10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,385 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #30

Jun 252019

Grand Cherokee

  • 6,747 miles
Power driver seat adjusts forward while I am in motion. Dangerous driving condition occurs when I am crammed up against the steering wheel. At dealership X 2 with no resolution. They claim to have performed a memory and software reset.

- Fullerton, CA, USA

problem #29

Aug 252019

Grand Cherokee

  • 17,000 miles
At a stoplight I pressed on the brakes and they were too hard to push down as I look to make sure I was in drive which I know I was and I was I was in dr. And they were still too hard to push down so I put it in park put it back and drive it pushed out at first and then chyna kicked me back really hard so I did that one more time and they finally engaged and we¿re working sunroof track keeps going off problems with bluetooth connection to iphone constantly wheels we are out very very quickly at 17,000 miles can already feel transmission slipping

- Cedar Glen, CA, USA

problem #28

Dec 202018

Grand Cherokee

  • 8,000 miles
Transmission thumps, complete loss of power upon acceleration nearly resulting in several mva's. extreme difficulty in getting fuel into the vehicle, constant surges in RPM, dash display goes black, touch screen turns off, goes silent, will not respond, does not recognize key fob and on several instances has allowed me to start and drive vehicle without fob. Mirrors make high pitched whistling noise. Very dangerous vehicle. I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone who values their lives or lives of other drivers on the road. This has all been constant pretty much since we purchased the vehicle new. Dealership has not been helpful. Chrysler is very difficult to deal with. Has happened since we purchased the vehicle new. Very very dangerous

- Effingham, NH, USA

problem #27

Apr 012019

Grand Cherokee

  • 18,000 miles
On January 23, 2018, leased a 2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee vehicle from criswell located at 84 bureau drive, gaithersburg, md 20871. Since that time, I have experienced an extraordinary number of technical and mechanical issues with the vehicle including a major safety concern: ¿brakes locking when attempting to start vehicle (I was advised on 7/3/19 by a service advisor at criswell, that this could potentially happen while driving) ¿vehicle not starting ¿vehicle shutting down at red light ¿a faulty drive shaft that was replaced ¿rear camera freezing ¿dashboard display going blank while driving I fear for my safety and that of my family and request that action be taken on my behalf. Sadly, every time I take my vehicle to the dealership, they cannot duplicate the issues and are, therefore, unable to be of any assistance at all while I continue to experience issues on a weekly basis. Jeep customer care (800-992-1997) assigned a case number and has complete documentation to support my complaint.

- Clarksburg, MD, USA

problem #26

Jun 112019

Grand Cherokee

  • 13,000 miles
The vehicle nav display shuts down and then the car won't start. I have been in traffic when this has happened twice so far. In both cases the car was stationary. Once on a highway and once on a city street. The latest time this happened was 6/11/19 at 7:29 pm. Additionally the nav screen has shut down as follows 6/12/19 12:14 pm 6/26/19 3:51 pm' 6/28/19 10:13 pm 7/1/19 8:22 am 7/10/19 1:57 pm 7/11/19 9:42 am 7/18/19 3:10 pm 7/19/19 9:02

- Solon, OH, USA

problem #25

Jul 172019

Grand Cherokee

  • 13,500 miles
Our Jeep gc stalled and nothing worked while pulling out into traffic from a gas station. After waiting a couple minutes the lights on the dash came back on and we were allowed to restart the vehicle. Once the engine started we cautiously continued. We drove approximately 20-30 miles down the road when the Jeep died again. This time we were driving 70 mph+, and with no warning the engine died and all electrical equipment was dead. We were fortunate to get pulled over without issue. Again, after a couple minutes of sitting there the dash came back on and we were allowed to start again. This happened 4 more times before we reached the dealership that we purchased the Jeep from. It is there currently awaiting diagnosis. 13,000 miles.

- Republic, MO, USA

problem #24

Jul 092019

Grand Cherokee

  • 4,000 miles
See note to insurance company I received my 2018 Jeep back yesterday 7/10/19 after months of waiting for farmers to regain possession after stolen and recovered in Mexico and repairs to be done. I drove the car home from bumper to bumper last night. When I tried to drive the car home from the gym today the window on the passenger side stating going up and down by itself. I was going 45 miles an hour. When I tried to stop it with the switch the transmission locked up and all power died. The car skidded 10-15 feet toward a intersection. I almost went through the windshield. Lucky I am strong enough to stop myself. I am requesting you that you total this vehicle return my down payment and make payment to Chrysler in arrears. This vehicle is unsafe.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #23

Jun 192019

Grand Cherokee

  • 29,000 miles
While driving a message of service shifter displayed and vehicle went like on park mode but in D shift. Car was in motion and became stationary. Shift lights came on. All wheels were locked, service engine light on. Turning car off and back on didn't help. I was unable to move the shift from D to any other shift. It was very scary as I was on heavy traffic road, unable to move the car in the middle lane during work rush hour. It had to be towed to the dealer, tow guy had issues getting into the flat bed as the wheels were fully locked. Awaiting a diagnosis.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #22

Dec 062018

Grand Cherokee

  • 39,680 miles
The contact owns a 2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee. The contact stated that every time the vehicle was in operation and a turn was made, the vehicle decelerated and lost power. Also, the front wheels and steering wheel seized. The contact could not turn the vehicle due to the stiffness of the steering wheel. In addition, the engine leaked oil and the electronic throttle, check engine, and stability control warning indicators illuminated. The vehicle was towed to North West Dodge (9616 northwest fwy, houston, tx 77065, (281) 720-1128) where it was diagnosed that the oil needed to be changed. The vehicle was repaired multiple times, but the failures recurred. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failures. The failure mileage was 39,680. The VIN was invalid.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #21

Sep 222018

Grand Cherokee

  • 37,000 miles
In September of 2018 in an elevated grocery store parking lot, immediately at the moment of a low speed front collision that bent part of the front bumper, the engine RPM spiked extremely high. I then carefully put my foot square on the break and applied pressure before putting the vehicle in reverse so I could park in order to check the damage. As my foot was firm on the brake, while shifting into reverse the vehicle took off at a high rate of speed as the engine RPM continued to violently accelerate and spike. The brake was rock solid and did not activate all, no matter how much pressure I put on it as the Jeep accelerated through the parking lot in reverse, getting up to about 40 to 50 mph before striking 4 other vehicles. At least 2 of the other vehicles were totaled. Only after the Jeep came to a complete stop into one of the parked cars, was I able to turn the engine off and get out to make sure no people were injured. Several pedestrians were walking to their cars at the moment of the incident. No one was hurt but several people could have been killed or seriously injured as a result of the engine throttle/RPM spiking out of control. The experience was completely horrifying. The on duty police officer who I spoke with, who was also present at the time of the incident, did not write a ticket. After interviewing me he determined that I was of sound mind and body and not under the influence of any type of substance. After speaking with several technicians and sales associates at the Jeep dealer, I' was advised to contact Jeep corporate to speak with someone who had the authority to help me resolve this matter. Moving forward my best advise to anyone else would be to check this (NHTSA) website for any manufacturer malfunctions and/or recalls.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #20

May 292019

Grand Cherokee

  • 300 miles
Vehicle stalls while being driven is the most serious issue ac works sporadically. Door lock unlock sporadically will not work stationary dangerous issue is the vehicle stalling out while being driven on highways

- Delaplane, VA, USA

problem #19

Apr 272019

Grand Cherokee

  • 11,500 miles
The vehicle was stopped and placed into park with the engine running. I exited the car and it accelerated in reverse in a fast speed and struck a parked vehicle. I was caught behind the open door in panic and was very fortunate that I was not knocked down and run over by the wheels.I am adamant that the transmission was placed into park and not in reverse. I was shocked at how fast the car was traveling. The incident was witnessed by my husband and my brother in law. My husband later talked to a man that was nearby and was told that he had the exact same car and year and that the same thing happened to him. An investigator was sent out and determined that there was a faulty part in the vehicle. The man lived in the state of Colorado which is where it happened. My husband forgot to get his name. This happened in an rv park on flat terrain, private property.

- Sparks, NV, USA

problem #18

Jan 232019

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,783 miles
My 2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee has been submitted to the dealership for a faulty sos feature. The sos does not connect to emergency services and does not shut off. The system stays engaged until a fuse is pulled in the battery compartment under the front passenger seat. Multiple submissions and "star tickets" have not produced correction and star tickets cancelled multiple times by the oem. There are service bulletins, but nothing is resolving this. Oem not taking this as a serious safety issue. If something should occur, the vehicle's safety response service will not be able to do anything for occupants of the vehicle. It is very upsetting that the oem has not fixed a software issue and will not allow the dealership to replace the radio with one that actually provides the proper connection to emergency services. This is a defect in the product that the oem has had over 18 months to fix since this vehicle was manufactured.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #17

Jan 232019

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,763 miles
My 2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee has been submitted to the dealership for a faulty sos feature. The sos does not connect to emergency services and does not shut off. The system stays engaged until a fuse is pulled in the battery compartment under the front passenger seat. Multiple submissions and "star tickets" have not produced correction and star tickets cancelled multiple times by the oem. There are service bulletins, but nothing is resolving this. Oem not taking this as a serious safety issue. If something should occur, the vehicle's safety response service will not be able to do anything for occupants of the vehicle. It is very upsetting that the oem has not fixed a software issue and will not allow the dealership to replace the radio with one that actually provides the proper connection to emergency services. This is a defect in the product that the oem has had over 18 months to fix since this vehicle was manufactured.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #16

Jan 232019

Grand Cherokee

  • 9,783 miles
My 2018 Jeep Grand Cherokee has been submitted to the dealership for a faulty sos feature. The sos does not connect to emergency services and does not shut off. The system stays engaged until a fuse is pulled in the battery compartment under the front passenger seat. Multiple submissions and "star tickets" have not produced correction and star tickets cancelled multiple times by the oem. There are service bulletins, but nothing is resolving this. Oem not taking this as a serious safety issue. If something should occur, the vehicle's safety response service will not be able to do anything for occupants of the vehicle. It is very upsetting that the oem has not fixed a software issue and will not allow the dealership to replace the radio with one that actually provides the proper connection to emergency services. This is a defect in the product that the oem has had over 18 months to fix since this vehicle was manufactured.

- Waldorf, MD, USA

problem #15

Apr 082019

Grand Cherokee

  • miles
The vehicle is brand new and a few months after purchasing it the vehicle would shut down electrically (twice while driving) and the steering wheel and brakes would lock up. Since purchasing the vehicle in November of 2017 I have had 4 to 5 separate occasions where the vehicle had to be towed to the dealership in Jeep/Chrysler in libertyville, Illinois. I made verbal complaints after the second and third time. I was told after the last issue the problem was resolved and no more issues would occur, about 10 months later the issue has occured once again for a fourth time. I have son that I pick up on the weekends which requires me to drive on the highway. My fear is that the electrical will go out and my son will be hurt in a car accident due to the steering and brakes locking and no way to stop the vehicle safely. The occasion where is was driving the vehicle starting going haywire, the dash lights were flickering and different signs were coming on and the brakes became very hard to press until I couldnt any longer and the steering became really hard to move until it eventually locked as well. On 9 April 2019, the last of the few issues that has happened to this vehicle it was stationary and it wouldnt start and the electrical started acting up with the dashboard giving me the same messages from the last few times that the situation had occurred.

- Waukegan, IL, USA

problem #14

Feb 282019

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,200 miles
As im driving, the car complete dies on me, no power, no brakes, no steering, nothing is working, this is the 3rd time this is happening, im not safe in this car, I drive my kids,

- Manorville, NY, USA

problem #13

Dec 282018

Grand Cherokee

  • 3,250 miles
Vehicle exhibited sudden unintended acceleration on two separate occasions, and caused an accident involving property damage. The vehicle, which had been on cruise control, was completely stopped in traffic for 30-45 seconds on I-95 in South Carolina. The car suddenly surged forward while the driver yelled at me ¿my foot is on the brake¿. it subsided once, then surged ahead again, leaving skid marks and colliding with the vehicle in front of us. It then surged a third time, ploughing that car ahead, before the driver could shift the transmission into park

- Palm Coast, FL, USA

problem #12

Jan 212019

Grand Cherokee

  • 1,934 miles
After turning on the ignition and putting car into reverse the reverse light flashes and car will not go into reverse, same for putting into drive. Engine light stays on. This problem only lasts for a few seconds and then the car can go into reverse. I brought it into the dealer they had it for 4 days and could only recreate the problem once. It has happened to me twice prior to bringing it into the dealer. The dealer could not find any electrical or engine issues. I was told to bring it home and when it lasted to longer then to notify them. Very disconcerting!! have to wait until I cannot drive the car!

- Boalsburg, PA, USA

problem #11

Aug 132018

Grand Cherokee

  • 2,050 miles
Electrical system malfunctioned while driving on a city street, dashboard lit up and the vehicle would not switch gears. Wipers started going and message popped up on the screen to not turn the vehicle off because it may not restart. When the vehicle was turned off it would not restart and it was stuck in the run position. Vehicle was towed to the dealership, they stated the vehicle over fifty codes and they did not know what was wrong with it. The dealership had the vehicle for well over a month and had to reach out the Chrysler for additional assistance. Eventually the dealership stated a sensor had become loose and that had caused all the problems. I received the vehicle back and within a week I was having problems again. While stopped at a traffic light a message popped up that the shifter was malfunctioning, this message came and went multiple times. A few days later the vehicle would not start, I had the vehicle towed to the dealership. They stated they could not replicate the problem and I received the vehicle back the next day. The following day while driving from work the dashboard lit up again and the same initial issue happened all over again. The vehicle was towed to the dealership again, once again they have no idea what has happened. They have been in possession of my vehicle for another month with no solution. Chrysler has informed the dealership to perform a pin drag test, this test supposedly involves checking every wire and code on the vehicle one at a time. As of todays date I still have not received my vehicle back.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »