10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,654 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Genesis:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #39

Oct 212013

Genesis

  • 114,000 miles
My wife and I were traveling to work on I10 West between quincy & tallahassee Florida when she attempted to slow down and get off the exit when she press the brake pedal and the car would not. I yelled to her to pump the brake and the car suddenly begin to slow down. We took the car to the dealership and they eventually told us after two day that it was the ABS modulator and the part & service is $2400. Refuse to pay. Took the car in for a brake fluid recall and replacement of brake switch just a month ago.

- Quincy, FL, USA

problem #38

Sep 192013

Genesis

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact was driving 45 mph when the brakes were applied to stop the vehicle. The brakes failed and the parking brake was used. The vehicle was merged off the roadway and was towed to an independent mechanic. The master cylinder and calipers were replaced, but the issue was not corrected. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 83000.

- Providence, RI, USA

problem #37

Aug 052013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 45,000 miles
My local dealer, kuhio motors, has failed to correct a brake problem that has been on-going for over two months. The dashboard warning lights for the anti-lock brakes (ABS) and electronic stability control (ESC) have been burning continuously for over two months. Kuhio motors, my Hyundai dealer, has failed to correct the problem after three visits for service. I understand that several Genesis drivers have experienced brake failure due to a defective braking control module.

- Princeville, HI, USA

problem #36

Oct 122013

Genesis

  • 90,000 miles
I was driving around 45 mph when the car in front of me braked suddenly to avoid an animal in the street. My brakes did not initially work at all and I had them to the floor. After about 3 seconds they began to brake. Now my pedal can be pushed to the floor without braking and I have to pump them to get them to work. It was the first time I have experienced that problem, but since the incident they will not brake but very slowly.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #35

Aug 132013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 106,115 miles
Traveling on freeway when a vehicle suddenly changed lanes in front of me causing me to brake suddenly and hard. The brake pedal went down, the vehicle slowed, and then the brake pedal started to go down further but the car didn't stop. I had to pump the brake pedal several times in order to avoid hitting the vehicle in front of me. Afterwards the brake pedal was very "soft" and it didn't initiate any slowing of the car unless I pumped the brake pedal several times.

- Pasadena, CA, USA

problem #34

Aug 162013

Genesis

  • 102,713 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Genesis. The contact stated that while driving 35 mph, the brake pedal was depressed and went nearly to the floorboard without warning. The contact mentioned that the vehicle became hard to stop. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the electro-hydraulic control unit needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 102,713 and the current mileage was 107,000.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #33

Sep 062012

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 33,471 miles
On 9/6/2012 my wife was driving at approximately 40 mph, when a pickup truck pulled in front of her, she applied the brakes and the pedal went almost to the floor, but she managed to stop the vehicle. She immediately drove it home, and I tested the vehicle with the same results, the brakes went almost to the floor. Called Hyundai and they had the car towed. Picked the car up on 9/12/2012. Hyundai diagnosed the problem as a failed ABS unit. Thankfully the car was under warranty, since the cost to repair was $2071. Since I just heard about the recall, I thought it was important to report that the problem happened over 1 year ago.

- Apopka, FL, USA

problem #32

Aug 292013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 73,762 miles
2009 Hyundai Genesis with 4.6 liter V8 engine experienced brake failure at approximately 9:00 am while traveling at approximately 40 mph. The brake pedal went soft and went to floor with greatly reduced braking affect. No warning lights appeared on the instrument panel indicating a brake failure or any other problem with the vehicle. The vehicle was brought to the local Hyundai dealership who indicated that a service notification had been issued concerning the brake fluid (campaign #TL6 20C022ro) and the fluid would be replaced. After the fluid was replaced the brakes were still inoperative. The dealership service department next said the brake ABS module had failed (hecu). The costly ABS module was replaced and the brake operation returned to normal.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #31

Jul 112013

Genesis

  • 35,000 miles
I own a 2009 Hyundai Genesis 4 door sedan, 6 cylinder. On 3 occasions this past summer, in rapid succession, my brakes failed, and in 1 instance I narrowly avoided an accident on the highway. The brake pedal inexplicably goes all the way to the floor before the car finally comes to a slow stop. Very dangerous. Brought it to the dealer, who kept it for 2 days. They said they replaced the brake fluid(they said it was a recall item and they never contacted me about it, they admitted) and they charged me for replacing my front brakes. Have had the car a month now, and its happened twice more-this is an accident waiting to happen for me or anyone else with a Hyundai Genesis.

- Downingtown, PA, USA

problem #30

Oct 202013

Genesis

  • 69,000 miles
My wife normally drives the car, but over this past weekend I drover her vehicle. I noticed that everytime I came to a stop and kept my foot on the brake pedal, it would slowly go to the floor. After experiencing again. On Sunday 10/20/2013, I pulled off the road and checked the brake fluid in the master cylinder, it was full. Having worked in manufacturing, more specifically in the manufacturing of ABS automatic braking systems, there are software issues that surface periodically. Unfortunately, they are not handled as quickly, by the car manufacturer ( they design the software), as one would hope.

- Southport, NC, USA

problem #29

Apr 272012

Genesis 4-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
While driving on H street ne in Washington DC during the day, I applied the brakes from a speed of approximately 25 mph. As I passed over some gravelly surface, the anti-lock mechanisms activated. After the initial rapid pulsation associated with antilock braking, however, the brake pedal went soft and traveled nearly the full distance to the floor before re-engaging. The brakes remained in this condition for several minutes, but they returned to normal after about 10 minutes and several applications. The incident occurred again on a gravel road in late July 2012. This time the brakes never returned to normal. Instead, to apply the brakes, I would have to push the pedal nearly all the way to the floor. The local Hyundai dealership took my car in for service, and after a few weeks and different attempted solutions, fixed the problem. The problem has not recurred since July 2012.

- Annapolis, MD, USA

problem #28

Jul 022013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 48,328 miles
Brake malfunction; repairs done at dealership.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #27

Jun 162012

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 74,968 miles
Recurrent/ongoing brakes lights failure since June 2012 (brake lamp diode blows out frequently causing brake lamps to be inoperative). Spongy brakes. Have to pump and push harder than normal on brake pedal to stop. Car serviced at tameron Hyundai dealer in B'ham, al (states ESC hydraulic module internal valve malfunction, needs replacement).....updated 05/20/14 the consumer no longer owns this vehicle. The vehicle was voluntarily released to the creditor and was sold April 2014. The consumer does not know if the vehicle was repaired. Updated 05/28/2014

- Hoover, AL, USA

problem #26

Jul 012012

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
While approaching stopped traffic on interstate-70 I applied brakes hard enough to engage the ABS system. Subsequent braking resulted in the brake pedal having excessive travel to within 1/2 inch of the floor board, making future stopping very unpredictable and resulting in multiple near miss accidents. The brake pedal corrected itself within about 3 days of normal driving. This exact same thing has occurred every time the ABS has been engaged, which is at least 3 additional times since the first incident. Each time the problem has cleared up in about 3 days, but the brakes are very unpredictable and dangerous during that time.

- Greenwood, MO, USA

problem #25

Oct 022013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 76,102 miles
My wife was coming to a stop and the brake pedal immediately went all the way to the floor and luckily for me she instinctively pumped the pedal and it eventually stopped but it scared the living crap out of her! she then proceeded on the freeway and at some point traffic became stop and go and she was nervous driving in it which I don't blame her. Now she is afraid to drive her own car which is her daily commuter"?" ]now the car just came out of warranty and I already know that I going to catch[xxx]trying to get this [xxx] ABS thing replaced!! it's apparent what is causing the issue based off the same complaint. When in actuality it should be covered by Hyundai!!! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fontana, CA, USA

problem #24

Sep 212013

Genesis

  • 133,000 miles
4.6L traveling at 50mph and applied brake to come to a stop at a traffic light. Brake went all the way to the floor. My car was packed with children and I went into panic mode as I had to pump my brakes to bring the car to a stop. I had brakes one moment and no brakes the next moment. After several hours, the issue has not gone away and I'm scared to even drive to dealer. After research online, it is a shame to see the ongoing issues with this problem alone with accidents involved. There should be repercussions to Hyundai. This is one of many costly issues with this car. It's a money pit for less than three years!! this issue is by far the scariest of them all.

- Crestwood, KY, USA

problem #23

Sep 142013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 27,000 miles
Driving about 40 mph, when I had to stop suddenly for the red light at the intersection, for some reason brakes was real soft. It was very clear that I wasn't able to stop the car as expected, checked all the fluids and brakes for any leaks. Everything looked normal but brake pedal still go all the way to the floor.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #22

Sep 092013

Genesis 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
While driving with family on day before father-in-laws funeral my brake pedal went to floor. After restarting several times same thing experienced. No fault codes seen read many online forum posts with same problems. Braking power reduced by approx 70%. scary to drive car now. This should be recalled. All posts point to ABS unit failure. Dealer called for and did tsb change to high temp brake fluid at last service. Related to attempt and prevent this?? could very well be. Please help.

- Santa Clarita, CA, USA

problem #21

Aug 302013

Genesis 8-cyl

  • 26,972 miles
This is the second time brake lights failed. No indication to driver. Almost caused an accident. Same diode package replaced as the first failure reported less than a year ago and 5 K miles. Updated 10/22/13 the consumer statedall brake lights fail including the right, left and center.

- Fleming Island, FL, USA

problem #20

Sep 272012

Genesis

  • 22,142 miles
All brake lights failed no indication to operator

- Fleming Island, FL, USA

Read the next 19 complaints »