Kentucky Lemon Law Information
GET MAD: Kentucky's 1-year/12,000 miles limit is the least amount of time & mileage for coverage of the 50 state lemon laws, & the four-repairs criteria ties several other states as the most restrictive.
The Kentucky Lemon Law applies when, during the first year or 12,000 miles (whichever comes first), following delivery of a new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
- the vehicle has been out of service for repair at the dealership for a cumulative total of 30 days or more.
To qualify for the Lemon Law, the problem must substantially impair the use, value, or safety of the automobile. Vehicles leased after July 15, 1998 are also covered.Kentucky Lemon Law information from the Attorney General's Office »
Kentucky Informal Dispute Resolution System or Arbitration
Kentucky requires manufacturers to provide new vehicle owners with a cost-free informal dispute resolution system. The decision is binding on the manufacturer but not the consumer. You qualify if:
- the dispute happened in the first two (2) years or 25,000 miles (whichever comes first), and
- you are a Kentucky resident AND you purchased the vehicle in Kentucky.
Recommended Kentucky Lemon Law Attorneys
The Krohn & Moss Consumer Law Center has been helping consumers resolve troubles with their lemon vehicles over the past decade. Their record of providing excellent lemon-aid to more than 25,000 contented customers has a remarkable success rate of 97%! The biggest advantage is you do not pay them anything, starting with the free case review. They will attempt to quickly resolve your claim with the manufacturer at no cost to you. Fill out the form below to get started.
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.