10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 5
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
61,997 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

The NHTSA is the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints can be spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem. See the Back button — blue bar at the very top of the page — to explore more.

Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Saturn Outlook:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

problem #143

Jan 232015

Outlook

  • 140,000 miles
My right head light goes out, I have changed the bulbs too many times and the harness. My stability track comes on and I can loose power the first time I was traveling out of town on the highway, and by grace of god I was able to pull over. This car is becoming a nightmare and I think we should be given some kind of compensation...please fix these issues...this is an ongoing problem for the last 3yrs

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #142

Nov 162018

Outlook

  • 121,000 miles
Started as one headlight going out and then you turn switch to manual and back to auto it come on again and now driving last night down the hwy both headlights went out and wouldnt come back on and went out next morning they are working but one is flickering it does it while driving and sitting still

- Onalaska, WI, USA

problem #141

Jul 252018

Outlook

  • miles
My headlight keeps burning out. Iżve bought the car used a year and a half ago and Iżve replaced 4 headlights and had the wiring harness replaced twice. It keeps overheating and burning out.

- Oak Grove, MO, USA

problem #140

Dec 152017

Outlook

  • 162,000 miles
Having issue with lowbeam headlights not operating. I have to use high beam headlights when driving at night or during rain. Had a master mechanic look at it and he said it is the headlight harness. That it tends to melt and it will cost me an arm and a leg to replace. This should not be happening and it should be on recall because this is a dangerous situation while driving at night or during rain storms having to leave my high beams on only irritates other drivers not to mention myself.

- Mcloud, OK, USA

problem #139

Jan 012017

Outlook

  • miles
Dlr lights went out, poor gas millage, transmission shifts are not like a regular transmission the gears are staying to long before shifting.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #138

Dec 052016

Outlook

  • 87,000 miles
Passenger lowbean goes out while driving.

- Owasso, OK, USA

problem #137

Oct 042016

Outlook

  • 132,000 miles
I have replace my low beam on the passengers side a few times in a year, this last time the wiring had melted. Because of this I had to pay a hundred dollar ticket for a light because I couldn't get it fixed in 24 hours. This is a safety issue, GM should be making this a mandatory recall....

- Theresa, NY, USA

problem #136

Oct 122016

Outlook

  • 155,600 miles
Complete loss of low beam headlights while driving at night.

- Glassboro, NJ, USA

problem #135

Dec 142014

Outlook

  • miles
My 2007 Saturn Outlook keeps melting the harnesses for headlights

- Cheyenne, WY, USA

problem #134

Aug 112016

Outlook

  • miles
I purchased a used 2007 Saturn Outlook in February of 2016. A week later I noticed my passenger headlight out. The light started to go in and out then finally it stopped working. In April I payed $130 to replace it. A few weeks to a month later the light went out again. I had a friend look at it and they discovered it was the wiring harness. I looked online and found out that this has happened to many people. I called my local GM dealer and asked about a recall. I was told it was no recall and they don't know how much it will cost me. They seemed more concerned about how much the mechanic will get paid than trying to help me. I'm very disappointed

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #133

Mar 242016

Outlook

  • 40,664 miles
Purchased 2007 Saturn in July 2007. Had issue with both headlights flickering intermittently in fall of 2009. One would go out and the other would stay on. Took it for service on 10/20/09 and they could not duplicate the problem. The problem persisted intermittently and took it to get service on 4/8/10. They had the car for several days as they couldn't find the flickering problem. Finally found it and replaced pass. Side headlight. Took it to another dealer for service on 3/13/13 as the passenger side headlight was going off and back on again intermittently. They replaced the head lamp ballast. 3/24/16 I took it to another dealer as the driver headlight was going off/on intermittently but seemed to work when I would change from automatic to manual. They could not recreate the problem and said the headlight was operational. Currently, as of 7/25/16, the front driver headlight goes on and off intermittently. I have given up trying to get it fixed. There is clearly a problem with these headlights.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #132

Mar 162016

Outlook

  • 165,000 miles
Roof leaks and passenger side window and door locks do not work

- Milwaukee, WI, USA

problem #131

Mar 082016

Outlook

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Saturn Outlook. While driving approximately 60 mph, the front low beam driver side headlamp dimmed. The contact had to turn the switch to manual in order to get the headlight to illuminate again. The failure recurred several times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who could not duplicate the failure. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000.

- Omaha, TX, USA

problem #130

Jul 202015

Outlook

  • 94,500 miles
I was driving along and my dashboard went dark, you couldn't read the mileage, or any data that should show up in that window, the battery level showed lower then normal however stopped to have battery and alternator checked and both were working normally per mechanic. When stopped car and turned back on data was viewable, then airbag light came on - stayed on for about an 30 min. Then went back off. There was an issue with roof leaking - dealership had to repair and now I think this is linked to that issue. However, not sure if others are having this same issue and don't feel I should be held responsible for something that the dealer should have checked out prior to correcting leaking. Have there been any other owners with issues regarding this?

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #129

Oct 022014

Outlook 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
Bought this 2007 Saturn Outlook new in April 2007.. August 2008 first time I noticed floor boards on passengers side wet, took to Saturn they said the drain line was clogged, Oct 2008 back to Saturn they had a campaign to extend drain lines they did this.. November 2009 the drivers side is now leaking Saturn secured the drain hose for sunroof. My car has always been garaged until Oct 2014. Now that it is parked out in the elements I have a major roof leak. Took it to GM on Oct 2, 2014 as I now have wet/water stains on the passengers side headliner, they said the drain was clogged fixed in 2 minutes. We had rain for a week and on Oct.24, 2014 I now noticed wet/water stains on both sides and across the windshield, under the visors and the roof panel where the interior lights and controls are for the sunroof. Take to GM dealer they say the drivers side drain hose was clogged fixed in a minute. Back to GM on Nov 15, 2014 they now say the seal around the sunroof needs to be replaced, they replace seal. Nov 17, 2014 leak is worse than ever. I have now spent $500 to have a leak fixed to no avail. I have searched the internet now and see this is not an isolated incident. 100's if not 1000's of GM Saturn Outlooks with and without sunroofs have leaky roofs. It is a design flaw and GM will not own up to it. This needs to be a recall item. I am now told to spend $2,150 to replace the sunroof bucket. After reading all the horror stories about this issue I do not believe there is a fix for GM's mistake. I have a case # with GM but they don't want to hear anything. Please issue a recall on this engineed design flaw.

- Sweden, ME, USA

problem #128

Dec 272014

Outlook

  • 122,222 miles
I had my passenger low beam light already fixed because of this issue with the wiring harness to the low beam light melt. Now my driver side headlight went out and its the same issue as before with the wiring harness melting and the light not working on some days and then working the next day or later in the day when I start the car up again. This needs to be addressed by GM to get it fixed. I know there was a service bulletin put out for the vehicle that expired December 31, 2013. Both of my low beam lights have stopped working this year.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #127

Dec 262014

Outlook

  • 104,000 miles
I have a 2007 Outlook xr with re-occurring headlight issues, upon further troubleshooting of the issue and removal and replacement of the low beam bulbs numerous times, I found the wiring harness at the connection point of the headlight bulbs were melted through the harness thus leaving exposed wires. Like so many have experienced this very same issue with Saturn Outlooks, this is a very high fire hazard and should be investigated further. Thanks for your time respectfully submitted.

- Oceanside, CA, USA

problem #126

Oct 012014

Outlook

  • 115,000 miles
My low beam headlight wiring harness melted which caused my light to not work and required it being taken in to have a new harness put on the vehicle. There was a service announcement put out by GM about to Saturn service providers about replacing the wiring harness but there hasn't been a recalled issued for this as of yet. This could be dangerous because if they stop working while you are driving at night you can't see anything.

- Novi, MI, USA

problem #125

Jul 172013

Outlook

  • 82,000 miles
Headlight failures. As I see over and over on this site. Passenger headlight stopped working so I replaced the bulb and it worked for 2 weeks then went out again. As I was replacing it again, I noticed that the socket that the bulb plugged into was scorched/melted and brittle. I read up on the problem online and chose to splice in a new socket rather than spend hours at the dealership only to be told that they would need to replace the whole harness at some outrageous price. It seems to be doing fine. Now the driver side headlight has stopped working so I am facing the same situation over again. This is an issue that clearly should be addressed by a recall. GM saving few pennies on a socket that won't handle the heat of the high intensity headlamp and it ends up costing the consumer hundreds.

- Firestone, CO, USA

problem #124

Aug 012014

Outlook

  • 120,000 miles
Driver side head light went out about a week ago, I replaced the light bulb and it worked for a few days.the same light went out again.I went to replace it, just to notice a wire was out and the connection had melted.I looked it up and come to find out there is a faulty harness. I contacted a GM dealer and was told they were aware of it, but the extended warranty was over on 12-31-13. If this is a on going issue, why wont a recall be issued?? I don't have 400 dollars to have a new harness installed.

- Saginaw , TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »