10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
6 / 0
Average Mileage:
35,483 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Pontiac G6:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Mar 312007

G6

  • 3,000 miles
Pontiac G6 2006 power steering went out. Vehicle bought in Dec 06 third time into dealer for this problem. Took vehicle in for repair soon after bought, couldn't find the problem. Steering went out again few months later; dealer fixed something in steering column. Power steering out again currently in with dealer.

- Elk Grove Village, IL, USA

problem #45

Aug 102007

G6

  • 34,000 miles
I was driving my Pontiac G6 it is a 2006. The power steering just went out and we only had the car for just about 6 months. It went out when I went to turn and has not worked right since. It is a used car. But, it should of not went out that quickly. It is a dangerous vehicle and I am scared to even drive or ride in it. Update (10/6/08):not repaired yet. He (the mechanic) said he had to tear apart the center dash to get to the computer chip that was in there.

- Mesa, AZ, USA

problem #44

Jul 262008

G6

  • miles
As I was driving a 2006 Pontiac G6 the power steering light came on. I looked for the reservoir but could not find it. I was told it was electric. On my way to get it checked out, the steering completely went out. Update (10/4/08): When the steering went out, I was able to steer the car still, but it was very difficult. After restarting the car it did seem to fix the problem. I was able to get it to the dealer to have it looked at. The dealer told me that they would have to reset the computer and drive it a couple of days before they could be sure of what the problem was. On return of the car the dealer informed me that they could not get the car to reproduce the problem, and that they couldn't do anything until it did. I have since been driving the car without any problems. Hopefully that luck continues.

- Hays, KS, USA

problem #43

Dec 292006

G6 6-cyl

  • 20 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6 GT. While driving the vehicle off the dealer lot at approximately 2 mph, there was an electrical failure with the power windows. In addition, the cell phone charger fuse continued to blow out. The dealer stated that they would make repairs under warranty. There was bubbling in the paint job that was also repaired under warranty. Whenever the vehicle is started, the stereo changes from xm fm to am. The screen for the xm radio is blank, the clock is always behind, and the fuel gauge never works properly. It is difficult to tell exactly how much fuel is in the vehicle. The engine ticks periodically and it sometimes stalls upon starting. The nuts in the door loosen every two weeks and make a loud clunking sound when they are coming loose. There is also something wrong with the power steering. The failure mileage was 20 and current mileage was 18,000. Update 09/10/08 the power steering failed and was replaced, but it still was not right. The drive shaft began to unusual noises. Updated 09/10/08.

- Allmogordo, NM, USA

problem #42

Jul 182007

G6

  • 6,000 miles
It all started about 6,000 miles the power steering light did appear along with a dinging noise. The power steering went out. Dealer said to shut car off and restart and it would reset. Continued to have same problem, turning car off and resetting the steering. At 35,791 miles dealer (nassief) replaced the steering module and told me everything was ok. At 35,855 miles power steering went out again. Took car back to dealer and they said they recalibrated steering and said everything's ok. Problem continued. Friday 7/11/08 friend (doreen costello) was driving car and went to back out of parking space at work and steering got very tight, she thought the car had stalled. Upon checking found car still running but no power steering and power steering light was on and binging noise warning of problem. Friend attempted restart and the steering did reset but within seconds steering went out again light came on and binging noise. Third attempt to start car after a few seconds without touching steering wheel steering wheel jerked slightly, steering warning light and binging resumed. Friend was able to turn steering wheel 360 degrees around with feeling there was no contact at all as opposed to hard steer usually felt. It appeared there was no steering at all as opposed to hard steering as was the usual problem. I felt you should know about this problem. Dealer continues to say the car is fine. Update: The dealership told me there was nothing wrong with the car. Because the car did not lose the steering while in their lot they determined there was nothing wrong with it. The car loses it's steering only sporadically. I still have the car.

- Pierpont, OH, USA

problem #41

Jun 122008

G6

  • 43,000 miles
Power steering failure. Update (10/16/08): The steering wheel locks up (extremely difficult to turn) many times and feels loose and tight. Restarting the car and power steering will usually return. The dealer said the torque sensor was bad but the whole steering column had to be replaced.

- Homer Glen, IL, USA

problem #40

Jul 192008

G6

  • 34,890 miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G6 and I have been having an issue with the power steering constantly going out on me. I almost had a serious accident on the highway when the power steering light came on and the dinging sound as well. I have a monthly car payment for 5 years to pay on this lemon and from what I understand from numerous online complaints it is something can not be determined and can not be fixed this has been going for at least 1 year since purchasing the car and the dealership would not fix the car since it did not appear to be an issue the would cause the car not to run....what am I to do when I can not drive the car to get back and forth to work but make sure the car payment is made to the finance company they got the loan through. This is not fair. Update: No money to fix the problem.

- Holyoke, MA, USA

problem #39

Jul 302007

G6 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 34,161 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving various speeds, the contact noticed that the steering column vibrated excessively as if it were loose. She took the vehicle to the dealer on several occasions and they replaced the intermediate steering shaft, front driver side tie rod, and the steering rack. Several months after the repair, the failure recurred. The technician stated that the failure was normal and several of the parts for the steering unit were on a nationwide back order. The manufacturer was unable to assist. The failure mileage was 34,161 and current mileage was 36,493. Updated 09/15/08 the transmssion was shifting hard. The tie rod end was loose and worn. Updated 09/18/08

- Liver Pool, NY, USA

problem #38

Jun 012008

G6

  • 20,800 miles
Purchased 06 G6 GT. Purchased on Tuesday May 27 2008...drove off lot with 20,700miles....on Monday June/1/2008 power steering went out while leaving a business...had towed, repaired, and back on Wednesday June 3/2008.....drove approximately 500 miles and then on June 29 2008 returning tuxedos to rental shop turning wheel to get into parking spot display said power steering, however vehicle still worked although when turning into parking spot steering column made popping sounds... Monday June 7/2008 backing out of driveway heading to work, and wheel would not turn..had towed directly to a Pontiac dealer to have power steering repaired again for second time in 5 weeks...I've seen other complaints on same issue, why has this not resulted in a recall...its only a matter of time until someone is seriously injured or killed due to a known defect that is being ignored. First repair was a power steering assist, second repair was told a fuse.

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #37

Jul 092008

G6

  • 52,368 miles
While driving the car the power steering jams, leading to a lost of control of the vehicle. The jam occurs 2 to 3 times per day. The dealer claims they cant fine anything wrong with the car [2006 Pontiac G-6. update (10/5/08): While driving along the power steering would stop working, the wheels would not turn until the switch was turn off and back on. In the mean time there was no control of the car. The invoice indicates code C0545-short circuit in steering column torque sensor - replaced steering column assembly. Fixed.

- Lake City, SC, USA

problem #36

Jul 062008

G6

  • 49,990 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Pontiac G6. While driving approximately 50 mph, the power steering light illuminated on the instrument panel and the vehicle became difficult to steer. The contact had to pull to the side of the road and shut off the vehicle. He restarted the vehicle and it drove properly until he reached his destination. The failure has occurred twice. The current mileage was 50,000 and failure mileage was 49,990.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #35

Jul 022008

G6

  • 39,000 miles
This problem started a couple of days ago, when turning to the left, steering feels loose and wobbly. Then it locked up completely. After leaving the car off over-night, it unlocked and was able to drive, however, it is still loose and wobbly when turning left.

- Saint Louis, MO, USA

problem #34

Jul 022008

G6

  • 50,000 miles
My power steering goes out. I can usually stop the car and turn it back on and the power steering comes back on. I was having this problem at least 3 times/week and I was told by an auto shop that the rack and pinion needed replaced. However, I did some research and felt that this wasn't the reason for the problem. Interestingly, I replaced all four tires and the problem appeared to be solved for several months. However, in the last two weeks, the problem has again recurred approximately 3 times. This happens after the car has been parked and sat for 4-5 hours. Once again, if I restart the car, it has released the steering wheel assist. However, that didn't happen today and I drove approx. 3 miles with no power steering. Update (10/5/08): Since the repair (replaced steering column assembly), I have had no further problems.

- Muncie, IN, USA

problem #33

Jun 012008

G6

  • 41,500 miles
I am financing a 2006 Pontiac G6 GT. The power steering goes in and out. Bought power steering fluid but could not find where to put it. Googled Pontiac G6 hoping to figure out where to check the power steering fluid and discovered that many other consumers are having the same problem. I feel that General Motors should have to issue a recall for this problem immediately.

- Niagara Falls, NY, USA

problem #32

Jun 212008

G6

  • 75,900 miles
Passenger tie rod end excessively worn almost causing total vehicle control at 75,000 miles.

- White Pine, TN, USA

problem #31

Apr 092008

G6

  • 41,000 miles
I have a 2006 Pontiac G6 GT. I noticed my on the display of my radio it said power steering. I didn't think anything about it and turned off the car and back on. That seemed to have cleared it. I then drove 3 1/2 hours with it and no problem. I get back to austin and now whenever I turn it on it is intermittent on when it will display the "power steering" message. When it is parked it is fine most of the time. When I pull out of the driveway then it starts with the power steering message and makes it so hard to steer. I can barely get back into the driveway with it. I believe there should be a recall on this type of vehicle. I have eto get the car towed to the dealership and look at it, but since Pontiac is aware of the faulty part then why do I need to pay for it out of my pocket?

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #30

May 242008

G6

  • 67,000 miles
I own a 2006 Pontiac G6 with 67,000 miles on it. After a few months of a scratching, gravel-like sound in the front end, the power steering indicator showed up on the electronic read-out panel on the dashboard. We added power steering fluid. Approximately 6 weeks later, the power steering indicator showed up again. We poured another bottle of power steering fluid into the engine. Approximately 2 days after that, the power steering column locked up while driving. Thankfully, I was not far from the house, fairly early in the morning on a 2-lane road. I pulled over to the side of the road and filled the engine with yet another bottle of power steering fluid (I started carrying an extra bottle with me, just in case). The car ran fine for about another 10 days, when the indicator light came on yet again. Then we started doing some research and discovered our 2006 Pontiac G6 is in good company with nearly 200,000 other defective models boasting power steering problems. I've owned three cars with more than 200,000 miles on them and were older than 20 years old, and never - ever - had to replace a steering column!! the repair set me back more than $900 and I'm very frustrated, as this seems to be a defect with many G6 models of the same manufacturing year.

- Cleveland, TN, USA

problem #29

Feb 102008

G6

  • 32,000 miles
I own an 06 G6 and need to report that on an icy day in Michigan my 25 yr old daughter came home very very upset saying her power steering failed while turning off a freeway ramp and she slid a long ways until she stopped on dry ground. She saw other cars passing her as she spun around 2 or 3 times she said. When she told me this 4 months ago I did not really know what to make of the story, but after looking this up on the web and having a load clunking noise start up last month I feel I must report this. What a dangerous thing to have happen. We are relying on the good people here to help us as this cannot be resolved by the little person like me. I have decided to take the car in to dealer but I doubt from the letters here that will help. Thank you thank you. Please do the right thing before someone gets killed.

- Berkley, MI, USA

problem #28

May 142006

G6

  • 40,000 miles
Clunking in the steering problems with the brakes.

- Salineville, OH, USA

problem #27

May 202008

G6

  • 46,000 miles
I drive a Pontiac G6 2006, and on my way home from work the power steering went out. Ok so I bought fluid to add to the car come to find out it electric power steering. It says you are suppose to take it to the dealer for service. I checked the net and come to find out im not the only one that had this problem. Lots of people been having the same problem. Mine would go out on me and the start working, and go out again. No wreck yet, thank god. But I went to the dealer and had to pay $837 to get it fixed. I just bought that car that's another down payment. I read some where that they are looking in to it to see if there will be a recall. I hope so because that on such short notice broke the bank I was calling around for money.

- Dallas, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »