Rhode Island Lemon Law Information
The Rhode Island Lemon Law applies when, during the first year or 15,000 miles (whichever comes first), following delivery of a new vehicle:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem four (4) or more times
- the vehicle has been out of service for repair at the dealership for a cumulative total of 30 or more calendar days.
To qualify for the Rhode Island Lemon Law, you must first follow the manufacturer's information arbitration process. Upon providing the manufacturer or dealer with written notice, they have 7 days for a final repair opportunity.
The problem or problems must substantially impair the use, market value, or safety of the vehicle, and must also not be the result of abuse, neglect, or unauthorized substantial modification or alteration of the vehicle by the consumer.Consumer Protection Unit FAQ » Rhode Island New Vehicle Lemon Law § 31-5.2 »
Rhode Island Lemon Law Information -- Used Vehicles
The Rhode Island Used Vehicle Lemon Law applies when, during the used vehicle's warranty period:
- the dealer has attempted to repair the same problem three (3) or more times
- the vehicle has been out of service for repair at the dealership for a cumulative total of 15 or more calendar days.
Helpful Lemon Law Tips
Most states require you to notify the dealer and the manufacturer that you have a Lemon Law claim. Always use Certified Mail with Return Receipt.
If the manufacturer has an informal mediation or dispute resolution process, most states require you to do that first before pursuing litigation. However, you should contact a lawyer immediately.
Most lawyers will not charge you for an initial consultation or legal fees for Lemon Law arbitration. If they decide you have a case, normally the manufacturer is forced to pay your legal costs.