Mercedes-Benz Recalls Cars to Fix Takata Airbags

Mercedes recalls 103,000 vehicles to replace passenger Takata airbag inflators.

Mercedes-Benz Recalls Cars to Fix Takata Airbags

Posted in Recalls

— Mercedes-Benz is recalling 103,400 vehicles as part of a new expanded group of recalls of Takata airbags, this time totaling 5.7 million airbag inflators spread out among many automakers.

For Mercedes, as with others, different "Zones" of the country are involved based on models.

Zone A areas include Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan) and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

Recalled are these vehicles if they were originally sold or ever registered in Zone A areas:

  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz C300 4Matic
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz C250
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz C250 Coupe
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz C350
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz C350 Coupe 4Matic
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz C350 Coupe
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG Coupe
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz E350 Coupe 4Matic
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz E350 Cabriolet
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz E350 Coupe
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz E550 Cabriolet
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz E550 Coupe
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz GLK350 4Matic
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz GLK350
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG Cabriolet
  • 2012 Mercedes-Benz SLS AMG Coupe

Zone B areas include: Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

Unless included in Zone A, Mercedes is recalling the following vehicles if they were originally sold or ever registered in Zone B locations:

  • 2009 Mercedes-Benz C300 4Matic
  • 2009 Mercedes-Benz C300
  • 2009 Mercedes-Benz C350
  • 2009 Mercedes-Benz C63 AMG

In addition, Mercedes-Benz is recalling its 2008 C300 4Matic, C300 and C350 vehicles if originally sold or ever registered in:

Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

The automaker says replacement airbag inflators aren't available, so owners will receive letters in February 2017 explaining details of the recall, and second notices will be mailed once replacement parts are available.

Owners may contact the automaker at 877-496-3691.