10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
13,607 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2017 Jeep Compass:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #28

Jul 182018

Compass

  • miles
Takata recall, bought the car in April 2018 and after 2 months I started experiencing a strange kick coming from the engine while driving, I took it numerous times to the Jeep dealership and could never find the problem until 7 months later when it statted to do it kore often. After some research and talking to other Jeep owners with the same car I found out it was a manufacturer defect. Unfortunately, by the time the dealership realized it was a defect, my warranty had expired. 2 days ago, my car completely went out and didnżT turn on, I had to tow it to the dealership and now I am being charged over two-thousand dollars to get an electrical problem fixed. On too of making my monthly payments, I have to pay out of pocket for a lemon vehicle I purchased.

- Fort Worth, TX, USA

problem #27

Aug 102019

Compass

  • 20,000 miles
4 separate time in less than 2 weeks my car completely stopped while I was driving. 2 times while driving to my job in city streets. And 2 times driving on a highway. This is very dangerous

- Weeki Wachee, FL, USA

problem #26

Jul 182019

Compass

  • 17,820 miles
Every 25-30 engine starts the climate control system resets itself and although the vehicle says the air is on it blows hot air for approximately 30 minutes or until you reach a minimum speed of 60 mph before the vehicle kicks over to air. While the heat blows (with ac button lit up) other climate controls cannot be used such as defrost. In addition to this issue, other electrical issues have been recognized such as the dash screen shutting down or restarting while driving and back up cam going black or freezing. Spoke with Jeep customer service today who says the climate control malfunction is a known issue to them but there is no fix at this time.

- Levittown, PA, USA

problem #25

Jan 052018

Compass

  • 6,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that there was an internal electrical failure and the vehicle stalled several times. In addition, there was a loss of engine power and the gear independently shifted into neutral while the vehicle was in operation. The contact stated that various unknown warning indicators flickered and flashed during the failure. Antwerpen Chrysler Jeep (6440 baltimore national pike, baltimore, md 21228, (410) 788-2973) was notified of the failure. The failure recurred and the battery was replaced. An independent mechanic diagnosed that the failure was related to NHTSA campaign number: 17V301000 (power train); however, the dealer and manufacturer indicated that the vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 6,000.

- Kensington, MD, USA

problem #24

Jul 012017

Compass

  • 10 miles
The contact leased a 2017 Jeep Compass. The contact stated that the steering wheel made an abnormal clicking noise. The steering wheel was replaced; however, the failure continued with the steering wheel being structurally unsound. In addition, the fuel gauge failed to provide a proper reading. The gauge indicated that it was empty when there was fuel in the fuel tank and vice versa. The vehicle was not repaired after it was taken back and forth to manhattan Jeep (629 w 54th St, New York, NY 10019, 1-(877) 225-8709). The manufacturer was notified of the failures. The approximate failure mileage was 10.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #23

Jun 192017

Compass

  • 54,000 miles
Car shuts off when coming to a stop when the auto off/on is turned off. Engine light finally started coming on but did not at first. After restarting the car and trying to pull out it dies again sometimes leaving you in the middle of an intersection. I got stranded for about 20 minutes when it shut off. Eventually I was able to get it restarted and get home with it. Not sure if this is related but when turning I can hear a "ding" like a bell. There was also a light that came on which looked like a lightening bolt. I bought the car used and it has always seemed like the idol was set a little to low as it doesn't really move when you take your foot off the brake. Also, when the engine went off the instrument on the dash seemed to think the car was still operational. It wouldn't shut off like if you came home and shut the engine off.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #22

Jun 162019

Compass

  • 28,000 miles
Vehicle has been in the shop four times. All have been control module related. We lose all exterior lights. Vehicle will randomly shut off while in drive. Now we are having an issue with the vehicle not accelerating and is idling rough. All of these happened while the vehicle was in motion. This has been over a span of the past year.

- Trenton, OH, USA

problem #21

Apr 292019

Compass

  • 26,000 miles
Since Iżve had my car the main screen with maps, weather, radio, etc. Has shut off randomly, my speakers have turned up to the max they could go all by themselves without letting me turn anything off, the weather constantly pops up after Iżve cleared it. All of this was fixed with replacing the whole screen. But then after the system would not save my setting for the first 5 times I started it back up. I had to keep saving them. It has had multiple issues, Iżve had to get different tires replaced at least 3-4 times and air leaks, the last being because the belt broke in them. I have an appointment to get my front usb replaced because it randomly stopped working. Iżve had to get other parts replaced that control my driving and now it wonżT start. The lights, radio, gauges, etc. All work but the gauges make a tick sound but the engine wonżT start. There has been two times that it says my car is running but the engine isnżT on. Iżve had my side lights that come on when I turn randomly not work but IżM not sure if that is something IżM doing. I have to read the manual more.

- Ashville, NY, USA

problem #20

Apr 092019

Compass 4-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
My 2017 Jeep Compass is very faulty and has been in the dealership maintenance area for the same issue multiple times. I have attached supporting documentation of the three different times in the shop for the same/similar issues. The following concerns are included in this documentation: (1) the vehicle turned off while in motion driving on a city street, the parking break engaged and prevented the vehicle from moving further in the middle of the city street. (2) the vehicle refused to start when parked in a garage. Once pressing the start button multiple times, the vehicle started and multiple service lights came on, including "service esp" and "service 4WD". this has happened multiple times over the life of owning the vehicle (only 23 months and about 18,000 miles). I have included two service records (the first time and most recent time it was taken to the dealership), I do not have the third record with me as the vehicle is in for maintenance currently and the other invoice is in the vehicle, however you can see record of the second visit in the record from 4/9/2019. I am concerned for my safety and the safety of other drivers given my history with my vehicle and hope to get this permanently fixed instead of putting a band aid on it as the dealership has done.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #19

Dec 122018

Compass

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Jeep Compass. While driving 10 mph, the rear doors opened and a burning odor emitted from the vents without warning. The vehicle was taken to manhattan Jeep (629 w 54th St, New York, NY 10019, (877) 225-8709) to be diagnosed, but the cause of the failure could not be determined. The vehicle was not repaired and the failure recurred. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and did not assist. The failure mileage was 48,000. The VIN was invalid.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #18

Oct 292018

Compass 4-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Jeep Compass. While driving approximately 45 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning. The power steering, brakes, and all electrical and mechanical functions failed to operate. The contact was able to restart the vehicle after approximately four attempts. The vehicle was taken to atlantic Dodge Chrysler Jeep Ram (located at 2330 us-1, St, augustine, fl 32086, (904) 797-4383) where it was diagnosed that there may be bad fuel in the vehicle. The vehicle was refueled; however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer for another diagnostic test. The contact was informed that the oil was below the minimum oil level. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 14,000. Consumer stated that the oil be checked once a week by the dealer. Consumer stated there are no warnings or warnign lights to indicate the problem client is checking the oil consistently 1 quart low for every 2000 miles.

- St.Augustine, FL, USA

problem #17

Jan 092019

Compass

  • 12,300 miles
The vehicle was stopped at a stoplight on a city expressway and when the light turned green the stop/start system failed to restart the engine. It engaged the parking brake in the middle of the road and would not allow me to immediately restart the car. After several attempts to restart the car with traffic flying by me I was finally able to restart the car and disengage the parking break. This has happened multiple times and my dealership says they will not fix it because they are waiting to receive a stop start battery from mopar. It has been on backorder for a month and they dont have a date when it will be fixed. This keeps happening at least once a week and they do nothing to correct the problem. The problem is with the start/stop system made to conserve gas. The system should not leave you stranded in the middle of busy roads where someone can slam into the back of you.

- Newport News, VA, USA

problem #16

Apr 012018

Compass

  • 20,000 miles
The vehicle has been in motion every occurrence and happened on a highway. The Jeep has shut off while I was driving. I had the automatic off turned off and when I stopped at a stop light the Jeep powered down, dash and lights went crazy, and my Jeep would not start back up. It took over 5 minutes to get the Jeep to come back on. There is also a popping noise and a very hard shift at times. When this hard shift occurs it pulls my Jeep to the right, I have had it in the shop several times this year and they cannot figure out the problem. They thought changing my shocks would help but it has not. There is still a popping sound when I hit a certain speed and then it is still shifting extremely hard randomly and jerks the whole Jeep when it happens. It has almost caused me to wreck a couple times especially when I am in a right handed curve and this occurs; it caused me to go off road when I took a right handed curve and it occurred. This has been happening since April 2018, and I have had it in the shop several times. This has been an ongoing thing now I do not have the files with me today at work, but I do have them at home. I can upload the documentation at a later date. Unsure of exact date.

- Kermit, WV, USA

problem #15

Aug 012017

Compass

  • miles
2017 Jeep Compass. Consumer writes in regards to brakes locking up while driving. The consumer stated the vehicle experienced various electrical issues including the back up camera remaining on at all times, the locks were inoperable, the vehicle would not operate while the key fob in the vehicle, the vehicle would start and shut off with the radio still on and can shift, but not move, and the vehicle would randomly not communicate with the key fob. Also, the emergency brake automatically turned off, there was hesitation in the shifting, and the vehicle would inadvertently brake while reversing or driving forward.

- Blair, WI, USA

problem #14

Jul 032018

Compass

  • 9,000 miles
Purchased Dec 2017. Almost immediately began experiencing a problem whenever the speedometer dropped to 31 mph, there was an aggressive downshift that felt as if I was being rear ended. Problem frequent yet intermittent. Often radio would not turn on or off when the engine was on or off. Fear of battery draining was often. Loss of volume control when vehicle was parked.. each month, random errors would flash. By July 3, it had become so frequent withshifting problems and problems with lighting, windows, sunroof, it was taken to collierville cdjr for service. That day all the codes started flashing across dash while vehicle was in motion on highway. There were 4 pages of diagnostic error codes. Tech erik jeter said a tcm flash update was available for transmission shift quality. Must update PCM and tcm also. There were multiple dtcs for all turn signals and lamps. Determined cause to be faulty body control module and internal failure. This was allegedly replaced, despite being originally told of a recall and backorder of parts that could last 6 months. Car out of service for 10 days. Problems began again within a week of vehicles return. It was taken to landers cdjr for service on August 9, 2018. I have not heard back from dealer. Then the backup cameras began freezing and would stay while car in motion. Windows stopped working. On September 1, 2018 my vehicle was found to be sitting behind the service department along side more than a dozen other new Jeep Compass vehicles with stop sale/do not sell written across windows. It has been a total of 35 days out of service. This vehicle needs to be declared a lemon so I can replace it with a working car.

- Olive Branch, MS, USA

problem #13

Aug 192018

Compass 4-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
The contact owned a 2017 Jeep Compass. While driving approximately 65 mph, the computer system shut off while the vehicle was still running. The computer system rebooted and a "stop the vehicle" warning indicator illuminated. The contact stated that various other unknown warning indicators also illuminated. The contact stopped the vehicle and almost immediately observed smoke outside the vehicle followed by flames from the driver's side of the windshield. The contact used an instrument to break the driver's side door and escaped from the burning vehicle. Within two minutes, the entire vehicle became engulfed in flames. Fire and police reports were filed. The contact sustained injuries that did not require medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The contact called an unknown dealer who did not want to be involved. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and the matter was referred to their legal team and the insurance company. The failure mileage was approximately 12,000. Owner states that during the event, lost braking but was able to use the shifter (electronic, polystable) to downshift the car to slow down. Owner states that "computer" rebooted, as it had done before. Most likely referencing the vehicle's infotainment system. Owner states that he used a glass punch to break the drivers side window and exit the vehicle. 12,000 miles according to the owner. Updated 10/30/18

- South Salem, NY, USA

problem #12

Jul 102018

Compass

  • 50,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Jeep Compass. While driving approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled and several warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to South oak Jeep, Dodge, Chrysler, and Ram (4550 w Lincoln hwy, matteson, il 60443, 708-747-7950) where it was diagnosed that the computer needed to be updated. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the warranty had expired. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 50,000.

- Mokena, IL, USA

problem #11

May 202018

Compass

  • 9,440 miles
Takata recall: Burning plastic smell while in motion. Found burn hole in the passenger side leather seat.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

problem #10

Dec 082017

Compass

  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Jeep Compass. While exiting the highway at 45 mph, the vehicle lost electrical power and the headlights dimmed. The contact pulled the vehicle over and the electricity automatically returned. The vehicle was taken to the dealer (Suburban Chrysler Dodge Jeep, 32850 Ford rd, garden city, mi 48135), but the failure could not be duplicated. The manufacturer was notified and confirmed what the dealer stated. There were no recalls associated with the vehicle. The failure mileage was 8,000.

- Wanyne, MI, USA

problem #9

Apr 012018

Compass

  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2017 Jeep Compass. While driving between 25-30 mph, the emergency brake indicator illuminated. The contact stated that all the instrument panel indicators illuminated and she was instructed to park and restart the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to sansone Chrysler Jeep Dodge (90-100 us-1, avenel, NJ 07001), but the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified. The approximate failure mileage was 10,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Staten Island, NY, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »