Louisiana Lemon Law Information
GET MAD: Louisiana the worst lemon law, hands down. The "out-of-service" criteria of 90 days is the longest of any state, while the coverage period of one year is the shortest.
Think about what this means -- to qualify, your brand new vehicle would have to be out of service for 3 months in the first year after you bought it. Most folks would be bankrupt long before the Louisiana Lemon Law "out-of-service" criteria kicks in.
The Louisiana Lemon Law applies when, during the first year following delivery of a new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
- the vehicle has been out of service for repairs at the dealership for a cumulative total of 90 or more calendar days.
To qualify for the Louisiana Lemon Law, the problem must substantially impair the use and/or market value of the vehicle and must not have been caused by abuse, neglect, or unauthorized modification of the vehicle.Louisiana Attorney General Consumer Protection Section »
Recommended Louisiana Lemon Law Attorneys
LEMON LAW FIRMS: This state lemon law page is currently available for advertising. Contact us for rates & details.
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.