10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
24 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
39 / 2
Average Mileage:
46,067 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #454

Jun 302018

Grand Cherokee

  • 187,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While the vehicle was stopped at a stop sign, the air bags inadvertently deployed without warning or impact. There were no injuries. The dealer (newnan peachtree Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, 53 hollz pkwy, newnan, ga 30265, (678) 369-6037) was called and stated that they would replace the control module under warranty, but not the air bags. The manufacturer informed the contact that the vehicle would be serviced per NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags), which covered the module replacement and not the air bags. The failure mileage was 187,000.

- Fayateville, GA, USA

problem #453

Feb 202015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). After the contact called berglund Chrysler Jeep Dodge Ram (2525 franklin rd sw, roanoke, va 24014, (540) 345-9881) several times. Each time, the dealer stated that parts were unavailable and did not know when they would be supplied from the manufacturer to provide the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the parts delay. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Goodview, VA, USA

problem #452

Feb 212018

Grand Cherokee

  • 112,600 miles
On February 22, 2018 we brought our 2002 Jeep Cherokee in to merrick Chrysler on sunrise highway in wantagh because my wife was advised of a security concern over the airbag unexpectedly deploying (which has already happened to her in an unrelated incident). After scheduling and waiting a couple of months we brought the car in and after 3 hours I was told they didn't have the parts and to call back. My wife refused to even sit in the car until it was fixed. I called the dealer and they refused to even give me a time frame on receipt of the parts or repair of the recall. Within a few weeks thereafter I was at my wits end went to the dealership and purchased a newer Jeep Cherokee the was guaranteed not to have any problems but to this day I haven't received even a call regarding the repair which has now cost my family an additional $26,000, but it sure wasn't the way we wanted to get a new car. We have a gorgeous new Jeep that she drives and I also purchased another car because I do not want to get hit in the head by a faulty air bag. Please help us with our recall. Seriously, enough is enough already. We have a gorgeous Jeep in our driveway, registered and insured and undriveable, unless you can guarantee that if the airbag deploys we will have our own dealership if we live through the accident!! even more concerning is the disdain and importance with which we are treated. Buy a new car they drool at your feet but god so help the poor old schmuck who shows up with some old clunker that they won't make a dime off of. Please help us. Its just not fair.

- Wantagh, NY, USA

problem #451

Mar 072018

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
When is this going to be forced on Chrysler Fiat, I had a recall post card about this problem and that's 3 years ago !!!! they say they are working on getting the parts and as soon as it's available we will get another notice to fix, let me just say this is bs, Chrysler is basically buying their time so that the remaining vehicle for this recall to be junked or out live their years. The ntsb should be ashamed in not getting Chrysler to fix this !! for god sakes it's been 3 years and still nothing, you guys are worthless and don't enforce your own recalls !

- Kokomo, IN, USA

problem #450

Jan 292018

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • miles
I am stationed overseas in italy. I have an american version of a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee VIN: [xxx] and have a recall #06 - orc module. I have been working with a Chrysler/Jeep dealership here in catania italy, dealership name is merid Mercedes-Benz and smart Chrysler, Jeep located via messina, 780/a - 95126 catania italy, dealer telephone 011-39-095-403-7069. They keep ordering the wrong recall replacement parts, 4 times this has happened and they still have not received the correct part. I have missed 4 days work because of this. Please help. My contact: Name is [xxx], email [xxx], tele: [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fpo, AE, USA

problem #449

Aug 032017

Grand Cherokee

  • 163,000 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 10 mph, the driver's and front passenger's air bags deployed without warning or impact. A police report was filed and there were no injuries. The dealer was not contacted. The manufacturer referenced NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags) and referred the contact to the fca recall assistance center. The contact spoke with three representatives at fca, but no one called him back. The contact did not receive a recall notice. The air bags were not replaced. The contact received a settlement notice from tk holdings, Inc. The failure mileage was 163,000.

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #448

Nov 092017

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I brought the subject vehicle in for recall items. I dealt with Mr. Ralph alfano of arroway. I immediately advised that I was profoundly deaf, and I may not fully understand all conversation. I was processed to have the recall work done and brought the vehicle in on November 9, 2017. During the day I spoke to the service department on my cell phone. They advised an additional part had to be installed. I could not understand fully what they were telling me, but the work was done. It turned out that they felt that they had to replace the impact sensor on the airbag, and for this they charged me $315.83. As this is related to the defective module of the recalled airbag, this should be part of the recall (and not charged to the owners of the vehicles). I ask you to intercede in this and take action to protect the consumers from being charged for this additional work. Is this not part of the recall? your public notice does not fully describe the repair and parts that are included (NHTSA recall number 15V-046). Please follow up and advise.

- Bedford Hills, NY, USA

problem #447

Oct 022017

Grand Cherokee

  • 149,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 30 mph, the driver and passenger air bags deployed independently, which resulted in a crash. The contact rear ended another vehicle immediately after the deployment. A police report was filed. There were no injuries sustained. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence and destroyed. Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram of farmington, Michigan (38123 10 mile rd, 48375) was made aware of the crash and referred the contact to the manufacturer. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and provided case number: 32601427. The failure mileage was approximately 149,000.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #446

Jan 272015

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 02V104000 (fuel system, gasoline), 02V032000 (fuel system, gasoline), 02V030000 (seat belts), and 15V046000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. Frontier Dodge Chrysler Jeep (5801 tx-327 spur, lubbock, tx) was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedies. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Lubbock, TX, USA

problem #445

Aug 172017

Grand Cherokee

  • 179,000 miles
My husband took our Jeep for a quick 5 mins drive round our neighborhood to keep the battery charged. About one minute after he start driving G he heard a bleep noise. As he was turning back to our house the passenger airbags on both sides deployed. I checked Jeep website and it stated the car had a recall R06 orc module. Contacted Jeep they said there is a recall since 2015 (we never received any paperwork). They refused to fix the airbags and suggest we contact dealer for completion of the recall. I contacted dealer and they say they will not touch the airbags because they have already deployed.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #444

Aug 122017

Grand Cherokee

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving approximately 50 mph, the contact's vehicle crashed into a second vehicle and caused significant damage to the front end. During the crash, the air bags did not deploy. The driver sustained an injured left arm, which required medical attention. A police report was filed. The vehicle was destroyed and towed. The cause of the failure was not determined. The manufacturer and dealer were not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 180,000.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #443

Jun 202017

Grand Cherokee

  • 135,000 miles
I was parked with engine idling, air condition on, conversing with my adult niece, transmission in park with my left hand on steering wheel when with loud banging sounds driver side steering wheel airbag deployed in front of my face and my left upper extremity, hitting my left arm and pushing it away from me and front passenger deployed in my niece's face and right upper and lower extremity without reason. I had my seat belt on when this occurred. My left arm was injured by airbag impact leaving soft tissue damage, an abrasion, ringing in ears and neck pain. My niece suffered abrasions on her right shoulder and legs, ringing in her ears and emotional trauma. Passenger compartment (glove box) and its contents was expelled hitting her legs. The center front console ash tray was effected, pushed open and its contents was also expelled. I was in much shock because of this event. Incident occurred in an apartment parking lot.

- San Antonio, TX, USA

problem #442

Dec 282016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #441

Apr 142017

Grand Cherokee 6-cyl

  • 182,000 miles
On April 14, both of my front airbags deployed without reason while the car was idling stationary in drive with my foot on the brake. I was in the drivers seat and my two young boys were in the backseat. Fortunately, nobody was significantly injured. I suffered a bruised knuckle, and something flew in the back seat and hit my son in the head, but no injuries were significant enough to warrant a doctors visit. The damage to the interior of my car is significant. The steering wheel and dashboard will need to be replaced, the clock on my radio has stopped working, and my change drawer is broken. I called the recall hotline almost immediately after the event and they took my claim. My case number is 314 529 09. They instructed me that they would send out an inspector to come out and look over my vehicle. They also told me not to drive my vehicle in the meantime. I have a job and a family and I need a vehicle. It has been a week, and no inspector has called me. I have called the recall hotline 4 times since the initial event, and each time they put a note in my case number and promised an inspector would call. I need to know what to do next. I need to get a replacement vehicle or have my vehicle repaired. My insurance company will not cover this repair as I have liability coverage only. My VIN number is [xxx]. I am aware there are 2 recalls open on my car. The important one being recall R06 for the airbag system occupant restraint control module. This recall was addressed a few years ago but I was told that the part required to remedy the condition was not available, and that I will be contacted with a follow-up recall notice when the remedy parts are made available. I had never received this follow up recall notice. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Fayetteville, AR, USA

problem #440

Mar 242017

Grand Cherokee

  • 134,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 35 mph, the brakes failed without warning and the vehicle crashed into an electrical pole. The air bags failed to deploy. The vehicle was destroyed. A police report was filed. The contact's daughter sustained a broken rib, broken pelvis, three fractures to the left hand, the back shoulder bone was sticking out, and her spleen was bleeding. Medical attention was required. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The contact had an appointment with the dealer to get the air bags replaced, but the crash occurred prior to arriving at the dealer. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 134,000.

- Frankfort, IN, USA

problem #439

Feb 242017

Grand Cherokee

  • 160,709 miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While driving 70 mph, the front driver and passenger air bags deployed without warning or impact. The failure damaged the windshield and dashboard. The air bag warning indicator illuminated. The driver sustained injuries to the right forearm, which did not require medical attention. The contact was able to drive the vehicle home. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 160,709.

- Edna, TX, USA

problem #438

Oct 092016

Grand Cherokee 4WD 8-cyl

  • 78,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. While idling at a red light, the contact's vehicle was rear ended by another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. The contact was injured and required medical attention. The vehicle was towed and later driven to a mechanic. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags). The approximate failure mileage was 78,000. Updated 04/05/17 updated 08/30/2017

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #437

Jun 082006

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 15V460000 (air bags) and 06V199000 (engine and engine cooling); however, the parts to do the recall repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Pembroke Pine, FL, USA

problem #436

Feb 152016

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
I have received several safety recall notices (R06 / NHTSA 15V-046) for this vehicle. I have called my Jeep dealership (garlitch North vernon, in) service department several times since Feb. 15, 2016 to get the needed repair. They never call back to schedule an appointment or explain what the problem is. This has been going on for over 10 months, not a reasonable time to make a safety recall repair. Can someone explain what the problem is ?

- Elizabethtown, IN, USA

problem #435

Apr 012016

Grand Cherokee

  • 174,000 miles
The contact owned a 2002 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact's vehicle was struck on the passenger side by another vehicle. The air bags did not deploy. A police report was filed. There were four minor injuries that required medical attention. The vehicle was destroyed and towed to a junk yard. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign number: 15V046000 (air bags), which could have caused the air bags not to deploy. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 174,000.

- Bean Station, TN, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »