2016 Top Safety Pick+ Award Winners

Insurance Institute for Highway Safety names 48 model year 2016 vehicles as Top Safety Pick+

2016 Top Safety Pick+ Award Winners

Posted in News

— The Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS) announced the winners of the "Top Safety Pick+" award for model year 2016 vehicles, and some that made the list last year dropped down the ladder for 2016 models.

Conducted each year, some models seen to rank highly for 2015 didn't do as well for 2016, mainly with small and midsize cars.

IIHS has two top categories, the "Top Safety Pick" and the "Top Safety Pick+." Crash testing performed on model year 2016 vehicles was more stringent than tests conducted on 2015 models.

For 2016 models, front crash prevention systems is required to receive a Top Safety Pick+ award, but not for Top Safety Pick only. The new criteria means more than 24 winners last year didn't qualify under what is needed for 2016 models.

Even with the tougher standards, 48 model year 2016 vehicles were awarded Top Safety Pick+ and 13 vehicles took home the award of Top Safety Pick. The "plus" winners earned "good" ratings in all five crash test evaluations and earned an "advanced" or higher rating for front crash prevention technology.

The tests include the small overlap frontal test, moderate overlap frontal test, side, roof strength and head restraint tests, as well as a standard or optional front crash prevention system. The 48 winners of the "plus" award have a superior- or advanced-rated front crash prevention system with automatic braking capabilities.

Automatic braking, also called auto emergency braking, is a growing trend and a technology 10 major automakers recently committed to installing as standard equipment. For the IIHS tests, vehicles equipped with the technology must stop or slow down without driver intervention before hitting a target at 12 mph, 25 mph or both.

Models with a basic-rated front crash prevention system, which typically only issues a warning and doesn't brake, qualify for Top Safety Pick.

Model Year 2016 Top Safety Pick+ Award Winners


  • Scion iA

Small Cars

  • Acura ILX
  • Lexus CT 200h
  • Mazda 3 (4-door sedan | 4-door hatchback)
  • Subaru Crosstrek
  • Subaru Impreza
  • Subaru WRX
  • Volkswagen Golf (4-door hatchback and SportWagen models)
  • Volkswagen GTI (4-door models)

Midsize Cars

  • Chrysler 200
  • Honda Accord (4-door sedan)
  • Honda Accord (2-door coupe)
  • Mazda 6
  • Nissan Maxima
  • Subaru Legacy
  • Subaru Outback
  • Toyota Camry
  • Toyota Prius v
  • Volkswagen Jetta
  • Volkswagen Passat

Midsize Luxury Cars

  • Audi A3
  • BMW 2 series
  • Lexus ES
  • Volvo S60
  • Volvo V60

Large Family Car

  • Toyota Avalon

Large Luxury Cars

  • Acura RLX
  • Audi A6 (built after January 2015)
  • Hyundai Genesis
  • Infiniti Q70 (does not apply to V8 4WD models)
  • Lexus RC
  • Mercedes-Benz E-Class
  • Volvo S80

Small SUVs

  • Fiat 500X (built after July 2015)
  • Honda CR-V
  • Hyundai Tucson
  • Mazda CX-5
  • Mitsubishi Outlander
  • Subaru Forester
  • Toyota RAV4

Midsize SUVs

  • Honda Pilot
  • Nissan Murano

Midsize Luxury SUVs

  • Acura MDX
  • Acura RDX
  • Audi Q5
  • Lexus NX
  • Volvo XC60
  • Volvo XC90

Front Crash Prevention Ratings For Automatic Braking