BMW Recalls X5 and X6 For Takata Airbags

About 42,000 vehicles will have their passenger frontal airbag inflators replaced.

BMW Recalls X5 and X6 For Takata Airbags

Posted in Recalls

— BMW is recalling about 42,000 vehicles as part of a Takata airbag recall expansion of 3.3 million airbag inflators at risk of exploding when they deploy, even in a minor crash.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) breaks down different parts of the country into "Zones."

  • 2007-2013 BMW X5 xDrive30i
  • 2007-2013 BMW X5 xDrive35i
  • 2007-2013 BMW X5 xDrive48i
  • 2007-2013 BMW X5 xDrive50i
  • 2007-2013 BMW X5 M
  • 2009-2010 BMW X5 xDrive35d
  • 2009-2013 BMW X6 xDrive35i
  • 2009-2013 BMW X6 xDrive50i
  • 2009-2013 BMW X6 M

Those vehicles are recalled if they were sold or ever registered in these "Zone A" states:

Alabama, California, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, South Carolina, Texas, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands (Saipan) and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

  • 2007-2010 BMW X5 xDrive30i
  • 2007-2010 BMW X5 xDrive35i
  • 2007-2010 BMW X5 xDrive48i
  • 2007-2010 BMW X5 xDrive50i
  • 2007-2010 BMW X5 M, X5 xDrive35d
  • 2007-2010 BMW X6 xDrive35i
  • 2007-2010 BMW X6 xDrive50i
  • 2007-2010 BMW X6M

Those vehicles are recalled if sold or ever registered in "Zone B" states:

Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, District of Columbia, Illinois, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Maryland, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Virginia and West Virginia.

  • 2007-2009 BMW X5 xDrive30i
  • 2007-2009 BMW X5 xdrive35i
  • 2007-2009 BMW X5 xDrive48i
  • 2007-2009 BMW X5 xDrive50i
  • 2007-2009 BMW X5 M
  • 2007-2009 BMW X5 xDrive35d
  • 2007-2009 BMW X6 xDrive35i
  • 2007-2009 BMW X6 xDrive50i
  • 2007-2009 BMW X6M

The above vehicles are recalled if sold or ever registered in these "Zone C" states:

Alaska, Colorado, Connecticut, Idaho, Iowa, Maine, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Montana, New Hampshire, New York, North Dakota, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, Wisconsin and Wyoming.

The BMW recall should begin March 1, 2018, when BMW starts replacing the passenger frontal airbag modules.

Affected owners with questions should call 800-525-7417.

Keep up with the latest airbag news by checking out the Takata consumer guide.