10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
30,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2016 Jeep Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #105

Feb 062019

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 1 miles
Takata recall after starting the car and staying stationary starts to shake. While driving shakes even more and has stalled on me while driving with my toddler in car seat in back. Then it did it again 2 more times just glad my son wasn't in the car. Now check engine light lit up today Feb-6-2019. There have been plenty of complaints of these type of issues. My vehicle is under warranty still as it is a lease. I will not be leasing Jeep anymore.

- Woodside, NY, USA

problem #104

Feb 042019

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 41,000 miles
Twice in the past week my Jeep has just stalled while driving, both on 2/1/19 and 2/4/19 I was going around 35-40 mph. I am able to coast the Jeep off the road and then I needed to wait a few minutes before it starts up again. The on board computer system display does not show any problems. Upon research it seems several people have reported the same problem.

- Hilo, HI, USA

problem #103

Feb 022019

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 42,000 miles
Car was in drive/run mode and car cut off. Steering wheel locked up. Car coasted to stop. Unable to control.

- West Palm Beach, FL, USA

problem #102

Nov 032018

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 3,400 miles
Engine stalls and dies without warning while driving. After shutdown a message on the dash tells you to put it into park to start the car again, engine will restart after 2 min but will fail to restart if you try sooner. Very dangerous, this has happened 6 times now while driving. Started at 33K miles and I am now at 42K, 1st time dealer said fill up oil, 2nd time service dept said nothing wrong but updated software, 3rd time service department has never heard of this before and no idea but told me to trade my car in for something else. Very dangerous as has happened on a freeway while moving, each time is without warning and you lose all engine and power.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #101

Jan 292019

Cherokee

  • 45,196 miles
While driving on a residential street, my 2016 Jeep Cherokee latitude with 45,196 miles displayed the "service shifter" message on the dashboard. The prnd shifter lights were all lit up red. Pulled over, put the car in park, restarted the vehicle and the message did not appear. Later in the day, the radio display stopped working. Scheduled a service appointment with the dealership.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #100

Jan 152019

Cherokee

  • 27,700 miles
This is safety concern! 2016 Jeep Cherokee car would stop while you driving high speed without any warning sign and all the light will come on can not shifting or restart the car. It happened on me twice already. One time on highway I-95, one time on a busy local road at pa. Jeep dealership said it was computer updating, I could not get it. After first time they repaired it, I did feel something wired with the car. So I brought it back to Jeep dealership two more time for diagnose. They all said the car had no problem. Not even a month, it happened again. Suddenly stop! this time they still trying to fix it for me, but I could not trust Jeep again. I mean if they can fix it, it would not happened again after three time what ever fix or diagnose.

- Mount Royal, NJ, USA

problem #99

Jan 142019

Cherokee

  • 49,000 miles
Our 2016 Jeep Cherokee (latitude 4WD) has been stalling after a cold start. The battery indicator flashes and then registers a message to place the car in P to shift into gear. I have been able to restart the car after waiting 30-60 sec, sometimes while in traffic. The vehicle was at the dealership on 1/14/19 and I was told that there wasnżT any oil on the dipstick. The engine is possibly burning oil but there are no indicators or status updates when the system is checked. I was told by the dealership that they are aware of an engine issue with the 2016 Jeep Cherokee. An oil consumption test is needed before the engine can be replaced (if needed). Oil consumption test initiated 1/14/19. Chrysler/Jeep is aware of this issue and has not issued a safety recall. Negligence by Chrysler for not responding to this significant defect and safety issue.

- Allendale, MI, USA

problem #98

Oct 182018

Cherokee

  • 30,000 miles
Vehicle shut off while my husband was driving.took vehicle to dealership. Was 3 quarts low. We have been told by the dealership that their hands are tied, that this engine uses about a quart of oil every 1000 miles but the engine is designed to shut off before it would blow engine. My husband told the dealership that if they put an engine in a vehicle that uses oils this way they should let people know. We have talked to Chrysler with nothing other than have an oil consumption test done which we did. We now keep oil and check on a regular basis

- Loyall, KY, USA

problem #97

Dec 132018

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 64,000 miles
About a month ago, my 2016 Jeep started to stall as I was driving the vehicle. The steering wheel locks and the battery sign flashes, then the car tells me to place the car in park. I shut the car off, wait about two minutes then restart the car. Sometimes I will make it to my destination, sometimes it stalls on me again. It's happened too many times, and I scared to drive the car anymore. It has been in a shop for three weeks now, and there is nothing that they can find wrong with the vehicle. They hook it up to a machine, but no error messages are reported to them.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #96

Oct 202018

Cherokee

  • 34,000 miles
The RPM's on this transmission in this vehicle go up very high but the transmission does not shift into gear. The vehicle sputters and slows on the open road. The engine does run on all cylinders. The engine has no power. This creates a safety risk on a highway. Also the differential locks up when you have to hit the brakes and three rear of the car locks up and skids left of center. Party's of the suspension have broken for no apparent reason. The left rear control arm broke for no apparent reason. I have been informed by a Jeep dealership that this vehicle is unsafe to drive. I have filed complaints with Chrysler on three occasions informing them of the numerous issues with this vehicle. I was advised to get a diagnostic test done and they would work with me to buy this car back. I did as requested and now being informed I will probably have to go to arbitration. Three times now when I applied the brakes hard on a highway the East locked up and the left rear of my car skidded and I had no control. I nearly hit a retaining wall. I have a vehicle that the dealership has deemed unsafe to drive.

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #95

Jan 082019

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 36 miles
My Jeep keeps breaking down while the vehicle is in motion and I have almost been in several wrecks because of it. I have now done my own research on this issue going on with cars that have my same year make and model and have been experience the same exact issues as I am all over the us. I have been speaking with some of these people who were writing these comments on the Jeep website and they have all said they are not dependable and highly unsafe as they have also almost got into wrecks because of it. At this point its only a matter of time before someone is gets hurt due to the vehicle shutting down while in motion or worse, death. Something must be done to stop the sale of this unsafe vehicle. I am stunned nothing has yet to be done about this. My car has now been in the shop since I bought it and no one can figure out what is wrong with it. I have had to take it back 3 times and the issue is not getting fixed. Now, I'm told that they are having to open some "star" thing - which has something to do with asking the manufacture if these issues are common and what to do to fix them. This is ridiculous that I have been put through hell and they don't even know if the car can be fixed. As of right now the car is completely broken down and no one knows how to fix it. All these other people are having the same issue with the dealerships not being able to figure out what is wrong so they just give the broken car back to the owner and it goes back on the road. I am telling yall this is very unsafe. Consumer stated car is fixed.

- Katy, TX, USA

problem #94

Jan 032019

Cherokee

  • 49,000 miles
I have a 2016 Jeep Cherokee sport. My check engine light came on. I was told there was a thermostat issue. My total repair cost for this one problem was $866.06 at the paramus NJ dealer. IżM extremely disappointed that I had such an expensive repair when my car is 2016 and I have less than 50,000 miles. IżM also disappointed that I was told only dealers can update the computer on my vehicle. I have heard of several Jeep owners complaining of sensor issues noting repair work wasnżT necessary. Also, with the check engine light on my auto start did not work.

- Wanaque, NJ, USA

problem #93

Dec 212018

Cherokee

  • 46,000 miles
Bought the car 10/3/2018 with a fresh oil change, 12/18/2018 car shut off on husband while driving with kids in the car (the engine died, steering locked up, the battery light flashed and an error popped up that said to put the transmission in park and select the desired gear) no oil light ever came on to warn low oil 12/20/2018 car shut off twice while driving, check engine light came on went to dealer and oil change was completed, less than 4K miles driven and there was only ½ quart of oil left in engine (5 qt burned) 12/21/2018 called dealer because car skipped, was told normal due to air getting into engine causing a misfire should be fine now 1/7/2019 car sputtered twice while driving, felt like it shut off brought car to dealer and the car was low by 1 ½ quarts of oil started oil consumption testing. When car stalls out it is while you are driving and happens without warning, I was in the middle of an intersection the first time it happened to me. I could have been killed to "save their engine"

- Holyoke, MA, USA

problem #92

Jan 252017

Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
Purchased vehicle on 12/14/2015. On 1/25/17, at 17,000 miles the vehicle stalled while driving through an intersection. It was raining heavily and causing a traffic issue. Law enforcement had to be called to re-direct traffic. Since the first stall, the vehicle has been to the local Dodge/Jeep dealership four times for the same issues (4/20/17, 8/18/17, 3/25/18 and 12/4/18). They have replaced coils, filters and explained the engine will shut down if it senses low oil. They continue to state the oil consumption as the reason for the stalls. They have no solution but to bring the vehicle in every 1000K miles to check the oil. The vehicle stalled again on 12/25/18. Luckily, I was in a parking lot and the vehicle behind me was going slow enough to stop. If not, I would have been hit with my toddler in the vehicle. Usually it takes several hours for the vehicle to start again but on this incident the vehicle started within 5 minutes. The vehicle is now showing a "service shifter" and the dealer stated it needed a new battery. I replaced the battery and the "service shifter" was back on within 15 days of replacing the battery. This vehicle is a safety hazard.

- San Dimas, CA, USA

problem #91

Dec 272018

Cherokee

  • 33,800 miles
This is in regards to my 2016 Jeep Cherokee latitude. In the last 4 days my car how just completely shut off 3 times on 12/23/18, 12/26/18 and 12/27/18, while I was driving, probably would have been 4 times but I didnżT drive on christmas day. The first 2 times it happened I was leaving my work parking lot driving no more than 10-15 mph. Today 12/27 my car shut off while I was stopped at a stop light. This happens with no warning at all! luckily no one was behind me when I stalled. I have seen many people on social media with this same problem! the dealership says it could be an oil issue, so they are just doing an oil change and they said they recommend bring the car back every 1000 miles to check levels!! what kind of solution is that ? I have young children that I drive to school! I canżT have this happen while driving them!

- Naperville, IL, USA

problem #90

Dec 172018

Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 46,000 miles
When driving I notice when I stop on the brake and gas both would not work. The dashboard icon of the battery illuminated, the notification sound played, and the car slowed to a stop. Also, the notification center displayed "shift to park". I shifted into park, placed my hazard lights on, and waved the cars that were behind me to drive around. Made the attempt to restart twice with no such luck. The third attempt saw the car turn back on successfully.....

- Lake Hopatcong, NJ, USA

problem #89

Dec 142018

Cherokee

  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2016 Jeep Cherokee. While driving 35 mph, the accelerator pedal was depressed and the vehicle stalled without warning. Several minutes later, the vehicle restarted. The vehicle was towed to gladstone Dodge Chrysler Jeep & Ram (5610 N oak trafficway, gladstone, mo 64118, (816) 455-350) where it was diagnosed that there was insufficient oil in the engine. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000.

- Kansas City, KS, USA

problem #88

Dec 152018

Cherokee

  • 40,190 miles
I've had a service shifter message appear numerous times and then disappear. When I would take it in to get looked at I was told that there was no record of that code being displayed in the car log/memory and that the service department at the delearship couldnżT find anything wrong with it. Upon doing research on this message I found that many other people have had this same problem and if left unchecked can cause the vechicle to shift into park while in motion causing loss of control and accidents. I have received this message while both stationary just when I turned the car on, and also while in motion on a road.

- Brisgeville, PA, USA

problem #87

Dec 052018

Cherokee 4-cyl

  • 52,000 miles
Takata recall my 2016 Jeep Cherokee will shut off while in motion. The car died while going through an intersection. I was able to coast into a safe place, but car would not restart again after for a few hours. My husband was driving the car and came to a stop at an intersection when the car died again. The car started rolling backwards and he almost hit the car behind him. This is not safe. We have a one month old child, and I do not feel safe putting her in the car.

- Surprise, AZ, USA

problem #86

Dec 052018

Cherokee

  • 29,581 miles
This Jeep stalls out at low speeds and once stalled out at 55 mph. Dealer says this engine the 2.4L 4 cylinder has oil consumption issues and it is quite normal for the engine to use 1 qt of oil every 1,000 miles

- Laurelville, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »