10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
51,326 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Honda CR-V:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #23

Jan 112019

CR-V

  • miles
Passenger side doesn't open from the inside or outside.

- Palisades Park, NJ, USA

problem #22

Oct 182018

CR-V

  • 145,000 miles
Vehicle shudders and RPM jumps erractically at approximately 25mph and 42mph

- Holland Patent, NY, USA

problem #21

Oct 062017

CR-V

  • 65,000 miles
Within 30 days from buying my car from a dealer it started making a sound like it was going over a really loud rumble strip and it shakes the steering wheel and can be felt in the passenger seat. I bought this car in September 2017 and to date 4/22/2018 I have had it back to the dealer 6 times with the same issue. I have been told it is just trying to shift between gears or there is nothing wrong with it. It dose not do it all the time so I dont know it they have heard it or not they have only let me go on one test drive with them. The only way to make it stop is to speed up or slow down. This isnt safe at all. It will happen on all road surfaces so it's not just the type of road I am driving on.

- Seal Cove, ME, USA

problem #20

Apr 212018

CR-V

  • 97,000 miles
1. with and w/O snow tires, no matter the weather or road conditions: Strong hot rubber burning smell by back right wheel. D/T no baffle near muffler. This happens with short trips, free way or city trips 2. at one time would not shift down on hills. Or would engine would nearly die going up hills with ac radio on, and latterly chugged up hill this is related to the gear not shifting. This is a terrible feeling going up hill with nothing but two passengers and no load 3. seats memory foam fails and flattens out, nearly 96000 miles 4. seat belts fray in time, 5. seat belts won't retract well, especially on drivers side 6. tires routinely have outside wear, even with rotation through discount tire where they cross rotate. They are better than dealer 7. dome light in front failed 8. tachometer runs high like 3-4000 RPM this has happened since purchase Jan 29, 2011, but I will put todays date below re last question about mileage on vehicle I will put todays mileage even though happened through out ownership

- Tigard, OR, USA

problem #19

Mar 302018

CR-V

  • 73,000 miles
The A/C has worked fine until now. Its spring 2018, and I have tried the A/C a few times, and I dont hear the compressor turn on and its blowing warm/hot air. I've read online this is a common issue in CR-V's. there needs to be a recall!!

- West Babylon, NY, USA

problem #18

Mar 112018

CR-V

  • 99,900 miles
On March 11, 2018 I backed into my driveway, turned off the engine and parked next to my porch. Before going into the house, my grandson told me to look at the car which was smoking under the hood. Within seconds the smoke turned dark gray. The fire department arrived in 3 minutes. I could see fire underneath the engine on the bottom at the driveway. The front door windows were busted to put out the fire on the dashboard, too.

- Corpus Christi, TX, USA

problem #17

Feb 272018

CR-V

  • 87,000 miles
Parked car in parking lot and came back after a couple of hours and noticed all car doors were not unlocking either automatically or manually. After, couple of hours of continuously trying to get it unlocked I gave up and left my car in the parking lot and is still present there. I gave a call to Honda dealer and they refused to repair my vehicle without inspecting it. I bought the vehicle early December 2016 and was told I will be under warranty for 36 months or 100,000 miles in the amount $2500. After, arguing with the dealer they told me I am not covered and should contact 3rd part warranty company directly and told me it expired 11 month after date of purchase which was not stated to me when buying the vehicle. I feel this is a significant safety issue because god forbid if I was in a accident and this issue occurred who would help me get out or if I left my kids in the car.

- Yonkers , NY, USA

problem #16

Jan 012016

CR-V

  • 50,000 miles
Window rubber seals are melting and deteriorating. Rain or water may get in and damage the car and electronic system. Or may be short circuited

- Irvine, CA, USA

problem #15

Aug 282017

CR-V

  • 60,000 miles
The locks on the driver's side passenger's door and the back hatch have seized. I contacted Honda regarding their campaign to replace faulty actuators and was told although my model and year does fall within the warranty extension, my VIN is not included in the campaign. My problem is consistent with the complaints leading to the settlement and subsequent campaign. I was told by one representative that unfortunately my neighbor with same make/model may be included in the campaign, as if it was some sort of lottery. The locks seized when I started the car and my children were in the back seat, posing a significant safety threat.

- Needham, MA, USA

problem #14

Aug 202017

CR-V

  • 51,300 miles
I drove with my husband to a grocery store. After stopping the car in the parking lot and turning off the engine, I was unable to open the driver side door. We were able to open the passenger side door, so I slid out over to that side and exited the vehicle. We locked the car and went into the store. When we returned to the car, none of the doors would open. I went back into the store to call aaa while my husband continued trying to get the doors open. He was eventually able to unlock a passenger door, so I entered on that side, slid over to the driver seat, started the car and drove home. This was on Sunday 8/20/2017. On Monday we took the car to the Honda dealer to have this problem fixed. Again, the driver's door wouldn't open. We went inside to talk to the desk people. The Honda service man wanted to see this for himself, so he took a key out to the car and started trying to lock and unlock doors. He ended up getting all the doors locked and none would open. The Honda people worked on the car. They were eventually able to get a passenger side door open, but could not get the driver side door open until they removed that door panel while working on the inside of the car. The got it fixed. Their "labor and parts" description says "driver door lock actuator failure." This is a very dangerous situation. Fortunately we were not locked inside the car, like we were on 8/6/2015 (see complaint number 11018955).

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #13

Aug 062015

CR-V

  • 40,415 miles
For some reason the car lost all electricity while we were stopped at a red stoplight. Could not restart the car. Could not open any doors, not the driver's side, nor passenger side. Could not open any windows. Car was stationary on a busy city street. It was dangerous. I could see cars approaching from the rear and they had no idea I was stuck. I had no way to turn on the emergency flashers, no way to stick my arm out the window to signal anyone of the danger nor of our distress. Fortunately a nice stranger took it upon himself to push our car out of the roadway. This happened on 8/6/2015. - - - - - now something similar happened two days ago, I'll submit it separately. This 8/2015 incident was the first involving being trapped in this car.

- Palm Bay, FL, USA

problem #12

May 022017

CR-V

  • 87,600 miles
When starting vehicle car turns on with no problem sometimes and will run with little to no problem. When all of a sudden vehicle begins to lose power and all lights on instrument panel lights up car shuts off. This can happen randomly at any given time, weather condition, speed, parking or pulling out of parking space on the highway or multi-lane streets within city limits; and or one-way streets, back roads or country roads with inclines and higher elevations or not. Incidents have been happening since March 15, 2017, April 2, April 15, April 18, April 20, May 2, May 4, 2017. All maintenance work done on vehicle was done by Honda dealership where purchased. All inspections including May 2017 inspection have received passing grades, done by Honda dealership as well. Took vehicle to dealership twice and was informed they could not find a problem. Diagnostic test was not done because check engine light would need to be on and shut off needed to occur while at dealerships service centers. Car was purchased April of 2015 as a pre-owned / pre-certified vehicle. Manufacturer warranty for power train will end November 2017. All other warranties have ended.

- Greensboro, NC, USA

problem #11

Aug 212016

CR-V

  • miles
Takata recall-I went to paragon Honda service station after receiving a notice from dmv about the airbag recall. That was back in August 2016 they took down my information and said they would notify me. Since then I have called them and checked the website and nothing has happened. I'm am afraid to drive the car because in the event of an accident this could prove to be fatal. I contacted Honda corporate since contacting paragon has proven to be useless. The provided me with a case number 05807660 spoke someone named dani very snotty.

- Woodside, NY, USA

problem #10

Nov 112016

CR-V

  • 45,000 miles
Viper 4105 remote start system installed 11/19/2013 by an authorized dealer (waxwerks indianapolis, in). Over the next three years the starter was used sporadically and the system was re-programed twice when malfunctioning. On 11/07/2016 the remote start function was tested in anticipation of colder weather and worked as required. On 11/08/2016 after being driven to the local library and turned off the vehicle attempted to start on its own with no one inside or near the vehicle and the remote controls three miles away from the vehicle. The same incident happened again several times a day on 11/09, 11/10 and 11/11. In all cases the remote controls were not in or near the vehicle and the vehicle had been turned off according to normal procedure. On 11/11 we went to dinner and following dinner went to a local music club. When parked outside the music club the vehicle attempted to start three times after being turned off and the doors locked. Following the music club the vehicle was pulled into the garage and the garage door was closed. As we entered the house from the attached garage the vehicle started and continued to run even though the keys had been removed and the ignition turned off. The vehicle was immediately moved outside the garage until the problem could be resolved. On Saturday, 11/12 the vehicle was taken to waxwerks (6816 East 82nd street, indianapolis, in 46250) and the viper 4105 was removed and the vehicle electrical system restored to ome. The viper 410 and the two remote starters are in my possession. In all the above cases the vehicle was stationary on a city street or a private parking lot/ drive way. I have the original viper documentation and the installation receipt. When the viper 4205 was removed on 11/12 waxwerks did not charge for the labor and did not provide a receipt. They did return the originally installed unit to me.

- Carmel, IN, USA

problem #9

Jul 112016

CR-V

  • miles
My car used to run 24mpg. Now drop down to the 15-18mpg. I don't know what is going on? also the air conditioner run on summer will be hot air out.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #8

May 122016

CR-V

  • miles
My Honda CR-V driver side door started locking and unlocking the doors about 2 - 3yrs ago. Finally the driver side lock stop working. Willet Honda found the lock actuator to be bad and replaced the item for $313.68. I reported this information to american Honda case 04691393 & 03969708.

- Rex, GA, USA

problem #7

Apr 172016

CR-V

  • 54,000 miles
Back in October 2015, my husband was driving me to the airport at 5 am. As we approached to turn onto the highway, the power steering died and the electrical system turned off. We were stuck in the middle of a dangerous intersection with no way to fix the car. We could not shift the car into neutral to push it off the road. The police came and some good samaritans. Someone found a way to manually pop something off to force the car to shift and that's how we got the vehicle off the road. I had my 3 year old son with me at the time too. It was an incredibly dangerous situation. While I was away, the mechanic shop looked at my car and said it was the computer. They said it was like a 2K fix. We had it towed to the millenium Honda because that's the dealership of purchase. Millenium Honda fixed it and said it was the ignition fuse. Now it's April and out of normal use (my car is 2011 and only 54K mile), the car won't start. It was fully functioning the night before and nothing was left on. Stationary in the driveway, it would not start. It's not the battery because that was changed in March. No sound when you turn the key. Nothing was left on. Today, waiting for dealership to come to a conclusive resolution to the situation. This has shaken my belief in the reliability of my car. Whether it's a computer problem or whatever, it is putting my family and I in danger if it does not function properly. Power steering or electrical failure is not ok. It could have happened on the road. What then? first incident 10/31/15 and now this one 4/17/16.

- East Meadow, NY, USA

problem #6

Jun 122015

CR-V

  • 32,000 miles
Un wanted acceleration at low speeds while parking or stopping, car thrust forward without foot being on gas pedal, especially when attempting to park ect.or pulling into a parking space at low speed with foot on brake.this is not a floor mat issue at all. Has happened 5 0R 6 times at random. Complained at dealership, they stated no one else has had the problem reported to them. Could easly run someone over or crash into something.happens very quick without warning...

- Florence, AL, USA

problem #5

May 012015

CR-V

  • 100,000 miles
Drivers side door lock actuators failing inconsistently and randomly. Sometimes vehicle cannot be locked or unlocked. When drivers side rear actuator fails the trunk also fails to open.

- New Market, MD, USA

problem #4

Jun 092015

CR-V

  • 28,980 miles
Door lock actuator problem: Drivers rear door lock is in open mode to lock and unlock. Honda dealer tested and then replaced door lock actuator. Due to the same actuator problem Honda settled a class action law suit for class vehicles (2007-2008 Honda Cr-vs and certain 2009 Honda Cr-vs) on September 19, 2014, by and between american Honda motor co., Inc. ("Honda") and plaintiffs in davitt V. Honda North America, Inc., case no. 13-381 (D.N.J.) (the "litigation"). (settlement-claims.com/doorlock/index.aspx).

- Okemos, MI, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »