8.6

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$3,850
Average Mileage:
90,250 miles
Total Complaints:
23 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. replace transmission (20 reports)
  2. not sure (3 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2013 Nissan Versa:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad

This problem may be covered under warranty. Ask your Nissan dealer.

problem #23

Nov 012019

Versa SV

  • CVT transmission
  • 34,890 miles

Original owner of vehicle. CVT has never been that great. Brought it into dealer in the past for engine revs and the feeling like vehicle was in low gear. At the time the dealer said it was running normally.

Had the car in for an oil change and dealer suggested brake fluid flush. Made no mention of transmission fluids (which they supposedly check). At the next oil change, (not at dealer) mechanic said transmission fluid was burnt and very bad. Had to replace trans fluid. Unfortunately car is still throwing errors And not driving properly. After thorough going over, mechanic said transmission is dying and needs replacement.

Car has been garaged every night and had dealer recommended maintenance done. 34900 miles.

Unacceptable.

- Laura C., Bellingham, WA, US

problem #22

May 212019

Versa SL 1.6L L4

  • CVT transmission
  • 127,000 miles

I took my car into Sheridan Nissan in New Castle, DE on May 20, 2019 because it was making a funny noise. Upon the technician in putting my VIN number he told me there was to recalls on my 2013 Nissan Versa. I gave permission to complete the recall items as well. I picked my car up at the end of that same business day after I received their call telling me that the problem is internal. I went to discuss it further while at the dealership, but was directed to the cashier to pay the $75.00 diagnostic fee. As I was trying to drive off, the car would not gain any speed. When I got home I called the dealership to complain that my car was worse now than when I bought it in. The tech named Chan, told me that they didn't do anything but drive it in from the lot to the bay area and completed the recall items. I then looked at my receipt and googled what CVT was about. I discovered that it was the transmission. Well I called Nissan Consumer Affairs and started a complaint (Case # 357*). I forwarded proof of ownership as requested. At the end of the conversation I was told that someone would contact me on the next business day. On May 21, 2019 I received a call from Nissan Consumer Affairs official named Zachary. He stated that he talked to the manager at Sheridan and was told that they informed me that I needed a transfer case. I replied that I was told no such thing except that it was internal. Zachary informed me that because the warranty expired there was nothing they could do and that the debt would be on me (paraphrasing). I then contacted Aamco and set up an appointment for that same day. I reiterated what the Nissan consumer affairs representative stated. He immediately informed me that my car wouldn't have a transfer case. On May 22, 2019 Aamco called to inform me that after their diagnostic testing I would have to replace my transmission. It was clearly a CVT and the coolant issue. On May 24,2019 Aamco called to inform me that the part arrived and explained that when they opened the box, there was a bright orange paper stating in bold writing not to use existing CVT Transmission Coolant. My total cost for the CVT Transmission cost me $4,486.98 not including my car rental for a week so that I could get to work and everyday business. If the Nissan Consumer Affairs representative would have taken the time to put in my VIN number, he would have discovered that my car is not an AWD and doesn't have a Transfer Case.

- Nannette B., Middletown, US

problem #21

Mar 012019

Versa

  • CVT transmission
  • 113,859 miles

Took my car to a mechanic.He told me the transmission failing and my car is too new for this to happen, and that the CVT Is the cause of it. So I took it the dealership and the only thing they will do to help is to reprogram the CVT. I cannot afford to pay for a new transmission. I'm very hurt and disappointed that they won't own up to their mistakes and recall the transmission.😭😭😭

- Tenisha S., Jacksonville, US

problem #20

Jun 172017

Versa 1.6L

  • CVT transmission
  • 95,000 miles

I bought this car in 2015, the car already had CVT issues. It used to jerk and sometimes I had to turn it on again because the car would not move. I was not aware that it was a transmission problem. The RPM started to go up and down, in the hills the car would not get speed. In 2017, the car was stopping in the middle of the road to the point that I could not drive anymore, putting my life in dangerous. I went to Nissan and the transmission was replaced.

- Kelly L., Union, NJ, US

problem #19

Feb 052019

Versa SV

  • CVT transmission
  • 94,000 miles

We took car to shop and they said the center bearing of the transmission was going out and would have to replace the whole Transmission. $3,600. We were the 4th in a week with this problem. (Sandy Sansing’s Nissan) Penscola Fl. The service man said hopefully they will have a recall on these.

- Kim S., Robertsdale, US

problem #18

Dec 202018

Versa SV

  • CVT transmission
  • 91,200 miles

Check engine light came on with P0705 code. Took car to Nissan who diagnosed it with internal transmission failure. The only fix is to replace the transmission. Nissan refuses to cover any costs despite the car only being 5 years old and under 100,000 miles. Transmissions should not fail that soon.

- Christina C., El Paso, US

problem #17

Mar 082018

Versa SV

  • Automatic transmission
  • 54,000 miles

I bought Nissan Versa SV 2013 from a dealer when it has approx 49000 miles. After few months it was making a noise when you let go the gas pedal. It was annoying. I ignored it in beginning and thought it may be something rattling under the hood. Local shop mechanic checked everything. He could not find anything loose and suggested something wrong in engine or somewhere.

I took the car to a Nissan dealer and he diagnosed that transmission need to replace. The car is out of warranty just a month ago. The dealer discussed internally (took few days though) and finally agreed to replace the transmission as goodwill gesture, otherwise it will be $3000 plus expense.

I am surprised to see that the car with such a low mileage has very serious issue.

I don't trust Nissan vehicles any more.

- pravin, Yorktown Heights, US

problem #16

Sep 022018

Versa 1.8L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles

Transmission stopped working under normal use after being well maintained.

- Bill S., Alpine, CA, US

problem #15

Jun 012018

Versa SV

  • CVT transmission
  • 110,000 miles

My CVT transmission began to shutter and stopped working properly. The rpms run up over 5000 when climbing a hill or driving on the highway. I now am not able to use the car even though I still have one year to pay on a loan. Nissan was not willing to work with me on repairs and transmission repair shops claim Nissan has no repair parts available for this trans.

- nissan2013ugh, Amherst, US

problem #14

Dec 232017

Versa

  • CVT transmission
  • 78,000 miles

I bought my Versa brand new in 2013 with the hope that it would be a long term vehicle for my family. I've experienced on-going problems with wiring in the brake lights that caused the car to jerk forward when coming to a stop and didn't expect that it was the transmission when experiencing similar problems during December of 2017.

I wasn't prepared to hear that the transmission had to be replaced after the diagnostic was run. I was ignored when I mentioned that the car was showing the same symptoms as when the wiring would corrode in the break lights as multiple times before.

Since I was still paying the loan on the car I went to Nissan corporate to request out of warranty assistance for the transmission. After having to wait a week, Nissan offered to pay 90% of the cost to install a remanufactured transmission that will only have a warranty of 12 months or 12,000 miles on the repairs. With having no other options, the transmission was installed after the assistance from Nissan and paying $300 out of pocket.

Two weeks later the car jerked forward as I was coming to a stop and the check engine light came on. The wiring in the break lights once again needed to be repaired.

I made it to August of 2018 before the check engine light is back on again and am being told the brake lights need to be replaced completely and am hoping the transmission isn't going to be a problem as well.

- Sonia L., San Jose, CA, US

problem #13

Sep 212017

Versa

  • CVT transmission
  • 84,000 miles

In Sept of 2017, I had my car into a Nissan dealer for transmission problems. They said it had to be reprogrammed, so I said ok. One month later the transmission failed all together. After it failed I looked online and there were numerous complaints of the same thing. So I called Nissan and they were absolutely no help. Now fast forward to July 2018 and my new cvt transmission has failed after 10 months and only 9000 miles. We all need to get together and file a class action lawsuit. I paid $3500.00 and the transmission only lasted for 9000 miles!!!

- Nancy B., Pittsburgh, US

problem #12

Oct 022017

Versa

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles

In 2013, I cosigned for my Granddaughter a new 2013 Nissan Versa from Nissan of Mobile in Mobile, Alabama. In August, 2017, the car started to lose power while driving on the interstate and city streets. I was concerned because it could have suddenly stopped and caused a fatal accident while transporting her two (2) children to school and Daycare.

She had a mechanic to check it out and he said it was a part attached to the motor. Later on she asked another mechanic to check it and he says it is the transmission. The car eventually stopped running completely and she was not financially able to take it to a repair shop for a diagnostic evaluation. Therefore, she had no transportation to and from work or to take her children to school/daycare. Her Mother (my daughter) allowed her to use her car and her employer allowed her to drive their car. So, the car has been down for a few months now.

I called the dealership in August and they stated that the factory warranty was up on the vehicle and there was nothing they could do. I was asked to bring it in and let them check it and if it was the transmission, it would cost about $4000 + to repair it. Since then, I discovered that Nissan have had problems with the transmissions going out before the five year period of financing and even some that were a few miles over the warranty. I have read reviews from many dissatisfied, disgruntled people with the same problem, especially the Versa having defective transmissions.

Unfortunately, I paid the car off in 2015 because I purchased a home and that note was affecting my credit to income ratio and my Granddaughter was paying me, but that ceased as of last year and there is a balance of $6000 dollars owed to me on the car. So I am stuck between a rock and a hard place.I do believe that the Manufacturer of parts for Nissan vehicles are faulty since there are so many complaints about the Versa.

I am contemplating having it towed to the dealership and get an evaluation and cost for repairs because transmission repairs and motors repaired by independent mechanics on cars I have witnessed on cars in my lifetime was disastrous and never ran right afterwards. PLEASE GIVE ME SOME ADVICE! THANKS!

- jbalams547, Mobile, US

problem #11

Nov 032017

Versa SV 1.6L

  • CVT transmission
  • 165,000 miles

I have a 2013 Nissan Versa SV , 1.6L. The problem started when the "check engine" light came on. My car started to shudder, stall at the beginning. A side note: when I used my left hand signal, my car would stall as if stuck in neutral. The problem progressively got worse. On the freeway, going 65-70 mph, the car went to 4,000-5,000 rpms!!- every time I accelerated. My transmission finally gave out. What irks me, talking with several local mechanics - Nissan knows of the CVT issue and never did anything about it, unless class action lawsuits were filed! Nissan should've created a RECALL notice! I spoke with two ex- Nissan mechanics who knowingly knew of the CVT issue, but Corporate would not do anything to help correct the issue.!!!

- Adrian R., 1315 Columbia Street, US

problem #10

Nov 072017

Versa G

  • CVT transmission
  • 62,000 miles

The transmission quit while my daughter was on the highway. Thankfully, she was able to safely navigate off the roadway. The vehicle suddenly lost acceleration and she had to coast to the side of the road! After a nightmare of towing the vehicle to a repair facility, I was informed that this was a very common issue, that only Nissan could repair this particular issue and that I should contact Nissan Corporate right away. I had the vehicle towed to a Nissan dealership the following day and contacted Consumer Affairs. I was later informed that the transmission was, indeed, DEFECTIVE, and would need to be replaced. The service technician I have been dealing with stated that he would request a "Goodwill Warranty coverage" from Nissan and would get back to me. The consumer affairs department requested ownership documentation and said they would submit all paperwork and request assistance for me and that they would get back to me - 5 days later! After I complained that I had already been without a vehicle for 4 days, they offered $250 for a rental and said they would email me with details. Well, I received the email, but no details were in it. I've now been without a vehicle for a week and await their response. Why do they continue to put these defective transmissions into their vehicles knowing they are defective? They've already settled at least one class action lawsuit that I am aware of!

- kennac, Atwater, US

problem #9

Jul 082017

Versa 1.6 S Sedan 1.6L L4dohc 16v

  • Automatic transmission
  • 70,000 miles

I have purchased this car from a Toyota Dealer in Costa Mesa California in 2015. When my daughter was driving, the car stopped and there was a bad noise coming out from under the hood. I immediately took the car to Nisan Dealer and they told me it was the transmission. I have contacted consumer affairs. After I checked with consumers report and found out that from 1 to 10 transmissions, I was number 8 complaint, I called Nisan consumers affairs to report my problem. They gave me a case number 27601078. The consumer affairs Representative, Shea, said they can help after I send to them the copy of the title of the car, which I don't have i because I am still paying. I made a call to Toyota financial service, inquiring for a copy and I was told maybe they can make one in 3 weeks. Well I need a car and don't have 3 weeks. After that phone call I have tried numerous times to call them. Now my phone number is linked to my complaint and my phone calls get disconnected immediately. I am currently not working. Nissan has not contacted me at all. I am planning to contact Chanel 7. I hope they can help to have either Nissan or Toyota Financial Service assist me.

PS. it is hard for me to write in English. I hope you understand my severe disappointment I am going through right now with Toyota Financial Services and Nissan.

Sincerely: Thelma Cohen

- Thelma C., Orange County California, US

problem #8

Apr 172017

Versa LX V4

  • Automatic transmission
  • 130,000 miles

Nissan QUOTED $5,000.00 TO REPAIR TRANSMISSION FOR A Nissan versa 2013. I OBTAIN A QUOTE FROM A REPUTABLE MECHANIC FOR $1200.00. THAT WAS THE END OF NISSAN FOR US.

- gronchaqui, Houston, US

problem #7

Jan 242017

Versa

  • CVT transmission
  • 80,000 miles

My husband and I had owned a 2003 Nissan Altima that was a dream, and were really sad to see it go. So Nissan seemed like a great choice for my husband's new commuter vehicle, and the Versa seemed to fit. We bought our 2013 Nissan Versa as a used car in May 2016. By January 2017 and just a few short miles later the new Versa's transmission failed and to replace the transmission was more that the car was worth. My husband had to be at work and so did I. We did all we could but both Nissan and the car dealership we bought the Versa from, and both did not care and would not do anything honorable. In the end the only solution we could come up with was to end up very upside down and buy a new car, We have a family and an extremely tight budget and it has really been a struggle. We will never trust Nissan or Jack Key Dealerships again!

- Amy G., Las Cruces, US

problem #6

Apr 292017

Versa SV 4cy

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,024 miles

Last Saturday suddenly on my way home it lost a power. To be more exact, it seemed like transmission not working or stuck on the high (4th) gear, I pullover to a safe place. On parking or neutral gear positions when I press gas pedal, engine runs fine, but when in the drive position, it barely moves. On Monday morning I brought it to the Ford dealership (Sacramento, CA). After inspection they told me that it’s a transmission modular needed to be reset. They have to take to Nissan of dealership in Sacramento fix it the transmission. I was told by another person, the same thing happened to them as well.

- Lateef R., Sacramento, CA, US

problem #5

Mar 012017

Versa V4

  • CVT transmission
  • 93,000 miles

This remanufactured cvt transmission replaced my original transmission around aug, 2016, and lasted only 13,000 miles. Admittedly, although the warranty was up on this second transmission at 12,000 miles, Nissan did replace it for free.

- Debra C., Jarrettsville, MD, US

problem #4

Aug 012016

Versa V4

  • CVT transmission
  • 80,000 miles

Transmission went out, paid for remanufactured transmission with a 1 year/12,000 mile warranty, and that transmission went out at 13,000 miles. Admittedly, Nissan did replace the second transmission even though it was slighty over the warranty limit.

- Debra C., Jarrettsville, MD, US

Read the next 3 complaints »