7.5

pretty bad
Typical Repair Cost:
$960
Average Mileage:
3,600 miles
Total Complaints:
8 complaints

Most common solutions:

  1. replace windshield (5 reports)
  2. not sure (3 reports)
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2019 Subaru Outback:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

Get free help with your lemon!
close ad
problem #8

Nov 072019

Outback

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles

In Feb 2019 we purchased the Subaru because of its safety and reliability reports. After about 7000 miles my windshield cracked. I never heard anything hit my windshield while I was driving so it came as a surprise that I I noticed my windshield cracked after leaving the store. I have owned many cars in my life and only once in my 40 plus years of driving had I needed a windshield replaced which cost me about $250.00. I started calling around to see what the cost would be to replaced and was told between $880-$890 supposedly because the camera will need to be recalculated. (HUH) I called Subaru dealer and they told me that no other glass repair company can purchase the exclusive Subaru windshield which is required to effectively replace and repair the car to its original state. After reading some of the complaints on your website I feel that we are paying top dollar for inferior merchandise. I don't know why or how my windshield cracked but its almost an identical description painted by one of your other complainants. How do we get justice under these circumstances ? We just have to pay the exorbitant price to replace something that most likely was inferior and should have never been used to begin with. I wish Subaru would acknowledge this issue before someone gets really hurt or worse. Any suggestions or comments please let me know.

- Laura F., Mira Loma, US

problem #7

Sep 062019

Outback V6

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,000 miles

I think it is totally disgusting that Subaru would put inferior windshields in their cars to save a buck.

2018 it was air bags, this year 2019 it is windshields.

My outback only has 5000 miles and a pebble hit the windshield. well you would think a bolder hit it

as it cracked straight across the whole front windshield.

I owned GMC cars all my life and never had a problem with glass. This is my first time purchase

of Subaru and will definitely be my last.

- Audrey R., Mastic Beach, NY, US

problem #6

Jul 202019

Outback Limited 2.5i

  • CVT transmission
  • 820 miles

Six days after I bought a 2019 Subaru Outback, I noticed a crack developing from the top on the driver's side, close to the middle of the car. I thought it was a small streak of water at first. But as it didn't dry, I realized the windshield had cracked. I didn't see or hear anything hit it. No trucks around, and the road was smooth, free of debris. The crack grew down and curved toward the passenger side and then up again. After reading complaints in this site and in other sites about the Subaru Outback of various years, it seems to me that this was a spontaneous crack. I will post an update.

- I S., Okatie, US

problem #5

May 292019

Outback 3.6R 3.6L

  • CVT transmission
  • 7,500 miles

2019 Subaru Outback purchased February 2019 with 7500 miles. Windshield crack developed on the passenger side edge, 1/2 up and grew toward the center. The vehicle has eyesight and that will need to be re-calibrated after the replacement. One estimate is up to $1500 including calibration. Subaru doesn't want to know anything. Funny how our 2005 Sienna has 263,000 miles and the original windshield.

- Martin V., Forked River, NJ, US

problem #4

Apr 102019

Outback 3.6R 3.2L

  • CVT transmission
  • 4,200 miles

click to see larger images

windshield crack

On Jan 20th 2019, purchased a brand new 2019 Subaru Outback 3.6R. The car is garaged inside everyday on 4/10/2019 I noticed a huge crack on front of my driver side windshield as I was getting into my car after work. I researched and on the Youtube I also see a video with exact crack that starts from the bottom of the windshield the person who posted the video had 2018 Outback. I've had Volvo, Honda and Acura MDX and never had I a window crack like this before even with little chip that would occur from driving highways or going off road on a ski trip.

- psohn77, San Jose, US

problem #3

Jan 112019

Outback Limited

  • CVT transmission
  • 800 miles

I am writing to express my concern regarding the quality of the Subaru Outback windshield. On December 21, 2018 I purchased my first Subaru. On January 11,2019 my windshield spontaneously cracked below the wipers and spread very quickly. Because it was obstructing my view I had to have the entire windshield replaced.

On February 15,2019, four days after the windshield was replaced, I received a rock chip that immediately cracked to a size larger than a dollar bill, beyond repair. I had expected better from the Subaru brand. I decided to purchase a Subaru Outback for the quality and reliability however after experiencing the poor windshield quality, I may not purchase another Subaru.

For a little background, I have had the same commute for over ten years. With other vehicles I have experienced rock chips, which I have been able to get repaired and never had to replace the windshield. I have driven lesser quality and less reliable vehicles and have never had to incur the out of pocket cost that I have with the Subaru Outback with 3 months of ownership.

To put this in perspective, the cost of one windshield replacement equals the cost of one month of daycare for a toddler, one year of auto and homeowner’s insurance or two Epi Pens. This expense goes far beyond the annual routine maintenance I expect to pay on any vehicle.

- andreadawn80ac, Lawrence, US

problem #2

Jan 072019

Outback Limited 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,200 miles

Experienced a "spontaneous" crack that originated from below the wiper on the passenger side of the vehicle that I have owned for less than one month. Subaru does not repair their own windshields so they sent me to their repair agent who installed the windshield (OEM glass) incorrectly causing a wind tunnel noise and leak. The authorized repair agent also did something to the windshield wiper fluid control system as this did not work after they installed the new windshield and my navigation would not work.

Brought the car to the Subaru dealership and they repaired the windshield fluid control system, checked calibration and identified the gap and subsequent leak in the windshield. Advised me to go back to their agent, took another day off from work (can only be completed in the shop) and they tore out the windshield and repositioned it. The windshield fluid unit now only delivers fluid 1/3 of the force and distance it used to, my navigation does not work before the sun rises or after it sets from what I can gather! The wind tunnel noise is now on both sides of the car and today there were puddles of water on the floor mats when I returned to my car after my day's work. Bringing the car back to the dealer again, called the regional Subaru headquarters and have not heard back. This is a brand new car and I am not sure where to go from here.

Update from Jan 30, 2019: Have now been back to the dealer and they found an air and water leak in the newest windshield. Now have to remove the windshield again and try to repair. The Navigation is still not working and the dealership responded as though I was being unreasonable. Feeling like the dealer thinks it is my fault that these things are happening to my brand new, one month old car and that I am supposed to be happy about buying a new car, and content with paying for the next five years to have an unsafe, leaking car that has navigation that doesn't quite work for those folks who need to have ready available directions.

Update from Feb 4, 2019: Just came back from the auto glass dealer the Subaru dealership sent me to for the third time. Subaru found a water and air leak in the new vehicle. The auto glass dealer looked and tested the car and said the leaks were not from the windshield. Also, the Subaru dealership did something to the windshield washer system so that it squirts water on the front of the hood making it look like two tear streaks running down. The navigation system is still not working and the Subaru dealership claims that they "updated" it and it is fine. The pictures I took of all the issues and malfunctions and sent on to the national Subaru customer service to file a Lemon Law claim will need to speak for themselves.

This is a nightmare! Just sent in my second car payment for this car and it is not right that I should have been without my new car for this amount of time and still have these issues. Wonder if any other Subaru Outback owners are having similar issues?

Update from Jun 10, 2019: OK - Just experienced the second spontaneous crack that originated from wiper area of the right passenger side and travels to the middle of the windshield. When I washed the car at around 9:00 a.m. on Saturday - before the heat of the day, there was no crack or nick. The car did not move all weekend and when i used the auto start and pulled out of the driveway, I notices a reflection that spanned about 18-24 inches.

Called Subaru and explained the windshield cracked again with no impact at all. They told me to take it to the Subaru Dealership for inspection and I did. They found a very, very tiny chip under the wiper on the right side of the car and said that this was the reason that the windshield cracked. I explained this was the second time in less than six months that the windshield cracked like this and he said that this happens sometimes and it is just bad luck.

However, I do believe his analysis of this situation - it is bad luck that I got stuck with a very expensive (+$36,000.00) automobile that was made with incredibly cheap, defective materials, has such a poor engineering design that the technology is dependent on the use of a windshield that is so thin that it is unable to stand up to daily use. These windshields - and there are many out there for this model - do not represent the iconic reputation of durability and safety folks pay for when they buy a Subaru for their families. When i contacted Subaru Corporate Office, they stated that they were unaware of this issue with their Outbacks. Needless to say, my husband asked them if they ever read the National Highway Safety Reports/Compliants or the complaints that have accumulated on CarComplaints websites. They responded 'no." hmmmm - maybe this is why the 2020 Subaru Outbacks have an enhanced windshield that cuts down on noise when driving??? Really - that is the reason why they redesigned the Subaru Outback windshield area - to lesson noise? Doubtful - it's my opinion that Subaru redesigned the Outback windshield area to resolve the complaints of the 2018 and 2019 windshields that are constantly in need of replacement. Two every six months is what folks should expect if you got stuck with one of the Outbacks. Also have been reading that windshields are backordered!!!!!!

- chris, Rochester, US

problem #1

Nov 242018

Outback Limited 2.5L

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,007 miles

Returning from Rochester and a crack appears in the corner of the windshield by the passenger about 4-5 inches long. The next morning it's like 18 inches. There is no ding, no star, no full moon or half moon. I will update after I take it to a dealer.

Update from Apr 20, 2019: Dealer never fixed the problem, had to go through the insurance co. The car has 5000 miles now, no other problems so far. Insurance co covered the cost.

- redman6332, Elmont, US