10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
5,175 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2018 Jeep Wrangler:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

Jan 212019

Wrangler

  • 13,000 miles
Bought my Jeep 2018 Wrangler brand new, had issued with the steering become very hard to turn was barely turning on a corner street. Literally impossible to make a right turn, all of a sudden it just became easy to turn as if nothing was wrong. Also a service shifter light and the stability controll light comes on every now and then, now the issue is the screen is displaying an anti theft screen asking for a theft code and Jeep will not turn on.

- Eagle Pass, TX, USA

problem #19

Jan 152019

Wrangler

  • 2,100 miles
Rear defrost cable becomes disconnected from the rear glass where it is soldered. I had purchased my jl new not knowing it was already defected and the dealership had already ordered a replacement window. About a week to a week and a half after the install the opposite side(driver side)did the same thing. My guess would be the defroster is overheating causing the solder to loosen.

- Broken Arrow, OK, USA

problem #18

Dec 212018

Wrangler

  • 19,400 miles
The radio is being replaced for the second time. It has the start stop feature and it will go completely dead and require time to restart I was driving 60 mph and it started shaking violently and it has done in twice in two days. It is terrifying I had to pull off to the shoulder.

- Hot Springs, AR, USA

problem #17

Aug 282018

Wrangler

  • 7,000 miles
Bought Jeep jl 2018 brand new, I have noticed on at least three occasions that when driving on regular roads, streets, at speeds of 25-45 mph and coming to a complete stop, at a light, or stop sign, or stopping for a car in front of you, after taking your foot off the gas, applying the brake, just before you come to a complete stop the jl lunges forward, while you are still on the brake. Could this be something wrong with the ECM?

- North Canton, OH, USA

problem #16

Nov 192018

Wrangler

  • miles
Check engine light come on aften, have to unhook my battery to turn off

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #15

Nov 232018

Wrangler

  • 7,800 miles
Hi, I purchased a 2018 Jeep Wrangler jlu new from you dealership and I have been having several significant issues with it recently. The most concerning is several issues with the steering. At highway speeds if you hit a bump like an expansion joint ; the steering wheel shakes aggressively and causes you to temporarily lose control of the Jeep and you have to slow down for it to self correct. It is similar to death wobble in a lifted Jeep but this one is stock. Also, with the colder weather the steering wheel is not turning freely at highway speeds. It is almost as if the power steering randomly turns off but the wheel is even more difficult to turn. The steering goes back to normal at slow speeds. And finally the radio and touch screen are not working properly. The fm radio randomly completely loses signal and can not find stations. Randomly even with the volume all the way up to 30 you can barely hear the radio. Several times the screen has made a pop noise and then just turned off. The blue tooth intermittently fails.

- Marshfield, MA, USA

problem #14

Sep 242018

Wrangler

  • 990 miles
Moving, interstate & extremely busy highway. Sometimes in a turn, sometimes going straight. Hit a bump such as a highway or interstate bridge and vehicle and front end shake and shimmy. Requires you to slow down to under minimum interstate speed from 70 +- to 30 +- for shaking to stop. Radio, makes a buzzing sound and resets time. It seems to be shorting out. Radio electrical issue happens while moving and stationary.

- Maryville, TN, USA

problem #13

Jul 042018

Wrangler

  • 200 miles
The vehicle drifts depending on speed and road conditions and does not align itself. This is currently unsafe especially with windy conditions. In additon, this vehicle has had electrical problems that have affected both the start/stop or eco mood not to work and causes the screen to function slowly in a delayed motion.

- North Hills, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 262018

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 1,180 miles
Intermittent loss of power steering and/or seizing. Upon driving to exit highway and get to dealership engine indicator light came on and eventually Jeep stopped dead while driving. Could not be put in neutral to move off of road and would not restart at all. Consumer stated auto windows would not work although the child locks were disengaged. Received recalled Oct. 5th 2018 just after consumer purchased the vehicle with milage of less than 1200. Updated 1/30/18

- Mcmurray, PA, USA

problem #11

Oct 142018

Wrangler

  • 1,400 miles
I was driving down a residential road going about 20mph, the vehicle started smoking so I pulled over and got out to find smoke coming from the fuse box/ battery area. It I could smell burnt electrical wiring. Within seconds of pulling over the smoke turned into a flame and before I could to get anything out of the Jeep the whole inside was full of smoke and the flame was spreading fast.

- Irving, TX, USA

problem #10

Aug 062018

Wrangler 6-cyl

  • 395 miles
Occurred on multiple dates beginning two weeks after delivery of the vehicle: 8/6/2018, 8/30/2018 and 9/5/2018. Multiple malfunctions of illuminated red (air bag warning, brake warning, battery change, coolant temperature, electronic throttle control, oil and seat belt) and yellow dash warning lights (anti lock brakes, electronic stability control, low fuel, check engine, TPMS, front and rear axle lock, 4WD indicator and sway bar indicator) and audible warning chimes. Additional warnings of "hot oil" and initiation of the auxiliary cooling fan on the engine. This happens under routine driving conditions on urban paved streets with speeds normal at 40 mph and not greater than 55 mph, with clear sunny weather and temperature in the mid-80S. Dealer service department identified the problem as a faulty totally integrated power module (tipm). The tipm was described to us as a "smart" fuse box with diodes that are open or closed supply power to various systems or acting as grounds or relays, some of which impact key safety systems on the vehicle. Multiple efforts to repair have been unsuccessful making the vehicle unsafe to operate in accordance with information in the owners manual. Service department and technicians from Chrysler have had the vehicle since 9/5/2018 and state they are having difficulty identifying the cause and may not be able to repair it. Confidence in the safe operation of this vehicle is low. Awaiting further from service department and collection of repair orders and related documents. Consumer stated the vehicle has been at the dealer's service department full time since September 5,2018 for the same issue(s). They've had several technicians and factory representatives from Chrysler trying to identify the cause of the problem with no luck so far (we are approaching the timeframe to discuss the lemon law and demand a replacement of refund). Updated 10/18/18

- Meridian, ID, USA

problem #9

Sep 112018

Wrangler

  • 6,800 miles
This is the second time the vehicle has experienced a total computer failure while it was being driven. My fiance' was driving this time and lost power steering, brake assist, as well as the ability to shift gears or even turn off the engine. As before, indications are a complete failure of the can network - multiple cels and error messages, from fuel low to TPMS fail to electronic start stop disabled to check shiftier, as well as a loss of power steering and the engine going into limp mode. The first time this happened I was doing 70mph on the freeway. It occurred at night, thankfully, as it caused me to swerve between lanes during the sudden loss of power/steering assist. If it had been during rush hour, I would have hit another vehicle. This time the computer failed while in a parking garage. Thankfully it occurred after turning into a straight away as my fiance' took the entire length to stop due to the loss of breaking; she blew through a pedestrian walkway and could not stop and, if it had happened during a turn, she most likely would have hit a car or hit the edge of the parking garage. Both times we were very lucky that we did not have an accident that resulted in major damage or a fatality. Jeep has found 2 electrical wiring problems so far with this Jeep and obviously there are additional wiring defects present in the vehicle.

- Galveston, TX, USA

problem #8

Aug 252018

Wrangler

  • 950 miles
Occasionally car will not turn engine over. Only lights wil come on. Tried two sets of keys with same result. Tried to move shifter and adjust battery cables but will not start. After several attempts car starts

- Flushing, MI, USA

problem #7

Aug 242018

Wrangler

  • 3,196 miles
Backup camera stopped working when vehicle put into reverse. Using the manual controls will also not allow the backup camera to work. This is the third time this has happened. The problem will normally fix itself within a couple of hours. However this is still a safety issue when it occurs. The times this has happened have been while backing into a spot, either at a parking lot or into a garage. The vehicle is stopped when being put in reverse.

- Porter, IN, USA

problem #6

Jul 222018

Wrangler

  • 3,000 miles
Vehicle stalled in highway, stop and go traffic for no reason and was extremely hard to restart. A few days later, the radio and backup camera went out and came back an hour or so later. The radio, which controls all electronics and backup camera, went out again. Dealer replaced some sort of interface for the infotainment system (radio) on 07/30/18. Then vehicle stalled again in highway, stop and go traffic on 08/03/2018 and was difficult to restart. Then, on 08/09/2018, a battery charge warning came on and they replaced the alternator. What is even more troubling, is these very problems are all over the internet. All work has been covered under warrantee but I have wasted the better part of two full days driving to/from the dealer or waiting in the waiting room. I have filed a complaint with fca (Jeep). It appears as though the electrical system Jeep engineers have designed for these Wrangler rubicon jls is flawed to say the least.

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #5

Jul 062018

Wrangler

  • 204 miles
I was stopped at a 4 way light in marion Illinois, had my Jeep in neutral with foot on the brake. The light turned green, I pushed the clutch in and the engine didn't come back on. I tried for over fifiteen min. To get it on. Finally called a tow and had it taken to the dealership that I ordered it through not even 30 days ago. They didn't look at it until 4 days later and said they couldn't recreate the issue. The issue is with the push start engines. I have a manual w/O electric doors so no auto start on a key fob. I only had 204 miles on it!! the dealership told me they've had several people take it out for drives to recreate the issue to no avail. I bought /ordered and fully paid for a brand new 2018 Jeep to not have any issues arise. Now I'm scared to drive it anywhere!

- Herrin, IL, USA

problem #4

Jul 012018

Wrangler

  • 0 miles
2018 Jeep Wrangler jlu sport. The recent 5 inch radio firmware update has caused the radios touchscreen to become uncomfortably hot to the touch. After the update the radio refuses to shut off. It will also unexpectedly shut off and the backup camera will stop functioning temporarily. There are also many other non safety issues that Jeep seems to want to ignore with this radio like the lack of reception both terrestrial and satallite, the lack of displayable characters, the freezing of the radio to blue screen, and the lag in the touch screen and volume. Jeep refuses to do anything to resolve the issue and has said that there will not be another update until October. Seems to me that when you buy a vehicle you shouldn't have to wait six months for a working radio.

- Windsor, CO, USA

problem #3

May 212018

Wrangler

  • 400 miles
Backup camera not detected. Started as intermittent problem, but is now fully non-functioning. Display says "unable to connect to backup camera". seeking dealer help.

- Wenatchee, WA, USA

problem #2

Apr 222018

Wrangler

  • 100 miles
Rear camera intermittently fails to turn on and display when car is put into reverse and driving in reverse. Jeep dealership says this issue is not reported and no known solution exists. Leaving the Jeep off for several hours resolves the issue. The issue seems to be related to a software problem but does not resolve with a "reset" of the electronic information system. Multiple users have reported the exact issue in on-line Jeep forums.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #1

Apr 202018

Wrangler 4WD 6-cyl

  • 2,300 miles
Windshield wipers and headlights stuck on despite controls set to off position. No turn signals or high beams either. Had to pull the windshield wiper fuse to be able to drive vehicle home. Tried to disconnect the battery and step on the brake, then leave it disconnected for 20 minutes, but this did not resolve the issue. Vehicle is new, only a couple of weeks of ownership. Completely stock, no modifications.

- El Mirage, AZ, USA