10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
5 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
8,594 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Lexus ES 350:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #113

Jun 142019

ES 350

  • 134,000 miles
Takat recall: Had car accident. Hit by another car while turning; ran over street sign and hit iron fence infront of apartment building. Air bags did not inflate.

- Cleveland Hts., OH, USA

problem #112

Jun 142019

ES 350

  • 134,000 miles
Had car accident June 14,2019. Hit by another car. Air bags did not inflate

- Cleveland Htws., OH, USA

problem #111

Feb 072017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata air bag recall; received notice of recall in February, 2017; as of 3/19/2018, we have had no correspondence to schedule repair

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #110

Mar 142018

ES 350

  • miles
I called Lexus of rockville center li NY today regarding "urgent safety recall" notice I received. Sadly Lexus dealer told me that the parts are on backorder until end of March... can't even make appointment to have Lexus fix the problem "takata front passenger airbag inflators" for an urgent safety recall - I have had no vehicle problems yet...

- New Hyde Park, NY, USA

problem #109

Nov 202017

ES 350

  • 39,000 miles
Faulty airbag harness wirring. Dear sir or madam, this is to report that 2007-2012 is 250, is 350 and ES 350 has faulty airbag wiring harness which disables the airbags. Clublexus.com has received hundreds of complaints regarding this. The repairs will only be done or correct if the vehicle is under 6 years old or 70,000 miles, whichever comes first. Few thousand customers have cars less than 70,000 miles buy beyond 72 months but Lexus refuses to rectify this tsb warning under the warranty. It is not our faults that the vehicles have been driven less than 70,000 miles in 6 years. The cost to repair this is in the upwards of 4000$. this is ridiculous on the part of Lexus and NHTSA. The airbag wiring should be included in the recalls along with the takata recalls as they are connected but Lexus refuses to agree to the consumer complaints and have dared many customers to challenge NHTSA to get it covered under recall. Please help thousands of Lexus drivers and their families from this fatal tsb fault which Lexus refuses to fix. Further, Lexus stated that "if the fault is covered by the recall, it will be fixed without fail". so far Lexus wants to get richer by charging consumers $4000 for a part that they installed to big with. Please check the clublexus.com forum regarding the airbag lights coming on and the reaction that Lexus has submitted to its customers. They are willing to put their customers and their families lives in danger just because NHTSA did not tell them to include airbag harness wiring in the takata recall, even if the vehicles are beyond warranty repairs. Please help us in these dire and unsafe circumstances. Thank you

- Toledo, OH, USA

problem #108

Feb 012017

ES 350

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V006000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Len stoler Lexus in owings mills, Maryland was made aware of the recall and stated that the parts were unavailable. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #107

Dec 202017

ES 350

  • 99,000 miles
Takata recall the manufacturer/dealer has yet to repair/replace the faulty airbags. I have been in a 'loaner' vehicle for 10 months.

- Randallstown, MD, USA

problem #106

Dec 182017

ES 350

  • 55,000 miles
Takata recall I received recall notice in the past and was told I would be notified when parts were available. Now dealer tells me there is no recall. Dealer is Lexus of rockville centre

- Hempstead, NY, USA

problem #105

May 282016

ES 350

  • miles
Takata inflators- takata recall we submitted to the dealership the request to replace the airbags per the recall and at the time these were not been available. It's been several months, and these have not been replaced.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #104

Dec 062017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V006000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer (len stoler Lexus, 11311 reisterstown rd, owings mills, md 21117 (410) 773-9613) was contacted and recall repair appointments were scheduled. The appointments were cancelled by the dealer, stating that the parts were not available. The contact stated that this occurred several times in the past year. The contact called the manufacturer at 800-255-3987, but was greeting by a recording, stating to contact the local Lexus dealer to schedule a recall repair appointment. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Delta, PA, USA

problem #103

May 012016

ES 350 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 16V34000 (air bags) was received in may of 2016. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed for the recall remedy were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Mount Holly, NC, USA

problem #102

May 192009

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall - Lexus states that they currently do not have the parts for my vehicle

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #101

Mar 162017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall what do I have to do to get this airbag replaced? I received a letter from Lexus in March detailing the problem, and telling me that it would be addressed. It was supposed to have been done in September. It is now 10/30. Please help!

- Salina, KS, USA

problem #100

Jan 192017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall my vehicle is not repaired, Lexus has failed to address the issue in timely manner. I am unable to use the front passenger seat as the front passenger is in the risk of serious injury

- Mount Prospect, IL, USA

problem #99

Jan 092017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V006000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer was contacted (Lexus of towson in towson, md, 410-769-9400) and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Baltimore, MD, USA

problem #98

Jan 092017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V006000 (air bags) however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. Metro Lexus located at 13600 brookpark rd, clevland, oh 44135 was contacted and confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue and was not able to confirm when the parts were to become available. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not provided.

- Parma, OH, USA

problem #97

Jan 092017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #96

Oct 202017

ES 350 6-cyl

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V006000 (air bags); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not notified a local dealer. The manufacturer stated that the remedy parts were unavailable. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 8/1/18

- Gray, KY, USA

problem #95

Jan 092017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall: In January, 2017, we received notice from Lexus of the recall for the right front airbag, NHTSA recall 17V006. After waiting several months to hear from the dealer, we called them on 04/27/17 to inquire regarding status of airbag replacement and was told it should be in mid-June. Having heard nothing, we called again on 07/17/17 and was then told it would be December. We called today, 10/18/17, to confirm replacement of the airbag in December and was told they have no idea when this would take place. We have not received a follow-up notice from Lexus regarding this lengthy delay. We were told by the dealer to contact Lexus customer service or see what information was available on Lexus website. We are wondering if this means Lexus is not corresponding with their dealers so that recall information can be given to the car owners. We have; however, received notice regarding the auto airbag settlement. We are very patient people; however, a response from the dealer offering little to no information about the recall is what prompted this complaint.

- Edmond, OK, USA

problem #94

Jan 092017

ES 350

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Lexus ES350. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 17V006000 (air bags). The parts to do the repair were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact called plaza Lexus (777 decker ln, creve coeur, mo 63141 (314) 720-6048) where it was confirmed that the parts were not available for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Parts distribution disconnect.

- St Louis, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »