10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 0
Average Mileage:
12,226 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Honda Fit:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #101

Aug 112018

Fit

  • miles
Side curtain airbag system required replacement after driver's seat belt did not lock intermittently after starting car and buckling; warning light came on/remained on. Vehicle was parked. Repair cost: $1,443.

- Fishkill, NY, USA

problem #100

Jul 092018

Fit

  • 0 miles
There are no available recalls reported on NHTSA for the 2009 Honda Fit. However, there are several takata recalls

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #99

Sep 092017

Fit

  • 80,000 miles
In addition to the takata inflators recall, the SRS computer is not functioning. When the dealership replaced an inflator last year, they noticed that the SRS computer is completely dead and said I will need to purchase a new one.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #98

Jul 192016

Fit

  • 60,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Honda Fit. While driving approximately 15 mph, a second vehicle crashed into the front driver's side door of the contact's vehicle. The vehicle was destroyed, but neither the side curtain nor front driver's side air bags deployed. The driver sustained a fractured neck, and injuries to the head, face, right shoulder, hip, and knee. Medical attention was received. The cause of the failures was not determined. A police report was filed. The local dealer and manufacturer were not notified. The failure mileage was 60,000.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #97

Jun 202017

Fit

  • miles
I was in a car accident in June of this year involving multiple cars on a highway at 65 mph where I was hit several times, and none of the airbags deployed. My car was totaled

- College Park, GA, USA

problem #96

Sep 242017

Fit

  • 100,000 miles
"takata recall" we got into a car accident all the airbags deployed and exploded my god daughter was hurt but not by the accident but by the airbags that burned my goddaughters face (nose, eye and lip) burned her shoulder. A friend of mine was driving my vehicle she ran a stop sign that was not visible due to the lighting and also all of the trees right infront of it. She didn't know of see the stop sign she ran it and got hit front passenger side.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #95

Aug 022017

Fit 4-cyl

  • 64,938 miles
My daughter, [xxx] purchased the vehicle April 5th 2017. The passenger takata air bag was replaced september2016 the drivers takata air bag replaced March 2017 at mcclarta Honda work # 669716. In little rock, ar. A few days before she purchased it. The officer investigating the crash stated he was 100% sure the drivers airbag should have been deployed due the serious impact. I contacted Honda and an inspector is being dispatched to make sure the air bag was reinstalled correctly. Hondas case # [xxx] has been moved to a priority 1 status please advise me if there are any other occurrences of this nature and log this incident please for future reference information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Roland, AR, USA

problem #94

Jul 212017

Fit

  • 152,000 miles
I was driving down two lane and my radio started cutting off and on and my steering started to lock up and became hard to steer I pulled on side street and pulled into a driveway and each sharp turn with steering wheel having to make a hard cut it would die down and when I finally got car straightend out it was diffucult to guide I turned the car off and restarted it and it seemed to run okay and then it happened again parking the car at my home

- Atlanta, GA, USA

problem #93

Jun 262017

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. I continue to get notices for car I no longer own. Car was traded to economy Honda during purchase of vehicle. I have call economy Honda to ask why they did not update records.

- Harriman, TN, USA

problem #92

Mar 252017

Fit

  • miles
I have been trying to get Honda of kirkland, Washington to repair my airbags since September of 2016. They keep putting it off and now they say they can't do it until the end of May. That is over an 8 month wait, Honda is the one that told me I needed the service.

- Kenmore, WA, USA

problem #91

Mar 052017

Fit

  • 110,000 miles
There are two recall notices for this vehicle related to airbags, but Honda says that the remedy is not available yet. Car was involved in a crash. Vehicle was moving at the time on a city street. The car had substantial damage. Interior airbag did not deploy. Value of car is reduced due to this defect that cannot be remedied, and I believe that Honda should reimburse me for my loss in value due to the defective nature of the car.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #90

Jul 152016

Fit

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V346000 (air bags) for the front passenger air bag inflator and NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) for the front driver's air bag inflator. The part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Thompson Falls, MT, USA

problem #89

Feb 062017

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall I received a letter notifying me of the recall in March 2016. It said that the parts were not yet available and I would receive a follow up letter when they became available in summer 2016. I never received a follow up letter as of February 2017.

- Troy, MI, USA

problem #88

Jul 012016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall: I have received several letters stating that my car has a safety defect related to the takata airbags. The last letter was in July 2016. In it, it states that if Honda or the dealer (richard's Honda in baton rouge, Louisiana) has failed to remedy the defect within 60 days. I actually called over a year ago and they kept telling me that they would send a letter when the part was ready. Well, its been over a year and I've received nothing stating that the part is ready.

- Port Allen, LA, USA

problem #87

Jan 132017

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall I was notified on March 2016 about the takata recall. I called my local Honda dealership in September 2016 to have this issue resolved. At that time, they informed me that they didn't have the parts to resolve the defect. I have yet to be contacted about a fix for the defect.

- Fort Lee, NJ, USA

problem #86

Feb 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall - I was contacted nearly a year ago (Feb 2016), informing me that my airbag inflators were being recalled and that more information would be provided at a later date. I was contacted in May 2016 letting me know that the replacement parts would be available in late summer/early fall 2016, and that Honda would contact me again when they were available. I have not heard anything more from Honda, and that is unacceptable. My car has been unsafe to drive for the past year, and yet I still need to drive it to get to work. It's time for Honda to take steps to replace this part and make my car safe again so I can stop living in fear of getting into an accident and having my airbag inflate and kill me!

- Piedmont, CA, USA

problem #85

Jul 162016

Fit

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owned a 2009 Honda Fit. While traveling 25 mph, another vehicle crashed into the contact's vehicle. The air bags failed to deploy. The contact sustained injuries that required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was towed and declared a total loss. The manufacturer was not notified. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 65,000.

- Springfield, MO, USA

problem #84

Jul 052016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall has not been remedied yet and, according to the website, the "remedy is not yet available." I received my first notification of the recall early last year (2016), saying that I would be notified when the issue is ready to be addressed, and as of yet still have not heard anything.

- Santa Monica, CA, USA

problem #83

Mar 122016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 16V061000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Glen Allen, VA, USA

problem #82

May 232016

Fit

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Honda Fit. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 16V061000 (air bags) and 16V346000 (air bags) however the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced an issue. VIN tool confirms parts unavailable.

- Culver City, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »