North Carolina Lemon Law Information
The North Carolina Lemon Law applies when, during the first two (2) years or 24,000 miles (whichever comes first), following delivery of a new vehicle:
- The dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times, or
- The vehicle has been out of service for repairs at the dealership for a cumulative total of 20+ business days over any 12-month period,
- You notify the manufacturer about the problem in writing and give them at least 15 days for a final repair attempt.
To qualify for the North Carolina Lemon Law, your vehicle must have a defect that affects its use, value, or safety. The problem must occur in some part of the vehicle that is covered by the manufacturer's warranty, and must appear within the warranty period. However it does not need to be something that keeps the car off the road. For example, faulty air conditioning or peeling paint could be considered defects under the lemon law.
Once you notify the manufacturer in writing, they have 15 calendar days to fix it. Depending on the terms of your warranty, you may be required to try resolving the dispute through the manufacturer's arbitration process. However if you are not satisfied by the arbitration process, then you can proceed with legal action.North Carolina Lemon Law information — Attorney General's Office »
Recommended North Carolina Lemon Law Attorneys
KAHN & ASSOCIATES, L.L.C. is a growing consumer law firm dedicated to providing legal counsel to consumers. The firm was founded in 1996 in Cleveland, Ohio to provide legal services to individuals who purchased defective new motor vehicles (a.k.a. Lemons). Since that time, Kahn & Associates, L.L.C. has continued to expand. Our firm has the distinction of successfully handling the first and only Ohio Lemon Law case to reach the Supreme Court of Ohio, Royster v. Toyota Motor Sales, U.S.A., Inc. (2001), 92 Ohio St.3d 327, case No. 00-1076.
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.