, acute chest wall pain, diffused spine strain, and abdominal pain. Medical attention was required and the contact was transported to the hospital. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed and confirmed by the insurance company to be destroyed. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign numbers: 17V030000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Morris, IL, USA

problem #163

Feb 122016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The interim recall notice indicated that there would be a second notice in which the manufacturer had not sent for months. The notice did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the contact's vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #162

Jan 012016

CR-V

  • 40,000 miles
Takata recall. This recall has been announced for about a year and, as of today, apparently Honda still does not "have a remedy". the airbags are a threat of death to owners, including in this case my 20 year old daughter. The car is not safely useable until the air bags (or inflators)- front passenger and driver - are replaced. What is being done to require Honda to replace these bags/inflators? Warren J. bird, attorney at law/owner

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #161

Mar 142016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The contact stated that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN tool confirms parts not available....updated 03/13/17 the cosnumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 08/28/2017

- Russellville, AR, USA

problem #160

Jan 122017

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. Hello my car has been on the recall list for over a year. At one point is Honda going to be responsible with finding a fix" or how many more people have to be hurt before they are forced to do something" the light on dash for the airbag has come on and stayed on in the past. I've contacted my Honda dealer and it would have costed me money to bring in my car. They said they would contact me when there was a fix for the airbag recall. I'm still waiting.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #159

Apr 152016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata airbag rec'd a recall for the takata airbag saying the part would be ready for install late summer/early fall. We have not been able to drive the car safely for almost a year now. There has been no follow up explaining delay.

- Garrison, NY, USA

problem #158

Jan 092017

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags). The part to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacture exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was invalid. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Waldwick, NH, USA

problem #157

Jan 012016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall

- Covina, CA, USA

problem #156

Nov 122016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall I was involved in an accident on 11-12-2016. The seatbelt tightened and the airbags only partially deployed. The vehicle was stopped when hit. You could smell the residue from the bags but neither of the front bags actually popped out.

- Broomall, PA, USA

problem #155

Mar 162016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V071000 (air bags). The part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 01/04/17

- Towanda, KS, USA

problem #154

Mar 282016

CR-V 4-cyl

  • 95,000 miles
Takata recall. Rcvd letter from Honda 3/28/16, saying continued driving was dangerous. Yet parts were not available. I've called my local Honda dealer in the interim and parts are still not available. This is unsatisfactory. If they can build and sell new cars that have safe airbag systems, they should be able to fix their unsafe items that were sold to consumers.

- Westford, MA, USA

problem #153

Mar 112016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V346000 (air bags) and 16V061000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hernando, FL, USA

problem #152

Nov 232016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda CR-V. the contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags). The parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Plano, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »