1.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
151,865 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Hyundai Sonata:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #21

May 032019

Sonata

  • 70,000 miles
Rear end of vehicle sways around as if driving on ice. Feels exactly like descriptions of issue with recall 13V354000. Hyundai says vehicle is not included in recall. Excessive play in rear end, and very noticeable burning smell coming from rear end after driving. Causing excessive wear of rear brakes and tires. Has caused rear brake hoses to fail. Occasionally brake pedal sinks to floor while driving in stop and go traffic. While traveling at highway speeds, vehicle feels as if a gust of wind could send it off the road. Need to do a ton of steering to keep the car going straight. Front end was aligned 25,000 miles ago.

- Bayville, NY, USA

problem #20

Feb 202019

Sonata

  • 107,000 miles
Power steering gets stiff and makes it hard to turn intermittently. I took it to dealership for them to charge me $145 just to say nothing is wrong.

- Gary, IN, USA

problem #19

Dec 232018

Sonata

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. While driving approximately 40 mph, the steering wheel started to turn left and right independently and the traction control and electronic stability control warning indicators illuminated. The contact coasted the vehicle to the side of the road, but did not power off the engine. The contact slowly drove to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the crossmember was corroded and the rear driver side wheel almost detached. The vehicle was towed to suresky Hyundai (2 hatfield ln, goshen, NY 10924, (845) 294-5177) where it was diagnosed that the crossmember was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was in the process of being repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided a case number. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Milford, PA, USA

problem #18

Jan 012015

Sonata

  • 90,000 miles
While driving at various speeds the "ESC off" light illuminates for no reason. This has happened while driving on the freeway, normal surface streets, and has occurred while braking. Power steering goes out randomly during turns while on city streets or highways. Took the vehicle to a mechanic who tested the power steering and found no issue with the power steering pump. The pump is in good working order and did not need to be replaced. I had seen other complaints on the steering, with a recall issued, on 2008 and 2011 Sonata models, however the 2009 model was not included. This is very dangerous and could cause a crash. On those recalls the computer circuit board in the power steering control unit had become damaged and made the vehicle more difficult to turn possibly causing a wreck. Steering issue has been ongoing over the years.

- Corona, CA, USA

problem #17

Oct 202018

Sonata

  • 1,716,152 miles
When starting the car, engine makes screeching loud noises mostly on cold cranks. The ignition switch by passes the alt position and starts the car. Makes loud noise like starter is not releasing.

- Burlington, NC, USA

problem #16

Apr 282017

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. While driving 30 mph and attempting to make a right turn, the steering wheel failed to turn. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (maple hill auto group, 5622 w main St, kalamazoo, mi 49009) where the dealer found no issue with the power steering. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact also stated that the failure recurred several other times, but the failure was not frequent. The manufacturer was not contacted. The approximate failure mileage was 68,000.

- Kalamazoo, MI, USA

problem #15

Sep 242014

Sonata

  • 75,000 miles
Both of my 2009 Sonata's have/had the same problem. I gotten rid of 1 of them. Power steering goes out intermittently when turning. Dealer never documented but did put power steering fluid in. 2011 Sonata's did have a recall. Hyundai said out of warranty now as it has 117K miles. Both my 2009 Sonata's had the problem, I wife got rid of hers last year. Plese make Hyundai do the right thing....driving is unsafe with faulty steering.

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 172017

Sonata 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 80,248 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. While the vehicle was stationary, the steering wheel and the ignition switch seized without warning. The vehicle was towed to tysinger Hyundai in hampton, Virginia to be repaired, but the dealer could not find the cause of the failure. In addition, the dealer stated that a locksmith would need to unlock the ignition. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was approximately 80,248. Updated 10/18/17

- Hampton, VA, USA

problem #13

Jul 252017

Sonata

  • 0 miles
Vehicle sitting in drive way. Gear shift wont wont move, and ignition key won't turn to start engine.seems to be a problem with ignition switch

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #12

Jun 052017

Sonata

  • 150,000 miles
Steering is locking up in turns while turning on the highway! this is very dangerous! just called dealership & there was no recall on this however if you search steering problems on the internet it's a very known problem for these cars! something needs done!

- Quinwood, WV, USA

problem #11

Aug 202016

Sonata

  • 89,000 miles
My light keeps coming on and off on the ESC not sure why or what to do.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #10

Aug 152016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • miles
When running sometime the steering wheel will be hard to turn when turning left or right, I contacted Hyundai for this is part of the recall on all Hyundai Sonata built on December 2009. But Hyundai is telling me that it not cover by the recall on the steering wheel problem. What do I have to do to fixed this problem....updated 04/11/17

- Fresno, CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 072016

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Hyundai Sonata. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the steering wheel seized. The contact stated that the failure had gotten progressively worse and became a frequent failure. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 110,000. Updated 05/10/16 the consumer stated the steering eventually returned to normal. Updated 05/11/16.

- Manteca, CA, USA

problem #8

Sep 242015

Sonata

  • miles
When I went to start my car I could not start my car the key switch keeps locking and then the steering wheel will lock up when U are trying to get the key out and I was even pushing on the brake to get it to release the lock it took five minutes to finally to get the key to turn to start the car. I have had it one day where I could not turn the car off and the key was stuck in it and the dealer ship could not even get the car to shut off or get the key to turn it was also stuck in it. I'm worried about being somewhere where I can't start the car or the key stuck in it and it's locked up all together for good I've heard there been complaints about the same problem and if it's gonna be fixed or not

- Miami , OK, USA

problem #7

Aug 012014

Sonata

  • 120,000 miles
The steering goes in and out of power steering at slow to medium speeds from Aug 2014 to today.

- O'fallon, IL, USA

problem #6

Jan 132015

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 33,000 miles
Power steering failed totally on 1/12/15--manual hard steering worked. In September I took Sonata in for stop light recall and also had a 4 wheel alignment done. Got 5 minutes down the road when the ESC light came on which was supposed to be a problem in the recall. I took it right back and they said something probably didn't get reset after the alignment. Ever since the power steering was very tight and sometimes intermittent until the car was warmed up. Computer check showed nothing wrong. Worked well for about 4 weeks and then power steering totally disappeared on 1/12/15--car was towed to Hyundai dealer. Diagnosis: Coupler seized up--maybe corrosion or wear"?? I had a truly perfect car when I went for recall now I have a huge repair bill. I am the only driver of this garaged car with low mileage--something doesn't seem right with this whole scenario. Could the rot that is reported in a second recall of the rear be also happening in the front end"

- Chelmsford, MA, USA

problem #5

Sep 112012

Sonata

  • 44,000 miles
During the last couple of weeks of rain, we have had multiple occasions where our vehicle has lost power steering and our battery light goes on during low speed operation.. there was no deep puddles, just normal rain on streets. In some cases, total stall and others engine screeches and restarts. Without warning. Filed complaint with Hyundai America. Took to dealer. Was advised this was a known problem for 2007-2009 Hyundai Sonatas. And there was no known fix. Had vehicle checked. Advised all splash guards and shields in place. Could not be duplicated at dealership. One service rep at dealership advised his wife has same problem. All belts and pulleys and tension springs ok. We are very disappointed in the response we have received at Hyundai to a "known " safety problem. To be more specific, five(5) occasions have occurred. Told to come back when it rains.

- Tampa, FL, USA

problem #4

Aug 302014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 50,000 miles
My steering and brakes suddenly locked up. I had my kids in the car and lucky that it happened right by my house. No traffic. Even the suspension was affected.I immediately got kids out of the car and contacted my insurance to tow the car.

- San Jose, CA, USA

problem #3

Jul 292014

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
The ESC light has been going off intermittently in my vehicle for the past 2 weeks, causing the shifter to downshift instead of keep moving the car when I press the gas, and the gas pedal becomes unresponsive. This happened on the interstate (I-78) today, and I almost got into an accident in the middle lane. I researched the problem, and it seems there was a recall on previous Hyundai models, yet Hyundai has failed to address this issue in the 2009 Sonata. There needs to be a recall regarding this issue. It is very dangerous, and could be related to the crankshaft sensor or a number of things, but bottom line, it causes the car to become unresponsive while in motion, and the driver needs to pull over, shut off the car, and turn it on again for it to maybe work, maybe not. This is a horrible headache that needs to be addressed, and I am sure that I am not the only Sonata owner with this issue. Here is evidence: www.sonataforums.com/forum/Hyundai-Sonata-engine-technical-discussion/1906-ESC-off-light-comes-intermittantly.html so please get it done and issue a much needed recall for this major safety issue before someone gets hurt.

- Somerset, NJ, USA

problem #2

Nov 252013

Sonata 4-cyl

  • 98,000 miles
Driving car and pulled in parking space, put in reverse to turn around and steering column was totally disconnected. The steering wheel just went round and round and I had absolutely no control of the car. Had I not been in a parking lot it could have been a fetal crash in the 8 am work traffic. I find on the consumer report web site that this has happened to others as well. However my dealer charged me for all the repairs and a towing fee. I have no faith in this car anymore.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

Read the next 1 complaints »